MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29

Thread: ABIT AV8 s. 939 vdimm and vcore

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299

    ABIT AV8 s. 939 vdimm and vcore

    Hi there, anyone xtreme tried the mod made by Kyosen?
    Did the 3.3+ direct to vdimm and it worked like a charm....3.45V vdimm read at mosfet and in BIOS, but only 1.46V VTT. Did the VBT mod but dont seem to make it work.

    EDIT: oopps forget to ask if any got some info for the vcore mod?

    Please help Hell-Fire, STevil, Opp. etc etc...
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    does the vtt really matter. I know the IC7 Max 3 suffered when vtt tracked way too low but I think that board was more in the 1.26 range vtt.

    How are the fsb oc's and do you have any pics of that direct 3.3v mod????

    I am interested

    thanks
    it's never fast enough!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    livermore,ca
    Posts
    327
    I have figured out a vcore Mod But have not tried it yet.. the circuitry is Very similar to the AN50R Vcore, but will be doing some tests first.

    Now where is info on this Vdimm Direct 3.3V Mod?? I am very interested in it..

    When I get it working, I will post pics of the Vcore Mod..

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299
    I can soon post some pics of the 3.3+ to vdimm mod. Its working perfect on the av8 but no screen on the a8v.
    Need a vtt mod....Made the vtt mod but no go!
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299
    This is the vbt and vddr mod done by KYOSEN, spoke with him and dont think it is testet. I did the vtt mod but no raise in the vtt. Do you guys think that vdimm and vbt mods are both needed for making it work?

    Can any of you having a av8 post what you get when reading the resistor below the place where the original resistor for the vbt mod is?

    resistor below
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    livermore,ca
    Posts
    327
    well, I was going to do the Mods but just found a hairline Crack in my Mobo that will sometimes not allow it to power up.. Needless to say, this will be my last Abit Mobo, as I had to get 3 AN7's before I could find 1 that would Post (do not think it was Abit's fault on those though, the supplier kept sending me used Mobo's as new)..

    But the Vcore Mod I came up with was a 20K pot from Pin 10 of U5 (right in front of the ATX Connector) to ground. I took resistance measurements of the pins on the chip and they are almost identical to the AN50R which is what this Mod is..

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299
    did you come up with that mod or did you try it out?

    hag6br can you read the resistors value, the one below the place where white/orange wires are connected?....please


    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  8. #8
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New-Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    3,710
    Ifyou do a drect power mod, I think its normal that the VTT dosnt go along w/ the Vdimm no?

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    livermore,ca
    Posts
    327
    Originally posted by GomerPyle
    did you come up with that mod or did you try it out?

    hag6br can you read the resistors value, the one below the place where white/orange wires are connected?....please


    The resistor are as follows:

    one next to Marking of Pin 1 is a 0 ohm
    The next one up is a 10K
    Rest on that side of chip are 0 ohm

    But anybody have a 1/2 ATX case I got royally fed up with the Mobo and broke it in half found a hairline crack running through the Mobo that was not allowing it to power up..

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    I dont know if you guys ever worked this out or not.

    If not, what is printed on the actual regulator chip?

    W83303D or W83304D??

    Once we know that, the Vdimm and Vtt will be an easy mod.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    livermore,ca
    Posts
    327
    Originally posted by Hell-Fire
    I dont know if you guys ever worked this out or not.

    If not, what is printed on the actual regulator chip?

    W83303D or W83304D??

    Once we know that, the Vdimm and Vtt will be an easy mod.
    It is a Winbond w83303D.. But I don't need it anymore as I switched to an Asus A8V Dlx. The other People though may need it..

  12. #12
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    whoa.. my name is in this thread, lol
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    737
    So is their any thing I can do to help get an AV8 vdimm mod going ??

    I just picked up a rev1.1 and am starting to kinda like the board,,,,just 2.8vdimm wont cut it for Ballistix.

  14. #14
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    345
    My AV8 Vddr/Vbt mods above should work.
    At least, two of my friends have succeeded.

    Please turn VR slowly until voltage changes.
    At beginning, nothing may happen, but once
    reached the point, Vddr varies quickly.
    So please turn slowly and never give up

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    does anyone else in this thread have the low 1:1 ram clocks(ie less than 210mhz ram before 1:1 craps out despite ram) and a 245HTT limit for 3d stability??????
    it's never fast enough!

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    737
    Originally posted by JNav89GT
    does anyone else in this thread have the low 1:1 ram clocks(ie less than 210mhz ram before 1:1 craps out despite ram) and a 245HTT limit for 3d stability??????
    Not here.

    Try setting the ht down to 800 or 600.

    Left at 1Ghz 3d craped out on me at 230 1:1

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    737
    Originally posted by kyosen
    My AV8 Vddr/Vbt mods above should work.
    At least, two of my friends have succeeded.

    Please turn VR slowly until voltage changes.
    At beginning, nothing may happen, but once
    reached the point, Vddr varies quickly.
    So please turn slowly and never give up
    I dont understand the mod above?

    Why do you use all 3 legs of the POT ?
    And is the Vbt realy nessary?

    I just would like more vdimm

    Thanks

  18. #18
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    1,270
    oh no. not another poked vtt circuit. these abit engineers need a good spanking. so far these boards are wrecked. abit kv8-max3 rev 1.2, kv8-pro all rev, ic7-max3 and now the av8. the origional kv8-max3's were fine but the new ones are broken (i tested both)

    maybe our only hope is that the dfi's work and that ocz gets into the mobo business

  19. #19
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    345
    Hi Blue078,

    > Why do you use all 3 legs of the POT ?
    --
    Because it's more stable and effective, I believe.

    Usually, Vddr(Vbt) FB pin of W833** is connected to
    Vddr(Vbt) directly or via small resistor.
    So, "putting larger resistor between Vddr point and FB pin" is
    one method.

    But if internal resistance of W833** FB pin is very high,
    voltage dropping may be very low(because of no sufficient
    electric current), so we can't cheat W833** effectively.

    In 3 legs using case, we can feed desirable low voltage to
    FB pin with center leg of POT, so we can get higher Vddr(Vbt).

    This explanation above is mere my thought.
    I'm not a professional of electric circuit, so actual
    behavior of Vddr circuit may be more complex,
    but anyway my moded AV8 gets higher Vddr and Vbt

    > And is the Vbt realy nessary?
    --
    In AV8 case(and in many boards with W833**, I believe),
    Vbt doesn't follow Vddr.
    In my experience of IC-7, regulating Vbt as half of Vddr
    helps running higher FSB/memory clock, so I also moded Vbt.
    Vddr circuit and Vbt circuit is indepent in AV8, so if you don't
    want Vbt-mod, just neglect it, please

    Thanks

  20. #20
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    345
    Additional caution!

    I wrote in my mod-image:
    "POT for Vddr-mod is sensitive, so maybe
    500-ohm POT is more suitable, but not confirmed."
    But It seems 1k-ohm POT is safer and 500-ohm may be
    dangerous rather than suitable
    So I recomend using 1k-ohm POT for both Vddr & Vbt mods.

    Thanks

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    737
    Thank You for shareing you thoughts kyosen.

    I would prefer to only mod vddr. {if this will work}

    So if you please could bear with me, while trying to get this set in my mind

    Tell me if this is correct, on the vddr POT you have the gray wire connected to the center leg of the POT?

    And one last question, have you tested this to actuly raise vdimm ?

    Thank You for your time.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Originally posted by skate2snow
    Ifyou do a drect power mod, I think its normal that the VTT dosnt go along w/ the Vdimm no?

    This depends on the board and its circuit for Vtt

    Many boards I have done a Vdimm = 3.3v Rail mod to has had the Vtt track to 1/2 Vdimm regardless of voltage on Vdimm.

    Is everyone set on this boards mods now??

    Kyosens mods should work perfectly.

    I dont know what the value of the resistors are that he removed, but I want to clarify something that I noticed in his pics. When he says to turn the VRs all the way to max, meaning to short the connections, that isnt max resistance, that is zero resistance. I think he meant to say that, but english isnt his natiuve language....am I wrong there Kyosen??

    If the resistors you removed were 0 ohm resistors, then the VRs would need to be set to 0 resistance before soldering into place.

    If so, then I agree that a 500 ohm, or even 200 ohm, VR would be more than sufficient for both mods. The voltage will not budge much until after a few turns, but will then start to climb quickly per turn.

    Can someone verify the value of the resistors that is removed so I can edit this if needed.
    Last edited by Hell-Fire; 08-12-2004 at 09:50 AM.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    Originally posted by Blue078
    Not here.

    Try setting the ht down to 800 or 600.

    Left at 1Ghz 3d craped out on me at 230 1:1
    I have tried 800ht divider. I still can't run 1:1 even though my ram passes memtest86+ at 245 1:1 at 3:2:3:8(PC3500EB) and it will run 1:1 on Asus A8V at 245mhz. Also, I can't run 3d past 245htt or it's unstable. Think rma'ing and getting a different board will improve things?
    it's never fast enough!

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    737
    Originally posted by JNav89GT
    I have tried 800ht divider. I still can't run 1:1 even though my ram passes memtest86+ at 245 1:1 at 3:2:3:8(PC3500EB) and it will run 1:1 on Asus A8V at 245mhz. Also, I can't run 3d past 245htt or it's unstable. Think rma'ing and getting a different board will improve things?
    It might?
    The rev2.0 of the Asus A8V is out, I'm woundering if it's a better boasrd than the Abit ?

  25. #25
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    345
    Hi,

    > I dont know what the value of the resistors are that
    > he removed, but I want to clarify something that I noticed
    > in his pics. When he says to turn the VRs all the way to max,
    > meaning to short the connections, that isnt max resistance,
    > that is zero resistance. I think he meant to say that, but
    > english isnt his natiuve language....am I wrong there Kyosen??
    --
    You are right, Hell-Fire.
    I meant short connections at start-up.
    If my memory serves me right, the value of resistor removed
    from Vbt circuit is 0-ohm.
    The opposite one from Vddr is not 0-ohm, but short connection
    works as making voltage lower, I think, so no problem probably.

    I've heard from my friend that using 500-ohm at Vddr-mod
    gives broken-down of the POT... it means mobo's death
    Using 500-ohm at Vddr-mod worked fine in IC-7 case,
    but it's no good in AV8 case, it seems. So be careful, please!

    I'll check the value of removed resistors later.

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •