Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: Asus A8V Delux Volt mods!

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22

    Asus A8V Delux Volt mods!

    I could not find a thread already (stupid search will not let me do A8V)

    Does any one know the vdimm mod for this board?

    On Futuremark forums jason57570 said this

    "vcore uses a ground sense circuit that feedbacks to the pin #7 FB so you have to fool pin #6 of sc2643vxts chip by "REMOVING" a resistor yes ya have to rip it off the board with tweezers next use 500-1k ohm resistor and start for 0ohms and work up to increae vcore..

    vdimm is pin #6 of LM324 chip with 50k VR and vdimm is PIN #5 of RT9173b chip "

    I have asked him about which chip (there is a few LM324 chips on the board) and asked to post pictures but have not had a reply yet.

    I thought i would ask on here as other people who are getting the board are going to want to give their ram more than 2.8v or 2.9v.

    Cheers..

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    1,112
    I believe this is the correct vdimm mod. Pin 6 to ground
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22
    Hi,
    Thanks alot for the picture!
    and i guess that pin 5 on that other chip to ground is for voltage reading?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    2,045
    some pics




    I love XS

    Road to CompTIA A+ (601, 602) and Network+ (N10-003) Certifications

    I want a Penryn 3.33G 12MB & quad sli Nvidia G92

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22
    So the pictures that pkrew and i posted for the Vdimm mod a wrong?

    From the pictures you posted there are 2 vcore mods and 1 vdimm mod?

  7. #7
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    1,126
    No, the pic you posted is right, too. Actualy the second pic cpulloverclock posted is the same vdimm mod you posted, only difference is that kyosen uses pin 11 of LM324 for ground, which is right, too.
    First pic is another method that can be used for vdimm mod, by replacing R422 with a trimmer.
    Third pic is the vcore mod for this board.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22
    Ok thanks, its just the 2nd picture there (the mod i have done other than different ground point) is called a vcore mod when it atcualy is vdimm...

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Has anyone gotten the TAM's method to work? (the 2nd one)
    Last edited by xgman; 06-18-2004 at 01:21 PM.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22
    I have used the TAMs method but for Vdimm and by grounding to a motherboard screw. I cant see how its ment to adjust the vcore like it says in that picture.
    Oh and for it to work i have the vdimm set to auto in the bios then adjust the VR and read voltage from the voltage point just next to vdimm chip.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299
    What resistor used for vcore mod? Can it work with a 10k vr set to max and then lowering will give higher volts?
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22
    If you are doing this
    http://219.113.251.125/c-board/file/A8V_Vcore-mod.jpg
    Vcore mod then you need 100 ohm VR

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    7
    mhh.. the mods looks nice...

    Which default overclocking options are given with de A8V with the current BIOS?

    Max. Vcore / Vdimm in which steps?

    HTT and Multiplier in which steps ?

    I haven't got the board yet...

    Best Regards from Germany...
    Symph

  14. #14
    THE ORIGINAL OC JEDI
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Field of Battle
    Posts
    10,275
    Originally posted by BTBJP
    I have used the TAMs method but for Vdimm and by grounding to a motherboard screw. I cant see how its ment to adjust the vcore like it says in that picture.
    Oh and for it to work i have the vdimm set to auto in the bios then adjust the VR and read voltage from the voltage point just next to vdimm chip.
    when you do the Vdimm this method, what's your MAX Vdimm available?? I used Kyoshen method and have max 3.15v available, then windows locks up and won't post until resistance is lowered...

    C

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    22
    Mine has no vdimm as i have to send the board back to get one with working locks.

    When i did have it tho the resistance was set so high that it only went up .1v over what ever i set it.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Rome Italy
    Posts
    86
    you are sure that this mod works?

    thnx

    wasky



  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Rome Italy
    Posts
    86
    thnx guys the mod works regularly, now the problem is a overcurrent protection for a vdimm beyond 3.15 volt

    some tips for this problem ?


    wasky

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    is there a cap mod like the gigabyte 939 board for the A8V????
    that would be best I think
    it's never fast enough!

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299
    when doing the cap mod the OVP gets you Tried it and afraid it did not work. Had 3.45V but no post.
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    Originally posted by GomerPyle
    when doing the cap mod the OVP gets you Tried it and afraid it did not work. Had 3.45V but no post.
    well that just stinks :O
    it's never fast enough!

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    299
    Kinda strange problem here: cant seem to make the vcore to work. Any HELP please? Soldered a 100ohm like on the picture but no raise in vcore....?
    Brian Hermansen...benching with Jacob Hansen
    3DMark01 42400 | Aquamark3 104762 | PiFast 34.58
    Running chilly1 cascade

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    hrm
    mine worked fine.
    maybe bad rheostat?
    it's never fast enough!

  23. #23
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    592
    Was any1 able to kill the OVP ?

    ... i needed at least 3,25v

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,972
    not yet.
    Hell Fire has Pkrew's board and if anyone could figure it out I would assume he could.
    it's never fast enough!

  25. #25
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    669
    Quote Originally Posted by GomerPyle
    What resistor used for vcore mod? Can it work with a 10k vr set to max and then lowering will give higher volts?
    i think you need to start with 0 ohm like BTBJP tells:

    vcore uses a ground sense circuit that feedbacks to the pin #7 FB so you have to fool pin #6 of sc2643vxts chip by "REMOVING" a resistor yes ya have to rip it off the board with tweezers next use 500-1k ohm resistor and start for 0ohms and work up to increae vcore..
    3dmark addict
    phase-change addict
    dirty benching addict
    tits lover

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •