Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Anyone Ever Attempted Liquid Helium?

Xtreme Recruit

Anyone Ever Attempted Liquid Helium?

Hi guys,

I am no expert by any means but at our school physics department, they use some liquid helium for some superconductor experiments. I was just wondering if anyone has tried using this stuff (around 10 deg K) or at those temps do the physical properties of silicon change too much to work anymore?

Xtreme Addict -100C Club
    isn't it very expensive?

Liquid helium boils at -268.93 Centigrade
    who doesn't want that.
    maybe it is to cold like your saying.
    you need very thick insulation too i guess :p
    Back in the phase change world

Xtreme Addict
    Not satisfied with liquid nitrogen? hehe

Xtreme Enthusiast
    Newcastle Under Lyme - Staffordshire - UK
    With liquid nitrogen, you spill it on yourself and get a nasty burn at worst. Liquid helium would penetrate your skin, expand inside the body -and you'd die

Ignoring the cost, its just too dangerous.

Tom
    "What will become of us, will we evolve"

Maybe someone should borrow a laboratory with the correct suits and see if there is any borders for a WR that can be moved on some CPU/GPU's

Would probably be VERY expensive

XS News
    Quote Originally Posted by Muffe
    Maybe someone should borrow a laboratory with the correct suits and see if there is any borders for a WR that can be moved on some CPU/GPU's

Would probably be VERY expensive
    Very cool nonetheless
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 300x10________15" Macbook Pro
    2x 512mb Mushkin DDR _______________2x 1Gb DDR2
    Sapphire X850XT____________________X1600M
    DFI Ultra-D_________________________2.16Ghz Merom C2D
    Lian-Li PC7A________________________OS X/XP
    PCP&C 610w Silencer

XS Local
    i don't think processors would run that cold.

Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3