MMM
Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 195

Thread: OCZ PC3200 Gold new BH5 die

  1. #1
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776

    Thumbs up OCZ PC3200 Gold new BH5 die + DFI NF4 SLI-D

    Results for 2x 512MB OCZ PC3200 Gold with the new BH5 dies. The product link is at http://www.ocztechnology.com/product...l_channel_gold



    Tips for this ram on DFI NF4 SLI-D

    1. don't use 325 or 326 bios they mess up the ram clocks and threw me off track as to what the ram can do. i.e. lower cpu multipliers in 325 bios don't work 10x/9x
    2. best bios so far 310 official bios - 2nd post results with 331-3 beta bios
    3. with 310 official bios fix ddram data drive strength = 1 otherwise you can sometimes BSOD in windows, i set drive strength at 2, 4, 6, 8 fine with no probs
    4. ram with 310 official bios performs nearly exactly like old BH-5 in terms of mhz ceilings at each vdimm setting
    5. like old BH-5, the new BH die stuff on this ram doesn't boot at cas3
    6. Trc of 10-12 is needs less vdimm, but once you change Trc to 8-9 you need 0.1-0.2v more vdimm to get windows stability
    7. ram is untested beyond 200mhz speed so guess not even OCZ know what they are consistently capable of overclocking wise from module to module

    so far with 310 official bios with 2x 512MB OCZ PC3200 Gold on DFI NF4 SLI-D i'm at memtest86+ v1.55.1 wise

    240mhz 2-2-2-5 at 3.0v
    245mhz 2-2-2-5 at 3.1v
    250mhz 2-2-2-5 at 3.2v
    255mhz 2-2-2-5 at 3.3v
    260mhz 2-2-2-5 at 3.5v

    using stock AUTO 12-14-2-3-2-4 or 12-14-2-2-2-2 or 12-14-2-2-1-2

    Of course windows stability tests will probably result or change those results somewhat.

    System:
    3500+ CAA2C 0507 GPMW water cooled
    DFI NF4 SLI-D 310 official bios
    2x eVGA 6800U PCI-E SLI mode with 76.10 drivers
    120GB WD 1200JB
    Pioneer A05 Burner
    580W Topower 686P6 Adjustable rail 35A/12 psu
    WinXP PRO SP2

    - note SLI mode will probably reduce cpu related performance slightly so take that into a/c with the benchmark results.

    2x 512MB OCZ PC3200 Gold new BH-5 die dual channel kit

    @10x 260mhz 2-2-2-6 9-16-3-2-1-2 at 3.6v


    Sandra 2005 Lite
    Buffered = 7,365 / 7,283
    Unbuffered = 3,479 / 3,661

    Everest Home
    Read = 7,601
    Write = 2,240
    Latency = 37.1 ns

    Pcmark04 = 4,851
    Pcmark04 Memory = 6,648

    Hexus Pifast = 45.52s

    SuperPi
    1M = 32.343s
    2m = 1min 13.861s
    4M = 2min 40.393s
    8M = 5min 49.658s
    16M = 13min 16.884s
    32M = 28min 47.049s

    3dmark2003
    @425/1100 stock speeds

    Last edited by eva2000; 05-02-2005 at 06:42 AM.

  2. #2
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    System:
    3500+ CAA2C 0507 GPMW water cooled
    DFI NF4 SLI-D 331-3 beta bios
    2x eVGA 6800U PCI-E SLI mode with 76.10 drivers
    120GB WD 1200JB
    Pioneer A05 Burner
    580W Topower 686P6 Adjustable rail 35A/12 psu
    WinXP PRO SP2

    - note SLI mode will probably reduce cpu related performance slightly so take that into a/c with the benchmark results.

    2x 512MB OCZ PC3200 Gold new BH-5 die dual channel kit

    @11x 250mhz 2-2-2-6 7-15-2-2-1-2 at 3.35v


    Sandra 2005 Lite
    Buffered = 7,537 / 7,444
    Unbuffered = 3,461 / 3,623

    Everest Home
    Read = 7,262
    Write = 2,434
    Latency = 38.7ns

    Pcmark04 = 5,043
    Pcmark04 Memory = 6,667

    Hexus Pifast = 43.52s

    SuperPi
    1M = 31.099s
    2m = 1min 10.546s
    4M = 2min 33.847s
    8M = 5min 34.540s
    16M = 12min 41.303s
    32M = 27min 34.899s

    3dmark2003
    @425/1100 stock speeds





    Temps
    I have 4 thermal probes from 2x dual LCD temp displays attached to the memory heatspreaders. Two probes to each module to measure the temps at idle and load.

    Room temps = 29-31C

    stick #1
    idle: 31.3C / 32.3C
    load: 35.5C / 37.4C

    stick #2
    idle: 32.3C / 33.9C
    load: 35.3C / 36.7C

    ram cooled with 2x 60x25mm fans sitting over both ram modules.
    Last edited by eva2000; 04-04-2005 at 08:16 AM.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    210
    Any retailer carrying those? Price point?
    All i can find on newegg are pc4000's

  4. #4
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    only one i know of is atacom.com

    1GB OCZ PC4000 GoldVX US$260
    1GB OCZ PC3200 GoldVX US$222
    1GB OCZ PC3200 Gold BH die US$205
    1GB OCZ PC3200 ValueVX UTT die US$115
    ---

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    21
    Here are two places that I know have the modules:

    Monarch Computer ($245):
    http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=140509

    Atacom ($204.95):
    http://www.atacom.com/program/print_...EDD_OCZT_AG_G8

    We're trying to get more resellers to carry it. If you want to see it at your local reseller, bug them to buy some

    -Eric

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    LoCkEd In ThE lAb
    Posts
    650
    hi nice review!

    but cant you test some 3D01 and get the details or just get timings to 2-3-2-5 does this makle mem go higher or 2,5-3-3-6 how high can ya get?

    seems to me old bh-5 and tccd are still worth it.
    but its a nice price and for a fx or 35-38+ very nice ram

    especially i would prefer the twinmos one

    but again nice review eva
    . . . WHO put this thing together? ME !

    . . . WHO do i trust? ME !

    . . . f*** it, as****

  7. #7
    XS Intel News & DČOL enhanced
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,367
    does it not like more than 3.5v?

  8. #8
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,471
    Can anyone give pictures of actual chips ? *I just want to see what this new BH-5 looks like :cry:*

    EDIT: And also, anyone have results on Intel system ?

    Perkam

  9. #9
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    The chips are blanks, just like thew UTT we all use, so not much to see TBH
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  10. #10
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    well do some 3d2k1 later with 2x 6800U PCI-E SLIs

    enzoR, first post benchies are @3.6v while 2nd post are @3.35v
    ---

  11. #11
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065
    I've already said that before, but would like to repeat myslef again

    You're doing awesome job reviewing those mems. I like that you show a broad spectrum of stability benches.

    Very nice results for $200 kit... :thumbsup:
    I work for Corsair Components, Inc.

  12. #12
    XS Intel News & DČOL enhanced
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,367
    so 3.6v needed for 260, and 3.35v for 250....

    is that the highest they go?

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    thats incredible Eva ...
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    371
    Will these come in 2X256?


    Got news? Post it HERE

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    85
    Nice results indeed. Glad to see that low latency is back on the scene.

    deception``
    Opteron 146 CABYE 0540FPAW @ 2.9 ~ 3.0 Ghz, DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D, 2x512 OCZ PC 4800 Platinum, Msi 6600GT, Big Typhoon, 2x250gb Hitachi T7K250 Hard Drives, OCZ Powerstream 520W, Audigy 2Zs, Logitech z-5300e

  16. #16
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,471
    Will these come in 2X256?
    Nope, apparently none of the newer dc ram kits will be 512mb. If you want dual channel, you'll have to go 1gb Which isnt all that great news for benchers who want 2x256 action. but I'm sure those with 754 rigs will be happy.

    Perkam

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    371
    Man the prices on these babies keeps dropping at Atatcom. Its $194 right now


    Got news? Post it HERE

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    567
    ATACOM is such a OCZ whore... They get everything cheaper and first than all the other etailers

    Meant as a joke btw.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    hmmmmmmmmmm....
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  20. #20
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Quote Originally Posted by enzoR
    so 3.6v needed for 260, and 3.35v for 250....

    is that the highest they go?
    this is without burn in so far and superpi 32m stable not just 1M

    the higher vdimm is needed to tighten Trc to 8-9, with Trc loose at 11-13 you need 0.1-0.15v less vdimm to run.
    ---

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Baltics
    Posts
    1,161
    Hmm, looks like in this particular case they max out at around where PC3200VX would do (unless some burn in carries them higher while VX in many cases doesn't respond to it). So let's wait for other users results, and in the end, if the new BH-5 are on par with 3200VX, price might come out to be the decisive factor.

    And, of course, another thumbs up for your nice and extensive testing, eva!
    away & gone

  22. #22
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    well here's 3d2k1 bench you asked for

    2x eVGA 6800U PCI-E SLI

    stock heatsink/air @ 455/1201 = 33,589

    Last edited by eva2000; 04-04-2005 at 10:19 PM.
    ---

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    LoCkEd In ThE lAb
    Posts
    650
    hmmmm thx

    but why is car low only 378 fps i get with the winchester@2700mhz 300-2,5-4-3-8 like 395-400fps your newcastle is @ 2750 and car high is also not as good.

    think thats only cpu+mem score or isnt it?

    because all scores are pretty good especially nature wow 471fps!!! nice

    thx eva again for the detail3D01 bench!

    35k are just one step tweak some bit your win some timings tighter and get it

    seEN

    PS: sry buts a bad pic, its memory @ 2,5-4-3-6 A-DAta TCCD @ DDR600 sometimes could bench with 2,5-3-3-5 @ DDR600
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by andL64; 04-05-2005 at 12:02 AM.
    . . . WHO put this thing together? ME !

    . . . WHO do i trust? ME !

    . . . f*** it, as****

  24. #24
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    1. winchester cpus are faster than newcastle cpus
    2. ATI cards better at 3d2k1 then Nvidia cards
    3. SLI mode doesn't do much to boost 3d2k1 except in Nature
    4. Car and Lobby scores are function of FSB.. higher fsb = high scores - my FSB/HTT is only 250

    HTH
    ---

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    LoCkEd In ThE lAb
    Posts
    650
    the ati XL is doing "nothing" in car...
    Also SLI isnt needed....


    maybe ure right and the higher fsb and winchester is faster but it still seems zo me in 3D benches scores gets better with ~300+ 2,5-3-3-6 little tweaked than 2-2-2-2 @ ~250+

    seEn
    . . . WHO put this thing together? ME !

    . . . WHO do i trust? ME !

    . . . f*** it, as****

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •