Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 53

Thread: Bif secret?MSI 7125 (NF4 ultra) can do SLI

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895

    Big secret?MSI 7125 (NF4 ultra) can do SLI

    Alright , folks, X'mas gift here
    SLI what?
    have you thought NF4 ultra also can do SLI ?
    How? Here is the deal! Don't know if other brand can do this BUT MSI NF4 Ultra does!

    let's see howonly need to use the driver :6675)
    get it on:



    board:



    M/B :MSI K8N NEO4
    MEM :G.SKILL TCCD DDR600 256mb X2 DUAL@2.5-7-4-3
    VGA :6800ULTRA PCI-E SLI DRIVER:6675
    HDD :HITACHI S ATA 7K250 80G
    POWER: ZIPPY 600W + X-CONNECT 500W
    OS :WIN XP PRO SP2

    Configuration:
    CPU SPEED:2900mhz
    Vcore:1.50v
    Vdimm:2.8v
    @DDR600 2.5-7-4-3
    VGA:400/1100

    see the Mainboard info showing @ CPU-z? It's MS-7125(NF4 ultr)




    ok, let's see the comparison:

    Real SLI 3d05 @ MSI Diamond:



    then watch the NF4 ultra as SLI mode:
    watch that CPU-Z mainboard info, MS-7125 is NF4 ultra.
    The result is pretty close to what MSI 7100 performed as SLI mode.



    that's basic for now, I will my detail test up on Sunday!
    Last edited by Onepagebook; 12-10-2004 at 06:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    461
    Wow... only 200 points difference even though the top card is in a PCI-E 1x slot.

    All I can say is well done Onepagebook... you've managed to surprised us once again.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    204
    Very interesting indeed.

    Nice discovery Onepagebook, is it worth it though and what is the price difference between Diamond and nf4?

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895
    about 40~45 bucks difference

    by the way, that's PCI-E 2x not 1x

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Posts
    461
    This is really weird... all you've done is put one videocard in the PCI-E 16x slot and one in the PCI-E 2x slot.
    AFAIK the chipset isn't doing anything 'special' to make this combo work.
    So what I'm wondering is, are the current Intel motherboards capable of running SLI?
    Last edited by RaptorRaider; 12-10-2004 at 07:32 AM.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895
    Quote Originally Posted by RaptorRaider
    This is really weird... all you've done is put one videocard in the PCI-E 16x slot and one in the PCI-E 1x slot.
    AFAIK the chipset isn't doing anything 'special' to make this combo work.
    So what I'm wondering is, are the current Intel motherboards capable of running SLI?

    ya, just like I said, it's easy to work out.
    BTW..that 's PCI-e 2x!

    Intel? do not even wanna bother with it!

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    71
    very good indeed
    strangely though..the same board reviewed at t-break doesnt seem to have the pcie x2 slot.????
    Last edited by Asky; 12-10-2004 at 08:24 AM.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    CT, USA!!!
    Posts
    2,968
    Asky MSI has 2 different boards coming out, one is SLI other is just single slot.

  9. #9
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Riverside, California
    Posts
    4,798
    Interesting find. Now, how do you like your zippy? Got myself 700W one and in love with it. Talk about non fluctuating rail on my system configuration. (well can't verfiy with o-scope as I don't have one but dmm shows great numbers :P)
    [SIGPIC]http://www.vapoli.com/Images/Forum/vapoli.jpg[/SIGPIC]

    Single Stage Work Logs

    Quote Originally Posted by killermiller View Post
    Those ccb's will die if you look at them wrong.

    heatware: jinu117

  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,701
    Nice find man.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by =[PULSAR]=
    Asky MSI has 2 different boards coming out, one is SLI other is just single slot.
    ya iknow they are coming out with 2 different boards..
    one is the K8N Diamond and the other one is this board,correct?
    BUT what i am saying is that t-break reviewed the same board(NON-SLI) and the yellow coloured pcie X2 slot was not present there.
    also this board has only one pcie X1 and the t-break one has 2 pcie x2

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast p4z1f1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    827
    so, now we know, that nF4-Ultra = nF4-SLI

    so, the same chipset - just on the mobos there aren't 1xPEG16 and 1xPEG8, but 1xPEG16 and other < PEG8

    ----- AMD K6-2 300 "Chomper" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 300 MHz @ 2,200 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP 1700+ "Thouroghbred B" JIUHB 0306 MPMW /// 2400 MHz @ 1,900 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ "Barton" AQXEA 0327 UPMW /// 2450 MHz @ 1,850 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ "Barton" IQYHA 0401 XPMW /// 2500 MHz @ 1,750 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3000+ "Newcastle CG" xxxxx 0418 WPMW /// 2600 MHz @ 1,600 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3200+ "Winchester D0" xxxxx 0433 SPMW /// 2750 MHz @ 1,616 V -----

    ----- AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE "Callisto" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 4080MHz @ 1,375 V -----
    ----- AMD Ryzen "Zen" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// TBA @ TBA -----

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    120
    awesome work onepage

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,014
    How does one think of sticking a PCI-E 8x card in an 2x slot?

    Interesting find for sure!

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    zippy is best ps I have ever used. I am doing ps review coming up and I have both 460 and 700w units. Talk about tanks! They are very heavy, which to me speaks volumes about quality "guts" of units.

    BTW, onepage, you amaze me again
    it's never fast enough!

  16. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895
    Quote Originally Posted by p4z1f1st
    so, now we know, that nF4-Ultra = nF4-SLI

    so, the same chipset - just on the mobos there aren't 1xPEG16 and 1xPEG8, but 1xPEG16 and other < PEG8

    Nah, they are still different things! Real SLI is a bit better than fake SLI

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    687
    Interesting... for those who don't go with a SLI board, they could still upgrade to SLI one day. Neat!
    Bedroom: D201GLY2, Celeron 220 (1.2ghz/512k cache); 1gb DDR2 PC-5300; Geforce 6200 PCI
    -----------------
    Gaming: Core 2 Duo E4500@2.93ghz (266x11); Abit IP35-E; 3gb Crucial Ballistix PC5300@400mhz (4-4-4-15); XFX Geforce 8800GS@680/800 10123 3dmark06
    -----------------
    HTPC: Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 (1.9ghz); ECS mATX mb; 2gb Crucial PC5300; Radeon HD2600 Pro 256mb (DXVA HA in BD and HD-DVD)

    Originally posted by Thunderbird1Ghz(Geforce4Ti4200) at Sharky Forums
    And you arent gonna believe this, but that DVD rom will even read regular CD roms!!!!!!!

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkeley/Stanford, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,075
    Quote Originally Posted by JNav89GT
    zippy is best ps I have ever used. I am doing ps review coming up and I have both 460 and 700w units. Talk about tanks! They are very heavy, which to me speaks volumes about quality "guts" of units.

    BTW, onepage, you amaze me again
    do they have internal pots???

    cuz if they do im sooo getting one


    the 300w one at newegg actually has 520w according to the rated amerages on the rails, and its only $80

    can you see the light? is it shining too bright? can you see the light at the end of the tunnel, i know i do, i know its true.

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by Onepagebook
    Nah, they are still different things! Real SLI is a bit better than fake SLI
    There is no such thing as real or fake SLI. The difference isn't with the SLI support, its PCI-E. The SLI version has programmable PCI-E lanes that allows either 1 x 16x PCI-E or 2 x 8x PCI-E. The rest does not.

    nVidia's implementation of SLI does not require any additional logic on the chipset, all they need is 2 PCI-E slots that could house both cards. That yellow slot is probably a 2x PCI-E slot (unlikely to be 4x). Unfortunately, putting the card on a 2x slot may incur a performance penalty though.

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack
    How does one think of sticking a PCI-E 8x card in an 2x slot?

    Interesting find for sure!
    Why not? You could stick a 64bit PCI into a 32bit slot right?

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    343
    I´m thinking that u won´t be able to do that with 6600GT´s tough...
    PCI-e 4x doesn´t have to supply all the power that a graphics card without the power connector needs. The power connector on the 6800ultra is a workaround.

    Can u test this? Or is really the only difference in the number of lanes?

  22. #22
    XS Local
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,699
    great work!

    But AFAIK Gpus wont even use up the full 16x pci-E bus yet anyways. so i bet the scores are only so close because of the drivers or mobo.


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  23. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895
    Quote Originally Posted by Eversor
    I´m thinking that u won´t be able to do that with 6600GT´s tough...
    PCI-e 4x doesn´t have to supply all the power that a graphics card without the power connector needs. The power connector on the 6800ultra is a workaround.

    Can u test this? Or is really the only difference in the number of lanes?

    why not? Here you go!

    Albatron 6600GT x2:







    3d03:



    3d05:



    **hint: MSI nf4 has a very useful OC tools for overclock the grahpic card in bios just like the overclock CPU does. By using the coolbit is very inconvenient for me to test the desire value before you can adjust the frequency. It's definitely stable and even better than coolbits.


    Last edited by Onepagebook; 12-10-2004 at 05:46 PM.

  24. #24
    THATS JUST SICK man makes me want to go NF4 does this board overclock better then the Neo 2?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    687
    Fantastic work. Glad to see those 6600s working. That BIOS overclocking for the video cards looks awesome, too.
    Bedroom: D201GLY2, Celeron 220 (1.2ghz/512k cache); 1gb DDR2 PC-5300; Geforce 6200 PCI
    -----------------
    Gaming: Core 2 Duo E4500@2.93ghz (266x11); Abit IP35-E; 3gb Crucial Ballistix PC5300@400mhz (4-4-4-15); XFX Geforce 8800GS@680/800 10123 3dmark06
    -----------------
    HTPC: Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 (1.9ghz); ECS mATX mb; 2gb Crucial PC5300; Radeon HD2600 Pro 256mb (DXVA HA in BD and HD-DVD)

    Originally posted by Thunderbird1Ghz(Geforce4Ti4200) at Sharky Forums
    And you arent gonna believe this, but that DVD rom will even read regular CD roms!!!!!!!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •