Swiftech
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 53

Thread: 5 Ways for a Better 6800 GT Overclock

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391

    5 Ways for a Better 6800 GT Overclock

    I’ve been testing my GT a lot lately and was able to achieve a 473Mhz 3dmark2003 run on aircooling (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3649129) which seemed pretty high compared to other GT overclocks ( http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=45876 and http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=49832 ). That’s why I wrote down my tweaks below. I hope it helps other GT users.
    When I first got the card, it seemed to be an average card, it could do 415Mhz on the core and 1.1Ghz on the mem with stock cooling and voltage. And that was only benchmark stable. For games I had to drop to 400.
    The card is a reference design GT with the mermaid on the cooler from Aopen. So, after weeks of tweaking and testing it could do 473Mhz stable enough for 3dmark 2003. As this overclock is achieved without any soldering or resistor pencilling, a lot of people should be able to reach comparable clocks. These tips could also be useful for other Geforce 6x00 cards.
    So here we go:

    1. Cooling
    It’s obvious that if you want to overclock on air you’ll need better cooling, I’ve put a SLK900u AMD heatsink on it and a powerful fan. On previous generations of Geforce cards this was an easy thing to do, because the holes in these cards were large enough to fit 4 long screws. The placement of the holes around the GT core was different and too small for my screws but with some zipties I’ve managed to put the cooler firmly in place. The effect on the temperature was enormous of course. With 20°C ambient, the gpu never went above 40°C stressed. So the cooling was ok. Any cooler with lots of copper should be sufficient (NV5 Silencer for example).

    2. Bios
    With better cooling the next logical step is raising the gpu voltage from 1.3V to 1.4V, it can be done by flashing a new bios. You can extract your original bios with nvflash and mod it with Nibitor to 1.4V. Set 2D voltage to the same value as your 3D voltage for better stability. 1.5V didn’t help my overclock, but it’s worth trying. Get all the necessary tools, howto’s and biosses at http://www.mvktech.net/ (Mavke’s site).

    3. Power
    The biggest problem with GT’s is power, ultra’s don’t come with an extra molex for no reason. So how can we stabilize the power supply to the card, even with only one molex?
    One option is to use 2 power supplies. The second PSU is only to provide power to the molex of the card. If you don’t want to fry your card, you’ll have to connect the green and the black wires from both PSU’s to make them boot up simultaneously. If you don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, don’t even try it.
    A second way for stabilizing the incoming power is described here (thanks to Reject for the crazy idea, but it works): http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=48577 . It gave me some extra 5-10Mhz.
    Also, use clean powerlines, with no other peripherals attached. My Antec TC 550W has a molex at the back of the PSU, using this molex gave me the best results.
    A serious overclocked A64 system (vcore > 1.75V) could influence your cards overclock (meaning less). I noticed this especially in 3dmark 2001.

    4. AGP
    Disable fastwrites
    Set AGP voltage to 1.8V at least
    Set AGP frequency to 81 (use clockgen).
    Tested on a DFI S754 nf3 board and it helped me to get those extra Mhz and stability to complete a benchmark.

    5. Rivatuner
    Use Rivatuner for overclocking, it has 2 very useful options that can be enabled in the power user tab.
    - Disable internal clocktest
    - Disable any kind of throttling by forcing 3D performance clocks (http://www.vr-zone.com.sg/index.cgi?i=1582&s=3 thanks to Shamino)
    Throttling problems are due to power or temperature. Most of the time it’s a power problem. Disabling the throttling mechanism will help finishing that precious benchmark without performance loss. That is, if you’re lucky, most of the time, it will just freeze and give you a corrupt screen. The Rivatuner author warns that disabling throttling can damage your card, so be careful.

    That’s it, I hope it can help you reaching that 470+ overclock without any hardmods, it should be possible now if you follow my tips.

    If you do want to hardmod your card, look here : http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=48876
    The vcore mod (thanks to shamino) : http://www.vr-zone.com.sg/?i=926&s=1
    Vmem mod: http://www.vr-zone.com.sg/?i=1622&s=1

    If you have comments or other good tips, let me know.
    Last edited by HaLDoL; 06-01-2005 at 02:05 AM. Reason: removed 3dmark scores

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict reject's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,782
    wow my mod worked
    i think on a dual 12v rail psu the effects would be more evident
    on my rivatuner the performance thing is greyed out, i thought it only worked for FX cards.
    what bios do u use, i found best results on my stock sparkle

    ure scores own me mate good job and nice post
    Quote Originally Posted by bh2k
    sorry m, OI'm a bit drunkz!
    Air benches with 3000+, DFI nf3 and 6800GT 2001SE: 26312 3d03: 13028

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    cairns > australia (ex-germany)
    Posts
    1,159
    this sounds pretty good, have to try it on my gt ...
    btw this autooverclocking / detect clocks via the nv-drivers is utter crap. my card usually craps out at ~420 core and when it craps, the mem is only at 1120 or so... and the mem can actually hit 1151 without hickup ... so i don't trust it all that much
    sky / s!p - we are oldskool, dammit.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    vn
    Posts
    139
    hi guys, i cant find disable clock test in riva =o( there ist only bart, krusty, homer and so on... plz help me.

    i have gainward power pack 6800gt

    [IMG][/IMG]
    MSI NEO 2 Plat
    Kingston BH-5
    Winnie 3200+
    Antec 550 TC

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict reject's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,782
    here ya go matey
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Quote Originally Posted by bh2k
    sorry m, OI'm a bit drunkz!
    Air benches with 3000+, DFI nf3 and 6800GT 2001SE: 26312 3d03: 13028

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by reject
    wow my mod worked
    i think on a dual 12v rail psu the effects would be more evident
    on my rivatuner the performance thing is greyed out, i thought it only worked for FX cards.
    what bios do u use, i found best results on my stock sparkle

    ure scores own me mate good job and nice post
    Look in the power user tab in rivatuner. You must enable it.
    I used the bios that came with the card and modded to 1.4V en 2d=3d

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    vn
    Posts
    139
    i cant find it =o( theres only name of simpsons...
    MSI NEO 2 Plat
    Kingston BH-5
    Winnie 3200+
    Antec 550 TC

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    68
    Fantastic post.
    I'd be tempted but given that I just fried a GT, I'll pass and take what it's going to give me at default volts etc.
    My upgrade fund just took a hefty dent

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by rookiekiller
    i cant find it =o( theres only name of simpsons...
    Try to reinstall, get the latest version at guru3d.com

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    22
    HaLDoL: What do you get in 3d05 with 71.2x drivers?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by Bradbury
    HaLDoL: What do you get in 3d05 with 71.2x drivers?
    Only 6306 with 71.20

    Compared to my 66.93 score:



    I've discovered that sideband adressing enabled gives you +200 point in 3dmark 05. Unfortunately I already had it on

    My GT is sold, I have a BFG 6800u now. Will try to break some records with the ultra.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    .:C2D 6600 :: Tuniq tower :: Asus P5B dlx :: 2GBHZ :: OCZ 520W :: 8800GTX :.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    cairns > australia (ex-germany)
    Posts
    1,159
    well, i modded my bios to 1.4v and could clock higher ~430 core, 1170 mem, but whenever i tried to run a 3d mark at those settings, i would - sooner or later - get a nice beautifully (?) colored checkerboard. no matter if i used 430/1150 or later on 410/1100 (what i can run for days with the default 1.3v bios). and of course this would lock up immediately .. or well.. i couldn't see much anything else, so i had to reset anyway. cooling wasn't an issue, as i mounted a 6800ultra heatsink, plus two additional fans. one 80mm straight above the aluminium core-cooler (after removing that thin aluminium coverplate) and another 120mm hitting on the 6800gts mosfet sink.

    grrr crappola. btw i only upped the 3d voltage, so now i wonder what it is that is causing these checkerboards - even at clocks that work flawless with less juice. anyone got an idea?

    /ed. spell-o-holic
    Last edited by sky; 02-06-2005 at 01:43 PM.
    sky / s!p - we are oldskool, dammit.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391
    Quote Originally Posted by sky
    well, i modded my bios to 1.4v and could clock higher ~430 core, 1170 mem, but whenever i tried to run a 3d mark at those settings, i would - sooner or letter - get a nice beautifully (?) colored checkerboard. no matter if i used 430/1150 or later on 410/1100 (what i can run for days with the default 1.3v bios). and of course this would lock up immediately .. or well.. i couldn't see much anything else, so i had to reset anyway. cooling wasn't an issue, as i mounted a 6800ultra heatsink, plus two additional fans. one 80mm straight above the aluminium core-cooler (after removing that thin aluminium coverplate) and another 120mm hitting on the 6800gts mosfet sink.

    grrr crappola. btw i only upped the 3d voltage, so now i wonder what it is that is causing these checkerboards - even at clocks that work flawless with less juice. anyone got an idea?
    Checkerboard crashes are due to power instability. Did you do what I described under power and agp? They may seem trivial, but they do help. Raise agp voltage/ frequency, disable fast-writes, make a double molex, etc... Test on a non-overclocked cpu first.
    .:C2D 6600 :: Tuniq tower :: Asus P5B dlx :: 2GBHZ :: OCZ 520W :: 8800GTX :.

  14. #14
    XS_THE_MACHINE [XC] moddolicous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    4,871
    I dont mind modding a bios for you if you need the 1.4V/ 1.5V bios. Just shoot me a pm with card make and anything else important.
    "Victory is always possible for the person who refuses to stop fighting"

    clicks to save kids

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast Playful_Buffalo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    579
    bookmarked

    i am gonna try some of these mods

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict sky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    cairns > australia (ex-germany)
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by HaLDoL
    Only 6306 with 71.20

    Compared to my 66.93 score:



    I've discovered that sideband adressing enabled gives you +200 point in 3dmark 05. Unfortunately I already had it on

    My GT is sold, I have a BFG 6800u now. Will try to break some records with the ultra.
    erm, ONLY 6306 with the 71.20's? what was the best driver regarding scores for you? i'm still running 66.81's as they gave me the most. but then again i didn't test them all. nv just has too many drivers to keep track of
    sky / s!p - we are oldskool, dammit.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391
    I've only tested 66.93 and 71.20 unfortunately.
    .:C2D 6600 :: Tuniq tower :: Asus P5B dlx :: 2GBHZ :: OCZ 520W :: 8800GTX :.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict HiJon89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,770
    From what I've seen, any of the 71.2X's are good. I would just go with the 71.20's the 71.24 and 71.25 seems to just fix SLI problems.

    File Server:
    Super Micro X8DTi
    2x E5620 2.4Ghz Westmere
    12GB DDR3 ECC Registered
    50GB OCZ Vertex 2
    RocketRaid 3520
    6x 1.5TB RAID5
    Zotac GT 220
    Zippy 600W

    3DMark05: 12308
    3DMark03: 25820

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict don_vercetti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    1,660
    just out of interest, how come raising the AGP freq. helps overclocking the GPU? ala point 4.
    Conroe E6300 ES
    2x1gb Ballistix PC8000
    Asus P5W DH Deluxe (1705)
    Manli Geforce 7950GT 512mb
    Hiper Type-R 480w
    Samsung SP250

    "What did the quantam duck say?" "Quark Quark"

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast uclajd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    855
    I'd put power 1(b).

    The 6800GT is a power hog when overclocked.

    It also runs hot[ly] as hell, which is why H20 is so helpful to this particular card and why cooling is 1(a). I went from like 80C to 45C under load with water. I've never seen a CPU even come close to that kind of drop under water. Then again, CPUs don't ship with the woefully inadequate cooling that the 6800 series does.

    One thing is clear: If you have crappy power, you'll be very hard-pressed to have successful OCs with a 6800 series card. Now that I have my Powerstream 600 I should slip the 6800 GT back in and see how it goes. Mine would autodetect really high, but crap out under load, which was power starvation.
    <----- REST IN PEACE, KIT. 1993-2007.


  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict revenant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,138
    I know this is an OLDish thread... but I am having some issues OCing my MSI GTs in SLi... I think it's a power issue from my mobo not getting enough juice through the pci-e slots... I have an MSI k8n nei4 plat sli with a two NX6800GT's and a SilverStone Zeus psu... those cards have that nice copper cooler in them... I have put AS5 over the GPU, I have a 120mm fan right on the cards, plus a vantec fan card under the bottom card... they are stable at 375/1070 but not much higher than that...

    does anyone know if it's possible to increase the pci-e voltage on a neo4? I am running the 5 beta 6 bios.
    Last edited by revenant; 05-13-2005 at 02:05 PM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member neoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Estonia/Tallinn
    Posts
    431
    nice tweaks m8 i will try those cheers

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member HaLDoL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgique, Belga, Belgio, Belgium, Belgica, Belgie, Belgien
    Posts
    391
    I've given credits where needed. I'll be the first to admit if any of those tweaks weren't mine. I don't read overclockers.com, so I don't know if those tweaks were posted there.

    1.4V is perfectly safe, my GT runs 6 months @ 1.4V and no problems. This is xtremesystems.org after all, and not I-am-afraid-I-will-kill-my-card-if-I-increase-the-voltage.org. Then this is not the site for you.
    .:C2D 6600 :: Tuniq tower :: Asus P5B dlx :: 2GBHZ :: OCZ 520W :: 8800GTX :.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict FireDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA, Vermont
    Posts
    1,065
    Quote Originally Posted by reject
    here ya go matey

    Hey man are you using lightstep if so how do you like it?

    Dragon
    http://smbach.com/mad.gif

    Opty 175 Rig
    Lian-Li PC75B case, Thermaltake BT w/ 165 CFM delta fan, Enermax 550watt PSU (36A on 12+), x1950 Pro, DFI Lanparty NForce 4 Ultra-d (moded for SLI so that i can use the second slot at 8x), Opteron 175 CCBWE 0547 TMPW (2.80, 280x10, 1.5 volts), 2x1gb Mushkin Redline xp4000 (280 3-3-2-8, 2.65 volts), 80GB WD

    AM3 Rig
    Lian-Li PC-75b case, Asus Crosshair III Formula, 965 x4 C3 @ 4.1 1.525 volts 2.8 NB 1.25 volts, 2x2gb Dominator GT Cas 8 2000Mhz@ 1720 6-6-5-18-22 1.725 volts, Asus 5770 VT @1010/1435, Seasonic 850watt PSU 2x12v rails 40 amps each, 36GB raptor boot drive, 80GB WD storage drive, HeatKiller LT cpu block, BI GTX 360 with 6x Scythe 3000RPM fans in push/pull, MCP 655 variable pump on setting 5, EK 150ml res, all 1/2 inch

    DFI NF4 BIOS Guide

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict FireDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA, Vermont
    Posts
    1,065
    Also what about flashing to an Ultra bios if you card can do those speeds i have heard that if it can that it can also ne you a little better clocks and some better performance...

    Dragon
    http://smbach.com/mad.gif

    Opty 175 Rig
    Lian-Li PC75B case, Thermaltake BT w/ 165 CFM delta fan, Enermax 550watt PSU (36A on 12+), x1950 Pro, DFI Lanparty NForce 4 Ultra-d (moded for SLI so that i can use the second slot at 8x), Opteron 175 CCBWE 0547 TMPW (2.80, 280x10, 1.5 volts), 2x1gb Mushkin Redline xp4000 (280 3-3-2-8, 2.65 volts), 80GB WD

    AM3 Rig
    Lian-Li PC-75b case, Asus Crosshair III Formula, 965 x4 C3 @ 4.1 1.525 volts 2.8 NB 1.25 volts, 2x2gb Dominator GT Cas 8 2000Mhz@ 1720 6-6-5-18-22 1.725 volts, Asus 5770 VT @1010/1435, Seasonic 850watt PSU 2x12v rails 40 amps each, 36GB raptor boot drive, 80GB WD storage drive, HeatKiller LT cpu block, BI GTX 360 with 6x Scythe 3000RPM fans in push/pull, MCP 655 variable pump on setting 5, EK 150ml res, all 1/2 inch

    DFI NF4 BIOS Guide

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •