Swiftech
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What is my correct vcore?

  1. #1
    Registered User Pr4y3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sweden.
    Posts
    58

    What is my correct vcore?

    Heya =)
    I dont know what my correct vcore is... i dunno what to trust :/
    If i set it at 1.475 @ bios then bios tells me in "pc health" that its @ 1.44
    If i then check in Cpu-z , Everest or whatever it says 1.42
    What is my correct damn vcore? :S


    EDIT : This is my system
    DFi lanparty nf4 ultra-d
    Amd x2 3800+ @ 2.4Ghz
    corsair xms 2048C2
    gainward 7800Gt
    Last edited by Pr4y3r; 11-20-2005 at 12:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Major's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    5,676
    Welcome to XS !!

    The BIOS reading is closer to being correct and may even be close to right, there is no way to know for sure short of testing with a DMM.
    24/7 Work & Play Rig
    Gigabyte X58A-UD5, i7 920 @ 4.56ghz 1.48v 21x217, G.Skill PI 12Gb 8-8-8-24-1T 1.56V @ 1736Mhz
    EK Supreme HF P1, Dual EK DCP 4.0 Pumps and EK Res, XSPC RX360 & RX240 w/ 1850rpm GT's
    Sapphire HD 4870 1Gb @ 810/1020mhz, 2x Dell 2407, 2x 1Tb WD Black SATA3, 2x 2Tb Hitachi 7k2000
    Cooler Master ATCS 840, Corsair 750TX PSU, running OSX 10.6.3 & Win 7 64

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member PkG.1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    332
    its not off by a lot. dont trust bios, they lie.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast Daved+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    AMD galaxy
    Posts
    554
    If you set it in bios to 1.475v, it's very likely to be very close to 1.475v
    DFI UT NF4 Ultra-D R.AB0 | Bios: 0406BTA | Coolermaster Hyper6+ | 2x1GB G.Skill F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ | Samsung SH-S203B | VTB Master | SAN-55 Dual 12v | Dell S2409W

    CPU1: AMD64 3000+ LBBLE 0517APAW 295x9 1.40v / 300x9 1.45v / 317x9 1.45v+110%
    CPU2: Opteron 170 CBBWE 0550UPMW 265x10 1.40v
    Mem: 285Mhz 3-4-4-7 1T 2.6v

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member Theo404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    472
    Break out the multi-meter! Only way to know for sure, my DFI reads under, not by much, but definatly under. 1.475 bios is more like 1.5v real *on my DFI*.

    E2180
    MSI P35 Neo2 FR
    Geil Black Dragon 2x1GB
    EVGA 7900GTX
    Toughpower 750W
    Viewsonic VP191b

  6. #6
    Registered User Pr4y3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sweden.
    Posts
    58
    Yea... but its a pretty big difference for me since i just got some aircoolin (tt big typhoon) 1.475 - 1.42 hmm, but the main thing is ... i wanna know if its over or undervolting?
    amd opteron 165
    crucial ballistix pc4000 2gb
    dfi lanparty nf4 ultra-d
    gainward 7800gt (1card)
    hiper 580w
    samsung spinpoint 200gb sata-2
    nec nd-3550 dual-layer
    samsung 940B

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict Perc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA Tampa FLA
    Posts
    1,643
    yup i have same problem with my dfi ultra-d does the new expert series do this? i can set my v-core to 1.5v in my bios and when in windows it reads 1.456v in cpu-z so im not sure what to believe either? now isnt there a way to messure it with a volt meter? i have a volt meter if anyone knows the correct contact points on the mb.... maybe the other poster may want to take note too just incase he has a volt meter too...



    peace perc,

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member Theo404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    472
    Quote Originally Posted by Perc
    yup i have same problem with my dfi ultra-d does the new expert series do this? i can set my v-core to 1.5v in my bios and when in windows it reads 1.456v in cpu-z so im not sure what to believe either? now isnt there a way to messure it with a volt meter? i have a volt meter if anyone knows the correct contact points on the mb.... maybe the other poster may want to take note too just incase he has a volt meter too...



    peace perc,



    Theres your point, its a resistor at the side of the socket.

    You have an old style analogue meter or what? Its just that most people just have DMMs, not 'volt meters'.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    E2180
    MSI P35 Neo2 FR
    Geil Black Dragon 2x1GB
    EVGA 7900GTX
    Toughpower 750W
    Viewsonic VP191b

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict Perc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA Tampa FLA
    Posts
    1,643
    well its just a voltage meter not sure if its old school ot not? the thing had an led read out but all in all just a volt meter... thx for the info ill get to checking.

    peace perc,

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member Theo404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Portsmouth UK
    Posts
    472
    My dfi under reads both vcore and vdimm, so heres the check point (well you may as well have a look at it if your proding things with you meter)

    I also attached the check point for VTT so you can have a look at the stupid amount of fluctuation during memory stress, and join me in trying to FIND WHERE EMC2 (and his corrector circuit) HAS GONE!
    Attached Images Attached Images

    E2180
    MSI P35 Neo2 FR
    Geil Black Dragon 2x1GB
    EVGA 7900GTX
    Toughpower 750W
    Viewsonic VP191b

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •