Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Intel SSD (X25-E & X-25M) RAID 0 Benchmarks

Intel SSD (X25-E & X-25M) RAID 0 Benchmarks

Hi There.

(recommend you resize your web browser to accomodate displaying the benchmark graphs side by side)

First post, be nice I'm a storage noob. Got my hands on a number of different SSD units that I thought it would be fun to benchmark:

1) Qty 2 Intel X25-E (32GB, SLC)
    2) Qty 3 Intel X25-M (80GB, MLC)
    3) Just for kicks, included an Apple (Samsung) 128GB SSD (MLC)

I didn't want to rip apart my main rig, so all testing was done with spare parts I had lying around: Gigabyte P35-DS3R (Intel ICH9R), Q6600, 4GB DDR2-800 running XP, SP3 and the latest Intel Storage Manager drivers from Oct 2008.

The goodies:

First let's start with single drives. According to the well known Anandtech article, the ICH9R had a 80MB/S cap on throughput. I believe this NOT to be an issue anymore, as I saw transfer rates well above 80MB/Sec. For example, here is the read rate for the X25-E vs the X25-M. You'll see that the M has slightly highly read rates than the E, a theme I found consistent across all of my testing.

Single Drive Benchmarks
    X25-E (left) vs X25-M (right)

Writes, on the other hand are a different story. The E drive blows away the M in terms of writes.

X25-E (left) vs X25-M (right)

And just for fun I included an Apple Branded Samsung SSD I have from my Macbook. This is a 128GB MLC unit that is currently shipping with the new (late Oct 2008) Macbooks. I'll compare it to the Intel X25-M.

Intel X25-M (left) vs. Apple/Samsung SSD (right)

Umm ok, it's fair to say that the reputation that the Intel SSDs have is well deserved

Ok let's move on to the RAID 0 benches.

Raid 0 Benchmarks
    Configuration: Raid 0, 128K stripe, ICH9R. I started with the "default" of 128K. I found that enabling the volume write cache on the Intel driver made a significant difference. Results with the volume cache on and off: