Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 167

Thread: TCCD and high voltage mystery explained

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064

    TCCD and high voltage mystery explained

    Alright after a few in the lab we figured out the awe inspiring mystery of TCCDs that do well with higher voltages

    It appears that samsung made some minor die revisions and that newer production chips do perform better with high voltages


    I pulled about 20 current production OCZ-PC -3200 plat rev 2 and put the booster to them , from 2.8 to 3.1 volts showed no peformance improvement
    from 3.1-3.6 we were able to run between 466 and 480 at 2-2-2 memtest stable and 510 and 550 2-3-3 memtest stable , with a fan running over the modules

    These are current production parts and it seems that we have been shipping these chips to retailers for about 2 weeks

    keep in mind we only saw a diference at 3.1 volts and above ,

    I would guess most TCCD products produced in the past 3-4 weeks should respond the same .. but thats a guess based on initial testing


    oh yeah , heres a quickie screenshot at 3.3 volts

    Attached Images Attached Images
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  2. #2
    Worst overclocker evar!! eshbach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    1,273
    sounds good,

    do these sticks clock any higher at 2.5-3-3 with 3.4v? could we possibly see 320 1:1 2.5-3-3 with high voltage?
    I used to have links here demonstrating how awesome I am, but it's been so long that they're not very relevant (and the pictures have disappeared), so I guess I'll have to get working on new stuff.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    I have not had time to play that in depth , but I would bet that with higher voltages they do better at all timings.
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  4. #4
    XS - Extra Strong lalPOOO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,658
    You scared me there for a second, I thought that was 1mb super pi

    You guys at OCZ are too much, keep it up
    -Phenom2 x6 1055 @stock
    -8gb ddr3
    -Gigabyte UD3
    -Geforce 7900Gt 755/1863 1.562v vgpu
    -OCZ Powersupply 600w

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member Nanobot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    307
    Thank you for solving the TCCD mistery Ryan


    Are the late production OCZ TCCD the ones with the new OCZ badge on the HS ?

    The HS on mine are just the regular OCZ stamped units.
    Asus P6T Deluxe, Core i7 920 @ 4.1ghz, Corsair Dominator Tri channel 1600Mhz
    Evga GTX285, Raptor 150GB, Corsair HX620

    Apogee GTZ, PA 120.3, CM Stacker STC-01, DDC 3.1 MCP355/XSPC top.
    Win Vista Premium X64

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    Just trying to post up a quicky .... no time for real benchmarking in my busy day
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    Its hard to tell when exactly samsung changed the die , I do know the chips were using to build now are the same batch we have been using for 3 weeks at least.
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  8. #8
    XS Local Dissolved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,699
    Anyways to get a 1gb set of this memory with the newer dies?

    id gladly pump 3.4v~ to get 280(560ddr) cas 2.5


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  9. #9
    Xtreme Guru trans am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,672
    Quote Originally Posted by ryanpgroovy
    Its hard to tell when exactly samsung changed the die , I do know the chips were using to build now are the same batch we have been using for 3 weeks at least.
    What is the ram that Tony mentioned that does 2-2-2 at 260mhz? was that just a new tccd that got lucky? Or is there some serious brewing in the ocz LAb?

  10. #10
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    wow thx a lot for soending so much time on solcing this riddle!

    id recommend you to find out what chips respond well to high vdimm and put a new sticker on that ram

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor TEDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,602
    so better wait a week or two so all new ram is new samsung die

    what ram mostly likely then ?

    mushkin/ocz/gskill ?

    i really want high voltage tccd cause i have 3.3vdimm available on my DFI NFII
    Last edited by TEDY; 10-29-2004 at 02:40 PM.
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    california or chicago
    Posts
    1,064
    The betas tony have are not TCCD ....

    hopefully people will buy lots of ddr boosters with all this new voltage lovin .....
    OCZ employee and proud of it.
    If you have actually personaly experienced a problem with a OCZ product that was not solved quickly by our wonderful support staff I would like to know. Feel free to PM
    Thanks

    I am overclocked!

    "Posted on Mar 30, 2005 at 1:35 AM by StormGod
    In soviet Russia memory overvolts you! "

  13. #13
    Xtreme Guru trans am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,672
    [QUOTE=ryanpgroovy]The betas tony have are not TCCD ....

    A new mystery ic that isn't TCCD that does 260mhz+ at 2-2-2. Everyone get your checkbooks ready!

  14. #14
    c[_] STEvil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,429
    heh.. wonder if they have another "shift point" higher up?
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor TEDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,602
    damn i smell a big xmas surprise from OCZ

    DDR 600 2-2-2-5/11 3.3Vdimm TCCD OWNAGE

    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    and wake up with PC2100 nanya ram LOL
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  16. #16
    XS Local Dissolved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,699
    Quote Originally Posted by ryanpgroovy
    The betas tony have are not TCCD ....

    hopefully people will buy lots of ddr boosters with all this new voltage lovin .....

    Have you tryed better cooling on these?

    IMHO i would like to see some Heatsinks, water cooling possibly?

    my EB burns me when i use 3.0v and testing when memtest last night the heater in the house came on cuz its cold in calif at night this week, and seconds after i started getting errors (it was on the 34th run of test5) so it was heat related im 99% sure.

    i would like to pull the spreaders off and add some sinks or something else, but i wouldnt wanna kill the warranty if i havent allready by excideing the voltages..


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  17. #17
    c[_] STEvil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,429
    use a fan.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict iboomalot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    USA /okla
    Posts
    2,078
    if I could get some 1:1 DDR 600 stable ram at 2-2-2-5-T1 I would spend 400.00 on a pair without blinking. I wonder what my OCZ 3700EB would be worth if this happens??
    i7 3770K @4.8 ghz
    XSPC RayStorm (very nice block)
    Z77 ,, 8GB- TEAM (9-9-9-24 @2400 mhz) 1:1
    XFX-7970 with Swiftech Komodo nickel block
    Water Cooling - MO-RA3 Pro with 4 Silverstone 180mm @ 800 rpm, Twin Vario mcp-655 pumps
    Samsung 830-512 SSD,, OCZ ZX-1250W (powerfull and silent)
    Crossfire 30" decent monitor for IPS too bad SED tech died

    Docsis2.0 Docsis3.0
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...28#post5044028 could save you 30-50% on dental costs.
    -- People who reject the idea that "government has a responsibility to reduce income inequality" give an average of four times more than people who accept that proposition.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Guru trans am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,672
    Quote Originally Posted by Dissolved
    Have you tryed better cooling on these?

    IMHO i would like to see some Heatsinks, water cooling possibly?

    my EB burns me when i use 3.0v and testing when memtest last night the heater in the house came on cuz its cold in calif at night this week, and seconds after i started getting errors (it was on the 34th run of test5) so it was heat related im 99% sure.

    i would like to pull the spreaders off and add some sinks or something else, but i wouldnt wanna kill the warranty if i havent allready by excideing the voltages..

    Maybe OCZ should make a new heatspreader for this new High voltage ram. Maybe something with fins that dissipates heat better? or maybe a windtunnel design that surrounds the dimms with a fan at the top?

  20. #20
    Aint No Real Gangster WeStSiDePLaYa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,566
    damn, so can we say yet this stuff is officially better that bh-5? i think so.
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  21. #21
    Xtreme Guru trans am's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,672
    Quote Originally Posted by WeStSiDePLaYa
    damn, so can we say yet this stuff is officially better that bh-5? i think so.
    As soon as my mushkin comes, I'm putting the BH5 on Ebay before this info gets leaked onto every forum.

  22. #22
    XS Local Dissolved's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,699
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil
    use a fan.

    common sense yes, But even at stock speeds at 2.8v they get pretty warm in a cold room in the open air.

    What im Saying is, From what ive seen, memory is getting more power hungry and Might benifit from better Cooling Support.

    Problem is tho, memory Dimms are so close together heatsinks make this impossible.

    Im on my DFI, i use dimms 1 & 3 so i have a 1/2" area between the memory dimms to allow me to do something. Fan is OK, but fans wont truly disspate all the heat from the memory..


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  23. #23
    Aint No Real Gangster WeStSiDePLaYa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,566
    well i know i have good airflow and i get a 80mm fan right over my dimms and my ram stays pretty chilly.

    but wow, i really want to get some of this BH-5 killers in my rig.
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  24. #24
    XS News Ubermann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,032
    I have been trying mine up to 3.8 Volt, after that computer crash.
    From what i notice is that Cas2 will gain most of the boost from higher volt.
    ~3.5Volt seems to give most boost at Cas2.
    Cas 2.5 runs best at 3.1volt.
    Cas 3 dont like above over 3.0 volt.

    I think it is this way, have only noticed after messing with a booster.
    Everything extra is bad!

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    8
    What a wonderful time to be building a new comp

Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •