Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 222

Thread: 4 Ghz!!!..........

  1. #1
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233

    4 Ghz!!!..........

    AND IT'S NOT AN FX





    This has got to be one of the weirdest cpu's I've ever run into. It's capable of relatively high speeds @ low vcores, but for some reason I can't seem to get it stabilized past 14x265 1m. I haven't yet tried everything, but a cpu of this caliber should be EASILY benchable @ 3.8G. I'll try to get some work done on this chip tomorrow, but IMO it's still quite an accomplishment for a non-FX cpu to hit the magical 4. Here's a couple of more pics:



    Last edited by s7e9h3n; 02-13-2006 at 01:51 AM.

  2. #2
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    Really awesome cpu you got there stephen congrats on that chip
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    717
    In the words of peter griffin, That's freakin sweet!

    hopefully you'll get it figured out and superpi will stop being stupid, I would love to see what it will 3D bench at.
    Microsoft's homepage can be found at: thesource-dot-ofallevil-dot-com - interesting, no?

    Think of something witty and imagine it here.

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,371
    very impressive !!!! good O/C

    Temp Cpu please ? not cold bug ?

    Coeff 14 that Help
    OCM Member / IXTREMTEK Admin !!



    DDR1 2*256 BH5 Adata @324.7Mhz 1.5/2/2/5 1T at 4v @318.6Mhz Benchs
    DDR2 1*512 Kingston Pc8500 @702Mhz 5/5/5/18 at 2.42v réel
    DDR2 2*1024 Cell Shock Pc8000c4 @534Mhz 3/3/3/8 at 3.5v réel

    Cooling : XP90C , Big Typhoon , waterchiller R507 , LN2 ....

  5. #5
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Thx guys....just thought I'd add that the cpu really didn't need that much Vcore to get to 4g. I got frustrated with not being able to run any 32m's stable so I just rebooted and set the vcore to 1.50 + 123% to see if that would help . Spi ended up failing -again- so I just ramped the cpu up. It basically breezed to 4 gig, but my attempt at getting a screenie @ 4.050 locked the system up This is what the cpu did on it's initial bootup. It could have gone higher, but my voltages weren't really set up correctly to go any higher (especially my BH5's which were running 1:1 @ 3.65V):



    @ boblemagnifique - The IHS on the cpu may not have been making very good contact with the core since my windows temps were a little erratic. Idle Core Temps: 1.61V ~-45C, 1.66V ~ -44C, 1.71V ~ -43C. The odd thing was that these temps would fluctuate ~3C at a time. I tried to remount 2 times and was making perfect contact with the IHS so I dunno what it could be

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    212
    Was it done under your cascade?
    Even if it was, that is still a uber clocking chip.

    -- edit --
    My post was a bit late, and now I see your temps. awesome chip.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,031
    Very nice overclock!
    What cooling?

    "In mild doses, ethylene produces states of euphoria, associated with stimulus
    to the pleasure centres of the human brain."

    Intel benching: 3DMark Vantage: E69642, P37253, H30363, X22138
    Swedish Overclocking Champion 2006 - Celeron Mobile 1400 @ 4243MHz - 203%

  8. #8
    Brotherhood
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Land Of KADISOKA
    Posts
    1,231
    Good Jobs man !!
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    81
    Very nice OC!

    Congrats on the amazing cpu .......lucky bastard


    Thanks
    [ZIZI]
    3400+ NewCastle: 2930 MHz LBAZC 0504UPBW R.I.P.
    WR: 3000+ (Venice 754):3207.22 MHz CBBWE 0542DAD

  10. #10
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by formyfaith
    Was it done under your cascade?
    Even if it was, that is still a uber clocking chip.

    -- edit --
    My post was a bit late, and now I see your temps. awesome chip.
    AUTOCASCADE Single-compressor, 6-stage phase change. Evap @ -75C idle, -68C loaded - 1.66Vcore.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,014
    wow nice cpu... amazing that it only needs -68 to reach 4G

  12. #12
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    woah.. very nice get 4ghz 32M stable please
    ---

  13. #13
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000
    woah.. very nice get 4ghz 32M stable please
    Just because you asked, I think I'll try it tomorrow. Is 14x286 1:1 with 2x512mb BH5's ok by you? Oh yeah...and maybe @ 1.50 Vcore?

  14. #14
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Quote Originally Posted by s7e9h3n
    Just because you asked, I think I'll try it tomorrow. Is 14x286 1:1 with 2x512mb BH5's ok by you? Oh yeah...and maybe @ 1.50 Vcore?
    Guess that's just barely acceptable LOL j/k
    ---

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    421
    WOW steve... awsome!
    Congratz!
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    GSkill F2-8000CL DDR2-1000 2x2GB
    Abit IP35 Pro
    XFX NVidia GeForce 6800GT @ 435/1210Mhz
    2x WD Raptor 36GB RAID 0
    Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
    Windows Vista Ultimate x64

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    194
    Pretty nice Stephen

    I've got a cpu like this one once.
    Not even stable over 2.55 ghz 1.45v, but would boot @ 2.8 ghz and screen at 3 ghz 1.55v, he liked cold and volts
    Last edited by Shinuza; 02-08-2006 at 03:57 AM.
    "Even if a samurai's head would to be suddenly cut off, he should still be able to perform one more action with certainty.
    If one becomes like a revengeful ghost and shows great determination, though his head is cut off, he should not die."

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    233
    Quote Originally Posted by Shinuza
    Pretty nice Stephen

    I've got a cpu like this one once.
    Not even stable over 2.55 ghz 1.45v, but would boot @ 2.8 ghz and screen at 3 ghz 1.55v, I liked cold and volts
    220V + LN²
    Cooling : Waterchiller, Cascade and ~100L LN²
    Hardware : Many things !

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by quent
    220V + LN²
    Edited
    "Even if a samurai's head would to be suddenly cut off, he should still be able to perform one more action with certainty.
    If one becomes like a revengeful ghost and shows great determination, though his head is cut off, he should not die."

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Quote Originally Posted by s7e9h3n
    Nice I assume that's on water? When you say "Kinda" what does that mean specifically? So far this 154 I got today is quite a beast. I've taken it as high as 3920 (14x280) @ 1.66Vcore at only -43C in windows. It's capable of much, much more but I've got a bad mount and my bh5's didn't want to go much higher @ 3.65V Sorry for the OT....
    Quote taken from OPP's back thread


    Man, you weren't kidding were you!! Looks like this chip could take you places bro. Break her in and kick some arse.
    Last edited by Hell-Fire; 02-08-2006 at 10:38 PM.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    4,088
    AABCE...no doubt some great silicon....

  21. #21
    Master of nebulah frost
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dolomites(Italy)
    Posts
    2,292
    This is AMAZING!!!
    Battlefield 3: Nachthymnen666

  22. #22
    So BC memcontroller no cold bug?
    Gigabyte P35C-DS3--E6600 L628B123--2x1GB Gskill Pc6400HZ+1GB D9GMH OEM--Sapphire x1900XTX--Tagan 580w--GFX Watercooled--Cpu Cooled By Mach2 GT modded by Jort


  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    140
    Core temperature is quite low! Couldn't it be that sweet point is higher than -45°C

    Congrats for a 4Ghz Opteron
    Opteron 146 3716MHz
    Venice 3000+ 3548MHz
    AthlonXP 1800+ 3081MHz

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ortona,Italy
    Posts
    140
    Amazing result.very nice
    ThuG Oc Team Italy - PcXtreme.it Staff/Admin - 8Ghz Club

  25. #25
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by El Snorro
    So BC memcontroller no cold bug?
    Almost ALL A64 90nm cpu's have a bug, but some are just a little more resiliant to the cold than others. The stepping on this cpu is AABCE - which means it's a pre-release/sample version of the more common CABCE. All the FX57's produced from 0512 - 0522 were CABCE's. Generally, you'll find that sample cpu's (the ones who's steppings begin with "A") will perform a bit better in the cold than the ones released in retail. My autocascade produces temps which are slightly better than DI, but nowhere near the temps of a dual-compressor cascade. This makes for ideal temps on the majority of "non-cold bugged" 57's....

Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •