Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: ATI AVIVO Video Converter will work on any videocard

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,759

    ATI AVIVO Video Converter will work on any videocard

    During our look at ATI's AVIVO technnology enablement in CATALYST 5.13, my biggest gripe was with the Canadian firm's decision to limit use of the AVIVO Video Converter application to only Radeon X1800 users, despite the software only using CPU power to deal with transcoding files.

    It seems I wasn't the only one who was a bit miffed with this state of affairs, and this morning somebody (Who wishes to remain nameless - Thanks though!) has slipped a version of this application under my desk which will work on any video card.


    Source : Elitebastards

    Source #2 : Bit-tech

    And ofcourse the download has been removed

    Intel Core i7-3770K
    ASUS P8Z77-I DELUXE
    EVGA GTX 970 SC
    Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance LP 1600
    Corsair H80
    120GB Samsung 840 EVO, 500GB WD Scorpio Blue, 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
    Corsair RM650
    Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced
    OC: 5Ghz | +0.185 offset : 1.352v

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    Not surprising considering it's an entirely software based transcoder.
    Intel i7-3770S l Thermalright Venomous X l Asus Sabertooth Z77 l 8GB G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage l ??? l Samsung 830 256GB l Areca ARC-1200 l WD Caviar GreenPower 1TB (RAID1) l Pioneer BDR-207DBK l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Kingwin Stryker l Antec SOLO II l HP LP2475w

  3. #3
    Aint No Real Gangster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,563
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1281

    heres a working link. just downloaded now. good bandwidth
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  4. #4
    Aint No Real Gangster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,563
    lol, im not exactly sure what the point of it is? anyone? dfoesnt seem to increase video quality.
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  5. #5
    XS News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,025
    Speed
    Everything extra is bad!

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    I hear the quality settings are fixed which means you have no control over anything.
    Intel i7-3770S l Thermalright Venomous X l Asus Sabertooth Z77 l 8GB G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage l ??? l Samsung 830 256GB l Areca ARC-1200 l WD Caviar GreenPower 1TB (RAID1) l Pioneer BDR-207DBK l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Kingwin Stryker l Antec SOLO II l HP LP2475w

  7. #7
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,426
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim
    During our look at ATI's AVIVO technnology enablement in CATALYST 5.13, my biggest gripe was with the Canadian firm's decision to limit use of the AVIVO Video Converter application to only Radeon X1800 users, despite the software only using CPU power to deal with transcoding files.

    It seems I wasn't the only one who was a bit miffed with this state of affairs, and this morning somebody (Who wishes to remain nameless - Thanks though!) has slipped a version of this application under my desk which will work on any video card.


    Source : Elitebastards

    Source #2 : Bit-tech

    And of course the download has been removed
    When you said any video card" did you mean any ATI card or litterally ANY card?
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Aint No Real Gangster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,563
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman
    When you said any video card" did you mean any ATI card or litterally ANY card?
    Thanks!
    im using it on a 5950U
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  9. #9
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,471
    I believe their point is that it will work much faster on an ATI vid card. But hey If its software that both nvidia and ati users can use, kudos for ATI for being unselfish.

    Perkam

  10. #10
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    dinos posted some results here http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=1959
    ---

  11. #11
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by perkam
    I believe their point is that it will work much faster on an ATI vid card. But hey If its software that both nvidia and ati users can use, kudos for ATI for being unselfish.

    Perkam
    it uses cpu power only, no vpu power, so how could it be faster on ati cards?
    and ati programmed it so it only works on ati x1000 cards, thats not unselfish, not at all

  12. #12
    Aint No Real Gangster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,563
    i dont think its working at all. a 780mb video file thats about 2 hours long, and i tried to encode it at 128kb/s for kicks. and the file only shrunk to 700mb
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    That's called smart marketing. Why give users a reason to stay with current hardware when you can give them a reason to upgrade.
    Intel i7-3770S l Thermalright Venomous X l Asus Sabertooth Z77 l 8GB G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage l ??? l Samsung 830 256GB l Areca ARC-1200 l WD Caviar GreenPower 1TB (RAID1) l Pioneer BDR-207DBK l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Kingwin Stryker l Antec SOLO II l HP LP2475w

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,759
    Wait a minute....the biggest point in ATI's whole X1000 campaign......is purely CPU driven? Not GPU? ehrm......wow.

    Intel Core i7-3770K
    ASUS P8Z77-I DELUXE
    EVGA GTX 970 SC
    Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance LP 1600
    Corsair H80
    120GB Samsung 840 EVO, 500GB WD Scorpio Blue, 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
    Corsair RM650
    Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced
    OC: 5Ghz | +0.185 offset : 1.352v

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    Will be GPU driven next year. Not the biggest point in the whole X1000 campaign btw; don't know what literature you've been reading.
    Intel i7-3770S l Thermalright Venomous X l Asus Sabertooth Z77 l 8GB G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage l ??? l Samsung 830 256GB l Areca ARC-1200 l WD Caviar GreenPower 1TB (RAID1) l Pioneer BDR-207DBK l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Kingwin Stryker l Antec SOLO II l HP LP2475w

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    355
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim
    Wait a minute....the biggest point in ATI's whole X1000 campaign......is purely CPU driven? Not GPU? ehrm......wow.
    This XCode Transcoding Utility is a small part of AVIVO. This transcoding utility is currently using software/cpu to do the work FOR NOW. It will be extended to make use of the X1x00 series GPU hardware in future revisions. The rest of AVIVO is fully hardware accelerated.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Fantasia
    Posts
    1,584
    the download linked to guru3d gives an error message when installing saying that a x1000 graphics card is required.
    ebay under aws983s, heatware under Mr. Tinker.

  18. #18
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,613
    What`s the point of getting exactly this software if it utilizes only CPU ? Don`t we have encoders already ?
    Anyway GPUs are way faster in coding than CPUs

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,423
    Quote Originally Posted by LOE
    3 - there is some Alien Tech Involved

    CPU Z:2700 2k1:27952 2k3:12282 2k5:5763 PCM05 AQ3
    Opteron 165 s939_____OCZ RAM/PSU_____BBATI X800xl

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    355
    Quote Originally Posted by LOE
    there is something fishy about this, Ati arent the company thats going to write the best encoder in the world, there are much better players on that field, if Ati can do it they can do it better

    SO
    1 - Ati are lying and it IS gpu accelerated
    2 - the speed gain compensates with something (IQ cheats like thoose with AF )
    3 - there is some alien tech involved

    can someone check if the encoding speed is clock dependent??? that would explain everything...
    ATI is not lieing. They explicitly said the CURRENT implementation is CPU-based. This can be seen by running it on a system that only has integrated Nvidia video. Think of this app as at the alpha stage. They are locking down the base implementation API. From there they will examine each aspect of it for opportunities to make it GPU accelerated.

    The reason it's faster than others is because of the expertise ATI has accumulated in-house dealing with video processing. Even though other companies may have a few software-engineers who write transcoders, ATI has far many more since they are in the business of video-processing and are expanding out to verticle markets. Now they might be using "shortcuts", ones that produce similar looking images to those produced by complicated mathematical analysis that takes a significant greater amount of processing time. Some have examined the capabilities of the transcode ap and say it falls far short of the best quality encoders out there. But most others have said they are pleased with the results. This might be akin to audiophiles complaining about any sort of lossly quality encoding and others being happy with VBR 192kbit MP3 encoding.

  21. #21
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hammel/Denmark
    Posts
    2,080
    "there is some Alien Tech Involved"


    Quote Originally Posted by Magnj



    LOL
    The whole world's hip and thats not cool !

    Rip Van Hippy

    Doesn't expecting the unexpected make the unexpected the expected ?

    Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak


    -------------------------

  22. #22
    Aint No Real Gangster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,563
    well, i think the image quality really sucks after converting. and it seems sometimes it will only play at 25fps and it stut-t-ters. original is fine.
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  23. #23
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,613
    Quote Originally Posted by WeStSiDePLaYa
    well, i think the image quality really sucks after converting. and it seems sometimes it will only play at 25fps and it stut-t-ters. original is fine.
    Choose better codec/compression
    And that Guru3D source file works fine on my system

  24. #24
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000
    dinos posted some results here http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=1959
    yeap

    i'm loving the speed of this encoding software...........too bad the output files are useless for now, however I want more of us to test it out with X1xxx cards and earlier + Nvidia with a common high quality video file

    @Perkam......eva2000 says you've got some short video files we can all use to have equal comparison....can you provide some links....i'd like to test it out
    Last edited by dinos22; 12-20-2005 at 05:21 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  25. #25
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    well posted my Avivo results with those source files quality is much better so really depends on the source you use first as to quality of output files http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=84086
    ---

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •