Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 412

Thread: WPCREDIT tweaks for the A64

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783

    Thumbs up WPCREDIT tweaks for the A64 (V0.2 available now)

    Gents,

    I've just found a way to really boost your A64 performance using WPCREDIT.

    The A64 mem controller registers can be accessed using WPCREDIT using Bus #0, Device #24, Function #2. There are 4 main registers that I have been playing with:

    0x88 DRAM Timing Low
    0x8C DRAM Timing High
    0x90 DRAM Configuration Low
    0x94 DRAM Configuration High

    The timings registers set all the DRAM timings params (as you'd expect), but there are many more than most BIOSes will show you. The best performance is obtained using:

    Column Address Strobe # (CAS) = 2.0
    Row Cycle Time (Trc) = 8
    Row Refresh Cycle Time (Trfc) = 12
    RAS# to CAS# delay (Trcd) = 2
    Row to Row delay (Trrd) = 2
    Min RAS Active Time (Tras) = 5
    Row Precharge Time (Trp) = 2
    Write Recovery Time (Twr) = 2
    Write to Read Delay (Twtr) = 1
    Read to Write Delay (Trtw) = 1

    I normally write this as 2-8-12-2-2-5-2-2-1-1 for convenience ... not that rememering all those values is easy.

    To set the mem timings to the above values change the registers as follows:
    reg 0x88 to 0x02522311
    reg 0x8C to 0x00000B00
    (use 32 bit mode in WPCREDIT)

    I have only begun to experiment with the Config registers but some of the things I have tried are setting the Asynchronous Latency Value (controlled by reg 0x94). Normally my BIOS sets this to 7ns, but when I dropped it to 4ns there was a healthy boost to my memory performance. To do this set bits 0-3 of reg 0x94 to 0100 (binary) (4 for those who cant read binary).

    Just to make things more interesting, bits 22-20 of reg 0x94 control the DRAM speed (200, 166, 133, 100 Mhz). There are several reserved values, and I decided to try 110. Surprisingly this gave me a mem speed somewhere inbetween 200 and 166 MHz. This may be a 183 Mhz mem option I need to test some more to confirm these results.

    Oh, 2T is also easy to disable

    We no longer have to worry about BIOS updates, its all there in the DRAM registers. Over time I may write a simple windows app to set all this up in a user friendly fashion ... just need to find the time.

    Only thing I cant do is set the bank interleave. Doing so would reorder the physical memory locations ... not something I think windoze would be happy with

    Try it and compare your before and after benchies with something like pifast or superpi and you'll see the boost.

    ============================================

    V0.31 of A64 tweaker is now ready (win 64 bit compatible now)
    jump to this post
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...345#post505345

    or just download :a64tweaker_V031.zip * linked fixed now *

    heres another dl link for those who have problems downloading the app: v0.50 XT beta or v0.31 final

    v0.60 Beta is up!

    _
    Last edited by saaya; 06-15-2005 at 05:45 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,036
    Excellent Finds there




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    507
    Nice find. Did you discover all these your self?




    They will fall at his feet....... But eBay @ZZHOLE still ripped me off!

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Melbourne Aus
    Posts
    1,314
    of course he did , he's worth his salt

  5. #5
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by LORD
    Nice find. Did you discover all these your self?
    I woudlnt call it discover ... just read the write AMD tech docs.
    This info has been right under our noses since day 1 of the A64 release.


    For those who want to disable 2T and dont have the option in the BIOs, just set bit 28 of register 0x90 to 0.


    looks like there may also be ways to improve the memory overclocks, not just the aggressiveness of the settings ... I'll get back on this one.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Berkeley/Stanford, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,075
    Awesome find bro!!!!!!!

    :thumbsup:

    can you see the light? is it shining too bright? can you see the light at the end of the tunnel, i know i do, i know its true.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    I get about 30MB/s faster in Sandra, not bad, but every bit helps I guess

  8. #8
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by HKPolice
    I get about 30MB/s faster in Sandra, not bad, but every bit helps I guess
    Sandra doesnt really reflect the gains .. try SuperPi, Pifast or check your 3dmark01 lobby scores

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Eastern USA
    Posts
    1,912
    sticky? something like this deserves it, or atleast to be combined in some a64 guide.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    382
    Sticky

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    I can only change these settings while running CPU/12, freezes while in 1:1, and the 183Mhz as well as the 4ns settings freeze as well... I guess I'm already at the limit of my chips/mobo

  12. #12
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by HKPolice
    I can only change these settings while running CPU/12, freezes while in 1:1, and the 183Mhz as well as the 4ns settings freeze as well... I guess I'm already at the limit of my chips/mobo
    Only set the DRAM timings registers then, 0x88 and 0x8C. The 4ns setting is bloody hard on your RAM. Above 250 MHz I have to use 6ns and thats with some fast BH5 at 3.6V.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Originally posted by CodeRed
    Only set the DRAM timings registers then, 0x88 and 0x8C. The 4ns setting is bloody hard on your RAM. Above 250 MHz I have to use 6ns and thats with some fast BH5 at 3.6V.
    Yes, I tried adjusting the timings @ 1:1 but no go.... only works when running with slow ram. Probably just the mobo or maybe the mem controller in the CPU.

    What board are u testing it on

  14. #14
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Mines an AN50R

    what mobo u running?


    Just a note:
    Some of the 'better' boards (eg K8N Pro with the right BIOS) allow you to change most of the timing values rom the BIOS. The only thing they dont (may not) change is the max latency and read preamble values. People with these boards dont need to change registers 0x88 and 0x8C. Just play around with register 0x94.


    Another note:
    read the "BIOS and Kernel Developers Guide For the Athlon 64" from .AMD. Its a damn good read and sheds the light on a lot of settings, not just for the memory controller. There may be a whole host of other tweaks that are possible ... just gotta start looking and testing.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    2,580
    Its funny how I got the 0x94 ram divider tweak to work only once (on GA-K8N F4, 166mode from BIOS)!? Now it just reboots or gives bluescreen.

    When it worked Sandra unbuffered went from 1620MB/s to 1725MB/s after I set the 20-22 bits from 101 to 110
    So it seems that this setting indeed adjusts the RAM divider.
    101 = 1620MB/s = 2310/14 = 165MHz
    110 = 1725MB/s = 2310/13 = 178MHz
    111 = 2050MB/s = 2310/11 = 210MHz

  16. #16
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by macci
    Its funny how I got the 0x94 ram divider tweak to work only once (on GA-K8N F4, 166mode from BIOS)!? Now it just reboots or gives bluescreen.

    When it worked Sandra unbuffered went from 1620MB/s to 1725MB/s after I set the 20-22 bits from 101 to 110
    So it seems that this setting indeed adjusts the RAM divider.
    101 = 1620MB/s = 2310/14 = 165MHz
    110 = 1725MB/s = 2310/13 = 178MHz
    111 = 2050MB/s = 2310/11 = 210MHz
    works every time on my board. I cant really see the usefullness of it ... unless your stuck between some odd HTT limit, CPU limit and mem limit.

    Shame it doesnt enable those 0.5x multis

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2,161
    uhh crasy nice.. glad someone toke their time to do the effort! very nice find codered
    "M-I-A"

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,378
    nice job
    Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
    Athlon XP 2800+ Barton @ 3200+ (200x11)
    Mushkin DDR400 BASIC 2*512mb
    Albatron GeForce 6600GT 128mb (Being Repaired)
    Samsung SyncMaster 730BF 17" (4ms RT, 600:1 CR)

  19. #19
    Xtreme Christmas Lighter
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    4,090
    Great work!





  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Pedro, CA USA
    Posts
    687
    Originally posted by CodeRed
    works every time on my board. I cant really see the usefullness of it ... unless your stuck between some odd HTT limit, CPU limit and mem limit.

    Shame it doesnt enable those 0.5x multis
    Have you tried crystal cpuid, it works great with the .5 multies for me.

  21. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Pedro, CA USA
    Posts
    687
    can one of you guys post a pic of your wpcredit, I cant seem to find what or where to change this value.

    EDIT: never mind, I figured it out. I had to change the device, never really used wpcredit before. so far its getting me stable at 230x10 but im not sure what the mem is at now. before I used to have to run it at a 166 to go to 230. I set what I think the mem divider is to 110 in wpcredit 0x94. So iguess thats the 183 divider or whatever.

    Thanks for the tips guys

    Shroomy
    Last edited by Shroomalistic; 06-20-2004 at 09:05 AM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    St-Hyacinthe,Quebec
    Posts
    399
    really good find here Codered!!!
    Xtreme Parson Russell Terrier Breeder

    Core I7 920@ 4Ghz
    Asus P6T
    Adata 3x2gb DDR3-1600
    eVGA 9800 GX2

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Holland,MI-USA
    Posts
    867
    Ok I've tried getting through this but I'm just not understanding how to work wpcredit. I get the devices set up using Bus #0, Device #24, Function #2. and 32 bit but I get lost after this not being able to find the registers reg 0x88 and the others. If someone would help me out with a rundown of what I'm doing wrong and a screenie would be great.
    Cooler Master 110 case w/window and cold cathode/Sony E540
    I7 920@4.4Ghz 210x21 Megahalems
    Gygabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
    OCZ 6Gb DDR3 1600
    XFX ATI 5770 960/1400
    Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb
    Lite-On DVD RW iHAS220-08/Sony Optiarc AD-7190S
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    That's my 2008 Street Glide.

  24. #24
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Pedro, CA USA
    Posts
    687
    ill try to help

    heres a little walk through, I just had to figure it out my self too.
    this is how I change my ram divider from 166 to 180 or something close to 180.

    Start wpcredit
    go to the edit tab and select device or press (ctrl+d)

    scroll down to pci bus : 0, device : 24, function :2 and double click on it.

    go to the veiw tab and select bit mod or 32 bits

    now look at the data it shows you, you will see the 90 on the left and the 00000004 on the top, that will equal 0x94 in the settings.
    click on the value where they meet and double click on it.

    on the bottom you will see a hex and a bin value. Each number in the bin value is a different bit. so in this case I was trying to change the bit 22-20 settings from 101 to 110. (22=1,21=0,20=1) so I change the 21 value to 1 from 0 and the 20 value from 0 to 1.

    Dont forget to hit set when your done.

    I hope this helps, I will look for the setting you are trying to change and post a couple of pics for ya.
    Last edited by Shroomalistic; 06-20-2004 at 10:30 AM.

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Pedro, CA USA
    Posts
    687
    Well for me, it does change the ram divider but it changes to a 200 not a 180. Not sure if there really is a 180 in there or not.

    EDIT: scratch that last coment, it does seem to be working. I was just able to bench at 240x10 with 22-20 set to 110.
    Last edited by Shroomalistic; 06-20-2004 at 12:31 PM.

Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •