Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 120

Thread: Dual Core AMD Opteron. First screenshot!

  1. #76
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sunnyvale 3453
    Posts
    21
    hehe...Amd 65u quad
    Hector Ruiz... circa 2011

  2. #77
    Quote Originally Posted by aoc007
    Ah, I didn't know that, havn't been keeping up on the tech news lately like I used to. San Diego is FX-57 right? Or is it the 90nm FX-55?
    San Diego is the name of the desktop Rev E. Socket 939 1MB L2 parts.

    So, the new 3700+, 4000+, FX-55, (and when it launches in Q3, the FX-57) are all based on "San Diego".

    (Its sibling is "Venice", Rev E. Socket 939 512K L2 parts, like 3000+, 3200+, 3500+, 3800+.)

  3. #78
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    venezuela caracas
    Posts
    7,434
    mmm i see cheap dc athlon with 512kb cache per core and i think more speed and lower ones with 1mb per core just like newcastle and clawhammer in socket 754?
    Incoming new computer after 5 long years

    YOU want to FIGHT CANCER OR AIDS join us at WCG and help to have a better FUTURE

  4. #79
    No, more like the reverse. We seem to have data points indicating:

    A64 X2 4800+ = dual core 2.4GHz, 1MB L2 x 2
    A64 X2 4400+ = dual core 2.2GHz, 512K L2 x 2

    And my guess for the 3rd part is:

    A64 X2 4600+ = dual core 2.2GHz, 1MB L2 x 2

    -------------

    Basically, I think they are only producing a 2 x 1MB L2 die right now, on socket 940 (for DC Opteron), and will put it on 939 for (DC desktop A64 = "A64 X2").

    I think that the 4400+ part, 2.2GHz 512K L2 x 2 is actually the same large die, just with 1/2 the cache diasbled for each core.

  5. #80
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    venezuela caracas
    Posts
    7,434
    fault cache chips?

    interest in fact higher clocks with more cache...

    now the question is a real perfomance gain having the extra 512kb of cache in a athlon 64? at the same clock speed?

    the extra cache doesnt bring larger pipelines to the structure??? or more complex desing and more latency?

    more cache doesnt affect perfomance???

    dreaming mode on just imagine a dc fx with unlocked multi and 2.8ghz for each core dreaming mode off
    Incoming new computer after 5 long years

    YOU want to FIGHT CANCER OR AIDS join us at WCG and help to have a better FUTURE

  6. #81
    Quote Originally Posted by leviathan18
    fault cache chips?

    interest in fact higher clocks with more cache...

    now the question is a real perfomance gain having the extra 512kb of cache in a athlon 64? at the same clock speed?

    the extra cache doesnt bring larger pipelines to the structure??? or more complex desing and more latency?

    more cache doesnt affect perfomance???

    dreaming mode on just imagine a dc fx with unlocked multi and 2.8ghz for each core dreaming mode off

    For single core:

    2.2GHz 512K L2 = "3500+" ; 2.2GHz 1MB L2 = "3700+"
    2.4GHz 512K L2 = "3800+" ; 2.4GHz 1MB L2 = "4000+"

    So, going from 512K L2 to 1MB L2 results "on average" in a GAIN of 200 PR points.

  7. #82
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by terrace215
    If you are allowed, can you tell us if this DC Opteron 275 is a special "low power" 275 that AMD will be selling (like Opteron HE or Opteron EE, although I wasn't expecting that at 2.2GHz), or will ALL DC Opteron 275's run at 1.2v and have a 68W TDP?
    thanks.
    Yes, you’re right, An OSP275 is a special 68W processor. Moreover, as far as I know, currently AMD doesn’t have an AMD Opteron 68W processor with models of 1xx and 8xx. Also, AMD will announce much hotter dual core OSA-Opteron with a TDP at least 90W.

  8. #83
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,746
    notice the core name is italy and another core name is venice, aren't those both in the italian area??? i think amd is doin this by geographical location lol, good cpu though keep me updated
    mobo: msi 970 g46
    gpu: amd 6870 core 1ghz/ mem 1140 arctic twin turbo (6850 coming soon for franken-fire)
    cpu: 955be @ 3.8ghz @ 1.375v's 2.6ghz n/b 1.275 scythe scrt-1000
    ram: 2x2gb samsung hyko @ 800mhz @ 6-8-8-24
    psu: corsair 650hx
    hdd's: 500gb + 1tb ( 16 and 32mb cache ) samsung

    mobo: biostar r690a-m2t
    gpu: E4690 @ 725core/750mem
    cpu: 4200+ @ 3ghz 1.43 hyper 212 evo
    ram: (random) 2x512mb 2x1gb @ 375 5-5-5-15
    psu: blue storm II 500w
    hdd's: 850gb total

  9. #84
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    East Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    653
    Quote Originally Posted by terrace215
    San Diego is the name of the desktop Rev E. Socket 939 1MB L2 parts.

    So, the new 3700+, 4000+, FX-55, (and when it launches in Q3, the FX-57) are all based on "San Diego".

    (Its sibling is "Venice", Rev E. Socket 939 512K L2 parts, like 3000+, 3200+, 3500+, 3800+.)
    So Venice is San Diego with half the cache and is the basis for the 512kb cache Athlon64 X2s?
    P4C 3.2Ghz @ 4.2Ghz 1.8v (Vapo LS + 4 Tornados & 2xNexus)
    AIW X800XT Running Stock
    IC7-G w/ 2x 512MB KHX3000 (BH-5) + 2x 512MB Muskin Redline XP4000 BIOS 2.8
    2x 36GB WD Raptors RAID 0 (ICH5R)
    2x 80 gig Seagate SATA RAID 0 (SiI3112a)
    Promedia 5.1 Ultra on Audigy 2 Plat
    Pioneer DVR-108D / Lite-on combo SOHC-5232K
    Lian-Li PC-65 w/ all 80mm tornado case fans & PC P&C 510w Deluxe
    WinXP Pro
    3d03: 14185

  10. #85
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by i found nemo
    notice the core name is italy and another core name is venice, aren't those both in the italian area??? i think amd is doin this by geographical location lol, good cpu though keep me updated
    I think it is too ridiculous to name the processor core by name of countries and towns. Spitfire, Thunderbird, Palomino, etc sound much proper.

  11. #86
    Ebay Hater
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Denmark / UK
    Posts
    2,924
    Nice information, though I believe people have spent too much time discussing the authenticy of this thread. Please, get over it, CPU-Z and CBI have never been exactly accurate regarding processors which are yet to be released.
    In short, both AMD and NVIDIA discovered that their next-generation graphics cards are superior to each others' last-generation graphics cards.

  12. #87
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Patras - HELLAS
    Posts
    379


    Let's save some money for my next upgrade....
    E8400 4400(Q814A015 Wafer **91)@1.296 Vcore
    Q6600 (L733B458)@4054 1.5 Vcore
    ASUS P5Q Unmoded - 2X2 GB Corsair Dominator 8500
    Blaster AUDIGY 2
    Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
    ATI 4850 512MB @750/1150 Stock cooling
    LG W2600HP-BF 26" Wide TFT Monitor (S-IPS)
    System Cooled by ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme
    System Powered By OCZ 600W




    Limits do NOT exist

  13. #88
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by leviathan18
    dreaming mode on just imagine a dc fx with unlocked multi and 2.8ghz for each core dreaming mode off
    or just a decent overclocking workstation board w/ nforce pro and 2x opteron 252s...

    troy core = venice/sandeigo like, sse3, fixed mem controller, should overclock very well, if only they had a beefy enough board to support overvolting 2x cpus...

    (come on asus k8n-dl) maybe if we cried enough about it asus will enable numa AND OVERVOLTING in their next bios revision

    then all we'll need is some registered pc5000
    main, games/browsing:
    Xeon 3060 3200mhz, Gigabyte DS3, 2x2GB Buffalo Firestix DDR2 800, Westinghouse 22" on Sapphire x1900XT@XTX, 2x80GB hitachi sata 3.0gb/s striped
    secondary, videos/music/downloading/burning/secondary web serve:
    Core2 Duo E6300, Asus P5LD2-VM, 2x2GB OCZ DDR2 667, Westinghouse 22" on Intel GMA950, Aspire XQPack, 200GB WD, 16x DL DVDRW running OSX 10.4.8

  14. #89
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    571
    Great stuff


    Quote Originally Posted by AndreYang View Post
    wtf..your cpu is better.

  15. #90
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Westport, Wa. 98595
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by VVJ
    Not long ago I have signed NDA and I very proud of this. Therefore I’m afraid of to lost it, because it cost a lot.


    Soon you’ll understand you are mistaken


    No it is not! VCore is 1.200V. Today, I’ll try to post a little more info regarding this CPU.


    Do you know something about OSP suffix? I’m not sure you do Besides, FAA encodes not core revision, the last two letters encode the revision. The A-voltage defines a variable voltage, not definite as you suppose. For example, it may be 1.200V or 1.250V. The letter F says that CPU uses a new organic package.


    terrace215...pwnd, my man.

  16. #91

  17. #92
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    4,120
    Excellent stuff VVJ. Интересно
    i5 750 4.20GHz @ NH-D14 | 8GB | P7P55DLE | 8800U | Indilinx SSD + Samsung F3 | HAF922 + CM750W
    Past: Q6600 @ 3.60 E6400 @ 3.60 | E6300 @ 3.40 | O165 @ 2.90 | X2 4400+ @ 2.80 | X2 3800+ @ 2.70 | VE 3200+ @ 2.80 | WI 3200+ @ 2.75 | WI 3000+ no IHS @ 2.72 | TBB 1700+ @ 2.60 | XP-M 2500+ @ 2.63 | NC 2800+ @ 2.40 | AB 1.60GHz @ 2.60
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    The US is the only country that doesn't use [nuclear weapons] to terrorize other countries. The US is based on Christian values, unlike any other country in the world. Granted we are straying from our Christian heritage, but we still have a freedom aimed diplomatic stance.

  18. #93
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    launched today in desktop version

    4200+ = 2.2GHz 512kb
    4400+ = 2.2GHz 1MB
    4600+ = 2.4GHz 512kb
    4800+ = 2.4GHz 1MB

    Venice, San diego and Athlon X2...

    available in june
    Last edited by cpulloverclock; 04-20-2005 at 11:10 PM.
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  19. #94
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    East Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    653
    No word on prices?
    P4C 3.2Ghz @ 4.2Ghz 1.8v (Vapo LS + 4 Tornados & 2xNexus)
    AIW X800XT Running Stock
    IC7-G w/ 2x 512MB KHX3000 (BH-5) + 2x 512MB Muskin Redline XP4000 BIOS 2.8
    2x 36GB WD Raptors RAID 0 (ICH5R)
    2x 80 gig Seagate SATA RAID 0 (SiI3112a)
    Promedia 5.1 Ultra on Audigy 2 Plat
    Pioneer DVR-108D / Lite-on combo SOHC-5232K
    Lian-Li PC-65 w/ all 80mm tornado case fans & PC P&C 510w Deluxe
    WinXP Pro
    3d03: 14185

  20. #95

    Talking





    Big one here. The box I have for testing is 2 x Opteron 875, 4GiB, nForce4 Pro. More info when we publish my article. Feels so good to be able to talk about them, now the NDA has expired

    My spec changes too much to keep these things up to date!

  21. #96
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    :drool:

    Man, you're lucky
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  22. #97
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    72
    2.2GHz dual core, 2x 1MB L2 caches.......1.2V?!?!

    AMD =

  23. #98
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    4,120
    Everyone is cheering for these chips.. They own, no question about it. The prices make them crap, though.
    i5 750 4.20GHz @ NH-D14 | 8GB | P7P55DLE | 8800U | Indilinx SSD + Samsung F3 | HAF922 + CM750W
    Past: Q6600 @ 3.60 E6400 @ 3.60 | E6300 @ 3.40 | O165 @ 2.90 | X2 4400+ @ 2.80 | X2 3800+ @ 2.70 | VE 3200+ @ 2.80 | WI 3200+ @ 2.75 | WI 3000+ no IHS @ 2.72 | TBB 1700+ @ 2.60 | XP-M 2500+ @ 2.63 | NC 2800+ @ 2.40 | AB 1.60GHz @ 2.60
    Quote Originally Posted by CompGeek
    The US is the only country that doesn't use [nuclear weapons] to terrorize other countries. The US is based on Christian values, unlike any other country in the world. Granted we are straying from our Christian heritage, but we still have a freedom aimed diplomatic stance.

  24. #99
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil
    :drool:

    Man, you're lucky
    I second that

  25. #100
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    51

    Exclamation

    AMD Opteron Dual Core manufacturer published pricing in Tokyo:

    Socket 940::
    1) Opteron 875 US$2,800 (Y292K).
    2) Opteron 870 US$2,300 (Y237K).
    3) Opteron 865 US$1,600 (Y167K).

    4) Opteron 275 US$1,400 (Y143K).
    5) Opteron 270 US$1,100 (Y116K).
    6) Opteron 265 US$940 (Y94K).

    Availability now. the 2xx DC will ship retail im may 2005. Samples are available to selected customers ...

    Last edited by Woody-san; 04-21-2005 at 11:20 PM.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •