Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: iMacIntel disassembled "pics"

  1. #1
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,715

    iMacIntel disassembled "pics"

    http://www.kodawarisan.com/k2006/arc...ore_duo_a.html

    notice that the processor is not soldered to the motherboard. maybe a chance to upgrade?

    edit.... http://mactree.sannet.ne.jp/%7ekodaw...c_intel01.html this mirror is slow, try first link click on pic then follow mirror
    Last edited by JAWS; 01-15-2006 at 11:22 AM.


    check out "XS REVIEWS"

    Want me to believe your hardware review? Show me a receipt

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    somewhere in Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,030
    kinda sucks they had to solder the video card portion onto it though.

    but yea, I'm sure a CPU upgrade is possible, I can't see them hard-coding that much into the BIOS besides the functionality for a CPU core-type [Yonah]

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    new delhi, india
    Posts
    844
    cool man, the actually put a socket,

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    560
    what socket is that?!?!

  5. #5
    Xtreme X.I.P. MaxxxRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca USA
    Posts
    13,738
    Socket 479.. = Intel mobile socket..

    the IntelImac is essentially a yonah laptop with a funky stand.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    560
    hm
    what is the cheapest imac with yohan?
    i wanna try to oc it )

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    144
    what is the cheapest imac with yohan?
    Its $1299 in the US but you can get a decent educational discount if you're a student (or you know someone that is).

    To be honest if you want to overclock something like that your best bet would be to wait for the Intel PowerMac replacements or the Mac Mini replacement which should all be based upon Yonah or Merom. The mini will also be significantly cheaper than the iMac!!


    Spanky
    Desktop:
    A64 3700+ @ 3 Ghz Mach 2 Cooled
    DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
    2 x 512MB Crucial PC2700 (yes I know. I ordered 2x512MB PC4800 but they never arrived and I can't afford to spend any money anymore)
    Coolermaster ATC 210 Case
    1 x Seagate 80 GB
    1 x Seagate 120GB
    1 x Seagate 300GB
    2 x Maxtor Maxline III 300GB
    Pioneer DVD
    Pioneer DVDRW
    2 x Gigabyte 6800 GTs
    30" LCD Monitor / TV

    Laptop:
    Dell Inspiron 8600
    Pentium M 1.7 GHz
    2 x 512 MB PC2700
    80GB HDD
    DVD/RW
    Geforce FX 5650 Go
    15.4" Widescreen 1920x1200 Screen

  8. #8
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,715
    Quote Originally Posted by Spanky Deluxe
    The mini will also be significantly cheaper than the iMac!!


    Spanky

    yep that’s what I was thinking. the original macmini was overclockable up to 1.9 or 2 GHz. I think.


    check out "XS REVIEWS"

    Want me to believe your hardware review? Show me a receipt

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    167
    Lol, its just a pc with a security chip. :|

  10. #10
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,107
    Quote Originally Posted by POGE
    Lol, its just a pc with a security chip. :|
    Has the protection mechanism been confirmed yet?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Peoples Republic of Kalifornia
    Posts
    1,572

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Vapor
    Has the protection mechanism been confirmed yet?

    As far as i know its not confirmed. But i'm sure a little soldering can bypass it right quick.

    "That the said Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to infringe the just liberty of the press or the rights of conscience; or to prevent the people of the United States who are peaceable citizens from keeping their own arms ... "
    -- Samuel Adams

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    578
    So is that sl8vq a yonah? I wonder how long it will be before we start seeing those pop up on ebay..

  13. #13
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,107
    Just as soon as we get motherboards for them I'm sure....which will be around the time that we get Yonah in retail.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by JAWS
    yep that’s what I was thinking. the original macmini was overclockable up to 1.9 or 2 GHz. I think.
    A hair over 1.7ghz is the highest I can recall seeing. I'm pretty sure most people topped out around 1.6ghz max stable, but the general overclock was to 1.5ghz. I'm actually typing this on a mac mini o/c'd to 1.5ghz.

    These new macs are going to be hard to overclock because the multipliers are set by intel on the cpus (like usual). Most of the mac overclocking is done via changing resistors around to change that multiplier.

    The imac FLIES by the way, if you've ever used osx then you know how slow it can get especially with a lot of windows open using expose (particularly f9). It was smooth as butter on the 20" imac I used at the apple store. I really want to get one, but I don't know if I can jutify it.

  15. #15
    Xtremely slow runner
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,900
    Quote Originally Posted by Arkangyl
    kinda sucks they had to solder the video card portion onto it though.

    but yea, I'm sure a CPU upgrade is possible, I can't see them hard-coding that much into the BIOS besides the functionality for a CPU core-type [Yonah]
    There is no BIOS but an EFI instead and from what i heard this can do some pretty nice stuff.
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

    Av by Frisch This is not a Lime tree

  16. #16
    Join XS WCG or \/ !!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth:\USA\OHIO
    Posts
    5,108
    antipop,
    What is EFI other than Electronic Fuel Injection? I googled it so I didn't have to ask and look like a dumb a$$ but not finding it. I get that it is a rom like image for replacing the bios but what does it stand for?

  17. #17
    Xtremely slow runner
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,900
    Quote Originally Posted by mysticmerlin
    antipop,
    What is EFI other than Electronic Fuel Injection? I googled it so I didn't have to ask and look like a dumb a$$ but not finding it. I get that it is a rom like image for replacing the bios but what does it stand for?
    damn i thought i was posting on a car forum

    Without kidding EFI stands for Extensible Firmware Interface, it's way more evolved than the bios and allows you to do more stuff on it. It's closer to the Openfirmware than to the BIOS. However my knowledge on the EFI is rather limited
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

    Av by Frisch This is not a Lime tree

  18. #18
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,715
    http://neosmart.net/blog/dual-bootin...-on-a-macbook/

    not sure if this works 100%, but it didn't take long


    check out "XS REVIEWS"

    Want me to believe your hardware review? Show me a receipt

  19. #19
    Join XS WCG or \/ !!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth:\USA\OHIO
    Posts
    5,108
    Now if some one can make a .exe file out of it for the Windowz peps so they can understand it. LOL But still I agree jaws didn't take very long to do it, But does it count as installing for the 10k prize as he is basically pasting a image on it not installing it?

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by JAWS
    http://neosmart.net/blog/dual-bootin...-on-a-macbook/

    not sure if this works 100%, but it didn't take long

    this method is completely untrue and that guy is a scammer. one of his steps is boot to a windows vista cd.

    If it was that easy, why do the rest?
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 300x10________15" Macbook Pro
    2x 512mb Mushkin DDR _______________2x 1Gb DDR2
    Sapphire X850XT____________________X1600M
    DFI Ultra-D_________________________2.16Ghz Merom C2D
    Lian-Li PC7A________________________OS X/XP
    PCP&C 610w Silencer

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    langley, bc
    Posts
    84
    has anyone taken out the yonah chips and put it in a desktop?
    AMD Opteron 165 Dual Core 1.8ghz @ *Still Overclocking*
    BFG 7600gt OC 256mb 580/725 @ *Still Overclocking*
    OCZ Gold EL pc4000 2x1gb 3-4-3-8 @ *Still Overclocking*
    DFI UT Ultra-D nForce4
    SB Audigy X-Gamer
    Lian-Li v2000b plus - Antec Phantom 350w
    DD RBX - DD Maze4 - DD Dual heatercore - 2x BIP - 490g/h pump
    InTomWeTrust on EOCF

  22. #22
    Join XS WCG or \/ !!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth:\USA\OHIO
    Posts
    5,108
    Is there any Mobo's that can use the chip yet? I googled it and didn't find it anyways.

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxxxRacer
    Socket 479.. = Intel mobile socket..

    the IntelImac is essentially a yonah laptop with a funky stand.
    Well, not really:

    3.5" HDD
    17/20" Screen
    Power brick built-in
    PCI Express with X1600
    Previous iMac's use regular RAM not SO-DIMM's, had a desktop chip (PPC G5)

    The only thing laptop about it is the current CPU, and that is not because of heat restrictions, but availability of any other new Intel CPU's
    iMac G5
    PPC 970 @ 2.1 Ghz
    1.5 GB DDR2 RAM 533 Mhz
    ATI X600XT 128 MB DDR RAM
    250 GB SATA HDD
    300 GB SATA HDD External
    802.11 b/g built-in
    Bluetooth 2.0 EDR+ built-in
    iSight Camera built-in
    20" 1680*1050 + 17" 1280*1024 LCD's
    OS X 10.4.6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •