Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: what's the best mobo for a QX6700 right now..?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sri Lanka,Colombo
    Posts
    34

    what's the best mobo for a QX6700 right now..?

    I just ordered

    QX6700

    I was going to buy a evga 680i but I heard it now so good to oc the quad cores...

    what do you guys recomend for oc'ing this QX6700..?

    is this any good...?

    http://www.excaliberpc.com/ASUS_P5W6...id-570074.html

    thanks
    new system on the way qx6700||corsair 8500 2X1gb||2x120gb 8mb on raid 0||evga 8800GTX||Adgy 2zs + gigaworks s750||Samsung 244T Mail me here..!

  2. #2
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Trieste (Italy)
    Posts
    302
    Hi,
    we are using the Asus P5WDH, but I think that the Asus P5W64PRO is better.

    Bye

    Alex

    MOA 2010 EU finals #3
    GOOC 2010 Italy #2
    GOOC 2009 Italy #1 Tech Station - Italian technology website

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Terra
    Posts
    583
    I think in the intelsection is a thread with some info about a new revision for the EVGA.
    Its can do now high fsb with quadcores .
    CPU : Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650
    MB : Asus P5E X38 Rampage bios
    RAM : Team Xtreem 4x1GB DDR2 OPB handpicked
    VGA : Sapphire 4870
    Power : Antec Quattro 850w
    Storage : 1 x 60GB OCZ Vertex + 2 x 750gb WD 32Mb
    DVD : Samsungs DVDwriter Sata + Liteon DVD
    Sound : Creative XFI Xtrememusic
    Cooling : D-Tek Fusion + D-Tek Fusion GFX
    Monitor : Samsung 226BW
    Errorcode : An error occurred at address AC 20 DE AE FF BC ...... System halted.



  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sri Lanka,Colombo
    Posts
    34
    last I heard evga is still offering to take back the boards that don't do well with quad cores...?


    so again...you guys recomend the 64 over the normal p5w dh....? or is the the extreme worth all that $$$...????
    new system on the way qx6700||corsair 8500 2X1gb||2x120gb 8mb on raid 0||evga 8800GTX||Adgy 2zs + gigaworks s750||Samsung 244T Mail me here..!

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    407
    I went with Asus Extreme I hope I won't regret it.
    =- Main RIG -= Quake 4 flies - Problem Solved
    -= Intel QX6700 2660 MHz OC 3.2 GHz =-
    -= Asus Striker Extreme nVidia nForce 680i SLI =-
    -= PDP Patriot Dual XBLK 2x 1GB DDR2 1 GHz CL4 =-
    -= EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB KO ACS3 =-
    -= Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty =-
    -= WD Raptor X 150 GB 16MB SATA =-
    -= 2xSeagate 320 GB Barracuda 16MB SATAII =-
    -= CoolerMaster Stacker 830 Black =-
    -= Topower TOP-1000P10 U12 EZ =-
    -= Logitech G15 =-
    -= Razer Copperhead Laser 2000 DPI Blue =-
    -= Logitech Z-5500 THX =-
    -= Dell 2407 WFP UltraSharp =-
    -= Windows XP Pro SP2 =-

    Sorry for my bad English. I'll try to improve.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sri Lanka,Colombo
    Posts
    34
    please let me know how it goes...

    what kinda chip are you planing to slam on that...?
    new system on the way qx6700||corsair 8500 2X1gb||2x120gb 8mb on raid 0||evga 8800GTX||Adgy 2zs + gigaworks s750||Samsung 244T Mail me here..!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    407
    My new system with a QX6700, Asus Extreme and some 2 GB Patriot mem will arrive probably on saturday, but I don't plan overclocking it till it hurts and it will run on air. I'll also have to take some time to learn everything as thats my first Intel CPU since Pentium II 400 MHz. I see what I can do
    =- Main RIG -= Quake 4 flies - Problem Solved
    -= Intel QX6700 2660 MHz OC 3.2 GHz =-
    -= Asus Striker Extreme nVidia nForce 680i SLI =-
    -= PDP Patriot Dual XBLK 2x 1GB DDR2 1 GHz CL4 =-
    -= EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB KO ACS3 =-
    -= Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty =-
    -= WD Raptor X 150 GB 16MB SATA =-
    -= 2xSeagate 320 GB Barracuda 16MB SATAII =-
    -= CoolerMaster Stacker 830 Black =-
    -= Topower TOP-1000P10 U12 EZ =-
    -= Logitech G15 =-
    -= Razer Copperhead Laser 2000 DPI Blue =-
    -= Logitech Z-5500 THX =-
    -= Dell 2407 WFP UltraSharp =-
    -= Windows XP Pro SP2 =-

    Sorry for my bad English. I'll try to improve.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sri Lanka,Colombo
    Posts
    34
    God D*** it man...don't YOU know that the world is at stake and you absolutly must oc every thing you get your hands on...????

    meh....I've never had a real intel last thing i had was probably a 486DX do you even know what that is...? ... no offence intended
    new system on the way qx6700||corsair 8500 2X1gb||2x120gb 8mb on raid 0||evga 8800GTX||Adgy 2zs + gigaworks s750||Samsung 244T Mail me here..!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    407
    Yeah I know what that is. I'll surtenly overclock my system, but for me the most important thing is stability even if it means smaller overclock. I don't want to fry it the same day I bought it
    =- Main RIG -= Quake 4 flies - Problem Solved
    -= Intel QX6700 2660 MHz OC 3.2 GHz =-
    -= Asus Striker Extreme nVidia nForce 680i SLI =-
    -= PDP Patriot Dual XBLK 2x 1GB DDR2 1 GHz CL4 =-
    -= EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB KO ACS3 =-
    -= Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty =-
    -= WD Raptor X 150 GB 16MB SATA =-
    -= 2xSeagate 320 GB Barracuda 16MB SATAII =-
    -= CoolerMaster Stacker 830 Black =-
    -= Topower TOP-1000P10 U12 EZ =-
    -= Logitech G15 =-
    -= Razer Copperhead Laser 2000 DPI Blue =-
    -= Logitech Z-5500 THX =-
    -= Dell 2407 WFP UltraSharp =-
    -= Windows XP Pro SP2 =-

    Sorry for my bad English. I'll try to improve.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    482
    Quote Originally Posted by slair76116
    last I heard evga is still offering to take back the boards that don't do well with quad cores...?


    so again...you guys recomend the 64 over the normal p5w dh....? or is the the extreme worth all that $$$...????
    EVGA are indeed swaping the old revision 680i for new revision which have better Quad Core FSB overclocking.

    http://www.evga.com/community/messag...TOPIC_ID=28369


    The 680i should be a problem with the QX6700 because it has an unlocked multi and "unlinked" automatic RAM dividers so FSB isn't that big of an issue.


    I'd get the P5W64 though cause it's a damn good board.




    EDIT: +1 for moving to Intel hardware section
    Last edited by SLi_dog; 03-01-2007 at 04:52 PM.

  11. #11
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,022
    XOC is not a general help area...

    Thread Moved.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,286
    It depends on what you want it for. I run sli and cool my chips with phase. I have tried both the evga and striker with my qx6700 and the EVGA overclocks better with my es qx6700 but my striker blows the evga away when i use my dual core es e6700...weird...
    Never empower an idiot with a response....

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

    Seller/Buyer Reputation:
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=50905
    Ebay: {Family Account} Kasyg3 http://myworld.ebay.com/kasyg3/
    Ebay: {My personal Account} Sdumper http://myworld.ebay.com/sdumper/
    iTrader: http://www.blazingpc.com/forum/itrader.php?u=28

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    42
    sdumper, 4.5ghz for qx6700 is sick. what can you run it fully stable at though? as in numerous hours of orthos load on all 4 cores? just curious- thanks.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •