Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: OCZ VX Overclocking

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MANCHESTER - UK
    Posts
    491

    OCZ VX Overclocking

    Hey all. This is the first time i'm using voltage loving ram. OCZ VX

    I've always been tccd fan but i thought i'd give this a try. So my brother bought me this set for my b'day and so far i am liking it very much. Much Much easier to set up than tccd.

    my current specs are:
    3000+ winchester CBBHD 0448 SPAW
    Dfi ultra-d with bios 704-2bt
    OCZ VX 3200
    X800xt pci-e vivo
    audigy 2 zs softmodded to audigy 4 pro
    Hiper 580w Type-r blue Modular

    and here are my results so far. Dram voltage is set to 3.2 but it overvolts to 3.3.....





    Can i get more out of these? memory is cooled by a 120mm fan and they are cold to the touch.

    Oh and if i am running the cpu at 300fsb or over. Wht divider would i need so it runs between 260-250.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast Celcius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    622
    If your running at 300fsb, a 5/6 divider will put your ram at 250fsb. 310fsb with 5/6 divider puts ram at 258.33fsb. Basically, the 5/6 divider will work for you. You can push that ram farther but you may need to raise the volts.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MANCHESTER - UK
    Posts
    491
    wht would u say be the best volts for running 24/7 and are my timings ok or do you think i can tighten them up more?

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    227
    you can run around 3.4-3.5v for 24/7, as long as cooling is good, which is appears to be.


    i no longer use a laptop.



    Do You Owe Me Heatware??

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast Celcius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    622
    and your timings look good. Let me know when you get your system tweaked. I'd like to compare 3dmark scores.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MANCHESTER - UK
    Posts
    491
    Quote Originally Posted by Celcius
    and your timings look good. Let me know when you get your system tweaked. I'd like to compare 3dmark scores.
    Sure thing boss, i'll send you a pm when its done

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,617
    I hear if you turn off the 50 cent and listen to some real rap you can hit 300 2-2-2 @ 3.2.

  8. #8
    XS_THE_MACHINE
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    4,871
    Looks like a good set. 3.5 will be OK if they are cooled well. Try some of these times: idle cycle limit: 0, trfc-12, and tref- 100mhz 1.95us. Should get you under 32min (hopefully) at the same clocks.
    "Victory is always possible for the person who refuses to stop fighting"

    clicks to save kids

  9. #9
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Quote Originally Posted by moddolicous
    - - Try some of these times: idle cycle limit: 0, trfc-12, and tref- 100mhz 1.95us. Should get you under 32min (hopefully) at the same clocks.
    tRFC 12 simply will not work on VX (CH-UTT), it might even boot with it but there is no way it can handle it stable.
    1168 / 166MHz 7.8us is much better value for tREF.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by largon
    tRFC 12 simply will not work on VX (CH-UTT), it might even boot with it but there is no way it can handle it stable.
    1168 / 166MHz 7.8us is much better value for tREF.
    VX changed to BH-5 months ago...
    Opteron 146
    DFI LanParty NF4
    CRAPPIEST RAM EVER.
    Radeon X800GTO²@ XT PE
    Sharkoon SilentStorm 480W
    Maxtor ATA 80GB 7200RPM 8mb cache
    Western Digital 40GB 7200RPM 2mb cache

  11. #11
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,106
    It did? That would be news to a lot of us....

    I know GX has been BH-UTT (fwiw, BH-5 is no longer made), but VX has been too?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Quote Originally Posted by fearo
    VX changed to BH-5 months ago...
    Incorrect.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast Celcius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    622
    Quote Originally Posted by vapb400
    I hear if you turn off the 50 cent and listen to some real rap you can hit 300 2-2-2 @ 3.2.
    LOL, probably true . just kidding ...

  14. #14
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    OV3RCLOCK3R,
    All you ever want to know about VX can be found here.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MANCHESTER - UK
    Posts
    491
    Thanks people for all your help.

    I hate 50cent , but my cuzing loves him so he was listening to it.

    I've tried trfc 12 and pc didnt boot. I'll try idle cycle limit and tref.

    btw, wht does this tref- 100mhz 1.95us in bios mean? (e.g 1156, 2336)

    thanks

  16. #16
    INTEL inside
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Québec, Canada
    Posts
    3,265
    my set of vx3200 sucked and died in 4 days but my current set of VX4000 run @ 260fsb 1.5-2-2-5 @ 3.26v 24/7

    3.4-3.5v is safe with active cooling
    tried to "burn in" your memory ?
    retired computer enthusiast

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast Celcius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    622
    Quote Originally Posted by OV3RCLOCK3R
    btw, what does this tref- 100mhz 1.95us in bios mean? (e.g 1156, 2336)
    thanks
    3684= 100mhz(1.95us)

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    MANCHESTER - UK
    Posts
    491
    Quote Originally Posted by Supertim0r
    my set of vx3200 sucked and died in 4 days but my current set of VX4000 run @ 260fsb 1.5-2-2-5 @ 3.26v 24/7

    3.4-3.5v is safe with active cooling
    tried to "burn in" your memory ?
    Havent done any burning in wht so ever?

    /noob/Whts the best method on burning in VX?/noob/


    Oh and thanks celcius. Will try it in a sec

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Huddersfield UK
    Posts
    500
    To burn in VX I run memtest looping tests 5 and 8. I also loop the entier thing. Just leave it running on memtest overnight for afew nights. While you sleep they burn!!!!
    ASUS M4E
    2600K @5.1 24/7, 1.45v
    8GB G.Skill RipJaw 2133mhz
    580 GTX Tri SLI @925, 2400
    Silverstone Strider 1500w
    OCZ AGility Raid 0 OS, Corsair GT's Raid 0 for data.
    Win 7 64 Bit Sp1

    ASUS R4E
    3690x 5.125 24/7 0901 or 0083b
    32GB G.Skill Ripjawz 2133mhz cas 9 or 2333mhz cas 10 or 16gb 2400mhz cas 9
    580 GTX Tri SLI @925, 2400
    Silverstone Strider 1500w
    OCZ AGility Raid 0 OS, Corsair GT's Raid 0 for data.
    Win 7 64 Bit sp1
    "Only the strong will survive!" -Pazza316 when commenting on training with him!!

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by largon
    In that link Andy just says nothing's changed on VX memory, that the timings didn't change. He is referring to Mushkin running out of CH-5 yes, but I am pretty sure they (OCZ) switched over some time ago. I have the value VX right here which have always had the same chips as the VX and they're BH-5. Unless they switched over again?
    Opteron 146
    DFI LanParty NF4
    CRAPPIEST RAM EVER.
    Radeon X800GTO²@ XT PE
    Sharkoon SilentStorm 480W
    Maxtor ATA 80GB 7200RPM 8mb cache
    Western Digital 40GB 7200RPM 2mb cache

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    25
    -edit.
    Opteron 146
    DFI LanParty NF4
    CRAPPIEST RAM EVER.
    Radeon X800GTO²@ XT PE
    Sharkoon SilentStorm 480W
    Maxtor ATA 80GB 7200RPM 8mb cache
    Western Digital 40GB 7200RPM 2mb cache

  22. #22
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Quote Originally Posted by fearo
    In that link Andy just says nothing's changed on VX memory, that the timings didn't change. He is referring to Mushkin running out of CH-5 yes, but I am pretty sure they (OCZ) switched over some time ago. I have the value VX right here which have always had the same chips as the VX and they're BH-5. Unless they switched over again?
    I bet your value VX has BH-UTT, not BH-5.
    Where do you think OCZ puts those BH-UTT chips that don't reach the GX-serie bin? I doubt they'd throw them in garbage.
    Quote Originally Posted by andyOCZ
    You boys are jumping at shadows here. The VX chips have not changed - -
    Huh?
    You were not supposed to see this.

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by largon
    I bet your value VX has BH-UTT, not BH-5.
    Where do you think OCZ puts those BH-UTT chips that don't reach the GX-serie bin? I doubt they'd throw them in garbage.
    Huh?
    Of course my value VX are BH-UTT, which is just another term for new BH-5. What you say about the GX series is quite interesting, but I have had my value VX from before the GX series was existant. AndyOCZ was also referring to the SPD timings and/or the use of other (non-UTT) chips when he said the VX series hasn"t changed, so that is quite irrelevant.
    I don't know, if you are so sure, you're probably right, anyway it's not worth discussing about as they both clock superbly..

    -fearo
    Opteron 146
    DFI LanParty NF4
    CRAPPIEST RAM EVER.
    Radeon X800GTO²@ XT PE
    Sharkoon SilentStorm 480W
    Maxtor ATA 80GB 7200RPM 8mb cache
    Western Digital 40GB 7200RPM 2mb cache

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    65
    Hi,
    i'm new here so don't pick on the newbie...

    I've been playing with some PC3200 VX modules and they're great!

    I managed to get em up to 260MHz using the 1:1 divider (3.5v 2-2-2-10) and thats great considering these are DDR400 modules. Stock voltage, I got em up to 248 stable.

    Of course, I did burn em in for over 40 hours before that.

    I'll post screenies when I get home and prolly contribute to the UTT stable clock thread...

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Johns, FL
    Posts
    955
    With respect to the questions about whether VX uses BH or CH UTT, if you read the thread on the new OCZ heatspreaders, the topic comes up throughout the first few pages (#2-#5) and the impression that I get from reading the posts from the OCZ guys is that the VX still uses CH die, while the GX uses BH die.

    They don't come out and post that statement exactly, but the comments made by the reps lead me to conclude that.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...7&page=1&pp=25

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •