Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 135

Thread: FX55 + GSKill...holy smokes!

  1. #1
    Evil Kitty
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    3,573

    FX55 + GSKill...holy smokes!

    The GSkill arrived today to replace my CorsairXL 3200. The new mem works great in the NEO2 and got me to 25 sec Super PI's and provided some pretty healthy bandwidth.





    Here's some good 1:1 lovin' at only 2.8v:




    I cannot speak for others, but the GSkill says what it does, and does what it says...for me anyway.

    Onto some 3D benching now!
    3960X @ 5.1Ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme 1005
    32GB (8 x 4) Gskill Ripjaw Z @2133
    Asus HD 7970 x 2 Crossfire
    OS & Apps: Crucial M4 256GB
    Games: Crucial M4 512GB
    TV & Video: 300G Raptor
    Storage: WD Black 2TB
    Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 800D
    CPU/Video/Mobo Koolance Water Cooled

  2. #2
    Aint No Real Gangster
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Port Credit/GTA, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,566
    wow, thats sick! wish i had the cash for that. what cooling you have?

    EDIT nevermind just seen.
    Specs
    Asus 780i Striker II Formula
    Intel E8400 Wolfdale @ 4050Mhz
    2x2GB OCZ Platinum @ 1200Mhz 5-4-3-18
    MSI 5850 1000Mhz/5000Mhz
    Wester Digital Black 2TB
    Antec Quatro 850W

    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee
    Swiftech MCP-600
    HardwareLabes Black Ice Extreme 2


    Audio Setup
    X-fi w/AD8066, Clock mod, & polymer caps > PPAV2 > Grado SR60 & Grado SR325i & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro & Beyerdynamic DT990 & AKG K701 & Denon D2000

  3. #3
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    can you do SuperPi 8M, 16M and 32M for us to compare

    thanks
    ---

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa
    The GSkill arrived today to replace my CorsairXL 3200. The new mem works great in the NEO2 and got me to 25 sec Super PI's and provided some pretty healthy bandwidth.
    Just got my FX-55, MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum and Gskill Ram in. Can't wait to get mine together tomorrow. Forgot to pick up barrel motherboard screws. Heh - the MSI comes with no screws at all and didn't think about that. Sold mine with my last mobo. Anyways . . . pretty dang excited about it.

  5. #5
    Evil Kitty
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    3,573
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000
    can you do SuperPi 8M, 16M and 32M for us to compare

    thanks
    After I get some 3d in, I'll return to more Pi soon.

    Quote Originally Posted by RAINFIRE
    Just got my FX-55, MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum and Gskill Ram in. Can't wait to get mine together tomorrow. . . . pretty dang excited about it.
    enjoy
    3960X @ 5.1Ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme 1005
    32GB (8 x 4) Gskill Ripjaw Z @2133
    Asus HD 7970 x 2 Crossfire
    OS & Apps: Crucial M4 256GB
    Games: Crucial M4 512GB
    TV & Video: 300G Raptor
    Storage: WD Black 2TB
    Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 800D
    CPU/Video/Mobo Koolance Water Cooled

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Elizabeth, NJ
    Posts
    256
    Awesome score man. Keep em coming. Ever think about getting some nice cascades on that chip?

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkeley/Stanford, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,075

    can you see the light? is it shining too bright? can you see the light at the end of the tunnel, i know i do, i know its true.

  8. #8
    Evil Kitty
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    3,573
    Well, as slow as most folks around here have seen my benches coming in, its no surprise when I say I just don't have the time or desire for going further with cascade cooling. Did air, water, tec and chillers over the years, and I have decided to call it quits at phasechange.

    It really is a great chip though!
    3960X @ 5.1Ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme 1005
    32GB (8 x 4) Gskill Ripjaw Z @2133
    Asus HD 7970 x 2 Crossfire
    OS & Apps: Crucial M4 256GB
    Games: Crucial M4 512GB
    TV & Video: 300G Raptor
    Storage: WD Black 2TB
    Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 800D
    CPU/Video/Mobo Koolance Water Cooled

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895
    Holy smoke?Congrads.!
    I just want to make sure you are satisfied with Gskill.
    Thank you very much


    Kev

  10. #10
    Evil Kitty
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    3,573
    Here's some preliminary 3D:

    3960X @ 5.1Ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme 1005
    32GB (8 x 4) Gskill Ripjaw Z @2133
    Asus HD 7970 x 2 Crossfire
    OS & Apps: Crucial M4 256GB
    Games: Crucial M4 512GB
    TV & Video: 300G Raptor
    Storage: WD Black 2TB
    Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 800D
    CPU/Video/Mobo Koolance Water Cooled

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    451
    what model GSkill ram is that? I'm lookin to get the same rig - and have phase change cooling - so would like to see comparable results Thanks!
    Intel 3930k @ 4.55ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    Intel SSD 520 480gb
    AMD Radeon 6990
    Corsair AX1200 PSU

  12. #12
    Evil Kitty
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    3,573
    3960X @ 5.1Ghz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme 1005
    32GB (8 x 4) Gskill Ripjaw Z @2133
    Asus HD 7970 x 2 Crossfire
    OS & Apps: Crucial M4 256GB
    Games: Crucial M4 512GB
    TV & Video: 300G Raptor
    Storage: WD Black 2TB
    Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 800D
    CPU/Video/Mobo Koolance Water Cooled

  13. #13
    Thats some sick ram by gskill. I wish i had that ram because im stuck with Corsair PC3500c2 bh5 2x512 and im not sure if it will do well when i get my FX55 and NEO on wednesday.

    Does anyone know how far i can get with BH5 ram 1:1 ratio on a stock NEO mobo???

  14. #14
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mason, MI... USA
    Posts
    1,286
    Quote Originally Posted by The Virus
    Thats some sick ram by gskill. I wish i had that ram because im stuck with Corsair PC3500c2 bh5 2x512 and im not sure if it will do well when i get my FX55 and NEO on wednesday.

    Does anyone know how far i can get with BH5 ram 1:1 ratio on a stock NEO mobo???
    Although i've seen great results with some BH-5 i think they were all single sided.
    I could not get any of mine over 204/408ddr on my Neo2.
    GA-P35-DS3L no more than 450fsb w/1333 chip
    E6550 stuck at 3150
    V-DATA 2x1gb
    MSI 7900GS 512 3Dmark score in near future
    Old A64 scores2001 39,707 3D03 23,768 3D05 11,394 3D06 5914

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Pearland, TX
    Posts
    360
    go for 9000mb/s sandra !!!!
    wolfdale e8400
    Corsair Dominator 6400c4 4x 1gig
    rampage formula
    evga 88000gtx
    x-fi platinum
    ocz powerstream 520

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,782
    nice scores!
    Last edited by reject; 10-22-2004 at 11:13 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by bh2k
    sorry m, OI'm a bit drunkz!
    Air benches with 3000+, DFI nf3 and 6800GT 2001SE: 26312 3d03: 13028

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Poki
    Although i've seen great results with some BH-5 i think they were all single sided.
    I could not get any of mine over 204/408ddr on my Neo2.
    Are you serious???? So your telling me that my pc3500c2 wont even be able to do 217fsb 1:1?

    Does this mean the MOBO doesnt like BH5 double sided ram???

    Damn , i wish i had Gskill pc4400 ram.. Anyone interested in pure 1gig BH5??

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SLOVENIJA
    Posts
    2,603
    ouch already 295$
    ASUS P5K-E // E8400 Q746A519
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
    LC 550W GP// XPERTVISION 9600GT

  19. #19
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mason, MI... USA
    Posts
    1,286
    Quote Originally Posted by The Virus
    Are you serious???? So your telling me that my pc3500c2 wont even be able to do 217fsb 1:1?

    Does this mean the MOBO doesnt like BH5 double sided ram???

    Damn , i wish i had Gskill pc4400 ram.. Anyone interested in pure 1gig BH5??
    Don't sell it yet... See how it works on it!
    There has been a few peeps with good results with it, i'm just not sure if they had double sided but i doubt it.

    See if anyone else chimes in with some positive insight....
    GA-P35-DS3L no more than 450fsb w/1333 chip
    E6550 stuck at 3150
    V-DATA 2x1gb
    MSI 7900GS 512 3Dmark score in near future
    Old A64 scores2001 39,707 3D03 23,768 3D05 11,394 3D06 5914

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas aka Sin City!
    Posts
    323
    Quote Originally Posted by TEDY
    ouch already 295$

    Ya, when i first seen it preview on monarch it was $280'ish now $295.. lol price hikes are lame. We need another US distributor *hint* Newegg!
    E8400 @ 4ghz 24/7
    DFI LP LT X48-T2R
    G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
    BFG 9800GX2
    2 x 150GB Raptor X in RAID 0

  21. #21
    I noticed that everyone is using 3xHTT but why??? What is the actual stock HTT set at to run FX55???

    I will enter the A64 world next week when i get my shipment in so right now im still stuck with Abit NF7-S and 2.6ghz barton and the MSI NEO bios is alien compared to Abit. I hope you guys help me when the day comes.

  22. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Land of Buckeye
    Posts
    2,895
    Quote Originally Posted by The Virus
    I noticed that everyone is using 3xHTT but why??? What is the actual stock HTT set at to run FX55???

    I will enter the A64 world next week when i get my shipment in so right now im still stuck with Abit NF7-S and 2.6ghz barton and the MSI NEO bios is alien compared to Abit. I hope you guys help me when the day comes.

    here is a little unofficial rule:
    you can't exceed total fron side bus speed around 1110~1120mhz(depends on the board)

    for example, like my msi k8n neo2, I can run it at 280fsb with 4x htt, that's exactly 1120mhz..

  23. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by Onepagebook
    here is a little unofficial rule:
    you can't exceed total fron side bus speed around 1110~1120mhz(depends on the board)

    for example, like my msi k8n neo2, I can run it at 280fsb with 4x htt, that's exactly 1120mhz..
    What is the max HTT you can put for 200fsb??? When i get my FX55 I'd like to keep it at 200fsb and use the multi only. Im shooting for 14x200fsb or higher.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,782
    well yes that would make sense since you pay a hefty price for that multi. i would stick to a 4x or 5x multi at 200fsb. one will get higher scores but it is quite random, sometimes lower speeds help!
    Quote Originally Posted by bh2k
    sorry m, OI'm a bit drunkz!
    Air benches with 3000+, DFI nf3 and 6800GT 2001SE: 26312 3d03: 13028

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    54
    OMFG, 25secs... awesome.

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •