Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 58

Thread: Power And You (A Guide To Protecting Your Computer)

  1. #26
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    324
    One of the powersquid models says it has a Purestream™ EMI/RFI Power Filter. Is that good enough of a line conditioner?

  2. #27
    Xtreme CCIE
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,982
    I try to keep up with any replies that come to this thread and respond helpfully, but I missed this last one by quite a bit.

    Worse, I've never heard of that company so I can't help with that, sorry m8.
    Dual CCIE (Route\Switch and Security) at your disposal. Have a Cisco-related or other network question? My PM box is always open.

    Xtreme Network:
    - Cisco 3560X-24P PoE Switch
    - Cisco ASA 5505 Firewall
    - Cisco 4402 Wireless LAN Controller
    - Cisco 3502i Access Point

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    296
    Good thread...informative
    __________________________________
    [ EVGA X58 Classified ]
    [ Intel i7 920 ] --- D0
    [ Sapphire 4870x2 ]
    [ BenQ G2400WD 24" Monitor]
    [ 3 x 2GB G.Skill Trident DDR3 ]
    [ Corsair 850HX 850 watt PSU ]
    [ Auzentech Prelude ]
    [ beyerdynamic MMX300]
    [ Logitech G15, G9 , G7, MX518]
    [ Saitek X52 ]
    [ 4 x Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB ]
    [ 1 x WD 150GB Raptor ]
    [ 1 x Seagate 500GB 7200.11(32mb) ]
    [ Windows 7 64-bit]


    Water Cooling Setup

    U2-UFO Black Powder Coat - 3 Big Window
    Swiftech MCP-655 aka Laing D5 Vario w/ EK Top
    Thermochill PA 120.3
    Swiftech XT CPU Block
    EK Classified Full NB/SB Block
    EK-MultiOption 4 Port RES 150 Rev. 2
    NZXT Fan Controller + Sunbeam Multi Fan Port
    7/16" ID (5/8" OD) Primochill Black Tubing
    7 x Yate Loons-D12SM ‘s
    Bitspower Compression barbs

  4. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    61
    http://www.accessories4less.com/cgi-...item=MCMPHT800

    36$ shipped stage 1 . They have lots of other great deals too.
    ASUS P5K Vanilla
    Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x1 ddr2 1066
    Scythe Infinity
    CORSAIR-520HX

  5. #30
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Birmingham, AL -- USA
    Posts
    177
    If you have a UPS and a line conditioner, do you plug the UPS into the line conditioner or vice-versa.

    I remember reading somewhere that you shouldn't plug a UPS into a surge protector so I was wondering if this was similar.

    Also, since you are really worried about line noise to computer and the UPS might create line noise, would it be better just to plug the conditioner into it anyway.
    Last edited by BigRollTide1; 04-23-2007 at 05:54 AM.

  6. #31
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    128
    good post thanks, helpful

  7. #32
    Xtreme CCIE
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,982
    Quote Originally Posted by BigRollTide1 View Post
    If you have a UPS and a line conditioner, do you plug the UPS into the line conditioner or vice-versa.

    I remember reading somewhere that you shouldn't plug a UPS into a surge protector so I was wondering if this was similar.

    Also, since you are really worried about line noise to computer and the UPS might create line noise, would it be better just to plug the conditioner into it anyway.
    Most UPS's nowadays are including line filtering as a feature, but should you obtain a unit that is neither:
    - 'Online' (supplying power straight from battery and recharging, the more common type nowadays) nor
    - Line filtering

    Then it should look like:
    Wall -> UPS -> Line Filter -> PC
    Dual CCIE (Route\Switch and Security) at your disposal. Have a Cisco-related or other network question? My PM box is always open.

    Xtreme Network:
    - Cisco 3560X-24P PoE Switch
    - Cisco ASA 5505 Firewall
    - Cisco 4402 Wireless LAN Controller
    - Cisco 3502i Access Point

  8. #33
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    340
    Just got the Monster Power HTS1000 MKII
    Its running my computer, monitor, and 700W speakers. The voltage lines in my computer are as stable as ever. The unit doesn't get warm either.

    Thumbs up for the recommendation!

  9. #34
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    I'm looking for a UPS. Have these recommendations changed lately?

    Also to help out, here are some helpful links I dug up:

    Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) FAQ

    PCGuide - Uninterruptible Power Supplies
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  10. #35
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    325
    can i hook up a UPS to the monster stage1 line conditioner and still get the benefit of the line conditioner + UPS?

    or does the appliance need to be plugged directly into the line conditioner to get the benefits?

    Thanks.

  11. #36
    Xtreme CCIE
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,982
    Quote Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
    I'm looking for a UPS. Have these recommendations changed lately?

    Also to help out, here are some helpful links I dug up:

    Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) FAQ

    PCGuide - Uninterruptible Power Supplies
    Sorry about the late response, missed this one by a bit. My UPS recommendations haven't really changed, if anything UPS standards have just continued to climb on the part of the manufacturers.


    Quote Originally Posted by jinsean View Post
    can i hook up a UPS to the monster stage1 line conditioner and still get the benefit of the line conditioner + UPS?

    or does the appliance need to be plugged directly into the line conditioner to get the benefits?

    Thanks.
    Strictly speaking Monster suggests it working like:
    Wall -> UPS -> Monster

    The reason behind this is that the UPS device may generate line noise itself, so this is the suggested way to ensure you're set. It could very well be that the UPS doesn't create any line noise itself, but it pays to be careful.
    Dual CCIE (Route\Switch and Security) at your disposal. Have a Cisco-related or other network question? My PM box is always open.

    Xtreme Network:
    - Cisco 3560X-24P PoE Switch
    - Cisco ASA 5505 Firewall
    - Cisco 4402 Wireless LAN Controller
    - Cisco 3502i Access Point

  12. #37
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    I have the following system:

    NZXT Zero Case w/8x120mm fans if you include the HSF
    Corsair 620HX PSU
    Abit IP35 Pro
    Intel E6850 @ 3.6Ghz
    2x1Gb Ballistix @ DDR2-1000
    2 HDD's, 1 DVD
    8800GTS (and will be GTX)
    Auzentech Prelude X-Fi
    BenQ FP241 24" LCD
    Keyboard + Mouse
    Modem + Router
    4.1/5.1 THX speakers

    How can we determine how big of a unit we need, in terms of watt capacity?

    I'd like to have a lot of outlets too, around 8 if possible.
    Last edited by Soulburner; 09-16-2007 at 11:53 AM.
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  13. #38
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    This thread is slow

    With the above requirements in mind, these two models have my attention.

    For my rig:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16842101066

    For my family's rig:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16842101224

    They both seem like really nice units, both have AVR, 8 outlets and positive reviews.

    Plus the APC can measure my wattage which will be pretty cool to see.
    Last edited by Soulburner; 09-21-2007 at 04:09 PM.
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  14. #39
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    17
    I'm a little confused.

    I was looking into buying a good UPS like this APC Smart-UPS / 8 Outlet / 1500VA / 980Watt / UPS

    But after reading stuff on this thread and other pages, It seems i would still need to buy a line conditioner for another $100.

    Isnt there a UPS that conditions the line without need of a seperate conditioner/filter? even the $1,000 UPS dont seem to condition lines.

    am i basically stuck with buying a 350 dollars UPS plus spending another 100 bux on a monster bar? thats starting to look like what i need to do :-/

  15. #40
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  16. #41
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    17
    I'd rather not spend anything on a UPS. but I need to protect my invetment and have it run at a top notch level.

    that UPS you linked is a nice one. i was looking to buy the BR1300 which is basically the same in terms of price and features. the problem is that the UPS doesnt have a pure sinewave.

    My PSU is an enermax galaxy 850, the manual states it's not compatible with stepped sinewave which is basically the same as simulated sinewave. I need and would like a pure sinewave.

    My peeve is that a 350 UPS doesnt seem to condition the line :-/

    edit: if i get a monster HTS800 line conditioner and plug it into my UPS and have the computer plugged into the Monster, would i lose the pure sinewave?
    Last edited by YorkTown; 10-01-2007 at 05:09 PM.

  17. #42
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    Not famaliar with the terms here...pure sinewave?

    I was also concerned with line conditioning, and I can't find any UPS units that offer it. They almost all have AVR (Automatic Voltage Regulation) though.
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  18. #43
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    17
    AVR is when the UPS bumps up power when its low(sag) and limits power when there is a spike(swell). pretty much all UPS's do this, your right. It's a basic feautre.


    A sinewave is a graphical reresentation of what the power flow looks like. an oscilloscope is used to make the measurment and has the sinewave display.

    the mid point of the wave is 120 volts(or whatever desired amount is), as The AC current from the wall dips down to 110 volts and surges up to 130 volts the sinewave gives you a funky patern to reresent this flow.

    A UPS takes AC power, converts it to DC, does the AVR thing then spits out the power to your computer as AC again. A pure sinewave is the best form of power flow. a Cheap UPS has a simulated or stepped sinwave.

    sorry for the base explanation. im learning this as i go along here too :-)
    Last edited by YorkTown; 10-01-2007 at 09:56 PM.

  19. #44
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    Definition of Line Conditioner:
    Device used to protect the computer from variations in the power supply, such as spikes and brownouts. It is connected to the wall outlet, and the computer is then plugged into it.
    Sounds a lot like AVR to me.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_line_conditioner

    EDIT: After doing a lot of looking around and reading I am almost positive a power supply with AVR will do the same thing as a line conditioner, but with the added features of the UPS. I am picking up the unit I posted above tomorrow.

    http://www.apcc.com/resource/include..._sku=BX1300LCD
    Last edited by Soulburner; 10-09-2007 at 04:27 PM.
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  20. #45
    The Voice of Reason
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    9,220
    Well I can say that the BX/RS 1300LCD UPS from APC are top notch. The screen really helps give you access to the information you need to know such as battery charge, remaining run time, total load in % and watts and more.

    I got it all set up and opened up a game, Titan Quest. This one I found to pull more total watts than even Bioshock. I pulled the plug and seamlessly the PSU switched over to battery with a remaining run time of 18 minutes. The computer never even noticed.

    It totally isolates your equipment from the outside world's power problems and gives you a lot of peace of mind for the money and I would highly recommend it.

    E6550 @ 3.2
    2GB DDR2
    IP35
    SB Audigy 2
    X1950Pro
    Corsair 520HX
    1 HDD, 1 DVD
    Acer 20" wide LCD (VA panel, uses more power than TN)
    Modem, Router
    5x120mm fans including the PSU

    Total power draw during Titan Quest = 220w tops
    Windows 7 + SSD:
    Mode: AHCI, default Microsoft driver or latest Intel RST
    Defrag: Off
    Hibernation: Off (use Sleep mode, recommend a UPS)
    Indexing: On (it only indexes a few locations, not your whole system unless you tell it to)
    Page File: On (set to the minimum of 16MB if you have a large amount of RAM, disabling not recommended)
    Prefetch: On
    Superfetch: On (RAM is always faster than an SSD - use it)
    System Restore: Off (with regular backups)
    Browser Cache: RAM Only, Disk Cache Off (How to with Chrome)
    Documents, Music, Pictures, Videos, Downloads to HDD (Public Libraries too, see above link about junctions)
    UAC: On!

  21. #46
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    17
    AVR is like a line conditioner and a line conditioner is like a UPS.

    A line conditioner has AVR capability but it does a superior job at dealing with EMI (electromagnetic interference) and RFI (radio frequency interference). No battery backup for the line conditioner though.

    A UPS has AVR and does a so-so job with EMI and RFI. As far as I'm concerned the UPS is good enough for the task.

    My particular enermax galaxy 850 is not compatable with stepped or simulated sinewave. in other words a fancy PSU wants shmancy sinewave power.

    I have quit a few "white papers" in PDF and a couple articles about buying a UPS. How can i upload PDF files here?

    edit: you will have to dig for the good papers. 15, 17 and 18 are good ones.
    http://apc.com/prod_docs/results.cfm...&Query_Type=10

    Quote Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
    Definition of Line Conditioner:


    Sounds a lot like AVR to me.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_line_conditioner

    EDIT: After doing a lot of looking around and reading I am almost positive a power supply with AVR will do the same thing as a line conditioner, but with the added features of the UPS. I am picking up the unit I posted above tomorrow.

    http://www.apcc.com/resource/include..._sku=BX1300LCD
    Last edited by YorkTown; 10-15-2007 at 01:00 AM.

  22. #47
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    715
    Monster Cable MP HTS1000 Ref. PowerCenter HTS1000

    Is that the right unit? Also, what's the maximum load...? I know voltage x amperage = wattage, but that's about it.

  23. #48
    Xtreme CCIE
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,982
    Yeah, that's one of the units I was able to review. A decent unit for the cost if you can avoid paying MSRP (which isn't really too hard to do). If you really think about it, you'll probably realize that you do know what your household voltage spec is, and should be able to work out the amperage it can pass.
    Dual CCIE (Route\Switch and Security) at your disposal. Have a Cisco-related or other network question? My PM box is always open.

    Xtreme Network:
    - Cisco 3560X-24P PoE Switch
    - Cisco ASA 5505 Firewall
    - Cisco 4402 Wireless LAN Controller
    - Cisco 3502i Access Point

  24. #49
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13
    Hi, I have a noobish question here.. my new place is having lots of power outages lately. I'm pretty sure my pc don't really appreciate that. Hence, i'm planning to buy an UPS for my rig.

    Using the extremepowersupply calculator, my rig generates about 240w at 90% load and 153w at 60% load. Most of the time, if the rig is unattended, it usually stays idle @ less than 10% load (mostly getting some stuff from the newsgroup). My PSU is Silverstone ST56F

    So, would it be sufficient for me to get the APC 650VA http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...S&tab=Software for about RM 350 ~ USD 110? Or would it be an overkill, whereby I can consider cheaper brands such as koss etc.? Thanks in advance!

  25. #50
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    124
    This is an old thread, but it was a good read and makes perfect sense to ensure that power going IN the PSU is of quality if the PSU is going to work easy and produce quality power.

    I have been looking at APC as they make "good" stuff for a "good" price.

    Specifically, 750VA-APC-Smart-UPS-750i-USB-and-Serial-Port-230v-Including-PowerCute-software

    which has in the description "sine wave" but I am not sure what sort of line conditioning/filtering this does.

    Is this an "all rounder" or I need to buy the monster bar and this also to be fully filtered/protected.

    Thanks
    DFI Lanparty UT X58-T3EH8 + Intel Core i7 i920

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •