Page 26 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1623242526
Results 626 to 640 of 640

Thread: How to install the AMD X2 drivers, hotfix, the correct way.

  1. #626
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    622
    I know the thread is old, but I've got a relevant question:

    I recently bought an AM2 A64X2.
    1. Are these fixes still needed for modern games or do only older games need them? (XP Pro SP2) I'm thinking about just installing the dual-core optimizer and calling it a day...
    2. If the rig is only an office pc with some movie watching, are any of these fixes needed?

    thanks

  2. #627
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    88
    are any of these fixes or dual core optimizer needed when using windows 7?
    Opteron 170@ 265 x 10 @1.375v
    Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN, GEIL 2gb 400mhz ram
    8800GT accelero s1, XP X64. Antec p182 mini
    velociraptor 150gb, Corsair 620w

  3. #628
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyber-Mav View Post
    are any of these fixes or dual core optimizer needed when using windows 7?
    no.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    "Behold the gaseous stench of Skeletor's breakfast burrito!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  4. #629
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    88
    thanks for the reply, i have been running windows 7 with none of these patches and fixes installed and everything is running great.
    Opteron 170@ 265 x 10 @1.375v
    Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN, GEIL 2gb 400mhz ram
    8800GT accelero s1, XP X64. Antec p182 mini
    velociraptor 150gb, Corsair 620w

  5. #630
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Hi Everyone,
    Just signed up after being referred here from http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/ind...&#entry810068&

    I am running XP-Sp3 dual boot with Windows 7 RC and I can confirm that these tweaks are not required with Windows 7. Microsoft fixed the problem in Vista with a better timer and it’s carried over into Windows 7.

    I’ve been wrestling with this speed problem on my XP machine for over 6 months.
    I program simple 2D games using Delphi and DirectX with a DirectX timer to control the games. Some time after upgrading to a dual core AMD Athlon 64X2 6000+ I found that games designed to run at 25 frames per second (FPS) ran at 21 FPS, games at 40 FPS ran at 32 FPS.
    And only on my machine – no one else had this problem. I always thought it was either a Video Card or DirectX problem and so never found an answer. Through a long process of elimination I eventually narrowed it down to a CPU problem and then found this forum where I thought I had found the fix.
    Yes, I say I thought I had found the fix because when I first followed the instructions at the beginning of this post it worked, or so I thought. I was so excited, I had at last got my and my programmer friends games to run at the correct speed again.
    My joy was short lived. When I closed this page the speed problem returned.

    This open web page workaround is the same ‘fix’ as some other workarounds I’ve learned that make the games run at their designed speed..
    1. Run dxDiag from the command line and leave it running.
    2. Have Windows Media Player running.
    3. Leave a web page open with a You Tube video on it.
    4. Leave a web page open with a Flash advert on it.
    5. Have any P2P client open.
    6. Run a program called TimerResolution.exe from http://www.hotlib.com/27554/dl/TimerResolution.zip This is a handy little utility that tells you your default timer resolution and lets you reset it to the maximum, usually around 1. On my machine the default timer resolution is 15.625 and this resets it to 0.977 milliseconds.
    7. Lastly as I said above, leave this web page open.
    After working through the instructions I went straight to my latest game. The problem was fixed. I then restarted my computer. The problem was back. Return to this page, problem fixed again.

    All these workarounds temporarily fix the problem. What they do is reset the timer resolution to 1, in my case to 0.997 and then revert to the default resolution when they close.

    I have worked through the ‘How to install the AMD X2 drivers, hotfix, the correct way’ several times but without success.

    My machine is nearly 2 years old. The specs are
    CPU - Athlon 64X2 6000+ AM2 Dual Core
    Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 rev1
    Video Card - Asus EN7200GS 256M PCIE
    Windows XP SP3 dual boot with Windows 7 RC

    I updated the CPU drivers with this - AMD Processor Driver Version 1.3.2.0053 for Windows XP. The link to the Microsoft Hotfix is broken but when I downloaded it from Windows Update it told me I didn’t need it because I have XP-SP3. I presumed then that I didn’t need to do the ‘Throttle’ Registry fix. I did it anyway when I found the fix wasn’t working but that did nothing.
    I’ve also tried turning C&Q off and back on in the BIOS.

    Am I doing something wrong or does it not always work or is my timer problem something different.

    I would love to fix this annoying problem. Please can anyone help.

  6. #631
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA, Vermont
    Posts
    1,065
    Go to AMD.com and download the duel core optimizer (only for windows XP) it is supposed to fix this issue with the time stamps and allow them to run at what they r supposed to

    there is also a sticky post in best of AMD i think it is that has a how 2 about installing it, that should fix your problems (u might b doing something wrong re-read it and or try the AMD driver, also maybe try the windows driver and c if that helps w.e u do DON'T use them both together make sure one is uninstalled b4 u try the other)

    Dragon

    edit- guess if none of that works it may b time to re-install your OS and start all over, and applying the AMD or Microsoft hot fix right off, like b4 your other drivers and so on and restarting; or upgrade to Win7 as they have all time stamp issues taking care of and it doesn't require any kind of patching
    Last edited by FireDragon; 12-13-2009 at 06:35 PM.
    http://smbach.com/mad.gif

    Opty 175 Rig
    Lian-Li PC75B case, Thermaltake BT w/ 165 CFM delta fan, Enermax 550watt PSU (36A on 12+), x1950 Pro, DFI Lanparty NForce 4 Ultra-d (moded for SLI so that i can use the second slot at 8x), Opteron 175 CCBWE 0547 TMPW (2.80, 280x10, 1.5 volts), 2x1gb Mushkin Redline xp4000 (280 3-3-2-8, 2.65 volts), 80GB WD

    AM3 Rig
    Lian-Li PC-75b case, Asus Crosshair III Formula, 965 x4 C3 @ 4.1 1.525 volts 2.8 NB 1.25 volts, 2x2gb Dominator GT Cas 8 2000Mhz@ 1720 6-6-5-18-22 1.725 volts, Asus 5770 VT @1010/1435, Seasonic 850watt PSU 2x12v rails 40 amps each, 36GB raptor boot drive, 80GB WD storage drive, HeatKiller LT cpu block, BI GTX 360 with 6x Scythe 3000RPM fans in push/pull, MCP 655 variable pump on setting 5, EK 150ml res, all 1/2 inch

    DFI NF4 BIOS Guide

  7. #632
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    a sticky post in best of AMD
    Ahmmm I think we are in that topic now. What you suggest is the first post in this thread.
    that should fix your problems (u might b doing something wrong re-read it and or try the AMD driver,...
    Could you please read my post again. You will see I have already been through that several times.

    I have also tried a clean install of XP-SP3 on a separate drive with nothing but the graphic drivers installed and the duel core optimizer. That didn't fix it.

    Thanks for your interest in my problem.
    Identifying the problem is half way to fixing it.
    CPU - Athlon 64X2 6000+ AM2 Dual Core
    Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 rev1
    Video Card - Asus EN7200GS 256M PCIE
    Windows XP SP3 dual boot with Windows 7 RC

  8. #633
    Xtremely Retired OC'er
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,084
    Quote Originally Posted by Ego View Post
    I just replace, my dads s939's single core cpu 3500+ to 3800+x2 no updates, simply windows ask to restart pc!
    Task maneger says 2 cpus and windows working with two at time.

    He got all sp2/sp3 updates!
    Plz install microsoft updates via net and you will be all fine.
    Now relax guys
    It was stable that way, but not enugh..

    I try with amd dual core optimiser and was not stable enugh, with crappy performance as 1 cored cpu.
    Best way and moust stable xp pc was to dissable one of two cores.

    Why intel didnt make pacth for intel cpu to reprogram rom inside processors?

  9. #634
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    kali
    Posts
    109
    What do i need to do regarding the hot fix if and when I upgrade to windows7?
    Win 8.1 Pro
    MSI Big Bang Z77 Mpower
    Patriot Viper 8gb @2400 MHz
    Intel I5-3570*** LGA 1155
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    Crucial M500 240gb
    Asus Radeon 270x
    Antec 850W HCG
    Logitech MX 3000 & MX1000
    RW DVD/CD
    Provided by Blue Sun Corporation! LLAP!

  10. #635
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    What do i need to do regarding the hot fix if and when I upgrade to windows7?
    Short answer - NOTHING.
    Identifying the problem is half way to fixing it.
    CPU - Athlon 64X2 6000+ AM2 Dual Core
    Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 rev1
    Video Card - Asus EN7200GS 256M PCIE
    Windows XP SP3 dual boot with Windows 7 RC

  11. #636
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    kali
    Posts
    109
    Good!

    Quote Originally Posted by barberic View Post
    Short answer - NOTHING.
    Win 8.1 Pro
    MSI Big Bang Z77 Mpower
    Patriot Viper 8gb @2400 MHz
    Intel I5-3570*** LGA 1155
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    Crucial M500 240gb
    Asus Radeon 270x
    Antec 850W HCG
    Logitech MX 3000 & MX1000
    RW DVD/CD
    Provided by Blue Sun Corporation! LLAP!

  12. #637
    Xtremely Retired OC'er
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,084
    Quote Originally Posted by barberic View Post
    Short answer - NOTHING.


    Windows 7 fix all problems related to x2 3800+ cpu ?


    If so i will install windows 7
    Last edited by Nikolasz; 06-07-2010 at 05:33 AM.

  13. #638
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    I only had Win 7 RC but it looks to me like the problem is fixed.
    Identifying the problem is half way to fixing it.
    CPU - Athlon 64X2 6000+ AM2 Dual Core
    Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 rev1
    Video Card - Asus EN7200GS 256M PCIE
    Windows XP SP3 dual boot with Windows 7 RC

  14. #639
    Xtremely Retired OC'er
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,084
    Today i made install win7 on my dads comp.
    It seems wery stable(for now). Cpu is supported in device maneger.
    No crashes in 1 hour of hawy works such as updates and instalations.
    Tomorow ill put 64 bit antivitus, spybot s and d, directx and all what he need it

    I will let you know if works ok or donot, i hope win7 will swallow x2 cpu

  15. #640
    Xtremely Retired OC'er
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,084
    Win 7 ultimate x64 works perfectly on athlon x2 3800+ !!

    Edit

    win7 never crash on athlon 3800+ x2 so far all great and fine
    Last edited by Nikolasz; 06-17-2010 at 10:55 PM. Reason: edit add text

Page 26 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1623242526

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •