MMM
Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 712

Thread: OCZ VX, Best Memory made since BH5!!

  1. #51
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi_NZ
    Posted these elsewhere but guys are asking "will these do 270 2-2-2 3D", "Why don't these scale much past 260 2-2-2 like BH did", "what's the fuss bout, these are no better than BH"....

    OPP, hope ya dont mind me posting a few screenies here to answer those questions

    My highest screeny with ~3.35vDimm 1x512 VX
    My highest SuperPI 32MB with ~3.35vDimm 2x512mb VX
    My highest 3Dmark01 with ~3.35v 1x512mb VX

    I have a feeling all our VX modules will run a fair bit higher once AMD release CPUs with better memory controllers too
    I have a feeling you are correct m8, a LOT has to do with the memory controller
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  2. #52
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .CA
    Posts
    873
    I gotta get me some :o that is just too sweet!

  3. #53
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    The problem these days is if you don't use 1gig and only have 512Mb like BH-5 in most cases, you lose out on performance. The 1gig gives you 2-way interleave, 2 gigs will give you 4-way interleave. This is on S939 motherboards anyway.
    So haveing 1 gig or higher is in if you can use aggressive timings,, so now you have VX

    OPP
    So 4-way interleave doesn't work on 512/1024 MB ?

    Man, there's always something new about A64/Mobos.

  4. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    434
    Did you guys at OCZ perform some testing on Intel platforms? I can't find anybody with a P4 who tried this mem and I don't understand why. Did I miss something?
    Also how does the VX compare to the EBs at the same timings? I.e. both at DDR500 at 3-2-2-5. Would the "Enhanced Bandwidth" make a difference?
    In the end, I have to go to Fry's tonight and I want to know if with my rig it's worth to give the VX a try.

    Thanks!
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  5. #55
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,077
    Intels do not benefit that much from the tight timings, TCCD gives better results. There's really no point in using 260Mhz 2-2-2 when 300Mhz+ 3-4-4 is faster and usually needs under 3.0V to run.

  6. #56
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    576
    It's mostly made for A64 systems. Those with Intels don't seem to get as good results, it performs like any other ram from what I've seen on Intel.
    .:: S939 FX-53 (240x11 1:1) | 2x512 Ballistix DDR400 (2.5-3-2-10) | MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (1.36b) | x800 Pro VIVO -> XT (575/590) | 21" Viewsonic G220fb | Lian Li PC75b ::.

    Aquamark 3 : 84367
    3DMark 2001 : 31717
    3DMark 2003 : 14313
    3DMark 2005 : 6580

    Coming Soon : Silverprop HL Fusion (GPU), S-TDX (CPU), Weapon 2-302 Heatercore / Shroud, 50Z, Aquatube (special thanks to MaxxxRacer & Ancient_1) | UV / Case organization
    Coming when I can afford it : Vapochill LS or Mach 2 GT for CPU | FX-55

  7. #57
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    663
    Would it be faster on an A64 to run memory at 300Mhz at 2.5-4-4-8 (or sometimes 3-3-7) or to run these VX on a divider? I'm contemplating on switching from my TCCDs.... but I know for sure these can't hit 300 HTT 1:1... and I only have an Athlon64 3000+ with the 9 multi.

  8. #58
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    18
    Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2,6GHz, ASUS V9999GE 256MB @ 450/1200 16/6
    MSI Neo2-54G Platinum Edition, OCZ 3200 VX 1GB, OCZ DDR Booster, OCZ 520W, WD Raptor 74GB, Mitsubishi 2070SB 22" CRT

  9. #59
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    434
    Quote Originally Posted by Micutzu
    There's really no point in using 260Mhz 2-2-2 when 300Mhz+ 3-4-4 is faster and usually needs under 3.0V to run.
    I would agree with you if I had a cpu that could run at 300Mhz FSB.
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  10. #60
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    396
    Yeah the price ain't to bad on em, cheaper than the 3200EB TCCD or whatever it is, well here in the UK anyways.

    Sold my Corsair C2PT 2x512mb for 110quid, got these for 190quid, so not to bad there. Big upgrade.

    Gotta get a booster though.

  11. #61
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    I hit 250fsb 2-2-2-5 on the 875P-T at 3.2Vdimm dual channel, wxchaser hit 260+ on a p4c800 so they can clock well on these rigs also.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  12. #62
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    557
    For some reason I'm not getting more than 235 stable 3D 2-2-2-5 DC 1T

    Did this @ 3,5V. Went up to 3,75V and no gains...

    MSI K8n Neo2 FX55 bios 1.36b

    Could it be MOBO Bios or just bad luck on this pair?????

    And for some reason cannot change CAS in A64 Tweaker. Have to boot with cas 2 from bios...

  13. #63
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    intels run well at 2.5-2-2 but not at 2-2-2
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  14. #64
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Just did a 3d2001 comparison of my Mushkin BH5 512Mb and my VX 1Gig

    ATI 9800 Pro, at stock clocks
    MSI Neo2 and 4000+ at 10x260 2600MHz
    Memory at 260Mhz 2-2-5 Cas2 A64 tweaked out the same
    Windows XP SP2

    You'll see the 1Gig of VX utilizing the 2-way Interleave beating out the 512Mb of BH5 and No-way Interleave

    I believe that if this CPU was doing say 13x260 at 3380MHz this difference in the score between the 2 memories would be much larger.

    OPP

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by OPPAINTER; 12-15-2004 at 06:38 PM.

  15. #65
    Xtreme X.I.P. MaxxxRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca USA
    Posts
    13,737
    interesting info you got there opp.the difference is inperceptible to our senses, but its still there.. going for that last extra fps the vx do help out

  16. #66
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,022
    OPP, do you know if the Interleave benefits are also seen on Socket 754 or only the DC AMD64s?
    VX/UTT Voltage Scaling, please contribute...

    10x260 _ 1T-2-2-2-8-7-15 _ 3.3vDIMM _ 1.75vCORE

    Mobile 3400+ CG 0437XDPW
    DFI LanParty UT
    XP120 w/ 120mm Thermaltake Thunderblade
    2x512MB OCZ VX
    BBATI 9800np w/Infineon
    PC Power & Cooling 510w Deluxe

  17. #67
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    576
    VX wins!! *ding ding ding*
    .:: S939 FX-53 (240x11 1:1) | 2x512 Ballistix DDR400 (2.5-3-2-10) | MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (1.36b) | x800 Pro VIVO -> XT (575/590) | 21" Viewsonic G220fb | Lian Li PC75b ::.

    Aquamark 3 : 84367
    3DMark 2001 : 31717
    3DMark 2003 : 14313
    3DMark 2005 : 6580

    Coming Soon : Silverprop HL Fusion (GPU), S-TDX (CPU), Weapon 2-302 Heatercore / Shroud, 50Z, Aquatube (special thanks to MaxxxRacer & Ancient_1) | UV / Case organization
    Coming when I can afford it : Vapochill LS or Mach 2 GT for CPU | FX-55

  18. #68
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi_NZ
    OPP, do you know if the Interleave benefits are also seen on Socket 754 or only the DC AMD64s?
    Sorry, I don't remember seeing it, but then again I don't think I ever used a Gig on 754. May or may not be there
    Looks like you have a gig on a 754, do a Sandra mem bench and see if it says it's there.

    OPP
    Last edited by OPPAINTER; 12-15-2004 at 06:31 PM.

  19. #69
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada, eh?
    Posts
    503
    OK what exactly is the 'interleave' referring to? 1T/2T?

  20. #70
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Nothing to do with 1T. Heres somthing I found on the net, old school.

    OPP

    -------------------------------------
    The chipset can interleave requests to different DRAM banks and gain a massive performance boost from it (relatively speaking). Without interleave, a typical session would be:

    Latencies while refreshing DRAM
    Send address to bank w
    Receive data from bank w
    Latencies while refreshing DRAM
    Send address to bank x
    Receive data from bank x
    Latencies while refreshing DRAM
    Send address to bank y
    Receive data from bank y
    Latencies while refreshing DRAM
    Send address to bank z
    Receive data from bank z

    This makes extremely poor use of the bus, since we can refresh the DRAM simply by reading or writing to it.If we have some interleaving going on, we make far better use of the bus.

    Latencies while refreshing DRAM
    Send address to bank w
    Send address to bank x, receive data from bank w
    Send address to bank y, receive data from bank x
    Send address to bank z, receive data from bank y
    Receive data from bank z


    All four banks can be accessed in turn, without having to refresh the RAM and wait the killer CAS. This is four-way interleave. Two-way interleave is only two banks at a time.

    The only time you will be unable to set 4-way is if you're using a very small amount of RAM. Every DIMM has at least two banks, but 64MB and smaller DIMMs have only two. All larger DIMMs have four. However, if you use two two-bank DIMMs, you have a total of four banks and can use 4-way. Always set this setting, then, to 4-way and don't expect any problems from it. Bank interleaving was not covered in the RAM guide, so I've gone into a bit more detail here.

  21. #71
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .CA
    Posts
    873
    This is single channel DDR400 2-3-3-7 MSI K8N Neo with a 3200+ CH 4-way interleaving


  22. #72
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Posts
    1,555
    Quote Originally Posted by conrad.maranan
    After the thousands of posts and numerous threads on the VX, it puzzles me that you wouldn't know where to purchase a set. Fry's Electronics has 'em. mWave has them as well. And the list goes on...

    Thank you Conrad. We don't have Fry's on the East Coast and thats the only place I saw people talking about.

    oop's hit edit..my bad ment to quote.
    Last edited by pc ice; 12-16-2004 at 02:24 AM.
    Heatware

    Main
    intel i5 3570k @ 4+ GHz | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1 |Crucial Ballistix Tactical VLP 2x8GB DDR3-1600
    intel 335 240GB SSD | WD Black 640GB HDD
    Sapphire AMD 7870XT 2GB w-Boost (Tahiti LE)
    Creative X-Fi Titanium PCI-e

    HTPC
    AMD FX 6300 Vishera | ASRock 970 Extreme 3 | Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB DDR3-1600
    intel 320 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 640GB HDD
    AMD Visiontek HD7850 2GB
    Dlink DWA-556 Wireless N Adapter

    Tablet
    Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 - Running rooted J-Bean & ADW

  23. #73
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    The problem these days is if you don't use 1gig and only have 512Mb like BH-5 in most cases, you lose out on performance. The 1gig gives you 2-way interleave, 2 gigs will give you 4-way interleave. This is on S939 motherboards anyway.
    So haveing 1 gig or higher is in if you can use aggressive timings,, so now you have VX

    OPP
    Sorry Opp, I don't understand. Can't I enable 2 or 4-way interleave 2*256 BH-5 with?
    XP1700+@2725MHz (Aircooled)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    A-Data "BH-5" + TwinMOS "50D"

  24. #74
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    374
    I'm curious here, is it the reason why these RAM are so good is because you can pump some serious voltages into them? How does it overclock if you use <3.0 v? Like maybe 2.8v?

  25. #75
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    23
    skt 939 as well.
    XP1700+@2725MHz (Aircooled)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    A-Data "BH-5" + TwinMOS "50D"

Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •