Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: computer build/purchase

Question computer build/purchase

Hi guys I'm looking to purchase or have someone build a computer. I am a futures trader and need a really fast PC, as I compete with other traders on certain types of strategies. The person with the fastest computer has a significant advatage.

I will be running one windows based application on this PC. It hooks up to a network and the program runs off of memory and does not access the hard drive once it is started.

Looking to have something very fast. Others are using standard Dell stuff and some are using boutique PC's from Voodoo and Alien.

Budget ceiling -10k Any ideas?

Thanks!

Carefull with that request. Make sure the person building a computer for you is someone who can complete the machine and deliver what you request.

I would suggest a dothan based laptop with a large flat panel display.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

Why a laptop? Dont you sacrifice power for the space?

c[_]
    your internet connection will be the limit long before the power of a $10,000 PC will be.

All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

T1...But yes network is an issue as well.

c[_]
    A laptop with 1gb of ram (even 512mb) should be enough to hold the program in main memory (as you suggested it does in the first post) and will not be noticeably slower than a PC with 4gb of ram for your program.