MMM
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: quick 3080 power question

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511

    quick 3080 power question

    Im getting a 3080 i have a seasonic focus 850w psu and i have a 1080ti with with a pci-e using connector 6 and 8 pin off one conncetor and i cant seem to find another pci-e cable in my cable bag so i was wondering if that will be sufficient for a 3080 dont i just plug both 8 pins off one connector into the new 12 pin adapter and plug it in on founders edition?
    i saw some aib cards have 3 pci-e connectors and since i dont have another pcie cable could i use a pci-e cable from a seasonic focus 650w power supply and mix it with the 850w one? would it work and be safe? same psu just different watttages.

    thanks in advance
    BTK is my initials if you were wondering.
    i7 8700K - GTX 1080ti -32 GB RAM - ASUS PG35VQ
    i5 8600K - GTX 1080 - 16 GB RAM - ASUS PG27UQ

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,823
    I would guess the good cards use the 12 pin or 3 8 pin and you want to run only cables directly from the PSU and not use the pig tails.

    You can order more cables from cable mods or the like. Make sure they are full 18 gauge and you should be good to go. It will look much nicer too without the pig tails. If you have to use one from a different psu use a multi meter and check the pin out or check comparability with cable kits and the model numbers.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    i looked my power supply its a fx 750 and the extra pcie cable i have is from an fx 650 seasonic unit would that work?

    so dont use a dual pigtail into the 12 pin?
    BTK is my initials if you were wondering.
    i7 8700K - GTX 1080ti -32 GB RAM - ASUS PG35VQ
    i5 8600K - GTX 1080 - 16 GB RAM - ASUS PG27UQ

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,823
    Dont do that. The pig tails dont change the max output of the 8 pin to the PSU. The only time it is OK to use the pig tails are with 6 pin or power restricted 8 pin like if you dont overclock or unlock the power. The 12 pin looks rated for 500W at the card so that is well over the 300W the PSU side socket and the cable is rated for.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    Dont do that. The pig tails dont change the max output of the 8 pin to the PSU. The only time it is OK to use the pig tails are with 6 pin or power restricted 8 pin like if you dont overclock or unlock the power. The 12 pin looks rated for 500W at the card so that is well over the 300W the PSU side socket and the cable is rated for.
    okay i messaged seasonic to see if the fx 650w pcie cable would work with the fx 750w i hope it would same psu just different wattage

    if i needed to order one im not sure what to look up on cable mod

    also i wont be overclocking the card
    BTK is my initials if you were wondering.
    i7 8700K - GTX 1080ti -32 GB RAM - ASUS PG35VQ
    i5 8600K - GTX 1080 - 16 GB RAM - ASUS PG27UQ

  6. #6
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,823
    Quote Originally Posted by BTK View Post
    okay i messaged seasonic to see if the fx 650w pcie cable would work with the fx 750w i hope it would same psu just different wattage

    if i needed to order one im not sure what to look up on cable mod

    also i wont be overclocking the card
    You cannot not overclock the card. The boost will do it for you until you hit whatever arbitrary wattage limit or heat limit. With the 12 pin the 8 pins will draw over the max if you use pig tails.


    Cable mods has a list

    https://cablemod.com/compatibility/
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    You cannot not overclock the card. The boost will do it for you until you hit whatever arbitrary wattage limit or heat limit. With the 12 pin the 8 pins will draw over the max if you use pig tails.


    Cable mods has a list

    https://cablemod.com/compatibility/
    which is why i would use the spare 650 fx cable with the 750 fx psu if it works so i asked seasonic

    are these the right one it says 750 focus plus gold but it says se rt series in model not fx so im not sure

    https://cablemod.com/products/?filte...rt-series-asus
    BTK is my initials if you were wondering.
    i7 8700K - GTX 1080ti -32 GB RAM - ASUS PG35VQ
    i5 8600K - GTX 1080 - 16 GB RAM - ASUS PG27UQ

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by BTK View Post
    which is why i would use the spare 650 fx cable with the 750 fx psu if it works so i asked seasonic

    are these the right one it says 750 focus plus gold but it says se rt series in model not fx so im not sure

    https://cablemod.com/products/?filte...rt-series-asus
    so seasonic responded and said the fx 650 cable with work the fx 750 and they will be annoucinng a new 12 pin cable that you will be able to buy soon and linked me to this for pcie cables

    https://www.btosinte.com/Seasonic-8p...S-862PCIeB.htm
    BTK is my initials if you were wondering.
    i7 8700K - GTX 1080ti -32 GB RAM - ASUS PG35VQ
    i5 8600K - GTX 1080 - 16 GB RAM - ASUS PG27UQ

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    163
    I saw a lot of recommendation on the net to not use cable branch or pigtail on PCie cable for 3080.

    If you use a single rail PSU, which is a lot now, isn't that won't be a problem ? since all cable is provided by the same rail anyway?

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,823
    Quote Originally Posted by Massive View Post
    I saw a lot of recommendation on the net to not use cable branch or pigtail on PCie cable for 3080.

    If you use a single rail PSU, which is a lot now, isn't that won't be a problem ? since all cable is provided by the same rail anyway?
    The connectors might have trouble doing that much power stable with the extra resistance. It is better to use 2 different cables from the PSU or a double cable like seasonic has with a double wide on the PSU.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •