Swiftech
Page 1 of 10 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 246

Thread: First review of Opteron s939

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    50

    First review of Opteron s939

    Hi!
    I published the first review of a new Opteron socket 939. This CPU uses San Diego core SH8-E4 and features 1 MB of L2 cache. It is available at speeds 144 (1.8 GHz) to 154 (2.8 GHz). Price should be comparable to if not less than A64.

    The link is HERE . Just it isn't in english but pictures speaks for themselves.


    This one particular sample of Opteron 144 OCed very well - it allowed for a 1 GHz speed gain what is more than 55% of it's nominal clock.


    CPU-Z thinks it is s940 but it is s939. Vcore had to be raised to 1.50V to get this stable. Cooler used was a BOX for FXs and X2s (the one with copper base and four heatpipes).

  2. #2
    Xtreme Legend dinos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,465
    do these work in normal motherboards

    that is a massive overclock....is that voltage correct....are we takling SS here or stable speeds
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    50
    Yes, they do work on normal motherboards as Hammer Unknown Model. Some motherboards have a direct support for them - for example Abit AN8, ASUS A8N or DFI. I think more are to come.

    At this speed of 2816 MHz, at 1.4V, Prime95 fails immediately. At 1.45V it fails after six munutes. So I think at 1.5V, it could be stable. I used a cooler that is not a top performer and the temperature with this kind of OC at heavy load of BurnK7 was 63 degrees. With a better cooler, it could probably do better.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    537
    looks interesting
    I wonder why they released a 939 opteron?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by ArcTan
    looks interesting
    I wonder why they released a 939 opteron?
    Because it doesn't need registered memory, therefore the platform is much cheaper.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast Daved+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    AMD galaxy
    Posts
    554
    Seems to be more overclockable than the Venice's ???
    DFI UT NF4 Ultra-D R.AB0 | Bios: 0406BTA | Coolermaster Hyper6+ | 2x1GB G.Skill F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ | Samsung SH-S203B | VTB Master | SAN-55 Dual 12v | Dell S2409W

    CPU1: AMD64 3000+ LBBLE 0517APAW 295x9 1.40v / 300x9 1.45v / 317x9 1.45v+110%
    CPU2: Opteron 170 CBBWE 0550UPMW 265x10 1.40v
    Mem: 285Mhz 3-4-4-7 1T 2.6v

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by Daved+
    Seems to be more overclockable than the Venice's ???
    Not sure but Opteron is manufactured on better silicon because it is a server product and has higher demands on stability. It also usually has higher TCaseMax specification than Athlons.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Legend dinos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,465
    Quote Originally Posted by Daved+
    Seems to be more overclockable than the Venice's ???
    if they all perform like this one......i'd love one

    are all Opteron 144 CPUs S939 or are they shipping S940 as well
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22
    if they all perform like this one......i'd love one

    are all Opteron 144 CPUs S939 or are they shipping S940 as well
    They are also shipping for s940. s939 versions were launched only a month ago so currently they are hard to get.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    537
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22
    if they all perform like this one......i'd love one

    are all Opteron 144 CPUs S939 or are they shipping S940 as well
    ditto
    if the 144's are like the current 940 144 opteron maybe we can get them for about $300 or similar to a venice 3200 price

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast xs64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    614
    What does the different between Opteron and Sandy ? I mean all in socket 939 , can i get more performance with the Opteron S939 ?

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    50
    Opteron 144 can be bought for a price comparable to A64 3000+. According to AMD's pricelist, it's even cheaper than that!

    There is no difference between Opteron and San Diego A64. Both use the same core and therefore have the same performance.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member linhvndiy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hanoi-Vietnam
    Posts
    189
    Please do more test. How it perform in server task?Thanks.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member Mysterfix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holly, MI
    Posts
    324
    Very good news indeed, can't waite for these to hit the shelves.
    Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z
    i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz
    G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB DDR3-1600
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB
    Creative X-Fi Xtreme
    Corsairs HX1000 PSU
    EK-Supreme HF: AquagraFX 680 GTX: MCP-355

    Heat

  15. #15
    Xtreme Guru largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Aren't Opterons fully multi-locked?
    You were not supposed to see this.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict gundamit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,575
    So does 939 Opteron 144 = A64 3000+ with 1MB or Sandy at 1.8Ghz and 9x multi? Any way you slice it, it gives us another choice. I'd warm up to it a bit more if prices hit the sub $200USD mark.
    Sourcing parts for a mildly over clocked abacus.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Guru largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    gundamit,
    A screenie in that review shows "SH8-E4". It's a San Diego w/ x9.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  18. #18
    YouTube Addict nn_step's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    18,439
    can't wait for dual core 939 Opterons
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  19. #19
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member drcrawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    "The Land of Chocolate", USA
    Posts
    1,250
    Quote Originally Posted by ArcTan
    ditto
    if the 144's are like the current 940 144 opteron maybe we can get them for about $300 or similar to a venice 3200 price
    The s940 1xx chips on .09 are impossible to find. I don't think they will ever be made. Actually AMD doesn't show them as available at all, only .13 micron. Also, I noticed the case temperature is related to warranty in a way, the one year warranty chips for s940 can vary between 49-67c, but the three year chips are always 67c. On s939, the 150 has the highest at 71c for both boxed retail and oem. !!



    Apparently, the highest you can get on s939 is the 152 (2.6ghz).

    http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/opteron/default.aspx



    WOW, there are s939 opterons there with 2mb L2 cache!
    Last edited by drcrawn; 09-05-2005 at 12:34 PM.
    6800U 31.7K '01*15.8K '03*7.2K '05

    ...building a dual 254 rig on the MSI K8N Master2-FAR SLI

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member ZeroX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    255
    Quote Originally Posted by largon
    Aren't Opterons fully multi-locked?
    Is that true?

    That opterons looks promising... if they are down-unlocked with 1mb... so nice

  21. #21
    YouTube Addict nn_step's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    18,439
    or the fact that they have 3 hypertransport links...
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  22. #22
    Registered User Ugly n Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bancroft, ON, Canada
    Posts
    5,082
    Quote Originally Posted by drcrawn
    The s940 1xx chips on .09 are impossible to find. I don't think they will ever be made. Actually AMD doesn't show them as available at all, only .13 micron. !
    They are made and shipping in Sun servers AFAIK, IBM will be shipping soon as well. The x75 series are shipping like nuts and with good reason.... they take the performance of the socket 940 to xtreme levels.... though I do have to add that at the 8way status the PPC servers are still kicking butt.... I think that will be remedied as companies like Serverworks and Nvidia make more serious chipsets for these Opty's as the potential is definitely there..
    "Foldin, Foldin, Foldin...keep those benchers foldin..." (Lyrics by Angra, Music is Rawhide)

    BOYCOTT MIR's

    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeywoman View Post
    aww an OC virgin! lose it tonight with Xtremesystems!!!

  23. #23
    Xtreme Mentor uOpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by nn_step
    or the fact that they have 3 hypertransport links...
    I don't think it is clear at this point that the additional hypertransport links are actually connected to anything in a socket 939 "Opteron".

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict Mats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,078
    Petr: How did you get that CPU for the review?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict Mats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,078
    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroX
    Is that true?

    That opterons looks promising... if they are down-unlocked with 1mb... so nice
    All 90 nm Opterons have lower multipliers enabled. You can download PowerNow for Opteron here.
    Another link.
    Last edited by Mats; 09-05-2005 at 02:23 PM.

Page 1 of 10 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •