Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Need a gifted BIOS modder (90nm support on DFI 754)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    301

    Need a gifted BIOS modder (90nm support on DFI 754)

    Hello,

    I recently came by a mobile 90nm Athlon64 on eBay. It was pretty cheap, so I figured why not and bought it.

    The processor came in the mail today. I put it in my board, installed the heatsink, fired it up... and got nothing. The board will POST, but hangs on the DFI logo. I tried clearing the CMOS and now it won't even POST. On the speaker I get long beep, long pause.

    I am using the latest beta BIOS, 10/15.

    Is it possible that somebody who knows their way around the DFI UT NF3 250gb BIOS would be able to add the 2800+ 90nm low-power microcode to the BIOS. Wouldn't it be as easy as finding a laptop BIOS that has this microcode and pasting it into the DFI BIOS? Or am I seriously underestimating the complexity of this task?

    I am almost certain the Acer Ferrari 3200 uses the 90nm 2800+. A BIOS is available for download on their website, and would be a perfect donor.

    http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/for...words=&pupv=pu

    If anybody could help me out, I'd REALLY appreciate it.

    Thanks,
    Adam Frakes

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    143
    you can't get any 90nm s754 cpus

  3. #3
    XS News
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    848
    Quote Originally Posted by goatman
    you can't get any 90nm s754 cpus

    Yes you can.. I believe they are oakvilles?

    I would PM tictac maybe, see if he knows?

    Would like to see the OC results of this thing!

    Maybe even PM A_G if he can talk oskar into doing it
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 300x10________15" Macbook Pro
    2x 512mb Mushkin DDR _______________2x 1Gb DDR2
    Sapphire X850XT____________________X1600M
    DFI Ultra-D_________________________2.16Ghz Merom C2D
    Lian-Li PC7A________________________OS X/XP
    PCP&C 610w Silencer

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,022
    sounds like voltage isnt high enough...

    try this bro.

    Go into bIOS with another CPU and set vCore to 1.4v... then power down... but dont clear CMOS.
    Load up again and see if it runs


    I hope you get this going Good luck
    VX/UTT Voltage Scaling, please contribute...

    10x260 _ 1T-2-2-2-8-7-15 _ 3.3vDIMM _ 1.75vCORE

    Mobile 3400+ CG 0437XDPW
    DFI LanParty UT
    XP120 w/ 120mm Thermaltake Thunderblade
    2x512MB OCZ VX
    BBATI 9800np w/Infineon
    PC Power & Cooling 510w Deluxe

  5. #5
    XS Local
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,696
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi_NZ
    sounds like voltage isnt high enough...

    try this bro.

    Go into bIOS with another CPU and set vCore to 1.4v... then power down... but dont clear CMOS.
    Load up again and see if it runs


    I hope you get this going Good luck

    i think when the bios detects a new cpu it will defualt the cmos.


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,022
    maybe... but until you try...
    VX/UTT Voltage Scaling, please contribute...

    10x260 _ 1T-2-2-2-8-7-15 _ 3.3vDIMM _ 1.75vCORE

    Mobile 3400+ CG 0437XDPW
    DFI LanParty UT
    XP120 w/ 120mm Thermaltake Thunderblade
    2x512MB OCZ VX
    BBATI 9800np w/Infineon
    PC Power & Cooling 510w Deluxe

  7. #7
    XS News
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    848
    Quote Originally Posted by Dissolved
    i think when the bios detects a new cpu it will defualt the cmos.
    I believe it does... always worth a try though!
    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 300x10________15" Macbook Pro
    2x 512mb Mushkin DDR _______________2x 1Gb DDR2
    Sapphire X850XT____________________X1600M
    DFI Ultra-D_________________________2.16Ghz Merom C2D
    Lian-Li PC7A________________________OS X/XP
    PCP&C 610w Silencer

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,349
    what's the full stepping on this chip?
    "Monolith" - [ Xeon W3540 (4.22) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT CPU Block - XSPC 360 Rad ]
    Old Box - [ E4600 2.4 @ 3.7ghz (11x335) - P5W-DH - 4gb Gskill @ 893mhz - Radeon 3850 ]

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    345
    Is there no voltage mods for a64 ..where you can put a thin wire in the socket to connect two pins and make it default to a higher vcore ?

    I know Ive done that on my Infinity to help with cold boots..

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,022
    Quote Originally Posted by THunDA
    Is there no voltage mods for a64 ..where you can put a thin wire in the socket to connect two pins and make it default to a higher vcore ?

    I know Ive done that on my Infinity to help with cold boots..
    there must be, cos Mobiles obviously default to 1.4v vs 1.5v for DTR/Desktop... whether or not it is known is the question
    VX/UTT Voltage Scaling, please contribute...

    10x260 _ 1T-2-2-2-8-7-15 _ 3.3vDIMM _ 1.75vCORE

    Mobile 3400+ CG 0437XDPW
    DFI LanParty UT
    XP120 w/ 120mm Thermaltake Thunderblade
    2x512MB OCZ VX
    BBATI 9800np w/Infineon
    PC Power & Cooling 510w Deluxe

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    Posts
    600
    Ive got a couple bios's that came in modded form back in what, Oct that allow mobile a64 support. Have you tried these? They were posted in the original DFI 250UT thread.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •