Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 129

Thread: Opteron 170 - burn in weaker cpu0 core ?

  1. #1
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801

    Talking Opteron 170 - burn in weaker cpu0 core ?

    arrrrrrrrgh dam thy weaker cpu0 core



    what's best way to burn in cpu0 core ??? any success stories with helping along a weaker core to catch up to it's better half ???
    ---

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3,171
    with or without IHS?

    i7-3930K @ 4.2 GHz (Megahalems), ASUS P9X79 Pro, G.Skill TridentX 32GB @ 1866 MHz (8-9-9-24)
    Sapphire HD 7870 @ 1200/1450, Creative Sound Blaster Zx, Corsair AX860 (Platinum Seasonic)
    Samsung 830 256GB (OS), Mushkin Chronos 240GB (Games), Seagate 7200.14 3TB (Storage)
    Dell Ultrasharp U2713HM (1440p), BenQ XL2411T (@ 144 Hz), Samsung UE32D5000 (TV)
    Logitech Z-5500, Sennheiser HD595, Logitech MX518 Mouse + SteelSeries QcK Heavy

  3. #3
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    with IHS as i never take it off too risky and looses resale value heh
    ---

  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    This has worked for me several times. Use CPUBurn set to K7 and high priority. Run it on core 0 overnight. Leave machine off for 8 hours or so. Try SuperPi again. It should run longer. Continue till it completes SuperPI.

    This has worked for me on claws, winnies, and my opty. Only difference is I run Prime for the testing instead of SuperPi.

    I use this technique to lower voltage on my cpu's...

  5. #5
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    thanks Plywood99 never used cpuburn as i use cpuburnin which is different ... will try CPUBurn/K7 and see how it goes
    ---

  6. #6
    XS_THE_MACHINE
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    183
    eva be sure to bring us news on the burn in effect, and good luck to you! (fingers crossed)
    Intel Conroe E6400 - Intel P965 - 4GB DDR2 - 8800GTX - 320GB Western Digital - Dell 2007WFP - Windows Vista Ultimate

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    791
    Quote Originally Posted by Plywood99
    This has worked for me several times. Use CPUBurn set to K7 and high priority. Run it on core 0 overnight. Leave machine off for 8 hours or so. Try SuperPi again. It should run longer. Continue till it completes SuperPI.

    This has worked for me on claws, winnies, and my opty. Only difference is I run Prime for the testing instead of SuperPi.

    I use this technique to lower voltage on my cpu's...

    u use cpuburn at stock clock speeds ?
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6 | Thermalright Ultra Extreme
    EVGA 780i SLi
    8gb ADATA 4x2gb DDR2 800
    Evga 260gtx core 216
    Western Digital 300gb Raptor x 2 | Seagate 7200.11 1.5tb x 2
    Klipsch 5.1 Ultra Promedia
    Corsair 1000hx
    Lian Li TYR PC-X500
    Dell 3007fpw 30" Widescreen LCD

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000
    with IHS as i never take it off too risky and looses resale value heh
    probably bad contact with the core0 then.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    791
    my 1 core can do 2800 no prob .. other core needs alot of vcore to
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6 | Thermalright Ultra Extreme
    EVGA 780i SLi
    8gb ADATA 4x2gb DDR2 800
    Evga 260gtx core 216
    Western Digital 300gb Raptor x 2 | Seagate 7200.11 1.5tb x 2
    Klipsch 5.1 Ultra Promedia
    Corsair 1000hx
    Lian Li TYR PC-X500
    Dell 3007fpw 30" Widescreen LCD

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    117
    hopefully this will help with my 3800+ X2.

    2.75 is stable on both cores, but @ 2.80, the first core craps out on superPI


    PC 1

    E6600 + Sonic Tower + 120mm Delta
    2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400 RAM (s/n 0606)
    Intels Bad Axe mobo - D975XBX - bios 1378
    4 x 74GB Raptors - RAID-0
    7950 GX2 on a 3007FPW 30" Dell

    PC 2

    P-D 805 + Corsair Nautilus 500
    256MB Crucial PC5300
    Asus P5B Deluxe
    6800GT

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    1,660
    this CPUBurn sure seems to stress the CPU hard, it's good and simple as well. I'm going to leave it running all tomorrow, and see if it has any effect.
    Conroe E6300 ES
    2x1gb Ballistix PC8000
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe (1705)
    Manli Geforce 7950GT 512mb
    Hiper Type-R 480w
    Samsung SP250

    "What did the quantam duck say?" "Quark Quark"

  12. #12
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,038
    the cool thing about burning in dual cores... is you can burn one core, and still use the PC while the other core is working away.
    I been doing this for 2 days now, straight, haven't turned my PC off or anything, just set Affinity to core 1 in my case, and then let it go...
    I use sisoftsandra for burning in a CPU though.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  13. #13
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    AFAIK, the OS is run on CPU0 - so that in itself can make that particular core more unstable during benches. I guess the ideal thing to do would be to split up the processes running in windows....

  14. #14
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Quote Originally Posted by jetjaguar
    u use cpuburn at stock clock speeds ?
    Not at stock. I set clock at just above stable. For instance say prime stable at 2800, but 2850 craps out after about an hour or so. Run cpuburn overnight at 2850. Shut down computer for a few hours. Now try prime again.

    On my opty 148 I could run SuperPi 32m and 3d benches at 3050mhz no problem, even gaming was not a problem. But Prime would crap out after about fifteen minutes with cpu set at 2900mhz. This is with voltage set at 1.61 in the bios.

    I ran CpuBurn k7 set on high priority for two nights. Now cpu is prime stable, and passes occt no problem. So I drop voltage a bit and run prime, not stable. I repeat my burnin process till stable at lower volts.

    Doing this I have went from 1.61v to 1.575v and cpu is rock stable, passing all tests. My goal of course is over 3ghz 24 hour prime stable at under 1.6volts...

  15. #15
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    nice Plywood99... guess i need to run it longer than i have now

    still burning in cpu0 with cpuburn k7 while cpu1 completed 8.75hrs of cpuburn

    ---

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    Quote Originally Posted by shuRe
    probably bad contact with the core0 then.
    It's one die...

    I've had my 165 a week now and still can't get over 2850mhz. Haven't tried prime since it failed after an hour and a half but it's been 100% stable over that. 2880mhz core 1 fails no matter what voltage, probably getting to hot. I've been running games and dual D2OL and prime and all kinds of crap 24/7 since I got it and haven't gained a damned thing.
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,806
    everything has its physical limit and no manner of torture will bring it higher.

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 1866MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Gigabyte GTX980, custom cooler @ 1.5GHz / 7.6GHz | Xonar DX 7.1 | 2TB Barracuda | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  18. #18
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Man i hope for my sake ya wrong LOL


    cpu0 = cpuburn K7
    cpu1 = stressprime
    ---

  19. #19
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Doing so cpu burn in to help cpu0 core along seems to be the weaker one of the two cores at the higher clocking end

    changed to dual CpuBurn K7 @2700mhz



    APC UPS reported system power draw with 2nd BFG 7800GTX card added = 355 watts

    Opteron 170 CCBWE 0544XPMW cooled by Corsair Hydrocool 200EX
    DFI NF4 UT SLI-DR R.AB0 623-2BTA bios
    2x BFG 7800GTX SLI with 81.94 beta drivers
    4x 80GB Hitachi 7K80 SATAII Raid 0 OS drive
    1x 250GB Maxtor Maxline Plus II PATA
    Pioneer DVD Burner
    Floppy drive
    650W Silverstone SLI PSU

    ---

  20. #20
    INTEL inside
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    3,265
    burn in helped ?
    retired computer enthusiast

  21. #21
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    don't know yet.. gonna leave it running for as long as i can before seeing if it helps hehe

    wish me luck
    ---

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA (or Lisbon, Portugal)
    Posts
    430
    There's little you can do (if anything) to make your weaker core to catch up with the better one.

    Core 0 of my X2 3800 is at least 150Mhz weaker than core 1. I can prime core 1 at 2850 and core 0 only at 2700. Actually I don't know how good is core 1 because windows crashes before prime fails on core 1.

    I've started with a Big Typhoon -> water -> no IHS+water

    I gained 150Mhz on core 0, but the difference between core0 and 1 remained the same.

    In fact it's a shame. You and I are unfortunate, because if ou disable one core at windows boot.ini, it will always disable core 1. So no way to disable the weaker core 0 to bench on core 1.
    Quote Originally Posted by krille
    Ouchy, go die please, thanks.

  23. #23
    Phenom™
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    5,233
    Quote Originally Posted by s7e9h3n
    AFAIK, the OS is run on CPU0 - so that in itself can make that particular core more unstable during benches. I guess the ideal thing to do would be to split up the processes running in windows....
    I'm not sure if anybody caught my post, but here it is again - lol....

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    1,660
    have got any proof of that?
    Besides, going through windows and disabling services everytime you just want to overclock a bit further than is 100% stable seems fairly pointless. Better just to run a burn-in. Which, incidentally, has done my core0 some good (now seems to be more stable (i.e. can run prime for half an hour, could only do 6 mins before) with 1.55v@2750mhz after just a few hours of CPUBurn)
    Conroe E6300 ES
    2x1gb Ballistix PC8000
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe (1705)
    Manli Geforce 7950GT 512mb
    Hiper Type-R 480w
    Samsung SP250

    "What did the quantam duck say?" "Quark Quark"

  25. #25
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    978
    Eva2000, when I say I ran CpuBurn for two nights, I don't mean 48 hours straight. But 2nights each about 7-8 hours while sleeping, shutting system down while I go to work.

    Just wanted to clarify...

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •