Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A8V (Questions and important information you should know before buying)

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    12

    Angry A8V (Questions and important information you should know before buying)

    Current System Setup:

    Chasis - Lian Li V100
    Power Supply - Enermax 470w Quiet PSU
    Mainboard: Asus A8v
    Memory: Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 (2 Gigs)
    HDD 1 - Fujitsu 15k U320 + Adaptec 29320A-R
    HDD 2 - WD 250GB
    DVDRom - Nec 2500A (Gonna put the DL firmware on)
    Vid Card - Ati Radeon x800 Pro (not gonan mod the 16 pipes)

    Okay So first off -- The Motherboard doesn't detect the proper timings.

    Second - I have 4x512 meg dims of this super corsair memory, but my Sisoft Memory tests are like 5000, because of the 2T/1T memory nonsense. I'm not even really overclocking this setup, but it is a MUST to have at least 5900-6000 Sisfot Memory Scores....

    With 1 gig of memory everything is fine, with 2 gigs there's a good 20 % performance decrease in memory bandwith.

    What do I do? Get 2x1 gig sticks of OCZ 3-3-3-7 ?

    Or is there some special trick to get higher bandwith scores ?

    Thank you very much in advance...

  2. #2
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,275
    Yeah, getting 4 x 512mB of DDR to play nice will be a task.
    Do you have the memory set to run 2:1 (DDR400) And if the board doesn't detect the right timings, just adjust it manually. 1T/2T memory nonsense? Did you just try disabling the 2T command? Those new OCZ EB sticks run just fine in the 512mB size, email the OCZ guys and ask them about 4 x 512mB.

    C

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    12
    Yeah, well the problem with the 939 and the A8v (and maybe with all via chipsets) is that you lose performance by populating all 4 dimm banks. With 2 dim banks, the Corsair runs fine... So I was thinking about getting two 1 gig DIMMs. (OCZ)

  4. #4
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,275
    if you have all these stability and capacity issues, you should have gotten a fx-53/940, sk8v and 2 x 1gB Corsair ECC Reg dDR3200. Stable as a rock.

    C

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    12
    I built a system with a Sk8v + 940. It is rock stable.

    The new 939 + A8v has been just as stable. I choose the 939 performance for its newer featueres, and I am happy with the decision beside the problem with populating four dimms.


    I would greatly appreciate some advice regarding how to have a 939 setup with 2 gigs of low latency memory and not have to sacrifice the memory bandwith....

    Buy 2 1 Gig Chips of OCZ ? Corsair ? ECC ?

    What does one do ? Now I have 4 512 megs of 2-2-2-5 Corsair, and if I run them all together I have to sacrifice memory bandwith by disabling 2t in the BIOS

  6. #6
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,275
    Like I said, I'd e-mail the OCZ guys and ask if it will work...

    C

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for the advice... I'm gonna email OCZ right now and ask them if they can help out...

    If anyone in the community has 2 gigs of low latency memory working at full bandwith - PLEASE let me know ASAP....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •