Page 1 of 165 12341151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 4115

Thread: Dual Core Opteron Thread #2

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254

    Dual Core Opteron Thread #2

    Thanks to this thread, people all over the interweb are being enlightened. I see this list quoted on every PC site I go to where people are asking about steppings. We're doing some good work here @ XS


    Known good steppings that are capable of 3ghz:

    CCB1E 0550VPMW
    CCBWE 0550UPMW (Some are crappy actually)
    CCB1E 0605XPMW
    CCB1E 0606VPMW
    CCB1E 0608MPMW
    CCB1E 0609FPAW
    CCB1E 0609FPMW
    CCBBE 0610DPMW
    CCBBE 0615EPMW
    CCBBE 0617FPMW

    Honorable Mention:

    CCBWE 0530TPMW (2.9ghz avg.)
    CCBWE 0546XPMW (2.85ghz avg.)
    CCBWE 0609FPAW (Unconfirmed precise averages, but seems to be 2.8-2.9)

    AVOID if you want to hit 2.8ghz+:
    CCBWE 0534SPMW
    CCBWE 0543TPMW
    CCBWE 0546MPMW
    CCBWE 0551 (Any packing code) (2.7-2.75ghz 1.55v)
    CCBWE 0602 (Any packing code)
    CCBWE 0607 (Any packing code) (2.65ghz 1.55v)



    Last edited by CompGeek; 08-13-2006 at 05:03 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  2. #2
    Xtreme Gentoo User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,605
    Woo! Nice new dualcore Opty thread

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,251
    1. 165/170 CCB1E is best for aircooling and water.



    Saving this space for good steppings of first page, adding more later.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Where were we? O yes, the CCBBE 0610 DPMWs and the CCB1E 0608MPMWs... and the oh so crappy CCBWE 0607s
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    534
    How bad are the CCBWE 0607s? There are so many good Opterons, I'm more interested in the crappy ones these days.

    What's the highest overclock with a 1V Opteron, haven't seen this yet.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    The 0607s are doing 2.4 stock, 2.6/1.5, 2.65/1.55

    worse than 0551s
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    The 0607s are doing 2.4 stock, 2.6/1.5, 2.65/1.55

    worse than 0551s
    My 0551 needs 1.375V for 2.4 GHz and only does 2.55 GHz 1.55V. Add's "r3w4's 165" under "Worse than Palominos."

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    lol, wow, well my 0551UPMW did 2.74/1.55v

    Im glad i decided not to test my 0607.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    3,377
    I agree with the stepping rankings in the first post
    Intel Rig
    2500K @ 4.8 Ghz 1.304v | ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3| 2x4Gb Ripjaws DDR3-2133 | Radeon 7970 @ 1250/1800 | Corsair HX850 PSU
    Custom Water of course

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Absolute_0
    I agree with the stepping rankings in the first post
    I figured you would
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  11. #11
    Xtreme Gentoo User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,605
    I'll have to put my chip under phase (or at least water) and see how it does. Looks like 2.8 is the most I can get on air (load temps are getting a bit high, 47-50C). I don't know if it's worth running at 2.8 really, going from 2.75 to 2.8 needs a whole .75v (well, around that) more to keep core 0 stable. It's perfectly stable at 1.612, but I feel the vcore jump is just too big to warrant such a small increase in performance. Plus the load temps are so much higher at 2.8 (probably because of the additional volts). Anybody got any input?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,138
    IT'S AAAAAALIVE, I tell you.. a-l-i-v-e !

    Oh boy.. anyways.. got the expert in today and did a MAJOR reconfig.. got my GTXs out of the water loop.. and to my surprize I didn't loose any OCing ability.. lol. that was the biggest waste of time, watercooling those cards.. anyways.. the vpmw LOVES this board.. but I think I have the temp bug.. my idle temps are 20c and load is like 29c.. lol. so add 7c, right? Still a ton better than my previous mounts.. wow.. I think I was loading at 42c with the chip at 2750 before, and now it's like 36, on fresh AS5 also. yeah.. BTW, the expert was a hassle free upgrade.. booted perfect the 1st time, 5 mins of bios tweaking and I was back at 2750 running strong on default vcore.. going to see how far default will get me now.. isolating the cpu in the loop is going to help a LOT while gaming and such.. it being the only thing warming the coolant.. the GTX fans are very quiet also.. I barely notice them.. I am quite happy so far! finger's X'd for 2800 on default vcore.

    Gigabyte x58 UD5 / core i7 920 @ 3.8 / 6G ddr3 / 100G Patriot Inferno + 500G WD / gtx470 SLI watercooled / x-fi / 1KW enermax / 5760x1080 surround

    Gigabyte z68x-ud3-b3 / core i5 2400 @ 3.6 / 8G ddr3 / 120G Intel 510 + 120G Adata S599 + 2x 1T WD blue / Zotac gt430 / x-fi / 500w ocz / 1920x1200
    DFI pro875B / pressy 2.8 / 2g corsair xms pro / 6800gt agp / 150g raptor x / 500w ultra x-connect / lots of UV lighting / smiles
    MSI K7N2 Delta-L / Athlon xp2600+ / 1G ocz platinum / chaintech TNT2 / 2x Diamond Monster 3D II SLI / Audigy / more smiles

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    415
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    Honorable Mention:
    CCBWE 0546XPMW
    Hmmm... I just bought this: Opteron 175 CCBWE 0546XPMW... my CFX3200 is still on its way - what should I expect?
    Can I hit 3GHz on water (Storm v2, HD20 pump, BIP3 w/ YLoons)?

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In between your IHS and LN2
    Posts
    64
    What's the TCaseMax on those 0607's? 14 degrees?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.18
    ----------------------

    CPU Information (CPU #1):
    Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: 3, Stepping: 2
    Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 23, Stepping: 2
    CPUID String: 20F32
    Processor APIC: 0
    Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron 165 (Toledo)
    CPU Speed: 2528.48 (280.94 x 9.0)
    Revision: JH9-E6
    Platform: Socket 939
    Startup VCore: 1.350v
    Maximum Case Temperature = 55C
    TDP: 65.0 Watts

    Written by: Arthur Liberman.
    Idea by: Petr Koc.
    More info at: http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com...topic.php?t=83



    65watts... doesnt look that bad :S
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by T2k
    Hmmm... I just bought this: Opteron 175 CCBWE 0546XPMW... my CFX3200 is still on its way - what should I expect?
    Can I hit 3GHz on water (Storm v2, HD20 pump, BIP3 w/ YLoons)?
    Id expect more like 2.9, the known 3ghz chips are in the first list.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In between your IHS and LN2
    Posts
    64
    It's a slug in disguise.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    3,377
    Quote Originally Posted by T2k
    Hmmm... I just bought this: Opteron 175 CCBWE 0546XPMW... my CFX3200 is still on its way - what should I expect?
    Can I hit 3GHz on water (Storm v2, HD20 pump, BIP3 w/ YLoons)?
    No. It is the least deserving one listed on the honorable mention. 2.85, more than that is lucky.
    Intel Rig
    2500K @ 4.8 Ghz 1.304v | ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3| 2x4Gb Ripjaws DDR3-2133 | Radeon 7970 @ 1250/1800 | Corsair HX850 PSU
    Custom Water of course

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Absolute_0
    No. It is the least deserving one listed on the honorable mention. 2.85, more than that is lucky.
    Yea, it's jus above average, its not extremely 1337.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    756
    I'm still testing my new 0610DPMW. I'm pushing closer and closer to 2.9GHz on aircooling and currently using 1.415v. Seems to be real stable at 2853MHz now. It wanted to error out in Prime95 the other day with 1.42V at that speed even though it was a rock at 2808MHz all night long. It must be breaking in a little or something. I could probably get 3GHz if i shot the volts but i dont think i will. I just want to get the max clock i can on a low voltage.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by burningrave101
    I'm still testing my new 0610DPMW. I'm pushing closer and closer to 2.9GHz on aircooling and currently using 1.415v. Seems to be real stable at 2853MHz now. It wanted to error out in Prime95 the other day with 1.42V at that speed even though it was a rock at 2808MHz all night long. It must be breaking in a little or something. I could probably get 3GHz if i shot the volts but i dont think i will. I just want to get the max clock i can on a low voltage.
    whuss

    Give it what it wants! 3100mhz!
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    AVOID if you want to hit 2.8ghz+:
    CCBWE 0534SPMW
    CCBWE 0543TPMW
    CCBWE 0546MPMW
    CCBWE 0551 (Any packing code) (2.7-2.75ghz 1.55v)
    CCBWE 0607 (Any packing code) (2.65ghz 1.55v)
    Just got a CCBWE 0607UPBW from Monarch.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Yea, same here yesterday... sold it already.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the edge of Technology
    Posts
    1,254
    Common monarch... give us the good stuff
    Quote Originally Posted by dmn_link (Gamespot)
    Am I being watched by a hacker?

    I just went to change my display picture for my Windows account and saw and account that i have never created before. The account name is ASP.NET Machine A...'s .

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    288
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    Id expect more like 2.9, the known 3ghz chips are in the first list.
    Oh really? How 'bout a little love for a second rate 175 CCBWE0530 on a mere XP-90!



    One nice thnig about this stepping is that I have room to grow as I grow as an overclocker. This screen was taken like six months ago; currently I am at 3.2GHz on a water chiller, and when I move on to phase, I still have some headroom to play with.

    Just something to think about.
    DFI LP UT P35-T2R | E8400 Q743A748 - IHS removed
    Team Xtreme PC2 9600 2x1GB | Auzentech XPlosion
    PCP+C Silencer 750W | 2x36GB Raptors RAID-0 | XFX 7800GT
    Iwaki MD20-RZT | FuZion - 4.4mm - modified ProMount | PA120.3

Page 1 of 165 12341151101 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •