Page 12 of 29 FirstFirst ... 2910111213141522 ... LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 712

Thread: OCZ VX, Best Memory made since BH5!!

  1. #276
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Whats with all these big @ss PSUs. Do these things give you better benches or somthing? Do you guys really think you need more then 500W power supplies to get a good overclock these days?

    OPP

  2. #277
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Riverside, California
    Posts
    4,795
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    Whats with all these big @ss PSUs. Do these things give you better benches or somthing? Do you guys really think you need more then 500W power supplies to get a good overclock these days?

    OPP
    Not trying to argue with you but Honestly someone like me uses probably a lot more power than most of hardcore benchers would. It is actually quite simple as why. Bling bling fans, multiple HDDS (lot of times multiple raptors), multiple cd/dvd recorder,... you know... whole bunch of junks that doesn't get used for beching purposes (and even a lot of USB peripherals... I never thought I would run out of 4 USB port at back... I am using about 6-7 depening on back and 2 in front occasionally)
    Add this to nice SLI and I can assure you I will most likely to be able to buckle majority of 500W PSU. (Even current rig when 3dmarking shows my 1100VA UPS @ 58% load when I am phasechange cooling with video overclocked. Qucik calculation shows I am using about 450+ watts granted PSU is running @ 70%. probably higher while gaming as hdd power is not in equation while playing game)
    It is scarey trend but anyone with decent UPS, I suggest you test it out to see how much power you might be using...
    [SIGPIC]http://www.vapoli.com/Images/Forum/vapoli.jpg[/SIGPIC]

    Single Stage Work Logs

    Quote Originally Posted by killermiller View Post
    Those ccb's will die if you look at them wrong.

    heatware: jinu117

  3. #278
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    You probably have a good point if people use that much stuff. I wouldn't make that type of rig a big overclocking unit though.
    I do have a regualar everyday rig. I run 3x Raptors a, couple of DVD players, 3 fans and a Floppy on it
    I use a POS 470W Noisetaker
    Runs good though, this is the same rig I used to test the VX memory on without any power problems.

    OPP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #279
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,698
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    You probably have a good point if people use that much stuff. I wouldn't make that type of rig a big overclocking unit though.
    I do have a regualar everyday rig. I run 3x Raptors a, couple of DVD players, 3 fans and a Floppy on it
    I use a POS 470W Noisetaker
    Runs good though, this is the same rig I used to test the VX memory on without any power problems.

    OPP

    LOL. I like how you mounted the rad.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #280
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Nice rig Trans Am

    OPP

  6. #281
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    434
    [OT] My rad is mounted in the same way. Do you guys have the fans pushing or pulling air from the case?
    Last edited by NoX; 12-22-2004 at 02:20 PM.
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  7. #282
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    Whats with all these big @ss PSUs. Do these things give you better benches or somthing? Do you guys really think you need more then 500W power supplies to get a good overclock these days?

    OPP
    I say yes



    ---

  8. #283
    Sandoval
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ehn why cee
    Posts
    503

    eva

    what size apc ups are you using? i just purchased a 700VA for my rig and was wondering if that would be enough for a 520w psu and vaopchillLS. i'm wondering if i should have got a 1000va/670w

    i7 980x | corsair dominator 6x4 Gb | TJ07
    SLI GTX 580x2 | GT430 | rampage 3 | corsair AX1200
    LSI 9265 | OCZ vertex 128x4 raid0 | corsair c300 | hitachi 3tbx3 |
    blocks: cpu hk 3.0 | gpu aquacomputer 580x2 | mb ek re3 fc | ram bitspower galaxy
    pump: laing d5 x2 | res: koolance 452x2
    rad: TC 120.3 120.2 | scythe GTx5
    NASs: qnap 879 8x3tb | thecus N5200 2tbx5

  9. #284
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    226
    Got three Belkin 800W UPS here - main rig running at 70% most of the time - 550W Antec PSU in it - must be almost maxxed out!

  10. #285
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Quote Originally Posted by jikdoc
    what size apc ups are you using? i just purchased a 700VA/450w for my rig and was wondering if that would be enough for a 520w psu and vaopchillLS.
    APC BackUPS RS 1500VA for 865W... can't find the optional APC BR24BP battery for this unit in OZ it triples the total wattage it can handle
    ---

  11. #286
    Sandoval
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    ehn why cee
    Posts
    503

    grrr

    i guess the apc smart700 won't cut it, time to look for another one

    i7 980x | corsair dominator 6x4 Gb | TJ07
    SLI GTX 580x2 | GT430 | rampage 3 | corsair AX1200
    LSI 9265 | OCZ vertex 128x4 raid0 | corsair c300 | hitachi 3tbx3 |
    blocks: cpu hk 3.0 | gpu aquacomputer 580x2 | mb ek re3 fc | ram bitspower galaxy
    pump: laing d5 x2 | res: koolance 452x2
    rad: TC 120.3 120.2 | scythe GTx5
    NASs: qnap 879 8x3tb | thecus N5200 2tbx5

  12. #287
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by NoX
    [OT] My rad is mounted in the same way. Do you guys have the fans pushing or pulling air from the case?
    I'm not real concerned on my water temps for this rig, I have the Rad fan sucking out of the case.

    OPP

  13. #288
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,698
    i am sucking through the rad and blowing out the case... sucking and blowing lol!

  14. #289
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Riverside, California
    Posts
    4,795
    Jin, knowing your setup, (read from forum, heard from few other's etc), I suggest at least 1000VA. Use the 700VA for vapochillLS by itself and few oddities such as monitor
    Even 1000VA if you calculate out will only power about tops 700W as PSU efficiecny on full load typically is around 70%. (you are actually drawing 1000W to cover that 700W)
    700VA will only supply most likely 490W tops. Now, that gets real iffy with Vapo, monitor, CPU, etc.

    OPP ->
    The way I see it, I don't get any freebies like top benchers do. I pay for my stuff. In fact, I am not that heavy bencher at all as I concentrate more on maximum stable overclock for 24x7 use. I spent the money I plan to utilize it. (which I haven't been too much recently with new parts, tweaking, etc :P)
    Could be gaming, could be compiling big fat codes, could be analyzing data.
    Wish I could totally separate benching rig with daily rig but not possible for my budget as I do want really good stuff for my main rig as well Now, if I do get free stuff like some of you do, I guess it is not an issue or if I make more money than I do now
    Most unfortunate of it all is, I enjoy playing game a lot and as you all know, most taxing application on entire system out of all application always happens to be gaming So, I must improvise and compromise in many ways. Wish I got some freebies too... or be beta tester for some products. Maybe I should start getting into habit of writing lengthy review of items.
    Last edited by jinu117; 12-22-2004 at 08:49 PM.
    [SIGPIC]http://www.vapoli.com/Images/Forum/vapoli.jpg[/SIGPIC]

    Single Stage Work Logs

    Quote Originally Posted by killermiller View Post
    Those ccb's will die if you look at them wrong.

    heatware: jinu117

  15. #290
    OCZ Product Specialist
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    901
    Quote Originally Posted by trans am
    i am sucking through the rad and blowing out the case... sucking and blowing lol!
    Sounds fatal. Take a rest.
    OCZ Marketing Team
    Email Me Here or Need Technical Support? Go to OCZ Support Forums

  16. #291
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    434
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  17. #292
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    On MSI NF4 Neo4 mobo my VX is 3D proofed at 268MHz with timeings maxed out.
    Gunna check for 166 divider issue now, see if there is one

    OPP

  18. #293
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,951
    nice

  19. #294
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Just booted into windows at 284HTT 166 divider no problem. Gunna work my way to 300 I hope.

    OPP

  20. #295
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    This VX memory DOES NOT have a divider problem. It's all about the motherboard. Doing 290 now and going up

    OPP

  21. #296
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2,885
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    This VX memory DOES NOT have a divider problem. It's all about the motherboard. Doing 290 now and going up

    OPP
    Thank you for confirming my suspicions that the divider issue is, more than likely, chipset-related.

  22. #297
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    MSI NEO4 and VX doing 300HTT with 166 divider, easy money people

    OPP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  23. #298
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,273
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    MSI NEO4 and VX doing 300HTT with 166 divider, easy money people

    OPP
    interesting!
    But would 300+ 2.5-3-3-5 be faster? 1:1
    Some good G.Skill may even run 8 x 337.......... 1:1

    C
    Last edited by charlie; 12-23-2004 at 12:17 PM.

  24. #299
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Riverside, California
    Posts
    4,795
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    This VX memory DOES NOT have a divider problem. It's all about the motherboard. Doing 290 now and going up

    OPP
    :banana4: Woot :banana4:
    Thanks for checking. Getting Asus today and we shall see if Asus has that issue... Still checking to see if it is booster or the actual memory (VX) that is causing me so many RMA with OCZ. Will let you know in few hours.
    [SIGPIC]http://www.vapoli.com/Images/Forum/vapoli.jpg[/SIGPIC]

    Single Stage Work Logs

    Quote Originally Posted by killermiller View Post
    Those ccb's will die if you look at them wrong.

    heatware: jinu117

  25. #300
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie
    interesting!
    But would 300+ 2.5-3-3-5 be faster? 1:1

    C
    Those timing your talking about won't beat my 268 timings
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/show...440#post643440

    OPP

Page 12 of 29 FirstFirst ... 2910111213141522 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •