Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 109

Thread: CT-479 in unsupported motherboards

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    298

    CT-479 in unsupported motherboards

    Took the freedom to start this thread after a post by cirthix.
    Quote Originally Posted by cirthix
    if u guys have a cpu and ct479, try it in every p4 board you have, and let us know the results
    Partially working:
    Asus P4S800-MX rev. 2.00: SiS 661FX (tested by Kamerat)
    - Posted with both Celeron M 350 and Pentium M 730
    - Pentium M posted with 6x MP
    - Celeron M overclocked to 13x180MHz, default voltage
    - Wouldn't run or install Windows XP
    - Linux ran great (Slackware 10.1 and kernel 2.6.11.11, also tested Fedora Core 4 with sucsess)
    Asus P4S800D-E: SiS 655TX/FX (tested by Pongi)
    - Posted with Celeron M 340 with 1.55V VCORE as default
    - Wouldn't run Windows
    ECS P4IBASD: i845D (tested by _lochfrass_)
    - Tested with Celeron M 320
    - Ran Windows

    Not working:
    Abit IC7: i875P => no post (tested by Mr Meltdown)
    Abit IC7 MAX 3: i875P => no post (tested by Mr Meltdown)
    Albatron PX865PE Pro: i865PE, P-M Banias 1.4, latest BIOS => no post or beep (tested by cooliscool)
    Albatron PX915P4C Pro: i915P, P-M 760, latest BIOS => no post or beep (tested by Closer)
    Aopen AX4SPE MAX: i865PE => no post (tested by Mr Meltdown)
    ASRock P4i65GV: i865GV, latest BIOS (1.90) => no post (tested by mahrhofer)
    ASRock P4 Combo: i848P, latest BIOS (1.6) => no post (tested by mahrhofer)
    ASRock P4V88: VIA PT880, P-M Banias 1.4, latest BIOS => no post or beep (tested by cooliscool)
    Asus P4RD1-MX: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200/ULI M1573, P-M 730/C-M 350, latest BIOS (0204) => no post or beep (tested by Kamerat)
    Asus P4V800D-X: VIA PT880 Ultra/VIA VT8237R+, P-M 740/760 => no post (tested by DoubleE)
    DFI 875 Infinity: i875P, P-M 760, latest BIOS (also tried to update the microcode in BIOS) => no post (tested by FERCSA)
    ECS L4VXA2 rev. 1: VIA P4X400 => no post (tested by cirthix)
    ECS S4-1 (EZ-Buddie D1S4-1): SiS 650GX+962 => no post (tested by Thorry)
    Epox 4PCA3+: i875P => adapter didn't fit physically, socket rotated 90° (tested by Mr Meltdown)
    Gigabyte 8IG1000-Pro G: i865G, P-M Banias 1.4, latest BIOS => no post or beep (tested by cooliscool)
    Gigabyte 8IPE1000 Pro: i865PE, P-M Banias 1.4, latest BIOS => no post or beep (tested by cooliscool)
    Intel D850EMV2: i850E => no post (tested by FunkyRider)
    MSI 6763: i865PE => no post (tested by FunkyRider)
    MSI 875P Neo-LSR: i875P, latest BIOS (2.4) => no post (tested by mahrhofer)
    - had to remove the retention module first to plug CT-479 into the socket
    Shuttle AB60N rev 1.2: i865PE, P-M 740, BIOS AB60S00Y => no post (tested by mache)
    SOLTEK SL-85DR3: i845PE, latest BIOS (AQ2) => no post (tested by mahrhofer)

    There's also a more extensive list in Japanese, go fetch it here and translator here if your Japanese skills are lacking. Thanks to caligula for the link.

    Some more contributions or corrections?
    Last edited by Kamerat; 07-09-2006 at 04:33 AM. Reason: Even more boards added. ;)
    Satan: Opteron 165 - TT Big Typhoon - DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR - OCZ EB PC3500 2x512MB - Asus Radeon X800 XT - Raptor 74GB x2 RAID0
    Slepbar (Lenovo 0761): Pentium M 735 (Celeron M 380 @ 2,13GHz) - DDR2 2x512MB - GMA 900
    3DMark2001: 40392 - Super PI: 23s

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Sorry I got that wrong, the Epox 4PCA3+ has the socket 90 degrees the wrong way around so it won't physically take the adapter. (must stop posting off the top of my head LOL)

    Cheers,

    MM

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    298
    Corrected, no harm done...
    Satan: Opteron 165 - TT Big Typhoon - DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR - OCZ EB PC3500 2x512MB - Asus Radeon X800 XT - Raptor 74GB x2 RAID0
    Slepbar (Lenovo 0761): Pentium M 735 (Celeron M 380 @ 2,13GHz) - DDR2 2x512MB - GMA 900
    3DMark2001: 40392 - Super PI: 23s

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    378
    This should be merged with the Howto-thread or stickyed!

    Super job, Kamerat
    | Pentium-M 730 SL86G 1.60@2.81GHz | ASUS P4P800SE w/ CT-479 | 2x512MB BH-5 | 1M @ 26s | Windows XP SP2 |
    | Athlon64 3000+ E6 LBBWE 0544EPHW | ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 | WinXP and various Linux distros | Currently enjoying:


  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    85
    Anyone tested the P4S800-D? (or Deluxe, those final suffix's are confusing)

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    470
    Mr.Meltdown, nice to see you here! (i'm markku from [h]forums btw)

    just wanted to ask, is it possible for you (or everyone else with ic7 boards) to measure vcore with ct-479 and ic7?
    for example, i remember that abit 865/875 boards had problems recognizing mobile p4 celerons.. the boards ignored (or misread) vid-settings and applied 0.8 or tad lower vcore, so , naturally, most, if not all cm's refused to post..
    Rio71 made an excellent guide how to overcome that and with his help i got my celerons to work with this board..

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Caater,

    Where would I measure Vcore on an IC7 / IC7 max 3 anyway? And where on the CT-479? I'll do it over the weekend.

    Cheers,

    MM

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Meltdown
    Thanks Caater,

    Where would I measure Vcore on an IC7 / IC7 max 3 anyway? And where on the CT-479? I'll do it over the weekend.
    MM
    i have only this pic, it's been made with mobile phone.. and i don't have digital camera around to take a better one...
    Hope you'll manage to get it

    it's vanilla IC7 btw..
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    LOL, I'd just this minute worked it out myself. Now where on the CT-479? Likely the biggest mosfet on the adapter? I'd have to solder extensions on there to measure you see Or isn't that really relavent anyway?

    Cheers,

    MM

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    15
    IC7 MAX3 shows 1.27v using a Celeron M 1.4Ghz SL6N6 so that would be good enough for a boot if it was volts.

    Unless at the adapter it is lower?

    Cheers,

    MM

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    DK
    Posts
    1,044
    Great initiative!

    I will condense info from this thread into the stickified Dothan @ CT-479 thread.

    Ok, with you guys?

  12. #12
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    sticky

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Meltdown
    IC7 MAX3 shows 1.27v using a Celeron M 1.4Ghz SL6N6 so that would be good enough for a boot if it was volts.

    Unless at the adapter it is lower?
    Cheers,

    MM
    hm.. bad news i think.. wondering what code would port80 device give..
    i assume that adapter only gives vio voltage (that's lower on the pent M than on pent4), so measuring adapter would not help...

    so, it has do be done on a bios level then.. i think.
    i know that copying microcode would help motherboard to properly recognize cpu, but will a simple insert help to boot with it?

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by stryg
    Great initiative!

    I will condense info from this thread into the stickified Dothan @ CT-479 thread.

    Ok, with you guys?
    Thanks stryg!
    saaya stiched it already, thanks to you too. Hope more folks will test boards.

    Quote Originally Posted by caater
    hm.. bad news i think.. wondering what code would port80 device give..
    i assume that adapter only gives vio voltage (that's lower on the pent M than on pent4), so measuring adapter would not help...
    You're right, the adapter is pulling less than 0.1A on the 12V line and nothing from the 5V line.
    Satan: Opteron 165 - TT Big Typhoon - DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR - OCZ EB PC3500 2x512MB - Asus Radeon X800 XT - Raptor 74GB x2 RAID0
    Slepbar (Lenovo 0761): Pentium M 735 (Celeron M 380 @ 2,13GHz) - DDR2 2x512MB - GMA 900
    3DMark2001: 40392 - Super PI: 23s

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    59
    Any idea if Abit IS7 would work? I was thinking of buying ASUS mobo, but this one performs well enough too, so I'd like to know if somebody could test it please.


  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by StrikeRTM
    Any idea if Abit IS7 would work? I was thinking of buying ASUS mobo, but this one performs well enough too, so I'd like to know if somebody could test it please.

    with IS7 the situation is most likely the same as with IC7.
    it won't boot without modifying the bios..

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    59
    That is excatly what I am afraid of...

    Those boards are about the same...

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Fantasia
    Posts
    1,584
    Epox 4PCA3+: i875P, adapter didn't fit physically, socket rotated 90° (tested by Mr Meltdown)
    Did you take the plastic frame off, or are the caps in the way?
    ebay under aws983s, heatware under Mr. Tinker.

  19. #19
    Bulletproof
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Shun low, K?
    Posts
    3,258
    Im pretty sure it'll work on any board that takes it if you could get a bios supporting it. If not I doubt it will work stable in any rig.
    Only the stupidest humans believe that the dogma of relative filth is a defense.

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    85
    The SiS 655TX/FX is essentially a 661FX with dual channel right? Hmm might give it a try in a P4S800D-E

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    112
    Man, ive been searching for the P4C800 DELUXE not the E-Deluxe

    n i cnt find anything on it, not even on their site, any help?

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa,Ont, Canada
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by Pongi
    The SiS 655TX/FX is essentially a 661FX with dual channel right? Hmm might give it a try in a P4S800D-E
    I will be watching for those results
    E6600@3.2 on Asus 680i
    BFG 8800GTX OC2
    28" Gaming @ 1920x1200
    2g Corsair 6400C4 memory

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    85
    Well I got a Celeron M 340 to post on a P4S800D-E (655TX/FX). Though it wouldn't load windows. BIOS saw a "Genuine Intel" CPU at 600Mhz (Probably misreading). Vcore defaulted to 1.55V, Temperature was reading normal though. Had a BIOS checksum error once.

    I'm sure with a BIOS update Asus could get it to work.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Somewer Hot n Humid
    Posts
    242
    anyone tried it on a msi 865pe neo2 mobo? even dfi 865

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ottawa,Ont, Canada
    Posts
    123
    Thanks but I am pretty sure ASUS has abondoned this motherboard.

    The 600mHz is probably from the lowest multi of 6 times the lowest FSB of 100 ... 600 mHz!

    Oh well, if I decide to try this I will probable just get the P4P800-SE ... least amount of problems.
    E6600@3.2 on Asus 680i
    BFG 8800GTX OC2
    28" Gaming @ 1920x1200
    2g Corsair 6400C4 memory

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •