Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 230

Thread: Guide: Power Supply Sense Wire Modding

  1. #26
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    304
    Originally posted by Hell-Fire
    Definitely use a DMM when adjusting the VRs...never trust the bios for an accurate reading on any voltage.
    I second that... a while ago, I trusted BIOS after doing a vdimm mod and thought that I'm running safe 3.02V... it turned out my memory actually got 3.11V, which scared me at that time (now I run 3.2V 24/7, times have changed )

    DFI NF4 Ultra-D @ 300HTT | A64 3000+ Winchester @ 2.4GHz 1.61V | 4x256MB BH-5 (HyperX+CorsairXMS) @ 240MHz 2-2-2-5 3.1V | Club3D X800XL ViVo @ 452/540 | XP-90 | 92mm Tornado | Silencer5 | Enermax 460W | 2k1: 30419

  2. #27
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    433
    Originally posted by Hell-Fire
    Definitely use a DMM when adjusting the VRs...never trust the bios for an accurate reading on any voltage.
    Is it possible to measure the core and the +12V rail voltages with a DMM when the CPU is running under load?

    Thanks.
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  3. #28
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Originally posted by NoX
    Is it possible to measure the core and the +12V rail voltages with a DMM when the CPU is running under load?

    Thanks.
    Yes sir. Check the 12v rail by sticking the red probe into a molex connector (plugs into hard drives, fans, etc) slot that has a yellow wire in it, and the black probe into a slot with a black wire in it.

    To check the core, I am supposing you mean Vcore (CPU), then you need to check any Chokes and FETs that are around the cpu socket.

    Be careful not to cause a short circuit.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  4. #29
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    433
    Thanks Hell-Fire for the quick reply. I have just a few more questions. Please be patient with me, I am a mech engineer messing around with electrical devices.
    I checked the +12v rail an it fluctuates between 11.9 and 12.2 volts. The vcore droips by .07-.08v under load. Now what would be the benefit of modding the PSU and increasing the 12v? Will this stabilize the vcore?
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  5. #30
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    may help some.. but if your rails are fluctuating it may be better to get a better PSU.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  6. #31
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Agree with STEvil, and hav another option to consider.

    Yes, sometimes modding the rail will help to steady her out a bit.

    You need to check to see if the exhaust air is warm or not. If so, you should consider changing out the stock fans for something with higher CFM. The higher the temps get inside a psu, the more the output suffers and stability.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    304
    Did the mod a couple of days ago, works like a charm. 3.6V is safe for 24/7 use, isn't it?

    I can confirm that the mod works without the fixed resistor on an Enermax 460W btw

    Oh yeah, I did the noobish mistake to solder to the wrong ground wire - I used the one that goes to the mobo instead of the one that goes back to the PSU how stupid of me. Still works though, as we all know - all ground wires are connected... multiple times :P

    DFI NF4 Ultra-D @ 300HTT | A64 3000+ Winchester @ 2.4GHz 1.61V | 4x256MB BH-5 (HyperX+CorsairXMS) @ 240MHz 2-2-2-5 3.1V | Club3D X800XL ViVo @ 452/540 | XP-90 | 92mm Tornado | Silencer5 | Enermax 460W | 2k1: 30419

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    south of heaven
    Posts
    433
    Indeed my Allied 500W PS is definitely warm during the day and I noticed that at night, when it cools down, I can push the OC further. Better CFMs may help but probably not that much because the room air temp rises over 30C (California’s summer hell). However, I'll get some better fans, it will help anyway. I am tempted to get the Fortron 530W but I am afraid that it will end up with even worst performance because of its case made of steel (the Allied is made of aluminum). Hmmm, maybe I should figure out a way to watercool the PSU. In fact, I think that what I really need is a vdroop mod for the mobo. I did a lot of research but I couldn't find anything about it. I only hope that Hell-Fire might come up with something about that using his omega skills.
    Thanks for the suggestions.
    Regards
    Asus P4C800ED P-M 730@2.8 7700Cu
    2X1GB OCZ - ATI X800XT AIW - OCZ PS 520W

  9. #34
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    279
    Did all of your three Mods hell-fire, it was my first time of solder something....

    And as it semms it worked very well

    Have the
    3.3@3.5
    5@5.3
    12@12.4


    Bios only shows 12.3v at 12v rail, but my DMM shows 12.4v!
    Under load only 12.23 in bios but sill 12.40 with DMM?Dmm shows NO Fluctations. Only between 12.37-12.42
    Last edited by Flib; 07-15-2004 at 11:07 AM.

  10. #35
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Happy it worked out for you.

    I would ignore what the bios is saying the flux is and rely on your DMM instead.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  11. #36
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    279
    Ok! My Protection on the 3.3 rail is already on 3.8v....
    But 3.6v will be enough I think.

    That was an exellent guide! Thank you!
    Only negative was that it costed so much time *lol* A really marathon-mod as you would say ^^

  12. #37
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    85
    One stupid question is teh Voltage in the Molex equal to the one that the ATX connector sends to the MBO?

    Just checking cause I'm having a debat with a friend of mine at teh moment he claims that theres a difference and that teh readings that you get forom the Multimeter in the Molex are differnt from those in teh ATX.
    Death is just a state of mind!

    DFI LanPartyUT nF4-UltraD, R.AD0 NBw.TR HR05-SLI+Glacial tech 92mm fan
    Venice 3000+, NBBWE 0601 (255×9) GPMW TT Sonic tower + noiseblocker 120mm,
    2×512MB Corsair 3200XL TCCD+BP PCB
    GeCube X1950XT,256MB, cooled by Zalman Vf700CU-water cooling under constuction
    Hitachi Deskstar T7K250, 250GB SATA II, 8MB cache
    Samsung SpinPoint S120 SP2504c 250GB SATA II, 8MB cache
    Seagate Barracuda 7 80GB, PATA, 2MB cache, 7200rpm in Metal Gear box
    BenQ DVD-1650, DL DVD-RW
    NEC ND-3520AW DL DVD-RW,
    Enhance ENS-0252A, EPS12V, 520W. moded to have a 120mm fan istead of the second 80mm. Ultra Monster
    Casetek 1018+120mm blowhole on top
    iiyama Vision Master pro 454

  13. #38
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Originally posted by Jesus
    One stupid question is teh Voltage in the Molex equal to the one that the ATX connector sends to the MBO?

    Just checking cause I'm having a debat with a friend of mine at teh moment he claims that theres a difference and that teh readings that you get forom the Multimeter in the Molex are differnt from those in teh ATX.

    There will/may be some difference, but we are talking about in the area of the hundredths place here. My molex shows 12.30v and the ATX shows 12.28v. Same for the 5v and 3.3v rails.

    The molex connectors will be slightly higher than the ATX connection.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  14. #39
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    85
    OK, Cause MBM is reading 11,98 w. 1,375 VCore and 11,86 w 1,75 Vcore while the Multimeter gives ~12,3, it fluctuates more teh f.a., teh Antec 350W but compesates it with higer woltages.
    Last edited by Jesus; 07-16-2004 at 05:56 AM.
    Death is just a state of mind!

    DFI LanPartyUT nF4-UltraD, R.AD0 NBw.TR HR05-SLI+Glacial tech 92mm fan
    Venice 3000+, NBBWE 0601 (255×9) GPMW TT Sonic tower + noiseblocker 120mm,
    2×512MB Corsair 3200XL TCCD+BP PCB
    GeCube X1950XT,256MB, cooled by Zalman Vf700CU-water cooling under constuction
    Hitachi Deskstar T7K250, 250GB SATA II, 8MB cache
    Samsung SpinPoint S120 SP2504c 250GB SATA II, 8MB cache
    Seagate Barracuda 7 80GB, PATA, 2MB cache, 7200rpm in Metal Gear box
    BenQ DVD-1650, DL DVD-RW
    NEC ND-3520AW DL DVD-RW,
    Enhance ENS-0252A, EPS12V, 520W. moded to have a 120mm fan istead of the second 80mm. Ultra Monster
    Casetek 1018+120mm blowhole on top
    iiyama Vision Master pro 454

  15. #40
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    279
    Same Problem, MBM5 is showing other volts and they fluctate a lot more then the ones from the multimeters.

    But can you say that the volts on the molex from multimeter and the ones of the atx connecter are equal under load?

    Cant believe that I have nearly no fluctation on the Molex Connecters!

    I have got an idea... what about checking the reading points on the mainboard by multimeteR? I think the mainboard tries to measure these points too und shows them in bios!

  16. #41
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    85
    The winbond chips measure the voltages, I have a voltage drop of ~0,03-0,05 on load.
    Death is just a state of mind!

    DFI LanPartyUT nF4-UltraD, R.AD0 NBw.TR HR05-SLI+Glacial tech 92mm fan
    Venice 3000+, NBBWE 0601 (255×9) GPMW TT Sonic tower + noiseblocker 120mm,
    2×512MB Corsair 3200XL TCCD+BP PCB
    GeCube X1950XT,256MB, cooled by Zalman Vf700CU-water cooling under constuction
    Hitachi Deskstar T7K250, 250GB SATA II, 8MB cache
    Samsung SpinPoint S120 SP2504c 250GB SATA II, 8MB cache
    Seagate Barracuda 7 80GB, PATA, 2MB cache, 7200rpm in Metal Gear box
    BenQ DVD-1650, DL DVD-RW
    NEC ND-3520AW DL DVD-RW,
    Enhance ENS-0252A, EPS12V, 520W. moded to have a 120mm fan istead of the second 80mm. Ultra Monster
    Casetek 1018+120mm blowhole on top
    iiyama Vision Master pro 454

  17. #42
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Yes, check them on the board as well as the ATX connector. Be careful not to cause a short circuit.

    MBM reads them off the board.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    279
    measured on the molex with dmm, on the board with dmm und noticed what mbm5 is saying - here are the results (couldn#t do it for 3,3V,don't know the reading point on my board - an35n ultra)

    Molex: 12,40
    Board: 12,32
    MBM5: 12,30

    Molex: 5.30
    Board: 5.24
    MBM5: 5.30

    this is in idle mode! Cant give any results under load atm, because my system isn't stable! (Motherboard isn't working properly)

  19. #44
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    The AN35N boards are notoriously hot natured.

    Heat could be keeping you from being stable. I would check the SB, and the FETs to see if they are getting hot.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  20. #45
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    279
    mosfets are ok but sb is getting really hot. Cant hold my finger on it for more than 5 seconds

    Noticed a strange thing:
    When i don't plug in the 12V Connector to the board, MBM5 only shows 11,8 and DMM 12,0V on board! Why so low? Thats a drop of 0,4Volts in IDLE Mode!

    This board sucks! Looking for an Infinity or an Abit

  21. #46
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Well, when you unplug that connector, you are without 2 12v inputs.

    You are on the right track with either the DFI or Abit.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  22. #47
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    8

    Question

    My friend,

    This mod it serves to my thermaltake font, this one TT420AD, i have that modification of 3.3 sense lines, in now i want mod the 12 and 5 v lines too.
    I´m braziliam man, my interests is vmods, hardware and mods.

  23. #48
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Slovenia [SI], Central Europe
    Posts
    5
    Hi!
    I'm about to vmod my Antec TP430. Will be this ok:
    10ohm resistor + 1kohm VR ----> 3.3v line
    22ohm resistor + 2kohm VR ----> 5v line
    47ohm resistor + 5kohm VR ----> 12v line

    Thanks for answers!

  24. #49
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Engineering Lab - NCSU
    Posts
    3,098
    Yes, that should work as well.

    Be aware that starting with the lower resistance VRs will boost all the lines above spec and you will not be able to get back to spec rails if you so desired.

    That is mainly a point of interest if you are wanting to run the 5v and 12v rails within 10% of spec. Some drives do not respond well to the high 12v rail.

    I would recommend using a 5k VR on both 5v and 12v rails.


    I like my women the way I like my processors...naked.
    I am not the HellFire that writes bios files. I work strictly on voltage modifications.

  25. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Slovenia [SI], Central Europe
    Posts
    5
    Allright, 5k for both it will be. I hope this is the best possible combination, what do you think?

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •