Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 60 of 712

Thread: OCZ VX, Best Memory made since BH5!!

  1. #1
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231

    Thumbs up OCZ VX, Best Memory made since BH5!!

    I just started playing with my new OCZ VX memory, looks great so far.

    This stuff is the memory to replace BH-5,, finnally
    Made for Overclockers by Overclockers!!

    Great job OCZ!!

    OPP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    171
    Very nice oc.. should have posted this in the official vx results thread though

    what voltage was that ? and is it memtest #5 stable?
    Rig 1: AMD 64 3700+ SD DFI nForce4 LanParty Ultra D | OCZ 2x1GB PC4000 GOLD | OCZ Modstream 520w | Albatron 7800GTX
    Rig 2: AMD 64 X2 4400+ - Asus A8n-SLI - 2GB OCZ Value VX - Antec Phantom 500w - eVGA 6600GT

  3. #3
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by Orker
    Very nice oc.. should have posted this in the official vx results thread though
    I'm makeing a stand alone statement here

    OPP

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    5,065
    glad you like it, OPP

    i'll be testing one of those kits very soon, maybe this weekend...
    hopefully it's really capable and extends BH-5 as i haven't seen ABSOLUTELY stable e.g. 260x10 6-2-2-2.0 1T from any 2x512MB of BH-5 in Dual Channel and AMD platform (NF2 or NF3).
    I work for Corsair Components, Inc.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    I'm makeing a stand alone statement here

    OPP
    Its very good ram isnt it

    Best ram ive ever owned

    btw can you please answer my questions from before
    Rig 1: AMD 64 3700+ SD DFI nForce4 LanParty Ultra D | OCZ 2x1GB PC4000 GOLD | OCZ Modstream 520w | Albatron 7800GTX
    Rig 2: AMD 64 X2 4400+ - Asus A8n-SLI - 2GB OCZ Value VX - Antec Phantom 500w - eVGA 6600GT

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    534
    "Best Memory made since BH5"

    so still not as good as BH5

  7. #7
    Xtreme X.I.P. MaxxxRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca USA
    Posts
    13,737
    arctan.. the antagonist... lol... I would say that opp endorsing it would increase sales, but the stuff is flying off the shelves so fast i bet ocz's heads are spinning..

  8. #8
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkeley/Stanford, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,075
    i havent seen it scale high like bh5 does tho

    if it gets 270 2-2-2-5 3d benchable ill jump for it

    can you see the light? is it shining too bright? can you see the light at the end of the tunnel, i know i do, i know its true.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    742
    OPP, what voltage are you using for those VX ?

  10. #10
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    557
    very nice for 1 GB...

    What board and voltage please?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    196
    Second that. Board and voltage

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    298
    Would like to test those OCZ

    Great results Opp.
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gorssel, The Netherlands
    Posts
    336
    Didn't OCZ buy the rights of winbond to make BH-4? That's what these chips are aren't they?


    C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz | 2x1GB ADATA "Micron D9" @ 500 4-4-4-12 2.3v | Asus P5B-E Plus C2 | Sapphire X1900XT 512MB | Tuniq Tower 120

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by _Eduard_
    Didn't OCZ buy the rights of winbond to make BH-4? That's what these chips are aren't they?
    OCZ is not telling what these chips are, but i don't think these are BH-4, because they aren't as good as BH-5

    My Rig:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
    2x512mb Micron PC3200 OEM D9DQW "Fatbody"
    Biostar TForce P965 Deluxe
    MSI/Medion GeForce 6700XL (Cheap )
    Chieftec 360W (in search for someting better)
    WD 160GB S-ATA

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    I'm makeing a stand alone statement here

    OPP
    Respect!

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,782
    i still havent seen them in aust
    Quote Originally Posted by bh2k
    sorry m, OI'm a bit drunkz!
    Air benches with 3000+, DFI nf3 and 6800GT 2001SE: 26312 3d03: 13028

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,667
    why is everyone saying these aren't as good as BH-5 ?

    It seems like every pair of these are smacking 250 MHz 2-2-2, with a 2x512MB kit no prob.

    BH-5 never consistently did that. Espescially with 2x512MB.

  18. #18
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,981
    Well, I think the 2*512mb pairs of OCZ VX might be better overclockable then the BH-5 pairs of 2*512mb

    The difference between OCZ VX and BH-5 is more in the fact that some 256mb BH-5 sticks have done 300mhz 2-2-2-5 and there is no way OCZ VX can beat that.
    Maybe the OCZ will clock a bit higher with the new ATI chipset, how knows what will happen?

    I'm thinking of buying a 2*512mb pair of OCZ VX for my new system but I'm not really sure if that would help allot sind I allready have some Corsair XMS PRO PC4000 that can do 260mhz at 2.5-3-3-7

    Well if my new system wil be an FX-53 or FX-55 I think I might just by a pair of OCZ VX but if my new system is going to be a Pentium-M Dothan I'll stick with my XMS.

  19. #19
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    The problem these days is if you don't use 1gig and only have 512Mb like BH-5 in most cases, you lose out on performance. The 1gig gives you 2-way interleave, 2 gigs will give you 4-way interleave. This is on S939 motherboards anyway.
    So haveing 1 gig or higher is in if you can use aggressive timings,, so now you have VX

    OPP

  20. #20
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by pc ice
    i want some VX.
    Any Overclocker should
    I only played with the stuff for an hour, I think we'll see guys running 3D into the 270s on this mem. I'm sure this will be the next memory we'll see top 3D2001 users useing.

    OPP

  21. #21
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,981
    I can get them for 245 Dollar without shipping, do you guys think thats cheap?
    Or do you guys know a store wich sells them for less?

  22. #22
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by Orker
    Very nice oc.. should have posted this in the official vx results thread though

    what voltage was that ? and is it memtest #5 stable?
    I've never run mem test in my life, no need. If my mem can run 2001 lobby tests I'm a happy camper.

    As far as voltage, 3.65V idle, Sandra bench drops it to about 3.45V, 2001 lobby tests drop it around 3.52V.

    OPP

  23. #23
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    Maybe this wil lift you up to 43K,
    My next scores should do that,,, if I ever get my new PCI-E mobos and a Graphics Card

    OPP

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Posts
    348

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    So haveing 1 gig or higher is in if you can use aggressive timings,, so now you have VX
    Thats nothing but good news! :banana4: Its great being able to score massivley in 3dmark with just 512Mb or less but we all know that most current games run pretty bad with anything less than a gig of ram regardless of clock speeds etc. It's good to know that the gap between overclocked gaming rigs and purely overclocking systems is being closed finally. Mind you I bet it's not long before 1 gig isnt enough to game with either
    Q6600 G0 L720B058 @ 3.8GHz | Asus Maximus Formula (Rampage 0403 Modded) | 4x2Gb GSkill PC8000 PQ @ 1015MHz | XFX 9800GX2 XXX @ 680/2080 | 2 x WD Raptors RAID0 | 1 x WD5000KS | Samsung S203B DVDR/W | Samsung SM245B + Panasonic TX37LZD80
    D-Tek Fuzion | PA120.3 + Shroud + Nexus Fans | MCW30 | Laing DDC w/ Petra's DDCT-01s Top Combo | Tygon 1/2" Tubing | T-Line

  25. #25
    XS Local
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,696
    Quote Originally Posted by pc ice
    that is great new's i hope there will be a bigger supply of them than the last batches of mem..seemed to be limited supply.

    Are you sick again or something?



    -Opp never ran MEMTEST before? Thats a shock..


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  26. #26
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Baltics
    Posts
    1,161
    Quote Originally Posted by LilGator
    It seems like every pair of these are smacking 250 MHz 2-2-2, with a 2x512MB kit no prob.

    BH-5 never consistently did that. Espescially with 2x512MB.
    Does anybody have an explanation, why BH-5's in 2x256 config can run up to 300 fsb with enough volts while in 2x512 config they lose out to the VX?
    away & gone

  27. #27
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by pc ice
    that is great new's i hope there will be a bigger supply of them than the last batches of mem..seemed to be limited supply.
    Thats a good point. I hope they don't discontinue this stuff. Gunna have to get the inside scoop on that, may have to stock up if nessasary.

    OPP

  28. #28
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,907
    Singlesided vs. Doublesided! (afaik that is the problem)

    If they run with 260 2.0-2-2-5 1T i will get a pair of these, tahts nice for
    gaming and when i bench i will stick in my BH5s!
    Last edited by funkflix; 12-15-2004 at 08:03 AM.
    PC : Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 + Intel Core i5 i2500k + 2 x Asus HD6870 DirectCU + 2x2GB PC12800 G.Skill Eco 7-8-7-24 + Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe + Scythe Mugen 3.
    Digicam : Pentax *istDL2 + Pentax smc DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL + Cosina F3.5/100mm Makro.
    Heimkino : Samsung LE-46B450 FullHD + Arion AF-4000HDCI + Onkyo TX-SR505E + Quadral Quintas 5.0 + Heco Victa 25A.


  29. #29
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    2,807
    I hear ya. 260 is my goal too. 260 X 10 would be sick with all timings tightened via A64 tweaker. Would be a HUGE jump over my current Mobile XP system.

  30. #30
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    boston,ma
    Posts
    3,205
    Not bad at all opp.
    Abit KN9-SLI
    X2 3800+
    1gb corsair pc5400
    2 evga 7900gt
    200gb maxtor sata
    ocz 520w
    heatware:althes
    ebay althes

  31. #31
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    579
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    Thats a good point. I hope they don't discontinue this stuff. Gunna have to get the inside scoop on that, may have to stock up if nessasary.

    OPP
    do you think it is possible for OCZ to run a product like this long term?

  32. #32
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    Quote Originally Posted by Playful_Buffalo
    do you think it is possible for OCZ to run a product like this long term?
    I have no Idea. Maybe they will stop by and comment on this.

    OPP

  33. #33
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,273
    Sweet stuff. OCZ has made some nice products the last few months... the Plat R2 (tccd), the VX and one of the most understated is the DDR2 that runs like 300 at 3-2-2-x

    C

  34. #34
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2,885
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    Thats a good point. I hope they don't discontinue this stuff. Gunna have to get the inside scoop on that, may have to stock up if nessasary.

    OPP
    I plan on buying a few more kits as well. And I'm glad to see that you're enjoying your new memory.

  35. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    sweden
    Posts
    39
    ocz said in the VX release thread that the product woulnt be discontinue like the EB
    A64 2800+ @ 292x9 1:1 ¤ DFi NF3 250GB ¤ Adata Vitesta PC4000 ¤ Club3D 9800PRO @ 450/375 ¤ Antec TC 550w ¤ Mach I
    SiSoftSandra

  36. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast p4z1f1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    827
    ok, let's say, someone doesn't care on tight timings, what they can do with 2.5-3-3-10-1T-timings for example?

    ----- AMD K6-2 300 "Chomper" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 300 MHz @ 2,200 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP 1700+ "Thouroghbred B" JIUHB 0306 MPMW /// 2400 MHz @ 1,900 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ "Barton" AQXEA 0327 UPMW /// 2450 MHz @ 1,850 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ "Barton" IQYHA 0401 XPMW /// 2500 MHz @ 1,750 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3000+ "Newcastle CG" xxxxx 0418 WPMW /// 2600 MHz @ 1,600 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3200+ "Winchester D0" xxxxx 0433 SPMW /// 2750 MHz @ 1,616 V -----

    ----- AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE "Callisto" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 4080MHz @ 1,375 V -----
    ----- AMD Ryzen "Zen" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// TBA @ TBA -----

  37. #37
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkeley/Stanford, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,075
    Quote Originally Posted by p4z1f1st
    ok, let's say, someone doesn't care on tight timings, what they can do with 2.5-3-3-10-1T-timings for example?
    this ram doesnt do any better with loose timings over tight ones.... so u might as well run tight ones

    can you see the light? is it shining too bright? can you see the light at the end of the tunnel, i know i do, i know its true.

  38. #38
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2,885
    blinky's right. I tried to loosen things up a bit and all I get are errors, regardless of the frequency I'm running them at. VX was made for 2-2-2 timings on the A64 platform.

  39. #39
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    The reason that any ram OC's higher in 256 x 2 over 512 x 2 is that there are fewer banks to address.

    It also the same reason a single unit (usualy) ocs faster that 2 , the fewer banks the less stress on the memory controller. I posted a detailed explionation of this a year ago lol .

    :p
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  40. #40
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,273
    I checked the price on VX, frankly I was expecting an outrageous price (like that killer DDR2 3-2-2 stuff @ $440) but was a bit surprised to see it at about $250....
    GJ, OCZ!

    C

  41. #41
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Posts
    1,555
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie
    I checked the price on VX, frankly I was expecting an outrageous price (like that killer DDR2 3-2-2 stuff @ $440) but was a bit surprised to see it at about $250....
    GJ, OCZ!

    C
    Where can I get some??????
    Heatware

    Main
    intel i5 3570k @ 4+ GHz | Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1 |Crucial Ballistix Tactical VLP 2x8GB DDR3-1600
    intel 335 240GB SSD | WD Black 640GB HDD
    Sapphire AMD 7870XT 2GB w-Boost (Tahiti LE)
    Creative X-Fi Titanium PCI-e

    HTPC
    AMD FX 6300 Vishera | ASRock 970 Extreme 3 | Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB DDR3-1600
    intel 320 120GB SSD | Seagate Barracuda 640GB HDD
    AMD Visiontek HD7850 2GB
    Dlink DWA-556 Wireless N Adapter

    Tablet
    Lenovo IdeaTab A2109 - Running rooted J-Bean & ADW

  42. #42
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,956
    Wow, they are that cheap? That changes everything. OCZ's flavor of the month is usually more.

  43. #43
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2,885
    Quote Originally Posted by hollywood
    Where can I get some??????
    After the thousands of posts and numerous threads on the VX, it puzzles me that you wouldn't know where to purchase a set. Fry's Electronics has 'em. mWave has them as well. And the list goes on...

  44. #44
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Anyone know about what the crossover point is where performance of 2.5-3-3-7 with say tccd chips would equal VX at 2-2-2-7? So in other words, how high an htt would 2.5-3-3-7 ram have to run to equal 250 or 260htt at 2-2-2-7 if cpu speed and all else was equal? This assumes the paltform is A64.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  45. #45
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Baltics
    Posts
    1,161
    Quote Originally Posted by ryanpgroovy
    The reason that any ram OC's higher in 256 x 2 over 512 x 2 is that there are fewer banks to address.

    It also the same reason a single unit (usualy) ocs faster that 2 , the fewer banks the less stress on the memory controller. I posted a detailed explionation of this a year ago lol .

    :p
    Ryan, I think you missed the point or I didn't explain it properly which seems a more probable reason every time I reread my post . Actually, the essential question behind it all I asked was, why 2x512MB of VX oc's higher than BH-5 at tight timings. Is the simple answer that the chips used on VX are superior over BH-5? If yes, does that imply that if OCZ made a 2x256 MB kit of VX, that one would scream up to 300mhz DDR speeds much more easily than 2x256 BH-5 did provided that the memory controllers and mobos would be able to keep up with that?
    Last edited by mrlobber; 12-15-2004 at 12:58 PM.
    away & gone

  46. #46
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    대한민국 강원도 원주시 Wonju, South Korea
    Posts
    1,315
    If the difference between 2x256 and 2x512 of VX is the same as 2x256 and 2x512 of BH-5/6, then that would be awesome. Somehow, I don't think that will be the case.
    7700k @ 5.0GHz
    ASUS Z170-Deluxe
    2x8GB Avexir Raiden DDR4-3000 15-15-15-35
    Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti @ 2076/1500(6000)
    512GB Samsung PM961 + 840 Pro 256GB + some TBs
    Corsair AX1200i
    X-Star DP2710LED @ 110Hz + 40" Samsung TV

    CPU and GPU under water: 9x120 rad + 3x120 + 3x120

    ...and an HTC Vive!

  47. #47
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    gotcha
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  48. #48
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    대한민국 강원도 원주시 Wonju, South Korea
    Posts
    1,315
    Does that "gotcha" mean 2x256 VX would rock? If so, is there any chance OCZ would release the VX line in 256MB modules?
    7700k @ 5.0GHz
    ASUS Z170-Deluxe
    2x8GB Avexir Raiden DDR4-3000 15-15-15-35
    Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti @ 2076/1500(6000)
    512GB Samsung PM961 + 840 Pro 256GB + some TBs
    Corsair AX1200i
    X-Star DP2710LED @ 110Hz + 40" Samsung TV

    CPU and GPU under water: 9x120 rad + 3x120 + 3x120

    ...and an HTC Vive!

  49. #49
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    oh I was responding to lobber ,

    256mb VX are bound to overclock much better than 512mb VX , and I have no clue if/when we plan to start making them .
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  50. #50
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,022
    Posted these elsewhere but guys are asking "will these do 270 2-2-2 3D", "Why don't these scale much past 260 2-2-2 like BH did", "what's the fuss bout, these are no better than BH"....

    OPP, hope ya dont mind me posting a few screenies here to answer those questions

    My highest screeny with ~3.35vDimm 1x512 VX
    My highest SuperPI 32MB with ~3.35vDimm 2x512mb VX
    My highest 3Dmark01 with ~3.35v 1x512mb VX

    I have a feeling all our VX modules will run a fair bit higher once AMD release CPUs with better memory controllers too
    Last edited by Rabbi_NZ; 12-15-2004 at 01:42 PM.
    VX/UTT Voltage Scaling, please contribute...

    10x260 _ 1T-2-2-2-8-7-15 _ 3.3vDIMM _ 1.75vCORE

    Mobile 3400+ CG 0437XDPW
    DFI LanParty UT
    XP120 w/ 120mm Thermaltake Thunderblade
    2x512MB OCZ VX
    BBATI 9800np w/Infineon
    PC Power & Cooling 510w Deluxe

  51. #51
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Rabbi_NZ
    Posted these elsewhere but guys are asking "will these do 270 2-2-2 3D", "Why don't these scale much past 260 2-2-2 like BH did", "what's the fuss bout, these are no better than BH"....

    OPP, hope ya dont mind me posting a few screenies here to answer those questions

    My highest screeny with ~3.35vDimm 1x512 VX
    My highest SuperPI 32MB with ~3.35vDimm 2x512mb VX
    My highest 3Dmark01 with ~3.35v 1x512mb VX

    I have a feeling all our VX modules will run a fair bit higher once AMD release CPUs with better memory controllers too
    I have a feeling you are correct m8, a LOT has to do with the memory controller
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  52. #52
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .CA
    Posts
    873
    I gotta get me some :o that is just too sweet!

  53. #53
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    Quote Originally Posted by OPPAINTER
    The problem these days is if you don't use 1gig and only have 512Mb like BH-5 in most cases, you lose out on performance. The 1gig gives you 2-way interleave, 2 gigs will give you 4-way interleave. This is on S939 motherboards anyway.
    So haveing 1 gig or higher is in if you can use aggressive timings,, so now you have VX

    OPP
    So 4-way interleave doesn't work on 512/1024 MB ?

    Man, there's always something new about A64/Mobos.

  54. #54
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    434
    Did you guys at OCZ perform some testing on Intel platforms? I can't find anybody with a P4 who tried this mem and I don't understand why. Did I miss something?
    Also how does the VX compare to the EBs at the same timings? I.e. both at DDR500 at 3-2-2-5. Would the "Enhanced Bandwidth" make a difference?
    In the end, I have to go to Fry's tonight and I want to know if with my rig it's worth to give the VX a try.

    Thanks!
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  55. #55
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,077
    Intels do not benefit that much from the tight timings, TCCD gives better results. There's really no point in using 260Mhz 2-2-2 when 300Mhz+ 3-4-4 is faster and usually needs under 3.0V to run.

  56. #56
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    576
    It's mostly made for A64 systems. Those with Intels don't seem to get as good results, it performs like any other ram from what I've seen on Intel.
    .:: S939 FX-53 (240x11 1:1) | 2x512 Ballistix DDR400 (2.5-3-2-10) | MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (1.36b) | x800 Pro VIVO -> XT (575/590) | 21" Viewsonic G220fb | Lian Li PC75b ::.

    Aquamark 3 : 84367
    3DMark 2001 : 31717
    3DMark 2003 : 14313
    3DMark 2005 : 6580

    Coming Soon : Silverprop HL Fusion (GPU), S-TDX (CPU), Weapon 2-302 Heatercore / Shroud, 50Z, Aquatube (special thanks to MaxxxRacer & Ancient_1) | UV / Case organization
    Coming when I can afford it : Vapochill LS or Mach 2 GT for CPU | FX-55

  57. #57
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    663
    Would it be faster on an A64 to run memory at 300Mhz at 2.5-4-4-8 (or sometimes 3-3-7) or to run these VX on a divider? I'm contemplating on switching from my TCCDs.... but I know for sure these can't hit 300 HTT 1:1... and I only have an Athlon64 3000+ with the 9 multi.

  58. #58
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    18
    Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2,6GHz, ASUS V9999GE 256MB @ 450/1200 16/6
    MSI Neo2-54G Platinum Edition, OCZ 3200 VX 1GB, OCZ DDR Booster, OCZ 520W, WD Raptor 74GB, Mitsubishi 2070SB 22" CRT

  59. #59
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    434
    Quote Originally Posted by Micutzu
    There's really no point in using 260Mhz 2-2-2 when 300Mhz+ 3-4-4 is faster and usually needs under 3.0V to run.
    I would agree with you if I had a cpu that could run at 300Mhz FSB.
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  60. #60
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    396
    Yeah the price ain't to bad on em, cheaper than the 3200EB TCCD or whatever it is, well here in the UK anyways.

    Sold my Corsair C2PT 2x512mb for 110quid, got these for 190quid, so not to bad there. Big upgrade.

    Gotta get a booster though.

Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •