Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Intel Pentium 4 650 w/ 2MB Cache on Intel website !!

  1. #1
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551

    Intel Pentium 4 650 w/ 2MB Cache on Intel website !!

    Is it just me, or is this the Intel Pentium 4 650 with 2MB cache to be released next year. Only one thing bothers me - it has an M0 stepping

    http://processorfinder.intel.com/scr...+on+selections

    Perkam

  2. #2
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    the cold place Temp: 5C
    Posts
    3,764
    90NM NW EE?
    For those of you about to post:

  3. #3
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    You know...I wouldn't be surprised at all if that was true. You know just a few changes....addition of x86-64 and SSE3 and you'd have a processor better than the Prescott

    jjcom

  4. #4
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    Hmmm....you may be right craig588, I guess its probably the 2MB EE version. DAMN bad call ...

    Srry ppl, my mistake.

    But I dont get one thing though. If this is the $900 EE version, then how can Intel make another 2mB desktop version at a third of the price if, theoretically, there isnt much difference between the two.

    Perkam

  5. #5
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    you know that isn't the first time this had been brought up. I just remembered alittle while back in a thread this was talked about. We just ended up guessing it was either a typo or Intel making a 90nm NW...the typo seemed more likly, but its nice to dream...

    jjcom

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    At work
    Posts
    1,381
    I'd say those specs are for a Pentium 4 (Prescott) with the 2 MB of cache and they screwed up on the stepping code (unless there is a new M0 stepping denoting the additional MB of cache).

    Intel is differenciating between the EE and the standard P4 by FSB now, not cache. And shooting themselves in the foot because of it. They must think we are pretty stupid and will pay 2x for a chip because of a simple multiplier change. Any self respecting enthusiast will simply buy a 925XE from Abit (or other) a 3.6 or a 3.8 Prescott, use the CPU Lock Free feature (defaulting the multiplier to 14x) and ramp the FSB to 266 (which would actually be slightly underclocking the 3.8).

    Then push the FSB to the wall....
    Server: HP Proliant ML370 G6, 2x Xeon X5690, 144GB ECC Registered, 8x OCZ Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 240GB on LSi 9265-8i (RAID 0), 12x Seagate Constellation ES.2 3TB SAS on LSi 9280-24i4e (RAID 6) and dual 1200W redundant power supplies.
    Gamer: Intel Core i7 6950X@4.2GHz, Rampage Edition 10, 128GB (8x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz, 2x NVidia Titan X (Pascal), Corsair H110i, Vengeance C70 w/Corsair AX1500i, Intel P3700 2TB (boot), Samsung SM961 1TB (Games), 2x Samsung PM1725 6.4TB (11.64TB usable) Windows Software RAID 0 (local storage).
    Beater: Xeon E5-1680 V3, NCase M1, ASRock X99-iTX/ac, 2x32GB Crucial 2400MHz RDIMMs, eVGA Titan X (Maxwell), Samsung 950 Pro 512GB, Corsair SF600, Asetek 92mm AIO water cooler.
    Server/workstation: 2x Xeon E5-2687W V2, Asus Z9PE-D8, 256GB 1866MHz Samsung LRDIMMs (8x32GB), eVGA Titan X (Maxwell), 2x Intel S3610 1.6TB SSD, Corsair AX1500i, Chenbro SR10769, Intel P3700 2TB.

    Thanks for the help (or lack thereof) in resolving my P3700 issue, FUGGER...

  7. #7
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    yeah, I wouldn't be surprised if Intel found a way around the CLF feature. Intel seems to really be working on that "no overclocking allowed" thing more and more it seems. While AMD seems to almost promote it. Something is going on over their with Intel, didn't they just get a new "head guy" (don't you like my offical terms") maybe he doesn't like it much. Who knows...

    jjcom

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    495
    hey....my 3.46Ghz 1066FSB is a 650ES chip...

    that may explain why

  9. #9
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    hey....my 3.46Ghz 1066FSB is a 650ES chip...
    Very nice, I guess you have tomorrow's technology today...though I Imagine you paid a hefty price for it to be guaranteed ES huh.

    Perkam
    Last edited by perkam; 11-27-2004 at 08:07 PM. Reason: Correction

  10. #10
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    post a screen shot! Let see what CPU-Z calls these new processor...maybe we'll get a different core name...mmm..
    jjcom

  11. #11
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Quote Originally Posted by Xassius
    hey....my 3.46Ghz 1066FSB is a 650ES chip...

    that may explain why
    share ya toys
    ---

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    495
    it's nothing new dudes

    it's the 3.46Ghz Gallatin with 1066FSB that was officially released a few weeks back


  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    495
    here's a pic from another thread....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    495
    wait a sec...they're not the same

    Funny how two different CPU's names are mixed

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    122
    This is not the P4 EE 3.46... Tis must be one of the new 2MB cache prescotts intel PR guy talked about last week when I was on press conferene... They will be released shortly after Win XP 64bit edition and will run at frequencies from 3.2GHz to 3.8GHz, there will be no 4GHz part in 2005... but something bothers me... at the press conferece it was said that this CPU should run only on 1066MHz bus... and on 925XE platform... I guess they changed their mind...

    And markings of those CPUs will range from 620 to 660...

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    495
    Quote Originally Posted by TribesMan
    This is not the P4 EE 3.46... Tis must be one of the new 2MB cache prescotts intel PR guy talked about last week when I was on press conferene... They will be released shortly after Win XP 64bit edition and will run at frequencies from 3.2GHz to 3.8GHz, there will be no 4GHz part in 2005... but something bothers me... at the press conferece it was said that this CPU should run only on 1066MHz bus... and on 925XE platform... I guess they changed their mind...

    And markings of those CPUs will range from 620 to 660...
    Old news TribesMan

    the 6xx series of CPU's... they're meant to be Prescott's with 2mb if L2 Cache and a revised core of features (I knew them...but forgot )

    but what is interesting is that this "650" has the stepping M0 - which is a NORTHWOOD

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    495
    ..and yes.. the 3.73Ghz EE Prescott/Irwindale will have 1066FSB support

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by TribesMan
    This is not the P4 EE 3.46... Tis must be one of the new 2MB cache prescotts intel PR guy talked about last week when I was on press conferene... They will be released shortly after Win XP 64bit edition and will run at frequencies from 3.2GHz to 3.8GHz, there will be no 4GHz part in 2005... but something bothers me... at the press conferece it was said that this CPU should run only on 1066MHz bus... and on 925XE platform... I guess they changed their mind...

    And markings of those CPUs will range from 620 to 660...
    And when is XP-64 being released? All the review sites point to the 6xx CPUs being released in the first quarter of '05, has that changed?

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Manchester (UK)
    Posts
    1,129

  20. #20
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    Ok, now I'M CONFUSED...Is this the 650 or not ???

    Perkam

  21. #21
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    It might be, chances are its just a typo (and we all know thats unheard of for intel, lol) So probly its a 90nm Prescott with 2mb L2

    jjcom

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •