Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 59

Thread: Complete A64 Memory Divider Table

  1. #1

    Complete A64 Memory Divider Table

    Complete A64 Memory Divider Table

    Ps : It may not be 100% correct


  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    771
    umm... ok...

    cool


  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,191
    Thanks Oskar, nice bit of info :thumbsup:

  4. #4

    Re: Complete A64 Memory Divider Table

    Originally posted by OSKAR_WU
    Complete A64 Memory Divider Table

    Ps : It may not be 100% correct

    Any problem from this table ?

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,958
    Nice to see you again OSKAR. This will come in useful for my yuletide A64 system.


  6. #6
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Better off presenting a table of memory dividers.

    125 MHz is actually 117 MHz AFAIK
    No idea about the 143 MHz setting.
    in goes in steps of 1/12
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  7. #7
    Originally posted by CodeRed
    Better off presenting a table of memory dividers.

    125 MHz is actually 117 MHz AFAIK
    No idea about the 143 MHz setting.
    in goes in steps of 1/12
    I think you know DRAM frequency we set in A64 register is " Upper limit " of DRAM speed ...

    A64 memory controller will automatically choose a smallest interger divider(>4) to generate the DRAM clock from Core Frequency , and the DRAM clock will not be faster than the uppder limit ...

    Using an oscilloscope and check all the multiplier from 4~12 with the same register setting in A64 ...

    What I got are 200/183/166/150/143/125/100 may be the upper limit of DRAM speed when you set correspoding register setting in A64 ...

    Here is the divider table I got after using an oscilloscope to check the possible upper limit of DRAM clock ...

    What I can not be sure is the exact frequency besides 200/166.67/133.34/100 ...


  8. #8
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    wow....

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Western Pa
    Posts
    264
    That looks nice, but since I do not have an A64 yet can you please explain the chart. Memory speed, HTT setting , CPU ratio etc....

    Thanks
    Abit NF7-S V 2.0
    AMD XP 2500+ @ 2300+Mhz
    2x256 Twinmos (DC) BH-5
    WD 80 GB w/8MB Cache
    XFX Ti 4200-- 128MB
    Windows 2k Pro
    CPU watercooled by Flowmaster

  10. #10
    XS Local
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Close to Neweggs New RMA Center, CA
    Posts
    2,699
    Tagged..


    Opteron 175 Dual Core CCBWE 0544XPMW @2.3ghz 1.41v
    DFI SLI-DR Expert 11-25 Bios
    G-Skill 1gb GH UTT @210 2-2-2-5
    BFG 7800GT OC 485/1170 NV 5rev3
    74gb Raptor 300gb Maxtor 500gb Hitachi
    OCZ 520w SLI 3.46v 5.16v 12.64v
    Thermaltake CL-P0114 Big Typhoon
    3dmark01 3dmark05
    Heatware

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Scarsdale, NY, The United States of America
    Posts
    2

    Cool

    Sorry, but I need to ask the obvious question...

    Any way you can find out or tell us what happens to the RAM Divider for DRAM Freq. over 200 in BIOS? For example, if I use DRAM Freq. 225, 250, 275 or 300?

    Thank you for any information you can provide, and furthermore, thank you so much for your efforts, Oskar. Your LP nF3 is a true marvel of modern engineering!

    -Ed
    -Edward Ng, SPCR Reviewer

  12. #12
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    the cold place Temp: 5C
    Posts
    3,764
    You can't use a devidor less than your multiplier.
    For those of you about to post:

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Scarsdale, NY, The United States of America
    Posts
    2

    Red face

    Okay, suddenly I understand...

    I was thinking of the LDT setting, not the RAM ratio.

    Gotcha'; thanx.
    -Edward Ng, SPCR Reviewer

  14. #14
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    Quote Originally Posted by tictac
    wow....
    ditto!

    thx a lot oskar!

  15. #15
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    the cold place Temp: 5C
    Posts
    3,764
    Yeah, I love this divider table.
    For those of you about to post:

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,761
    where did the divider table go? Can someone post it again?
    Asus G60VX : Intel T9600@3.299GHZ : Nvidia GTX260M @ STOCK/ .9v

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Earth/France/Corrèze
    Posts
    390
    Quote Originally Posted by Çhrist0ph
    where did the divider table go? Can someone post it again?
    *.png8 139KB & 155KB
    Attached Images Attached Images
    learn A.K.A JP

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    258
    it simpler if u don want to remember tables.

    u multiply the (HTT/ram) ratio -inverse of ram:htt ratio in the bioses- with the
    cpu multiplier , and u aproximate to its closer bigger integer.that's ur memory divider,then u divide ur cpu mhz by this divider..

    example if multi is 8 ,HTT=240(=>cpu=1920MHZ) and divider "ram:htt" is 5:6 , u multiply 8*(6/5)=9.6 , then approximate to the bigger closer integer =.. 10 and divide the cpu clock by ths number ...=> ram clock is 1920/10=192mhz

    of course if u choose a half multi , the bios "approximates" it to the closest integer(bigger)

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by papatsonis
    it simpler if u don want to remember tables.

    u multiply the (HTT/ram) ratio -inverse of ram:htt ratio in the bioses- with the
    cpu multiplier , and u aproximate to its closer bigger integer.that's ur memory divider,then u divide ur cpu mhz by this divider..

    example if multi is 8 ,HTT=240(=>cpu=1920MHZ) and divider "ram:htt" is 5:6 , u multiply 8*(6/5)=9.6 , then approximate to the bigger closer integer =.. 10 and divide the cpu clock by ths number ...=> ram clock is 1920/10=192mhz

    of course if u choose a half multi , the bios "approximates" it to the closest integer(bigger)
    Wow, that IS a lot simpler.
    Athlon 64 90nm 3500+ 2.6Ghz @ 1.45v
    Coolermaster Hyper 6 & Stock Fan
    MSI K8N Neo2 939
    ATI X800XT AGP (stock)
    512Mb Twinmos CL2.5 RAM + 512Mb KHX PC3000 BH5
    160Gb Maxtor 8Mb Cache x 2
    Pioneer 108 16xDVD+/-R 4xDL
    Fortron 520W
    Tsunami Dream Black Dual 120mm
    SamsungX05
    Centrino 1.5Ghz
    768Mb RAM
    30Gb HDD
    DVD/CDRW

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Savannah, GA. The continually less "United" States of America.
    Posts
    38

    New guy wants to look good...

    I'm new here and to OCing... but I have a theory about pushing the Hz and Voltage on the system:
    I think that these tables indicate it off the bat, but what I imagine is that it really helps to keep the frequencies in as efficient a synch rate as possible...
    Looks like... a 4Ghz system would be most stable if one were to use RAM of as compatable a frequency... something like 400Mhz
    That way, the clock pulses have a pretty good chance of interlacing properly.

    From what I understand, AMD's FSB controls the RAM directly from the CPU, so it would make sense then to make sure that you can run compatible RAM. Seems like the system would be better of say at 4Ghz then at 4.1 with 400mhz ram in terms of stability.
    Now Raw speed... that's another thing
    Just an idea, I really have no expertise on this.

    BS?
    Last edited by FoxTrottZero; 11-08-2004 at 11:28 AM.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast p4z1f1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    827
    oskar, or somebody else:

    could you tell me the "interval" with which you calculated that all?

    because, i want to extend the table with clocks like 217/233/250/266/275/283/300MHz

    ----- AMD K6-2 300 "Chomper" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 300 MHz @ 2,200 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP 1700+ "Thouroghbred B" JIUHB 0306 MPMW /// 2400 MHz @ 1,900 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ "Barton" AQXEA 0327 UPMW /// 2450 MHz @ 1,850 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ "Barton" IQYHA 0401 XPMW /// 2500 MHz @ 1,750 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3000+ "Newcastle CG" xxxxx 0418 WPMW /// 2600 MHz @ 1,600 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3200+ "Winchester D0" xxxxx 0433 SPMW /// 2750 MHz @ 1,616 V -----

    ----- AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE "Callisto" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 4080MHz @ 1,375 V -----
    ----- AMD Ryzen "Zen" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// TBA @ TBA -----

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast p4z1f1st's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    827
    ok, got it:

    multiplier * your wanted FSB(HTT)-clock / wished divider (f.e. - 166 for the 6:5-divider or 133 for the 3:2-divider and so on) = a real-count

    you have to "up-round" the result - so, if it's 13,2 you have to say, it's 14 - if 12,6 it's 13, if 12,1 it's 13, too

    so, then:

    CPU-Clock / result of the first calculation = REAL RAM-CLOCK


    one full example:

    13 * 200 / 166 = 15,66 ---> = 16

    2600 / 16 = 162,5MHz



    ----- AMD K6-2 300 "Chomper" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 300 MHz @ 2,200 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP 1700+ "Thouroghbred B" JIUHB 0306 MPMW /// 2400 MHz @ 1,900 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ "Barton" AQXEA 0327 UPMW /// 2450 MHz @ 1,850 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ "Barton" IQYHA 0401 XPMW /// 2500 MHz @ 1,750 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3000+ "Newcastle CG" xxxxx 0418 WPMW /// 2600 MHz @ 1,600 V -----
    ----- AMD Athlon 64 3200+ "Winchester D0" xxxxx 0433 SPMW /// 2750 MHz @ 1,616 V -----

    ----- AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE "Callisto" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// 4080MHz @ 1,375 V -----
    ----- AMD Ryzen "Zen" xxxxx xxxx xxxx /// TBA @ TBA -----

  23. #23
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    isnt it funny that it goes to 5ghz cpu speed but only 200mhz memory speed? ^^

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    258
    i have some ''objections'' tο the above table

    it needs to be clear enough, what exact every ratio is,e.g. 166/200=5/6 , but for the not common ones (183,143) , is more ..misty

    the 183/200 what should be? 183.3333333/200 which means 11/12 ??? ,should be 9/10 as dfi says in the bios??? , or 10/11 ???
    From the table , we can find some multis that are in the ''edge'' to change for different ratios (9/10, 10/11, 11/12) so the rounding could be different ,and IF , we assume the table is correct we might find the right one.

    --from now on will be LONg post

    for 10x multi(CPU) 10/9 gives 11,1111-> 12x ram multi
    11/10 gives 11 -> 11x
    12/11 gives 10.9-> 11x

    for 19x , 10/9 =21.1111-> 22x
    11/10=20.9 -> 21x
    12/11=20.73->21x

    for 20x , 10/9=22.2 ->23x
    11/10=22->22x
    12/11=21.81->22x

    for 21x , 10/9 =23.3->24x
    11/10=23.1->24x
    12/11=22.9->23x

    for 22x , 10/9=24.4->25x
    11/10=24.2->25x
    12/11=24->24x

    so.. from the table and the calculated ram mlutis (for cpu 10x,19x,20x) we can easily see, that the 10/9 is unacceptable, so 11/10 or 12/11

    but...for 21x multi =4200MHZ clock , for 183mhz ram setting ,the table says 182.61MHZ =..23x ram multi as for 11/12 ratio

    and for 22x =4400mhz >> , >> 176mhz, as for 11/10 ratio..!!?? whats happens here??of course IMO , the correct ratio is 11/12 as for 183.33333333/200

    doing the same thoughts in propotion for the 143mhz divider , i think -and seems to be confirmed the 5/7 ratio ,

    2 more observations.. :

    1)all the mem dividers for half multi dividers, are ''calculated"-oscilloscoped from the above table, like the half multis do exist, but... we all think that they are just a trick to give more flexibility.example from the table : 6.5x cpu multi , 5/6 ratio (should be =rounded to 7*1.2=8.4=..9x ram multi) ,but it gives 6.5x1.2=7.8=..8x ram ratio.Also note that for 1:1 setting the half multis are normally up-rounded .. so may that mean that the half multis DO EXIST when not using 1:1 htt:ram setting???
    2) the cpu multies <5x seems to be emulated using 5x multi , as a consequense the 4x multi 1:1 gives only 160mhz!!
    Last edited by papatsonis; 11-14-2004 at 07:08 AM.

  25. #25
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    0.5multi bug....

    Oskar wu can you fix it?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •