Swiftech
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: X-Fi Xtreme and front audio

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member phi|os's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    398

    X-Fi Xtreme and front audio

    I know that I might run into a brick wall here, but I'm desperate for information on hooking up front audio to the 10-pin connector on the X-Fi's...

    I know its possible, but I don't know how the pins are setup...I don't wanna just plug em in. Also, I had a HP with a soundblaster on it, and it's front audio was hooked up through the soundcard. I think Creative doesn't wanna let the cat out of the bag to its user(because of it's higher end products with front panels) but it does let computer builders and distributers in on this secret.


    ASUS P5B-D WiFi
    e6600 @ 3.40GHz
    Corsair DDR2-800 2x1GB
    Sapphire ATI X1900XTX
    Scythe Infinity w/ FCG's mod
    1 74GB WD Raptor HDD
    2 x 250GB Samsung SP2504C HDD
    OCZ 700W GameXtream PSU
    Thermaltake Armor w/ side fan

    Soon to be retired.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member phi|os's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    398
    K, it's an eight pin connector, on the card. Does anyone know how to hook up front audio to this?

    ASUS P5B-D WiFi
    e6600 @ 3.40GHz
    Corsair DDR2-800 2x1GB
    Sapphire ATI X1900XTX
    Scythe Infinity w/ FCG's mod
    1 74GB WD Raptor HDD
    2 x 250GB Samsung SP2504C HDD
    OCZ 700W GameXtream PSU
    Thermaltake Armor w/ side fan

    Soon to be retired.

  3. #3
    Xtreme X.I.P. irev210's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,515
    yes, i do. I've done it

    hold up, let me get you the info




    Okay, you see that connector where I have the black wire coming out? That is where OEM's hook up the front audio. Just play around with different wires, make your own harness and poof, done!

    I took a set of 6 pins off an old video card, then cut the OEM plug that creative makes OEM's use, and sodiered on to my 6 pins, then just plugged the front audio plug into my newly built harness.



    Edit: if you need a wire harness, I have lots. Just PM me a few bucks for shipping and you can have one.
    Last edited by irev210; 05-12-2006 at 03:30 PM.
    CPU: Intel CORE 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.6GHz w/ 1.29vcore (517*7)
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte P35-DQ6
    Memory:
    Crucial 8500's
    Video:
    Nvidia 8800GTX
    PSU:
    Zippy 700W (fan modded of course)

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member phi|os's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    398
    Oh boy, soldering...I'm in for it.

    By wire harness, you mean the white plastic thing that connects to the the soundcard pins, right? Wow, so cool that someone has figured this out. Yea, I'll send ya few bucks...do you have paypal? Also, do you have lmaybe a rough idea what the pin layout is?

    ASUS P5B-D WiFi
    e6600 @ 3.40GHz
    Corsair DDR2-800 2x1GB
    Sapphire ATI X1900XTX
    Scythe Infinity w/ FCG's mod
    1 74GB WD Raptor HDD
    2 x 250GB Samsung SP2504C HDD
    OCZ 700W GameXtream PSU
    Thermaltake Armor w/ side fan

    Soon to be retired.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member LazyBum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    274
    If you like to read up on it this thread has a bunch of info
    In Bailout America, bank robs YOU
    Gigabyte EX58-Extreme Bios F5h
    i7-920 @ 190x20 HT on Turbo on
    6 GB OCZ XMP Ready DDR3-1600
    300GB Velociraptor (OS)- 2x250GB WD (storage)
    EVGA 8800GTX
    Samsung 2433BW 24" LCD - X-fi Platinum
    Iwaki RD30 24v pump/Meanwell 150 power supply
    Swiftech GTZ, PA 120.3, MCW60, Enzo chipset block
    Vista Business 64bit
    PCPC Silencer 750W PSU

  6. #6
    Xtreme X.I.P. irev210's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,515
    Quote Originally Posted by LazyBum
    If you like to read up on it this thread has a bunch of info

    sounds like that is much easier
    CPU: Intel CORE 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.6GHz w/ 1.29vcore (517*7)
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte P35-DQ6
    Memory:
    Crucial 8500's
    Video:
    Nvidia 8800GTX
    PSU:
    Zippy 700W (fan modded of course)

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    143
    I found quite a few different pin layouts. Contacted Creative support, hopefully they'll know something.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •