Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 412

Thread: WPCREDIT tweaks for the A64

  1. #51
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Pedro, CA USA
    Posts
    687
    Sweet, cant wait

  2. #52
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    up
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  3. #53
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by cpulloverclock
    up
    Give me a few more hours ... its written but untested, and I am still at work

  4. #54
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    then good afternoon

    I'm sleeping
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  5. #55
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    At last, I have finished the first beta version of A64Tweaker.

    Heres a sample screen shot:



    This is Version 0.1 and is still quite rough, but it works
    I have only tested this on an AN50R + C0 stepping 3400+ (S754), but it should still work on any S939, S940 or CG stepping chip.

    Download a64tweaker_V01.zip (Thanks to ragnarok for hosting this for me)

    This first cut displays all the bit field values, including the reserved ones. At some point I would like to work out sensible names for each of these reserved settings so feel free to work out what they do.

    Just remember this is a beta release, so I will be fixing up the know bugs and adding any features/setting that people feel are good. Just PM me or drop a note in this thread.

    The above screen shot shows some good settings, but I am sure people will work out better ones.

    Happy experimenting.

    ==============================================

    Installation
    --------------

    1. Unzip the a64tweaker_V01.zip file to a directory.
    2. Run a64tweaker.exe ... thats it

    On the first run the proggie will setup the legacy IO drivers. This sometimes fails, but dont worry, just execute the program a second time.

    Known Bugs
    ----------------

    1. First execution may fail to load the IO driver.
    Workaround: Run a second time.

    2. Doesnt always load the registers values upon startup.
    Workaround: Hit the refresh button.

    3. No error checking what so ever.

  6. #56
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    St-Hyacinthe,Quebec
    Posts
    399
    thx Codered!!!

    work fine here
    Last edited by Boogotop; 06-22-2004 at 04:37 AM.
    Xtreme Parson Russell Terrier Breeder

    Core I7 920@ 4Ghz
    Asus P6T
    Adata 3x2gb DDR3-1600
    eVGA 9800 GX2

  7. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76
    On Chaintech ZNF-250 works fine.
    Thx...
    /edit
    3400+ CG MPMW @2,6ghz (1,7 volt)
    S754
    Last edited by //mAr; 06-22-2004 at 05:31 AM.

  8. #58
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Pedro, CA USA
    Posts
    687
    Been testing it on my ga-k8n pro and A64 3000 C0, works great so far.

    Thanks very much Codered


    EDIT: You definitly dersevered your sticky man, right on..............wrote this down here cause I didnt want to mess this thread up too much. Remeber people, dont mess up a sticky with a lots of spam.
    Last edited by Shroomalistic; 06-22-2004 at 05:42 PM.

  9. #59
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Glad to hear its working on other rigs

    Could you guys edit your posts with the type of CPu you have

    C0/CG stepping
    S754/S940/S939

    Just want to make sure it work on all revisions of the A64. If it doesnt work on all revisions then I'll have to query the CPU ID and adjust some of the options.

  10. #60
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Finland/KSNK
    Posts
    29
    a64 3200+(CG, L2 512)@2.66G
    ADA3200AEP4AX_CBASC0411WPBW
    K8N

    Work excellently


  11. #61
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    excellent

    what are the best timings and settings for

    max asynch latency
    read preamble
    idle cycle limit
    dynamic idle cycle counter
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  12. #62
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    it works perfectly with a CG core
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  13. #63
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Eastern USA
    Posts
    1,912
    duronbird, what could you get before you used this?

    by that, i mean max OC, ram timings, and super pi.

    i just wanna know exactly how much this helps.

  14. #64
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    St-Hyacinthe,Quebec
    Posts
    399
    3400+ CG here
    Gigabyte K8N
    Xtreme Parson Russell Terrier Breeder

    Core I7 920@ 4Ghz
    Asus P6T
    Adata 3x2gb DDR3-1600
    eVGA 9800 GX2

  15. #65
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    200 a 205 with 2*BH-5 =

    1.5 ----------------- 16x
    7 ----------------- 64bit
    9 ----------------- disable
    2 ----------------- enable
    2 ----------------- disable
    5 ----------------- 7x
    2 ----------------- 4ns
    2 ----------------- 4.0ns
    1 ----------------- 16clks or 64
    1 ----------------- disable
    133MHz 7.8µs---- 200
    1


    230 and more :

    1.5 --------------- 16x
    7 --------------- 64bit
    12 --------------- disable
    2 --------------- enable
    2 --------------- disable
    5 --------------- 7x
    2 --------------- 5ns
    2 --------------- 5.0ns
    1 --------------- 16clks or 64
    1 --------------- disable
    133MHz 7.8µs--- 200
    1
    Last edited by cpulloverclock; 06-22-2004 at 08:13 AM.
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  16. #66
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Wow this program kicks ass!!!!! Now it only needs an option to apply these settings every bootup

  17. #67
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    edit

    ras to ras delay = reserved 001b = 1T
    min ras active time = 0011b = 3T

    I would like to save my settings with this prog..
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  18. #68
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    Originally posted by HKPolice
    Wow this program kicks ass!!!!! Now it only needs an option to apply these settings every bootup
    lol... that is to much to ask for i think...
    coz we need to save it on CMOS

    CodeRed... excellent job.... congrats

    CodeRed... try read the cmos data.. u can access it with 8 bit mechanism...

    Address Port: 70h
    Data Port: 71h

  19. #69
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by HKPolice
    Wow this program kicks ass!!!!! Now it only needs an option to apply these settings every bootup

    Yes, I was thinking about that too.

    Next version will have a save/restore settings option. I will also make a simple console application that can restore settings at startup.


    I will wait about a week before releasing the next version. That way all requests can be incorporated.

    @tictac
    What can I expect to find in the CMOS data .. will the contents be BIOS specific?

  20. #70
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    not sure either.... but i'm pretty sure they save the data in there
    when we power off...

    I tried tweak my cmos but ended with CMOS Checksum error...

    Anyway if u can load it when windows boot up that will be nice to GL

  21. #71
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    cordered, u can do the same think for the I875/I865 chip?
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  22. #72
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by cpulloverclock
    cordered, u can do the same think for the I875/I865 chip?
    I am not familiar with the 875/865 chipset registers. If you can supply me with the info then I can write another proggie for that ... testing might be a bit hard though since I dont own an intel board.

    I could test on this ty DELL box that I have at work ... it needs some tweaking ... 2.4GHz that does superpi 1M in 1min13sec

  23. #73
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    Originally posted by CodeRed
    I am not familiar with the 875/865 chipset registers. If you can supply me with the info then I can write another proggie for that ... testing might be a bit hard though since I dont own an intel board.

    I could test on this ty DELL box that I have at work ... it needs some tweaking ... 2.4GHz that does superpi 1M in 1min13sec
    what do u want exactly? I dont know any tweak
    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  24. #74
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    I doubt these kind of tweaks would yield much for a P4 setup since the northbridge is a bottleneck between the CPU and ram, therefore slightly tighter ram timings would barely even show up in benches.

    Add to that the fact that P4's netburst architecture doesn't benefit from low latency ram as much as A64, and the overall gains will be next to nothing.

    Of course, no one can be certain until they try

  25. #75
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    BTW, the 2T command rate doesn't seem to work with my C0 stepping A64... I try to enable it, and it just goes back to disable after pressing set. I don't think this is a bug with your program though since I tried modifying it with wcpredit before, and it did the same thing. Any reason for this?

Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 12345613 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •