Page 1 of 14 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 363

Thread: [Asus+Dothan]Dead BH5 - Here is the TUT to fix it!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677

    [Asus+Dothan]Dead BH5 - Here is the TUT to fix it!

    We now know that when you have an Asus motherbaord with the ct-479 and dothan you easily can kill youre mem. Many people say its the problem when using Clockgen and CPUZ at the same time.

    So what would it be..

    Well after some searching with Thaiphoon SPD editer i saw that (i had 1 "dead" and 1 normal stick in my dfi nf4) thaiphoon spotted 2 times a SPD. So practily the spd is still alive.

    When you think about this we all know cpuz enters the spd. So i think that is the mean problem. (dont ask me what happend when this problem occured)

    So what i did is reversed the problem

    <font color="red">Follow this Tutorial and youre pretty bh5 will be running like it did before </font>

    Here you see thaiphoon. As you can see thaiphoon see's 2 SPD's, my 52H is my working xms 3200LL to get in windows and 53H is my dead xms 3500. Choose youre dead mem as device (i select 53h)


    Second step is to load the "good" dump for youre dead mem. Try to find the simmilair dump for youre mem. So in my case xms3500c2 dump.

    (you can find dumps in this post, or if you know someone with the same memory you can make a dump from them.

    Then give Thaiphoon the order to Fully write the spd with the loaded dump.


    Just restart youre pc....

    AND ENJOY YOURE MEMMORY AGAIN!

    Im sorry to say, CPUZ is a truelly great program. But this time its the bad guy and Erases the SPD from the memory!



    <center><font size="5"><font color="red"><b>Dumps!</b></font></font><br />

    ================================================== =====================

    Thaiphoon Download trial!
    http://cbid.amdclub.ru/files/thphn10.zip

    <font color="orange">256mb Ram dumps:</font>
    ================================================== ======================
    <font color="green">
    - TwinMOS BH-5 3200
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...8&d=1136784985
    - Kingston KHX3200 (old bh5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...4&d=1136726359
    - corsair 3200ll ver1.1 (old BH5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...6&d=1136732093
    - Corsair 3500C2v1.1 (old BH-5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...9&d=1136746506
    - Mushkin Special 2-2-2 DDR400 (old BH-6)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...2&d=1136770135
    - Infineon 6-A DDR333 (old BH-6)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...3&d=1136770135
    - Kingston KHX3500 (old custom BH)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...5&d=1136712191
    - Buffalo PC3700 (old bh5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...0&d=1136855597
    - Hyundai PC3200 (Hynix D43)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...3&d=1136898228
    - Kingston PC2700 KVR (value)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...4&d=1136898228
    </font>
    <font color="orange">512mb Ram dumps.</font>
    ================================================== ======================
    <font color="green">
    - Mushkin Level II Black 3500 (old bh5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...7&d=1136784985
    - Corsair XMS3200 v1.1 (old bh50)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...2&d=1136725836
    - Twinmos PC3200 (old bh5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...5&d=1136726926
    - Corsair 3500C2v1.1 (old BH-5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...0&d=1136746506
    - Geil PC3200 Ultra-X (new BH)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...4&d=1136712191
    - Mushkin Redline PC4000 (new CH)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...6&d=1136712191
    - OCZ PC3200 Gold (new BH)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...7&d=1136712191
    - Infineon PC2700 6-A (old bh6)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...9&d=1136834034
    - Kreton PC3200 (new bh5)
    http://files.upl.silentwhisper.net/u..._UTT-chips.rar
    - Kingston KHX3200 (old bh5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...8&d=1136845647
    - Twinmos speed premium ch-5 (AA4T new ch5)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...0&d=1136846068
    - G.Skill F1-3200BWU2-1GBGH (BH-UTT)
    - G.Skill F1-3200DSU2-1GBFX (TCCD)
    - G.Skill F1-3200DSU2-1GBLE (TCCD)
    - G.Skill F1-3200PHU2-1GBNT (Infineon chips)
    - G.Skill F1-3200PHU2-1GBZX (Infineon chips)
    - G.Skill F1-4400DSU2-1GBFC (TCCD)
    - G.Skill F1-4800DSU2-1GBFF (TCCD)
    - G.Skill F1-4800DSU2-1GBFR (TCCD)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...9&d=1136804227
    - Kingston PC3200 KVR (value)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...5&d=1136898228
    - OCZ PC3200 OCZ400512ELPER2 (TCCD)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...6&d=1136898228

    </font>
    <font color="orange">1024mb Ram dumps:</font>
    ================================================== ======================
    <font color="green">
    G.Skill F1-3200PHU2-2GBNS (Infineon chips)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...9&d=1136804227
    - Crucial PC4000 Ballistix Z503 (Micron chips)
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/atta...2&d=1136898228
    </font>

    ================================================== ======================
    <center><font size="5"><font color="red"><b>Warning!</b></font></font><br />

    If people decide they wanna play with custom spd settings OR load an other spd then the original, they could destroy their ram and their memory controllers! Why? Coz Thaiphoon or anything else besides an external spd programmer doesn't access the secondary spd settings. So this can give HUGE problems were i dont want to be responseble for!

    So please be clever and put the original dumps in the correct SPD's!

    ================================================== ======================

    Waus!
    Last edited by Waus-mod; 01-13-2006 at 02:22 AM.
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arizona State
    Posts
    1,377
    Wow, if this works all the time you are a genious.
    Q6700
    MSI P35
    8GB OCZ
    2xHD 2900 XT
    PCP&C 1kw

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,746
    good find! this work on all mem with spd i'm assuming then?
    mobo: msi 970 g46
    gpu: amd 6870 core 1ghz/ mem 1140 arctic twin turbo (6850 coming soon for franken-fire)
    cpu: 955be @ 3.8ghz @ 1.375v's 2.6ghz n/b 1.275 scythe scrt-1000
    ram: 2x2gb samsung hyko @ 800mhz @ 6-8-8-24
    psu: corsair 650hx
    hdd's: 500gb + 1tb ( 16 and 32mb cache ) samsung

    mobo: biostar r690a-m2t
    gpu: E4690 @ 725core/750mem
    cpu: 4200+ @ 3ghz 1.43 hyper 212 evo
    ram: (random) 2x512mb 2x1gb @ 375 5-5-5-15
    psu: blue storm II 500w
    hdd's: 850gb total

  4. #4
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    It works
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  5. #5
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,280
    Could you just dump from your good mudule and write to the bad module?
    Intel 7960X ES @ 4.4Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
    GTX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    32GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AIO

    Intel 8700K @ 5.2Ghz
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    16GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AIO

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    489
    This is very very very good news my friend !!!!
    Thank I will try it on my BH-6

    My Rig:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
    2x512mb Micron PC3200 OEM D9DQW "Fatbody"
    Biostar TForce P965 Deluxe
    MSI/Medion GeForce 6700XL (Cheap )
    Chieftec 360W (in search for someting better)
    WD 160GB S-ATA

  7. #7
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    @Fugger

    Well i hope i get youre question..

    I had 1 good working 3200LL stick to get in windows so i could load thaiphoon. so i placed the not working stick in dual channel, and windows loaded. Then you can select an dump from the original spd, or mayb (didnt test it) an dump from other mem that has the same layout. But i think the best way is to still use the dump that has been made for the memmory itself.
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Earth/France/Corrèze
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by Waus-mod
    @Fugger

    Well i hope i get youre question..

    I had 1 good working 3200LL stick to get in windows so i could load thaiphoon. so i placed the not working stick in dual channel, and windows loaded. Then you can select an dump from the original spd, or mayb (didnt test it) an dump from other mem that has the same layout. But i think the best way is to still use the dump that has been made for the memmory itself.
    My Corsair bh5 works perfectly with an Mushkin spd, no prob.
    http://ocing3.free.fr/FTP/overclocki...iphoon_Burner/
    learn A.K.A JP

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by Waus-mod
    @Fugger

    Well i hope i get youre question..

    I had 1 good working 3200LL stick to get in windows so i could load thaiphoon. so i placed the not working stick in dual channel, and windows loaded. Then you can select an dump from the original spd, or mayb (didnt test it) an dump from other mem that has the same layout. But i think the best way is to still use the dump that has been made for the memmory itself.
    My system doesn't post with the bad stick in.
    So you're saying that we must slot in the "dead" stick while the system is with windows loaded allready? I mean, slot in the stick with the system running?
    Last edited by Ratax; 01-08-2006 at 04:02 AM.
    ->Dual 2.8 Xeon * PC-DL Dlx * 2gb Kingston DDR400 * Connect3D X850Pro@XTPE
    HEATWARE

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by Ratax
    My system doesn't post with the bad stick in.
    So you're saying that we must slot in the "dead" stick while the system is with windows loaded allready? I mean, slot in the stick with the system running?
    lol hot swap kills both stick and your mobo
    dont do that
    try different mobo, until you find one that can boot it
    or try some special spd programmer as i mentioned earlier

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Victorshen
    lol hot swap kills both stick and your mobo
    dont do that
    try different mobo, until you find one that can boot it
    or try some special spd programmer as i mentioned earlier
    So if my system doesn't run with the dead stick in, and I can't do hot swap, and I haven't any sdp programmer... This means i can't do anything more, doesn't it?
    [I want to believe]

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Helsinki / Finland
    Posts
    965
    Is everything ok here with my TwinMOS 512mb old BH-5 309WE
    It give me sudden bluescreen etc.

    What BH-5 dump is suitable for this stick

    - Team Skootterit
    - SuperPi32M : 18m53.156s with FX-57 / LN2 (Ilkkahy's brazed container)
    - SuperPi8M : 3m55.703s with FX-57 / LN2 (Ilkkahy's brazed container)
    - SuperPi1M : 21.484s with FX-57 / LN2 (Ilkkahy's brazed container)


  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Victorshen
    lol hot swap kills both stick and your mobo
    Just like to mention that I just fixed my dead BH-6 with a hot swap. It wouldn't boot in either of my rigs and I'm kinda in the middle of nowhere. I tried with the tape and that didn't work, so I waited till the screen came on and jammed him in.

    Not very clever I know but it did work.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    OCAU + Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by snatchmonkey
    Just like to mention that I just fixed my dead BH-6 with a hot swap. It wouldn't boot in either of my rigs and I'm kinda in the middle of nowhere. I tried with the tape and that didn't work, so I waited till the screen came on and jammed him in.

    Not very clever I know but it did work.
    Could you clarify exactly when you inserted the stick?

    Anyone else attempted this?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    200
    Now is time to get a SPD dump for my dead stick of Twinmos SP 3200 that my DFI killed...
    Could I dump out the SDP of the working sitck and rewrite the dead stick with it???
    [Running to put on mi DFI the TwinMOS sticks... xD]



  16. #16
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    Well i cant say if this is the same with mem killed by other motherboards. Just for the clockgen+cpuz issue on the asus+dothan. Coz cpuz erases the spd somehow.
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  17. #17
    Waus this is a really nice job finding this for the community.

    Good luck with your fine 280mhz bh-5 again
    Gigabyte P35C-DS3--E6600 L628B123--2x1GB Gskill Pc6400HZ+1GB D9GMH OEM--Sapphire x1900XTX--Tagan 580w--GFX Watercooled--Cpu Cooled By Mach2 GT modded by Jort


  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    200
    I think that the UTT problem with high voltages is related to the SPD, with this I will confirm that...
    BTW, I have done this with my Corsair BH-6 at this moment. I have the dump out from 1 stick (2.5-3-3-6 @ 200) and rewrited the SPD of the stick 2 (2.5-4-4-8 @ 200). now both are running fine with 2.5-3-3-6 @ 200 SPD&#180;s...
    Thanks for show me this great program...



  19. #19
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    NP lord...

    As this is just great news for everyone
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Herning, Denmark
    Posts
    496
    Wow. I thought it was impossible to reprogram spd without special equipment. Is i possible to alter the SPD manually?
    Say, i want it to boot at 2-2-2-5 instead of 2.5-3-3-7 the first time..

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    200
    Hey men!! My dead stick of TwinMOS Speed Premium UTT-CH is alive again!!!
    I have reprogramed the dead stick with the SPD from the good stick.
    Now I am writing with two sticks attached @ 268 2-2-2... they perform the same before they dead...
    They are good news for all of those people with UTT sticks dead because of DFI vDimm...
    A few bananas:


    I am very happy now... thanks man, you have make me happy for this afternoon...



  22. #22
    ln2nl
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,677
    WTF..... hahaha so also the dfi "dead by jumper mem" does also live again?

    W00000T

    mayb the topic title can be changed and made sticky mods?
    *EDITed by IFMU*
    Signature Removed by XS Staff for not following XS Policies

    Forum Policies

  23. #23
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by Waus-mod
    WTF..... hahaha so also the dfi "dead by jumper mem" does also live again?

    W00000T

    mayb the topic title can be changed and made sticky mods?
    Every once in a while someone comes up with something very worthwhile!
    I think you get the prize for this year!
    Congrats!

  24. #24
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,457
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman
    Every once in a while someone comes up with something very worthwhile!
    I think you get the prize for this year!
    Congrats!
    Sticky anyone?
    Either I'm naive or he just came up with one hell of a fix!

  25. #25
    Quote Originally Posted by Waus-mod
    WTF..... hahaha so also the dfi "dead by jumper mem" does also live again?

    W00000T

    mayb the topic title can be changed and made sticky mods?
    Well it is not proven untill someone test's it...
    Hopefully all that (good, but dead) UTT will live again!

    @mods
    Sticky
    Gigabyte P35C-DS3--E6600 L628B123--2x1GB Gskill Pc6400HZ+1GB D9GMH OEM--Sapphire x1900XTX--Tagan 580w--GFX Watercooled--Cpu Cooled By Mach2 GT modded by Jort


Page 1 of 14 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •