Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Anyone with a new intel mac? Question

  1. #1
    XS News
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    1,462

    Anyone with a new intel mac? Question

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/10794396/from/RS.3/

    based on that feed, does that mean you can do a fresh install/dual boot of wxp onto the mac?
    i7-3820
    SB Z
    16GB 2200
    GTX690
    1KW Lazer

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Fantasia
    Posts
    1,584
    I think I've read interviews with Jobs where he says you can install XP on an intel mac, but you won't be able to "buy" mac os for a normal intel machine. And no one has an intel mac yet, unless they are a dev.

    Edit I take that back: http://www.betanews.com/article/XP_W...Mac/1137003330
    Last edited by Mr. Tinker; 01-11-2006 at 11:10 AM.
    ebay under aws983s, heatware under Mr. Tinker.

  3. #3
    Xtremely slow runner
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,900
    Apple said (phil schiller actually) that they won't do anything to block nor help the installation of windows on their machine. Translated : do what you want but don't ask us.
    But the dual boot for the moment is blocked due to the use of an EFI instead of a regular bios and no windows so far boots on an EFI. People are talking about programming the EFI so that it can emulate a bios but this is out of my reach so i won't comment on it
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

    Av by Frisch This is not a Lime tree

  4. #4
    Join XS WCG or \/ !!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth:\USA\OHIO
    Posts
    5,108
    But why would you want ruin a perfectly good Mac with windowz?
    Isn't that the idea of getting a Mac is to have something that works?
    If you want dual boot put FreeBSD on your WinTel box and leave my Mac's in
    there virgin state.
    :dismount soapbox:

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mysticmerlin
    But why would you want ruin a perfectly good Mac with windowz?
    Isn't that the idea of getting a Mac is to have something that works?
    If you want dual boot put FreeBSD on your WinTel box and leave my Mac's in
    there virgin state.
    :dismount soapbox:

    I would love to have os x and windows on a nice little imac, but it wont be happening for a while... EFI is a big problem with windows atm.
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 300x10________15" Macbook Pro
    2x 512mb Mushkin DDR _______________2x 1Gb DDR2
    Sapphire X850XT____________________X1600M
    DFI Ultra-D_________________________2.16Ghz Merom C2D
    Lian-Li PC7A________________________OS X/XP
    PCP&C 610w Silencer

  6. #6
    XS_THE_MACHINE
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    4,871
    Maybe vista will support efi?
    "Victory is always possible for the person who refuses to stop fighting"

    clicks to save kids

  7. #7
    Xtremely slow runner
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,900
    Quote Originally Posted by moddolicous
    Maybe vista will support efi?
    Vista will support EFI
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

    Av by Frisch This is not a Lime tree

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    100
    Vista will support EFI.

  9. #9
    Xtremely slow runner
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,900
    Quote Originally Posted by AJF
    Vista will support EFI.
    HE HE I beat you on this one
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

    Av by Frisch This is not a Lime tree

  10. #10
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,107
    Actually...current iterations of Vista DO support EFI

  11. #11
    Join XS WCG or \/ !!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Earth:\USA\OHIO
    Posts
    5,108
    It says on 0$x86 that Gateway has been using EFI sence 04 so how are they doing that with XP?

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by mysticmerlin
    It says on 0$x86 that Gateway has been using EFI sence 04 so how are they doing that with XP?
    Windows XP does support EFI, but only indirectly. Itanium XP is the only actual XP build with some direct EFI support, the rest relies on a part of the EFI called the BIOS Compatibility Support Module (CSM). This CSM works by providing virtual BIOS hooks that older OSes understand and can link to.

    Apple have chosen (for obvious reasons) to not include the BIOS CSM in their Macs.


    FAB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •