Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 29101112131415 ... LastLast
Results 276 to 300 of 412

Thread: WPCREDIT tweaks for the A64

  1. #276
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by HKPolice
    No probs:
    As you suspected

    2x512MB (double sided) in slots 1 & 2
    contiguous mapping

    that means no interleaving
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  2. #277
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    As you suspected

    2x512MB (double sided) in slots 1 & 2
    contiguous mapping

    that means no interleaving
    What do I look for to indicate interleaving?

    How does it affect overall performance?

  3. #278
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by IvanAndreevich
    There is an Interleave driver for old VIA chipsets (PIII, K6) which enables memory interleave. So I guess there IS a way. It requires a restart, though.
    If it can be done via Driver, I think WPCREDIT should be able to do the same thing without causing windows to crash?

  4. #279
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by HKPolice
    If it can be done via Driver, I think WPCREDIT should be able to do the same thing without causing windows to crash?
    On the A64 you have to shutdown the DRAM controller whilst programming the DRAM CS & Mask registers. These control interleaving. Also once the interleaving is enabled the pyhsical memory map gets changed, so windows would be totally screwed.

    There may be a way to do it from a DOS program (all running from cache), then jump into a bootstrap routine which bypasses the BIOS mem setup and loads windows, but its a lot easier to do it from the BIOS.

    Checking for interleave is a bit messy, the DRAM CS and Mask registers tell the story. Get 26094.pdf from the AMD web site and read pages 71-79. It explains how these registers work. The easiest way to determine if the banks are interleaved is to check if the Base addresses for each consequetive bank are offset by 8 bytes.
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  5. #280
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Damnn, i couldn't even begin to comprehend what bits to be looking for

    Could you please make some kinda prog to select upto 8way interleave? It should work with all A64s I assume?

    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    On the A64 you have to shutdown the DRAM controller whilst programming the DRAM CS & Mask registers. These control interleaving. Also once the interleaving is enabled the pyhsical memory map gets changed, so windows would be totally screwed.

    There may be a way to do it from a DOS program (all running from cache), then jump into a bootstrap routine which bypasses the BIOS mem setup and loads windows, but its a lot easier to do it from the BIOS.

    Checking for interleave is a bit messy, the DRAM CS and Mask registers tell the story. Get 26094.pdf from the AMD web site and read pages 71-79. It explains how these registers work. The easiest way to determine if the banks are interleaved is to check if the Base addresses for each consequetive bank are offset by 8 bytes.

  6. #281
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by HKPolice
    Damnn, i couldn't even begin to comprehend what bits to be looking for

    Could you please make some kinda prog to select upto 8way interleave? It should work with all A64s I assume?
    If I could make a program to select the interleave I would. But unfortunately I belive it can be done from within windows.

    Eventually, I will add a mem interleave display to A64 Tweaker. At least this will show you your mem configuration.
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  7. #282
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    Untill such time as Code Red can incorportate that bit into A64 Tweaker, RightMark Memory Analyzer v3.4 appearently shows interleaving status on my msi 250gb.
    If Worms carried .44's Birds wouldnt fuk with them. Arm Everyone on this stagecoach.

  8. #283
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1
    is there a way to disable the 1T on the athlon 64 3200+ with C0 stepping?

  9. #284
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    no, im afraid there isnt.
    If Worms carried .44's Birds wouldnt fuk with them. Arm Everyone on this stagecoach.

  10. #285
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by DEI Rocks
    Untill such time as Code Red can incorportate that bit into A64 Tweaker, RightMark Memory Analyzer v3.4 appearently shows interleaving status on my msi 250gb.
    Where does it show that?
    nvm, found it

    Do the DFI or MSI boards have an option to select how much interleave there is?

  11. #286
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    20
    I havent found the option in the bios of my dfi or msi 250gb boards.

    I would like to direct an inquiry to someone like Oskar.
    If Worms carried .44's Birds wouldnt fuk with them. Arm Everyone on this stagecoach.

  12. #287
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    569

    Smile

    FOR ALL:

    Everyone may use Central Brain Identifier tool for memory tweaking:



    site: http://cbid.amdclub.ru
    link: http://cbid.amdclub.ru/files/cbid74b.zip
    Last edited by VVJ; 12-23-2004 at 01:22 AM.

  13. #288
    Xtreme 3DMark Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4,480
    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    A64 Tweaker is used to get the most out of your A64 by allowing you full control over all the useful memory settings. Originally I wrote this because my AN50R BIOS was so lacking in memory timing options. Only the latest DFI BIOS allows such fine control over your timing options (amazing how similar the new DFI BIOS options are to those inA64 Tweaker ).

    The ultimate goal is to have the tightest memory timings at the highest possible freq ... a good target is 2-7-12-2-2-5-2-2-1-1 (really need BH5 for this), but dont worry if you cant hit such aggressive values. Start at something like 2-10-13-2-2-6-3-3-2-2 and work your way down testing at each step.

    I used SuperPi and Pifast to test the effectiveness of each change to my timings. Its best to choose a proram that really stresses memory and gives good systematic results (3DMark is a pain to tune since it varies from run to run).

    I cant tell everyone what their best timings will be since it varies from RAM module to module. Some sticks work with agressive vaues others do not and you are better off with relaxed timings and higher FSB. You have to test your own sticks and see what works best for you.

    Attached is a screen shot showing the values I get the best 3DMark, SuperPi and PiFast times with. My Kingston BH5 sticks run up to 274-277 MHz with these settings @ 3.6V.

    PS Dont worry about the extra Link settings in V0.5XT for now ... I am still working on it

    w00t shaved a second off superPI im at 37s now at 235x10 with your timings in the screenshot except max async latency is at 5ns instead of 6ns, is this good? comp locks if I set that to 4ns. also that 13 is set to a 12, locks if set to 11. My goal is to get superPI to less than 30 seconds at 238x11=2.62GHz, some dude gets 31s with his stock 3000+ so I got a long way to go still. bartons dont do as well, my friend has 38s at 2.6GHz on his barton, is this a bad or good number
    3000+ Venice 240x9=2.16GHz(ondie controller limit) 2x512mb patriot tccd ram
    9700pro at 325/310 runs all games buttery smooth!

    9700(8 pipe softmod, 128m) at 410/325 23821 at 325/310 21287 at 275/270 19159
    9500(4 pipes, 128m) at 420/330 18454 at 275/270 13319
    9500(8 pipe softmod, 64m) at 390/310 19201 at 275/270 16052
    9500(4 pipes, 64m) at 400/310 16215 at 275/270 12560
    3dmark scores with Ti4200 and Ti4800se
    Ti4200 at 340/730 19558 at 300/650 18032 at 275/550 16494 at 250/500 15295
    3dmark scores with older gpus
    Ti500 at 275/620 14588 Ti200 at 260/540 13557 MX440 at 380/680 11551

  14. #289
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by Geforce4ti4200
    w00t shaved a second off superPI im at 37s now at 235x10 with your timings in the screenshot except max async latency is at 5ns instead of 6ns, is this good? comp locks if I set that to 4ns. also that 13 is set to a 12, locks if set to 11. My goal is to get superPI to less than 30 seconds at 238x11=2.62GHz, some dude gets 31s with his stock 3000+ so I got a long way to go still. bartons dont do as well, my friend has 38s at 2.6GHz on his barton, is this a bad or good number
    Max async latency of 5ns is very good.

    If you want a 30 sec superpi score, you'll need approx 2766 MHz (11x251) from a S754 1Mb chip. Thats a tough ask on air.
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  15. #290
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Melbourne Aus
    Posts
    1,314
    Is it really necessary to reinvent the wheel?

  16. #291
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    Max async latency of 5ns is very good.

    If you want a 30 sec superpi score, you'll need approx 2766 MHz (11x251) from a S754 1Mb chip. Thats a tough ask on air.
    Max async has quite some impact on performance, but there are two cases it has to relax:

    1. Running more than 1 stick
    2. Running at async

    In my case my Hynix DT D43 can set max async to 7ns at 265MHz 2.5-3-3 for best performance. However once running 2 sticks, 8ns is a must for stability, and Vdimm won't help at all.

    And at any non 1:1 ratio, 7ns is no go.

    With only 1 stick, setting to 8ns won't let me go any higher.
    Setting Max async to Auto in Lanparty BIOS is equal to 7ns in my case, for both 1 or 2 sticks.

    Refresh rate (Tref) will have a healthy boost when set to 166 MHz 1.95us, but it might not apply to all memory.

    My $0.04
    Last edited by ahfung; 10-03-2004 at 12:11 AM.

  17. #292
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2,161
    geforceti4200
    As codered said you probally need around that speed on a 1mb.. But it has to be on 1:1 - Otherwise there´s no chance..
    so: 238x11=2.62GHz would not get you anyway near 30sec.. more likely 34 or 33

    And you friends barton is a bit slow -- I guess he´s using a fsb around 230 to get that result
    Last edited by bias_hjorth; 10-03-2004 at 09:57 AM.
    "M-I-A"

  18. #293
    Xtreme 3DMark Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4,480
    "Refresh rate (Tref) will have a healthy boost when set to 166 MHz 1.95us, but it might not apply to all memory."


    it says reserved value to me, does this mean unavailable or something? I also have the option to set ras-cas delay to 1, but im too chicken to try, should I? its also a reserve value and if it doesnt freeze will this help any?
    3000+ Venice 240x9=2.16GHz(ondie controller limit) 2x512mb patriot tccd ram
    9700pro at 325/310 runs all games buttery smooth!

    9700(8 pipe softmod, 128m) at 410/325 23821 at 325/310 21287 at 275/270 19159
    9500(4 pipes, 128m) at 420/330 18454 at 275/270 13319
    9500(8 pipe softmod, 64m) at 390/310 19201 at 275/270 16052
    9500(4 pipes, 64m) at 400/310 16215 at 275/270 12560
    3dmark scores with Ti4200 and Ti4800se
    Ti4200 at 340/730 19558 at 300/650 18032 at 275/550 16494 at 250/500 15295
    3dmark scores with older gpus
    Ti500 at 275/620 14588 Ti200 at 260/540 13557 MX440 at 380/680 11551

  19. #294
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by ahfung
    Max async has quite some impact on performance, but there are two cases it has to relax:

    1. Running more than 1 stick
    2. Running at async

    In my case my Hynix DT D43 can set max async to 7ns at 265MHz 2.5-3-3 for best performance. However once running 2 sticks, 8ns is a must for stability, and Vdimm won't help at all.

    And at any non 1:1 ratio, 7ns is no go.

    With only 1 stick, setting to 8ns won't let me go any higher.
    Setting Max async to Auto in Lanparty BIOS is equal to 7ns in my case, for both 1 or 2 sticks.

    Refresh rate (Tref) will have a healthy boost when set to 166 MHz 1.95us, but it might not apply to all memory.

    My $0.04
    On my (now dead) AN50R / 3400+ running async didnt affect my mem timings. I could run max async = 5ns up to 250 MHz and 6ns up to 276 Mhz. Although I did get the same problems with two sticks @ 6ns. For stability with two sticks I needed to use 7ns.

    I have never observed any significant performance boost by changing Tref.
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  20. #295
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    718

    codered

    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    Gents,

    I've just found a way to really boost your A64 performance using WPCREDIT.

    The A64 mem controller registers can be accessed using WPCREDIT using Bus #0, Device #24, Function #2. There are 4 main registers that I have been playing with:

    0x88 DRAM Timing Low
    0x8C DRAM Timing High
    0x90 DRAM Configuration Low
    0x94 DRAM Configuration High

    The timings registers set all the DRAM timings params (as you'd expect), but there are many more than most BIOSes will show you. The best performance is obtained using:

    Column Address Strobe # (CAS) = 2.0
    Row Cycle Time (Trc) = 8
    Row Refresh Cycle Time (Trfc) = 12
    RAS# to CAS# delay (Trcd) = 2
    Row to Row delay (Trrd) = 2
    Min RAS Active Time (Tras) = 5
    Row Precharge Time (Trp) = 2
    Write Recovery Time (Twr) = 2
    Write to Read Delay (Twtr) = 1
    Read to Write Delay (Trtw) = 1

    I normally write this as 2-8-12-2-2-5-2-2-1-1 for convenience ... not that rememering all those values is easy.

    To set the mem timings to the above values change the registers as follows:
    reg 0x88 to 0x02522311
    reg 0x8C to 0x00000B00
    (use 32 bit mode in WPCREDIT)

    I have only begun to experiment with the Config registers but some of the things I have tried are setting the Asynchronous Latency Value (controlled by reg 0x94). Normally my BIOS sets this to 7ns, but when I dropped it to 4ns there was a healthy boost to my memory performance. To do this set bits 0-3 of reg 0x94 to 0100 (binary) (4 for those who cant read binary).

    Just to make things more interesting, bits 22-20 of reg 0x94 control the DRAM speed (200, 166, 133, 100 Mhz). There are several reserved values, and I decided to try 110. Surprisingly this gave me a mem speed somewhere inbetween 200 and 166 MHz. This may be a 183 Mhz mem option I need to test some more to confirm these results.

    Oh, 2T is also easy to disable

    We no longer have to worry about BIOS updates, its all there in the DRAM registers. Over time I may write a simple windows app to set all this up in a user friendly fashion ... just need to find the time.

    Only thing I cant do is set the bank interleave. Doing so would reorder the physical memory locations ... not something I think windoze would be happy with

    Try it and compare your before and after benchies with something like pifast or superpi and you'll see the boost.

    ============================================

    V0.31 of A64 tweaker is now ready (win 64 bit compatible now)
    jump to this post
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...345#post505345

    or just download :a64tweaker_V031.zip
    do i have to be running w64 or can i do the tweek with wxp?
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  21. #296
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by eagle101
    do i have to be running w64 or can i do the tweek with wxp?

    A64 Tweaker works in Win2k, XP, XP-64, 2003, and 2003-64
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  22. #297
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    126
    I searched around for quite long and i didnt find anything regarding the Corsair Pc4400 (hynix -d5 IC's) and the setting we should use on them.
    Τhe question is how to tweak them to get a really high fsb OR get a really good score with tight timmings.
    My MOBO is a DFI Nf3 UT and i have a CO a64,so 1T only
    Any help would be greatly apreciated
    Last edited by Samael; 10-17-2004 at 03:43 PM.
    "If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?". A.Einstein

  23. #298
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    718

    codered

    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    A64 Tweaker works in Win2k, XP, XP-64, 2003, and 2003-64
    codered i was using the ati driver:6.14.10.6490,things were going way good
    due to zip drive problem i reformated,now the drivers are not on the sites the 6490?
    i didnt save it anywhere is there any magic you can due....
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  24. #299
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by eagle101
    codered i was using the ati driver:6.14.10.6490,things were going way good
    due to zip drive problem i reformated,now the drivers are not on the sites the 6490?
    i didnt save it anywhere is there any magic you can due....
    Just ask around or search the standard mirrors. I am sure someone around here has a copy ... I could do with a copy too
    X800Pro class 3DMark01 : 36670
    X800Pro class 3DMark03 : 16092
    Ti4200 class 3Dmark01 No 1 : 22213
    Super Pi 1M : S754 28 sec, FX53 25 sec
    HEXUS Pifast : S754/Prom 40.55sec, FX53 36.92sec

    Author of A64 Tweaker
    Co-author of NF2 Tweaker

  25. #300
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    718

    thank codered ill let u know when i find it

    Quote Originally Posted by CodeRed
    Just ask around or search the standard mirrors. I am sure someone around here has a copy ... I could do with a copy too
    thanks
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 29101112131415 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •