Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 101

Thread: DFI NF4: Good news for all who're waiting for a chipset waterblock !!!

  1. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by HARDCORECLOCKER
    Man - excellent photo, I meant the ZERN but own the same from the pic - and I also had the idea to put GPU into the lower slot but DFI told me that only the upper slot supplies 16x PCI-E.

    So do You run 2x ??? Would be important to know for all of us..............

    i have thought of that problem, thats why i bought SLI D, so at least i can use 8x if not 16x

    zern block? you mean this??
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #27
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AMD factory
    Posts
    2,607
    Quote Originally Posted by nigelyuen
    i have thought of that problem, thats why i bought SLI D, so at least i can use 8x if not 16x

    zern block? you mean this??
    Ohh - didn't see that it is the SLI, now I see You go 8x.

    I asked 1 A to give me the hight of this here, the left one:

    PIC

    And it's 26,5mm - please can You measure the space between PCB and edge of GPU, maybe this one fits - looking good with the tube connectors sideways.

    Previous system:


    DFI NF4 ULTRA 0453A3 KOREA CHIPSET / BIOS 510-2FIX / FX-57 0516WPMW@3.62GHZ / 2x256 CORSAIR 3200LLPT BH-5@13x278MHZ 2-2-2-5@3.69VDIMM / MACH II GT@MOD BY BERKUT / ACTIVE COOLING FOR RAM - MOSFETS - GPU RAM / CHIPSET & GPU CORE WATERCOOLED / OCZ POWERSTEAM 600W / BUILT BY ATI X850XT@660/651 - VGPU@1.73-VDD@2.26-VDDQ@2.21 PENCIL MOD / WIN XP 2x80GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP80 SATA - RAID 0 & WIN 2K 40GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP40 IDE BENCH DRIVE / PIC


    ----------------><------------------

  3. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    11
    i have found the best solution now
    1a cooling block doesnt really fit
    iam using the alphacool nb block, but its only G1/8
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #29
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AMD factory
    Posts
    2,607
    Quote Originally Posted by nigelyuen
    i have found the best solution now
    1a cooling block doesnt really fit
    iam using the alphacool nb block, but its only G1/8
    Hey, nice work man - maybe You're the first with watercooled chipset on that board !!!

    BTW, what about the 26,5mm ? Can You measure it, would be interesting if the ZERN will fit......., hope You did see the pic. THX !!!

    Previous system:


    DFI NF4 ULTRA 0453A3 KOREA CHIPSET / BIOS 510-2FIX / FX-57 0516WPMW@3.62GHZ / 2x256 CORSAIR 3200LLPT BH-5@13x278MHZ 2-2-2-5@3.69VDIMM / MACH II GT@MOD BY BERKUT / ACTIVE COOLING FOR RAM - MOSFETS - GPU RAM / CHIPSET & GPU CORE WATERCOOLED / OCZ POWERSTEAM 600W / BUILT BY ATI X850XT@660/651 - VGPU@1.73-VDD@2.26-VDDQ@2.21 PENCIL MOD / WIN XP 2x80GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP80 SATA - RAID 0 & WIN 2K 40GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP40 IDE BENCH DRIVE / PIC


    ----------------><------------------

  5. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    11
    that zern block isnt gonna fit
    my zern is 2cm thick, my alphacool block is a lot thinner than that, and there is 3mm clearance between the block and vga card

  6. #31
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AMD factory
    Posts
    2,607
    Quote Originally Posted by nigelyuen
    that zern block isnt gonna fit
    my zern is 2cm thick, my alphacool block is a lot thinner than that, and there is 3mm clearance between the block and vga card
    THX for help - so I can burry this idea.............

    Previous system:


    DFI NF4 ULTRA 0453A3 KOREA CHIPSET / BIOS 510-2FIX / FX-57 0516WPMW@3.62GHZ / 2x256 CORSAIR 3200LLPT BH-5@13x278MHZ 2-2-2-5@3.69VDIMM / MACH II GT@MOD BY BERKUT / ACTIVE COOLING FOR RAM - MOSFETS - GPU RAM / CHIPSET & GPU CORE WATERCOOLED / OCZ POWERSTEAM 600W / BUILT BY ATI X850XT@660/651 - VGPU@1.73-VDD@2.26-VDDQ@2.21 PENCIL MOD / WIN XP 2x80GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP80 SATA - RAID 0 & WIN 2K 40GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP40 IDE BENCH DRIVE / PIC


    ----------------><------------------

  7. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by nigelyuen
    i have found the best solution now
    1a cooling block doesnt really fit
    iam using the alphacool nb block, but its only G1/8
    Is that a 6600 card? The alphacool dosent fit with my Inno3d 6800GT - theres a capacitor in the way of the barbs. I think i can make a new mount i might get enough of the block over the nb chip to be effective, and clear the cap!

  8. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by stu_allen
    Is that a 6600 card? The alphacool dosent fit with my Inno3d 6800GT - theres a capacitor in the way of the barbs. I think i can make a new mount i might get enough of the block over the nb chip to be effective, and clear the cap!
    its x850xt

  9. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Ah, i see.
    After playing about this afternoon i dont think this block will work on a 6800 setup.

  10. #35
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,275
    good aircooling is probably sufficient for the nB

  11. #36
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Karnivore
    wow, wonder if the water squeeks whne it passes through that
    Yea thats what i thought. Who the hell in their right mind would use something that restricts flow that badly?
    NZXT Tempest | Corsair 1000W
    Creative X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
    Intel i7 2500K Corsair H100
    PNY GTX 470 SLi (700 / 1400 / 1731 / 950mv)
    Asus P8Z68-V Pro
    Kingston HyperX PC3-10700 (4x4096MB)(9-9-9-28 @ 1600mhz @ 1.5v)

    Heatware: 13-0-0

  12. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie
    good aircooling is probably sufficient for the nB
    Except that with 2 pcie gpus in place, it dont get much air. And its noisy (my main reason for wanting to replace it)

  13. #38
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by stu_allen
    Is that a 6600 card? The alphacool dosent fit with my Inno3d 6800GT - theres a capacitor in the way of the barbs. I think i can make a new mount i might get enough of the block over the nb chip to be effective, and clear the cap!
    No i cant! The base of the alphacool isnt flat, the contact patch only starts about 4mm in, so it wont make good connection.

    Details here: http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/sho...7060#post67060

  14. #39
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,038
    Quote Originally Posted by Sentential
    Who the hell in their right mind would use something that restricts flow that badly?
    I would.

    when benchmarking, I want every single thing cooled to the absolute best I can cool it, especially when using dry ice.
    I have about 5 waterblocks sitting around, that get only occassional use, I have about 6 pelts that get almost no use, except rare occassions.
    I have a spare pump... and when I need, I will just get another cheap radiator for one waterblock alone, and use 2 seperate watercooling systems.
    when it comes to benchmarking, especially when messing with dry ice, and volt mods, I use every possible cooling solution I can, even north and south bridge cooling...
    to me, it's no more pointless then say.... ram sinks on mosfets.

    who would use it? I would.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  15. #40
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AMD factory
    Posts
    2,607
    Quote Originally Posted by Kunaak
    I would.

    when benchmarking, I want every single thing cooled to the absolute best I can cool it, especially when using dry ice.
    I have about 5 waterblocks sitting around, that get only occassional use, I have about 6 pelts that get almost no use, except rare occassions.
    I have a spare pump... and when I need, I will just get another cheap radiator for one waterblock alone, and use 2 seperate watercooling systems.
    when it comes to benchmarking, especially when messing with dry ice, and volt mods, I use every possible cooling solution I can, even north and south bridge cooling...
    to me, it's no more pointless then say.... ram sinks on mosfets.

    who would use it? I would.
    Normally there should be no cooling problem when living in ALASKA...

    Previous system:


    DFI NF4 ULTRA 0453A3 KOREA CHIPSET / BIOS 510-2FIX / FX-57 0516WPMW@3.62GHZ / 2x256 CORSAIR 3200LLPT BH-5@13x278MHZ 2-2-2-5@3.69VDIMM / MACH II GT@MOD BY BERKUT / ACTIVE COOLING FOR RAM - MOSFETS - GPU RAM / CHIPSET & GPU CORE WATERCOOLED / OCZ POWERSTEAM 600W / BUILT BY ATI X850XT@660/651 - VGPU@1.73-VDD@2.26-VDDQ@2.21 PENCIL MOD / WIN XP 2x80GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP80 SATA - RAID 0 & WIN 2K 40GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP40 IDE BENCH DRIVE / PIC


    ----------------><------------------

  16. #41
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Kunaak
    I would.

    when benchmarking, I want every single thing cooled to the absolute best I can cool it, especially when using dry ice.
    LOL...thats not what I meant at all. I wholly agree with that Im purely refering to JUST that block.

    Who would use THAT kind of block. Cooling is one thing but seriously there has got to be a better chipset block, one that doesnt bring your flow to a standstill.

    btw i sink my fets too lol
    NZXT Tempest | Corsair 1000W
    Creative X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
    Intel i7 2500K Corsair H100
    PNY GTX 470 SLi (700 / 1400 / 1731 / 950mv)
    Asus P8Z68-V Pro
    Kingston HyperX PC3-10700 (4x4096MB)(9-9-9-28 @ 1600mhz @ 1.5v)

    Heatware: 13-0-0

  17. #42
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    129
    Here's mine

    1/2" inlet and outlet, 2 x parallel 10 mm bore channels connected by 2 x 7.5 mm bore channels. Minimal flow resistance

    BTW I'm rather better at metal work than I am at photography





    EVGA Classified, i920 @ 4200 24/7, 3 x 2GB XMS CAS7, ATI 5870 FC EK W/C , Bequiet 850W PSU, XFi Music, Vista 64 Bit, peltier-chilled water-cooling

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    203
    that block looks good.. check your pm's

  19. #44
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Italy - Piacenza
    Posts
    113
    Quote Originally Posted by uranium
    Here's mine

    1/2" inlet and outlet, 2 x parallel 10 mm bore channels connected by 2 x 7.5 mm bore channels. Minimal flow resistance

    BTW I'm rather better at metal work than I am at photography
    Cool!
    Self-Made?
    Opteron 170 @ 2.2Ghz - Zalman 9700
    OCZ Pc3200 2x512Mb VX @ 220Mhz
    DFI nF4 SLI-DR ( 3.29 BIOS )
    Leadtek 6800GT@415-1120
    Seagate Barracuda 2x120Gb Raid0

    This is the rule :P

  20. #45
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Nice work Uranium. Fancy making me one?

  21. #46
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by Juspriss
    Self-Made?
    Yes

    I'd love to make you guys some, but TBH I did this at work (Uni) when other people weren't using the equipment so its not that realistic to go into mass production. Sorry.
    Happy to send anybody a drawing though
    EVGA Classified, i920 @ 4200 24/7, 3 x 2GB XMS CAS7, ATI 5870 FC EK W/C , Bequiet 850W PSU, XFi Music, Vista 64 Bit, peltier-chilled water-cooling

  22. #47
    Xtreme X.I.P. MaxxxRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca USA
    Posts
    13,738
    whats the file type? DXF? DWG? i would love to take a look at it.

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxxxRacer
    whats the file type? DXF? DWG? i would love to take a look at it.
    Hi
    Actually its free hand pencil But I will do a proper one, covert it to pdf and e-mail it to you if you let me know your e-mail address
    EVGA Classified, i920 @ 4200 24/7, 3 x 2GB XMS CAS7, ATI 5870 FC EK W/C , Bequiet 850W PSU, XFi Music, Vista 64 Bit, peltier-chilled water-cooling

  24. #49
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by MaxxxRacer
    whats the file type? DXF? DWG? i would love to take a look at it.

    OK doing it now on CAD program. Can do DFX file type if you like

    Cheers
    Geoff
    EVGA Classified, i920 @ 4200 24/7, 3 x 2GB XMS CAS7, ATI 5870 FC EK W/C , Bequiet 850W PSU, XFi Music, Vista 64 Bit, peltier-chilled water-cooling

  25. #50
    Ebay Hater
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Denmark / UK
    Posts
    2,924
    Nice, I'll send you a PM if you can also mail it to me Nice work, uranium!
    In short, both AMD and NVIDIA discovered that their next-generation graphics cards are superior to each others' last-generation graphics cards.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •