Page 1 of 173 12341151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 4323

Thread: The OFFICIAL MSI K8N Neo2-939 tips and tricks guide thread

  1. #1
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI charlie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,274

    The OFFICIAL MSI K8N Neo2-939 tips and tricks guide thread

    MSI Neo2 nforce3



    overclocking options
    Bus Speed: 200-300mhz in 1mhz steps
    Bus Multiplier: 1x-5x
    CPU Multiplier: 4x-20x
    AGP speed: 66-100 in 1mhz steps

    overvolting options
    Vcore: 1.4-1.85* in 0.05v steps *1.90 with bios 1.36b
    Vdimm: 2.55-2.85* in 0.05v steps *overvolts to 2.90v on most boards
    Vagp: 1.55 to 1.85 in 0.05v steps

    periphals and features
    IDE: 2 ATA 133 slots
    IDE raid: 0,1,0+1,JBOD
    SATA: 4 SATA 150 slots (2 are unlocked)
    SATA raid: 0,1,0+1,JBOD
    sata+ide drives in raid: yes
    Firewire: 3 IEEE 1394A ports
    LAN: nforce3 integrated gigabit ethernet
    Sound: realtec ALC850 8 channel

    links
    mainboard homepage: K8N neo2 Platinum
    forum discussion: The OFFICIAL MSI K8N Neo2-939 tips and tricks guide thread
    review #1: Anandtech
    review #2: Hothardware
    review #3: Hardwareluxx (german)
    vmod #1: vcore
    vmod #2: vdimm
    vmod #3: vht
    vmod #4: vdd


    pros
    very stable vcore up to 1.90v read the tips to see how to get 1.9v
    vdimm overvolts to 2.90v on highest setting
    VTT tracks automatically, OCZ DDR-Booster works up to 4,0V (put it in ram slot 4)
    runs great with ballistix
    runs great with tccd memory
    runs great with bh5 (needs bios 1.36b or newer)
    2x Memory Interleaving?

    cons
    cpu socket position problematic for some cases
    vdimm mod requieres trace cutting
    SATA ports 1 and 2 are not locked, use slots 3 and 4 (closest to the cpu)
    issues with ram slots 3&4 not working very well seems to work fine for some people
    cpu temperature reading not working correctly seems to work fine for some people
    doesnt like ocz eb

    TIPS
    TIP: you have to disable cool n quiet when ocing
    TIP: Cpu fan header must be connected, if not the pc could experience boot problems
    TIP: if you have problems booting with BH5 try another stick of memory and set vdimm to the max and make sure you set the cas latency to 2.5 or 2.0 as bh5 wont boot with cas 3.0, then swap in the BH5
    TIP: the CPU backplate is hard to get off on the MSI ... just heat it with a hair dryer, it will come off easily then
    TIP: for best performance the MSI only needs Vdimm/3.3V bypass mod (or the OCZ booster).
    Yet to try a chipset mod or HTT mod on the MSI ... it may help with LDT 4x @ > 260 HTT bus speeds

    TIP: shut down core center after you used it to adjust or check your settings, if left running it might crash your system
    TIP: if you have problems booting at low temps with a winchester try the latest beta bios
    TIP: disable fast writes
    TIP: only bios 1.36beta and 1.37beta allow up to 1.9v vcore
    TIP: color coded ram slots are different than other 939 boards. Slots 1&2 are the ones nearer to the CPU and are dual channel
    TIP: use HTT multiplier 4x up to ~260 and 3x up to ~290
    TIP: use the + and - or PgUP and PgDn keys to change the htt speed, DO NOT HIT ENTER
    TIP: check out the official msi 939 neo2 tips and tricks guide thread
    TIP: check out this 2 ram compability lists: 1 2
    TIP: In the bios press and hold Shift+F2 and then press ALT+F3 to unlock "hidden" features within the BIOS
    TIP: If anyone has trouble getting low temp readings downlaod the latest MBM5 (use the K8N NEO Plat mobo selection, click settings,temps,CPU,and choose the first option for Winbond Diode 2)
    TIP: if you experience problems with Antec Neopower and Truepower PSUs and also with PowerStream PSUs, try Bios 1.37 and turn the PSU off after you shut down, seems to help as well
    TIP: Dissable Agressive Timings in Cell Menu if you're going to overclock
    TIP: some people had close to no thermal compount on the nb, if your nb runs hot add some thermal compound (WARNING! might hurt your warranty)
    here is a guide that explains how to remove the nb heatsink

    TIP: The MAch II needs a new firmware to operate with this board get it here
    TIP: the vcore of winchesters seems to undervolt about 0.1V, max vcore for winchesters is 1.7V
    TIP: bios collection: 1.10, 1.20, 1.23, 1.25, 1.30, 1.33, 1.34, 1.35, 1.36, 1.37, 1.41
    TIP: beta biosses
    TIP: 1.37 modded bios by Trats 1 2
    TIP: lots of biosses, incl. beta and modded ones with changelogs
    TIP: bios flash guide
    TIP: windows tool bios flash guide
    TIP: newer boards, with S/N:K0411xxxxxx and S/N:K0410xxxxxx, seem to no longer have a bug with winchesters at low minus temps
    TIP: get Codered's A64 tweaker
    TIP: if you have BH-5 memory use the A64 tweaker and lower the timings as described here
    TIP: OC Guide for the msi k8n neo2 by XS GraveDiggA
    right click save as and open with wordpad

    TIP: corsair xl pro memory wont fit in the board with an xp-90 or xp-120 heatsink
    TIP: the newer northbridges (0410/0411) seem to need less vdimm to reach the same overclock in 1:1!
    TIP: If you are having trouble getting windows to boot from SATA ("Error Loading Operating System"), be sure to set SATA1/2/3/4 RAID to "ENABLED", even if you are not running RAID
    TIP: older bios revisions need the agp speed set to 67mhz to lock it
    TIP: disable aggressive chipset timings (performance mode) when ocing
    TIP: if you boot with trcd 2 vdimm seems to drop 0.1v, boot with trcd 3 and use corecell or codered's a64 tweaker to set it to 2 in windows
    TIP: bios 1.36b and 1.37 and modded variants seem to work best for bh5/bh6
    TIP: to reach 1.9v vcore set 1.5 in bios + 3.3%, then get in windows use core center all the way up, and finally you use NF3 Clock-gen add 0.05v...it's about like 1.9v
    TIP: turn off NV/ATI Speed Up in the hidden bios settingsas it ocs most cards gpu
    TIP: It is about TRFC timing , when u run ram dividers other than 200 it changes TRFC from 14 to lower values and it limits memory overclocking. If u set it by a64 tweaker to 14 then memory overclocks as good as in 200 divider.



    check out the ultimate 939 mobo guide here for informations, bugfixes and tips for all 939 mainboards




    EDIT:
    -saaya
    Last edited by charlie; 03-23-2005 at 07:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast cowpuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Holland,MI-USA
    Posts
    867
    Nice to see you back charlie. What cpu did you pick up to run in the MSI?

    The pic I have for the vcore mod, it's kind of hard to tell which leg of the chip it is on the one side. Charlie will you post some picks of the mods when you get them done. My board should be here Tues. Did you see the latest bios update gives HTT up to 450 I would be happy with a little 270-5 1/1 action.

    I was talking to kingpin and if this board will do some good FSB we are going to team up and put it under his chilly1 cascade, between the two of us we have plenty of memory, 2 9800XT PE's along with a TAP warranty at CompUSA, and a proven 3gz FX53 and if that doesn’t go 3.3+ it has a warranty at Newegg too.

    Mods: http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=41350
    http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40136

    I have a beta bios that Onepagebook gave me a link to here ya go http://www.e04hardware.com/W7025NMS.135
    Last edited by cowpuppy; 10-03-2004 at 01:18 AM.
    Cooler Master 110 case w/window and cold cathode/Sony E540
    I7 920@4.4Ghz 210x21 Megahalems
    Gygabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
    OCZ 6Gb DDR3 1600
    XFX ATI 5770 960/1400
    Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb
    Lite-On DVD RW iHAS220-08/Sony Optiarc AD-7190S
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    That's my 2008 Street Glide.

  3. #3
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI charlie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,274
    cowpuppy,
    I'm getting a 3500+ 90nm this week to hold me over 'til fx55. I'll try to use the OCZ DDR booster thingie, and maybe some khx3000 bh5 or some tccd... MSI really has a lousy reputation, but this MAY be the board to bring them back to the table! Onepagebook has had some good #'s! I don't have a good pic of vcore mod, only the one from kyosen, right?
    Sounds like you guys could definitely do some damage! Will be intresting to see
    Hopefully everyone will see fit to drop k8n neo2 nuggets HERE as they're discovered!

    C

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast cowpuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Holland,MI-USA
    Posts
    867
    Ya the vcore mod by kyosen. I can't tell on the left side which leg that wire is on, it kind of looks on the 2nd one down, maybe we could get hell-fire to mark up a pic for us.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cooler Master 110 case w/window and cold cathode/Sony E540
    I7 920@4.4Ghz 210x21 Megahalems
    Gygabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
    OCZ 6Gb DDR3 1600
    XFX ATI 5770 960/1400
    Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb
    Lite-On DVD RW iHAS220-08/Sony Optiarc AD-7190S
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    That's my 2008 Street Glide.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member d]g[ts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    pittsburgh
    Posts
    113
    Thats the same chip as on the gigabyte k8n 754 board. Should be 5th pin from top on right to ground.

    You guys find hidden bios options in bios 1.2? they are in cell menu, and accessed by hitting shift + F2 then ALT + F3 not sure yet what they do ,but was curious to see what others have found.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    382
    Nice info...
    I'll be getting that mobo next week, might be helpful

    Thank you very much cowpuppy for the vmod info !!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict `schr0et's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,300
    Just got the board today, really nice package. Slots 1&2 are top most or bottom?

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,590
    1&2 are nearer to the CPU

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    335
    I have been playing with the board for quite some time, and have kinda gotten to know its quirks.

    First...this board did not like my BH-5 Mushkin or PC3700EB. The BH-5 would only allow me to do about 210HTT, and the EB would run out quick at 218HTT. I picked up a gig of Crucial Ballistix PC4000 and it's humming at 260 x 10 1:1 with 2.85v. Run the RAM in slots 1 & 2, 3 & 4 will give DC...but it will cause instability.

    In order to get the AGP to work, you need to set the freq to 67. Only SATA ports 3 & 4 have working PCI locks.

    Within Cell Menu, press Shift F2 & ALT F3 to unlock "hidden" features within the BIOS. It has a couple of neat things, namely a "overdrive" function that works on any ATi or Nvidia card.

    I could not get the OCZ Booster to work properly in this board. It causes major instability, even though vTT was tracking right.
    Last edited by Frost_Bite; 10-07-2004 at 11:14 AM.
    Shock'D:
    CPU: Intel 2500k @ 5.0GHz
    Motherboard: ASUS MIVE
    RAM: GSKill 1866 @ 7-9-7-24
    Video: 2 x HD6970 @ 940/1425
    PSU: Corsair AX1200W
    Case: Custom TJ07
    Cooling: Cooled by EK and HWLabs

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Quote Originally Posted by cowpuppy
    Nice to see you back charlie. What cpu did you pick up to run in the MSI?

    The pic I have for the vcore mod, it's kind of hard to tell which leg of the chip it is on the one side.
    Pin 10 and pin 15.

    I got tired of waiting for DFI, so I've decided to join the MSi Neo2 club and just ordered one to go with some new OCZ LE platinum 3700 ram they just put out. I'll do the vcore mod and use a booster on it I guess.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Quote Originally Posted by d]g[ts
    Thats the same chip as on the gigabyte k8n 754 board. Should be 5th pin from top on right to ground.

    You guys find hidden bios options in bios 1.2? they are in cell menu, and accessed by hitting shift + F2 then ALT + F3 not sure yet what they do ,but was curious to see what others have found.
    What about Bios 1.3?
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member d]g[ts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    pittsburgh
    Posts
    113
    Options still there. also found in 1.3 that sideband addressing can be enable/dissabled after unlocking hidden options.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    beta bios 1.36 (heard maybe higher vcore options)

    http://www.maksys.biz/comcentral/showthread.php?t=128
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast cowpuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Holland,MI-USA
    Posts
    867
    A little 3d action this is with stock vid card clocks
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cooler Master 110 case w/window and cold cathode/Sony E540
    I7 920@4.4Ghz 210x21 Megahalems
    Gygabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
    OCZ 6Gb DDR3 1600
    XFX ATI 5770 960/1400
    Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb
    Lite-On DVD RW iHAS220-08/Sony Optiarc AD-7190S
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    That's my 2008 Street Glide.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Booster or vmod on the ram? Only 2.9V at 259 2-2-2-?
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member Alex08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    city of industry, CA
    Posts
    377
    xgman what kind of chips are the new ocz 3700 platinums packing? lol ocz wouldnt tell me, they said to ask a third party.
    new benching rig
    mobo: dfi ultra-d rev. AD0
    cpu: x2 3800+ @ 3.30 ghz
    cooling: VapoLi SS by jinu117
    stepping: LDBHE 0601 TPMW
    mem: khx pc3200 1gig bh5's
    psu: zippy emac 700watts
    gfx: evga 7800gt @ 650/1355
    hd: 36gb raptor + seagate 120gb


    single 7800gt 3dmark05 WR!
    3dmark05 - 10814

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict JNav89GT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,971
    the booster works fine with this board. Charlie or cow you can pm me for beta bios. I can give some tips too. I reviewed board, and also reviewed booster on this board . PS charlie, you will need bios 1.2 or newer to even boot with that 0.09U cpu :O
    it's never fast enough!

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast cowpuppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Holland,MI-USA
    Posts
    867
    Quote Originally Posted by xgman
    Booster or vmod on the ram? Only 2.9V at 259 2-2-2-?
    Booster 3.4v CL2-2-2-6-11-16 BH-5

    I had to turn LDT down to 3x to do any kind of OCing. Here is a bandwidth shot with my 3700EB@ 3.1v
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Cooler Master 110 case w/window and cold cathode/Sony E540
    I7 920@4.4Ghz 210x21 Megahalems
    Gygabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
    OCZ 6Gb DDR3 1600
    XFX ATI 5770 960/1400
    Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb
    Lite-On DVD RW iHAS220-08/Sony Optiarc AD-7190S
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    That's my 2008 Street Glide.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Quote Originally Posted by JNav89GT
    the booster works fine with this board. Charlie or cow you can pm me for beta bios. I can give some tips too. I reviewed board, and also reviewed booster on this board . PS charlie, you will need bios 1.2 or newer to even boot with that 0.09U cpu :O
    Which slot are your running the booster in? Slot 1?
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  20. #20
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Quote Originally Posted by cowpuppy
    Booster 3.4v CL2-2-2-6-11-16 BH-5

    I had to turn LDT down to 3x to do any kind of OCing. Here is a bandwidth shot with my 3700EB@ 3.1v

    Nice work. What timings on the EB's at 3.1v?
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  21. #21
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex08
    xgman what kind of chips are the new ocz 3700 platinums packing? lol ocz wouldnt tell me, they said to ask a third party.
    Same at the 3200 Plat rev 2. They are all samsung.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Quote Originally Posted by JNav89GT
    the booster works fine with this board. Charlie or cow you can pm me for beta bios. I can give some tips too. I reviewed board, and also reviewed booster on this board . PS charlie, you will need bios 1.2 or newer to even boot with that 0.09U cpu :O
    What is the max vcore and vdim with bios 1.36?
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  23. #23
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI charlie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,274
    WOW! This is great.... all kinds of good stuff here! I'm just getting ready to order a CPU today.... but I don't have an EXTRA A64 processor to boot with to flash BIOS.... I thought I read somewhere that it WOULD boot with only 1 stick of ram in there! And BTW, only a week or less for FX-55 right?


    C

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict JNav89GT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,971
    Quote Originally Posted by xgman
    Which slot are your running the booster in? Slot 1?
    farthest one from cpu
    it's never fast enough!

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict JNav89GT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,971
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie
    WOW! This is great.... . I thought I read somewhere that it WOULD boot with only 1 stick of ram in there! And BTW, only a week or less for FX-55 right?


    C

    I never heard of that but you may be right charlie. I didn't have to worry as I had a spare cpu.

    Also, TCCD oc's less on more voltage. I think that is why the OCZ I had didn't do well. This G.Skill I have is doing better at 2.6v vs higher.
    it's never fast enough!

Page 1 of 173 12341151101 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •