Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Andy's Freezer

Xtreme X.I.P.

Andy's Freezer

I've been perfecting my very own chiller for benching 3dmark, I have no tools and no experience but I wished to move on from cold air . My previous cold air results have been in the 0-10C range

http://www.aocb77.dsl.pipex.com/tempFeb1.jpg

but I'm getting too old to sit up at 3am in the morning with the room at that temp and wish to bench in summer with the BBQ going and a beer in hand at those temps. So I am going chillers for dummy's

You can see my first attempt here

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&pagenumber=24

Very inefficent, 26 hours to get down to -29C and then warms up in 2 hours to 0C which is still better than air but can be improved. With advice from this forum I have patched up my freezer to give me a watertight container so the coolant is in direct contact with the sides :-

This goes from 18C to -5C in 9 hours so a lot better, does -20C to -26C in a couple of hours. Not fantastic but there is over 40 litres in there. Might have to trim that back with further tweaks.

I was going to use 50:50 methanol / water mixture, but it was still too flammable, have gone for a gloupy glycol / water / methanol mixture .. poor old water pump .. Might have to buy another and have two inline, but will see how the testing goes.

Note my very black sealant on the tub, no leaks yet and is still fairly flexible at -26C, might be OK after all. Will test tonight with 80w load off my Peltier.

Regards

Andy

Xtreme Enthusiast
    What are the dimensions of that?

Xtreme X.I.P.
    Originally posted by KennethChong
    What are the dimensions of that?
    It's about 3cm x 3cm x 4cm because the orange beak sticks out .

Regards

Andy

X.I.P.
    I would not trust that res to hold ANY methanol. It is just too iffy and dangerous. Stay with glycol.