MMM
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: KD7-G Serial ATA Problems

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    60

    KD7-G Serial ATA Problems

    Just bought 3 KD7-Gs from newegg along with 3 XP1700s and happened to get a trio of nice little JIUHB step codes, so we might clock the servers up a bit : )

    But that's not the problem. The problem is that with all three boards, the 2nd Serial ATA port will not recognize the hard disk in the BIOS.

    I switched the jumpers around and tired every combo possible on the hard drives. Both drives are seen in Port 1 when run separately. Neither drive is seen by port 2, whether I boot with both plugged in or neither. I've switched serial ATA cables, the Serillel adapters, everything. What are the odds I got three bad boards in the same shipment? Probably 0.

    The drives are WD SE 80GB 8MB cache drives - brand new. Bought six of those. Serial ATA is enabled in the BIOS etc.

    Not sure what to do. Anything I am missing here that has been discussed elsewhere. Been searching for solutions for 2 hours now and come up with little.

    Thanks.

    RB

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    NC Texas
    Posts
    73

    Question

    There is NO slave drives with SATA.
    If you jumper both drives as master, I think you will find they will work.
    WD has a sensitave jumper system.
    If this still does not work for you. Call WD tech support, they are OK.
    However I think if you will jumper both drives as master/ I think that will work fine.
    nForce2 Super System
    A7N8X/dx 1002
    XP2500+ Barton
    Radeon 9500 Pro DDR128
    SLK800 w/Tornado 84cfm
    XP Professional
    2x256mb PC2700
    Xaser II w/full side window
    WD 120gb SE Hard Drive
    Satellite ISP
    www.eagleperformancepcs.com

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    60
    yeah, i think it still very possibly could be a jumper issue, so i will give a shout to WD tech support per your advice.

    However, both of the drives have been set to master for a while. I can plug Drive A into Port one with the jumper set to master, and it's recognized. I then simply move the plug for Drive A two Port two, re-boot, and it's not there.

    However, given that it's happening on all three boards, it's likely a WD issue, but who knows? I'll try my maxtor drive today and see if that doesn't get it any further.

    thanks for the input. it is very much appreciated!

    rb

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincy, Ohio
    Posts
    4
    Try removing the jumpers. I have no jumpers on my KG7 or KX7 boards raid arrays. They won't recognize the drives with jumpers on.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    60
    i fixed it. took off both jumpers completely and re-routed power supply connections. ashamed to say, and not completely sure of it, but I might just have had the molex plugs routed through a few too many shortcuts with the pass thru adapters or something! Oh well. Just glad it's working. Thanks again for the input!

    rb

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    60
    btw, does anyone know where serial to ATA (serillel adapaters) can be had for less than the $25 or so that I've seen them going for?

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •