Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 503

Thread: Well guess what this does?

  1. #1
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885

    Well guess what this does?

    Its Alpha...But we have a PR and final units ready to ship real soon.

    let me know what you think it does

    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    176
    - Increases Vdimm, or...
    - Tests RAM

    Close?

  3. #3
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    What would you hope it did?
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    176
    I hope it would do one fo this:

    - Increase Vdimm
    - Find maximum NB overclock
    - Test for RAM errors
    - All

    Edit: I've been stearing at the picture for like 20 minutes, nevermind if i post crap.

    BTW, BT, if you want, you can PM me telling me what it is. That way, you let everybody else guess.
    Last edited by enroscado; 06-12-2004 at 01:42 PM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Dublin, Ire.
    Posts
    242
    I think that it measures the Vdimm(the Volts are shown by the 2D dislpay) and propably increase it from the pot on the upper right corner.

  6. #6
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    It doesn't test ram...sorry on that one.

    It will help make vdimm mods a thing of the past though
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    176
    Originally posted by bigtoe
    It doesn't test ram...sorry on that one.
    It's ok, i'm not good at guessing.

    Originally posted by bigtoe
    It will help make vdimm mods a thing of the past though
    Neat.

    But...isn't that encouraging OCZ customers to void their warranties?

  8. #8
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Well yes and know..it works with other ram brands also..LOL
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    701
    Yes, I remember this product being talked about before. Looks promising, however people were worried it might slow the performance down clock to clock. What results have the tests yielded?
    Fastest A64 3400+ in the world running at a nice 3359.59mhz:
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=18225

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    176
    Originally posted by bigtoe
    Well yes and know..it works with other ram brands also..LOL

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,667
    * Big and might take up 1-2 ram slots
    * Performance ?
    * Expensive ?

    Other than that, might be promising...

  12. #12
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Well i told you it was Alpha..the final is a little different to this, and should only take 1 slot.

    The other unit we saw a few weeks back is not a patch on this...this unit will power 2 dimms and is NOT fed off a fan header which would blow in a matter of secs at extreme clocks.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .CA
    Posts
    873
    Looks to me like it displays the (ram?) voltage. Guess it also supplies voltage as well?
    If my answers frighten you, stop asking such scary questions...

    • Hush V2
    • Intel i7 4770K - XSPC Raystorm - Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 - Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1866 - 9-9-9-24
    • Zoltac Geforce GTX 780Ti - EK-FC780GTX Ti
    • SanDisk Ultra 480GB SSD - WD Black 1TB 64MB Cache
    • Custom Water Cooled Fractal Designs Define R4 - Antec HCP-1000 Platinum
    • EK Coolstream XTC 280 - Cougar CF-V14HB Vortex HDB - XSPC EX240 - Scythe GT AP-15
    • Dazmode Storm DDC 3.25 - AquaComputer Aqualis DDC 150 Reservoir

  14. #14
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Originally posted by Jrocket
    Yes, I remember this product being talked about before. Looks promising, however people were worried it might slow the performance down clock to clock. What results have the tests yielded?
    Well BH5 loves it m8... but you need to keep it cool . Also you may have a board with no vdimm controll at all..this will give it to you
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .CA
    Posts
    873
    I'm convinced Where can I get one
    If my answers frighten you, stop asking such scary questions...

    • Hush V2
    • Intel i7 4770K - XSPC Raystorm - Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 - Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1866 - 9-9-9-24
    • Zoltac Geforce GTX 780Ti - EK-FC780GTX Ti
    • SanDisk Ultra 480GB SSD - WD Black 1TB 64MB Cache
    • Custom Water Cooled Fractal Designs Define R4 - Antec HCP-1000 Platinum
    • EK Coolstream XTC 280 - Cougar CF-V14HB Vortex HDB - XSPC EX240 - Scythe GT AP-15
    • Dazmode Storm DDC 3.25 - AquaComputer Aqualis DDC 150 Reservoir

  16. #16
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bedfordshire, England
    Posts
    97
    Just tell us

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    565
    Originally posted by Cucumber
    Just tell us
    Um, he has done that already.

  18. #18
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Well i can post some more info.

    The unit is fully Patent applied for and has been for quite a while.
    It features vdimm control from 2.5 to 4.2v although we "may" limit the max a little lower.It reads applied voltage on the readout so you see 2.6 2.7 etc.It has full voltage filtering on the dimm so should actually allow the ram to clock higher.

    Most boards have a resistor divider network for VTT so this usually tracks ok with this unit, however the IC7 as we know doesn't so you would need a VTT mod on this board. We have had VERY good results with the voltage modules and they have allowed us to max every IC we have thrown at them on most every board.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  19. #19
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bedfordshire, England
    Posts
    97
    So how does it work? You plug it into one of the RAM slots, and then it changes the voltage to all?....Or you plug the RAM into the device ??

    Either way, looks wicked ...and if the RAM plugs into it, would it not also help the issue with onboard A64 mem controllers

  20. #20
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    more importantly post some ram oc'ing results with it
    ---

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    VIENNA
    Posts
    644
    up to 4v pleassssssse :p

    *drool *
    Overclocking made in Austria

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    701
    I agree with eminem... please!
    Fastest A64 3400+ in the world running at a nice 3359.59mhz:
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=18225

  23. #23
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Well Eva trust you to show up looking for benches..LOL

    Its 4.2V max at the mo but things may change..we will see.

    Results for me were i was able to hit 262fsb EB@2.5-2-2-5 on the P4C800E where i got 3-2-2-5 at 256 with 2.85V..so i maxed my dimms here.
    I had OVER ddr600 with 4400beta at 3.4V and my BH5 gained 6fsb over their last max on unmodded boards.

    I must stress my unit is Alpha and has no filtering on board so the new units will be a little better..i can and will mod my unit to full shipping specs so there will be more results soon.

    The unit does take one dimm slot..the ram plugs in the board as normal as if it didn't trace lengths would be a mile out and no voltage would help the dimm clock.

    The shipping units will be available for A64 boards also with the pot vertical etc so you should still be able to run 2 dimms.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  24. #24
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885


    Another pic for you guys...as you see its fed off the ATX line.Final product will be neater of course...
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    899
    So basically it plugs into an available dimm slot and overvolts to whatever u want for the remaining dimm slots?
    PII X6 1055T 14x272
    Gigabyte 890GX
    2x4 GB Gskill DDR3@4890
    XFX 7870

Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •