X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Raid 10 on SSD

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514

    Raid 10 on SSD

    Long time no see.

    Throwing a new system together with ASUS Prime Z390-A. Chose it for 3 slots for folding cards and decent sound on board.
    Anyways is a onboard RAID worth throwing a few extra hard drives in for a RAID 10 or is a separate card a must ?

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,787
    If you are not booting to that I would do an in OS software solution. You wont have bad performance with the intel software raid, but you also would not gain much over doing it in windows or linux. Sata is so slow now that it is no issue for 4 drives.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    Yeah, hate to lose a slot on the board for a faster drive so stuck with SATA unfortunately.

    The switch from my old WD drives was quite substantial already, maybe i should just leave it as is.

    Not knowing what i was buying i went by name only and picked up a Kingston SA400S37 240 GB.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    Been doing some research and it looks as though these new SS devices have a much lower failure rate, maybe backup is not as needed as it once was.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,584
    Backup is always needed regardless of what RAID level you have.

    Why you want to use RAID10 anyways with the SSDs? Stick with RAID1 and a consistent backup plan. I use to always do RAID0 when I had duplicate SSDs since the "speed" whores said so. Now I see no real world difference in any workloads I do using WD Reds in RAID1 for storage and a SSD for OS/Programs.
    24/7 Cruncher #1
    Crosshair VII Hero, Ryzen 3900X, 4.0 GHz @ 1.225v, Fractal Design Celcius S36 AIO, 4x8GB GSKILL 3600MHz C15, 2x MSI 1660ti Armor OC
    Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe, 2x10TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win 10 Pro, Enthoo Luxe TG, SeaSonic Focus+ Platinum 850W

    24/7 Cruncher #2
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    24/7 Cruncher #3 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    I was looking for a performance edge, ordered 2 x 1 TB Crucial MX500 SATA 3 SSD's.

    New case says only 1 mount but I will figure something out when stuff starts arriving.

  7. #7
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,787
    SSDs dont have moving parts so you can double sided tape them.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    I recently built a SilverStone SG11 and was wondering why it came with some double sided tape. That case has ample storage but too small for my needs.

    I will post some pictures here if i can when its done.

    Can i just grab stuff of the hard drive and post it here ?

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,787
    Quote Originally Posted by jason str View Post
    I recently built a SilverStone SG11 and was wondering why it came with some double sided tape. That case has ample storage but too small for my needs.

    I will post some pictures here if i can when its done.

    Can i just grab stuff of the hard drive and post it here ?
    There is an attachment system in go advance, or you can post links somewhere like imgur
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    Thank you for your help.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    I thought these M.2 SSD fit into the PCIE x16 PCIE slots, reading up on the new manual turns out i was way off.

    There are two M.2 slots on the motherboard.

    Returning the Crucial SATA SSD and picked up 2 x WD Black M.2 modules and will use the second for backup.

    Sorry guys, not been keeping up. Promise to do more reading to get back into modern times here.
    Last edited by jason str; 06-04-2020 at 12:39 PM.

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,787
    You can put an m.2 NVMe in a 16x, 8x, or 4x with an adapter. Sata m.2 depends on the mother board, and using more than one m.2 in a 16x slot with adapter depends on the board too.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chicagoland U.S.A.
    Posts
    514
    Just got back from the UPS store to return those drives, if it was cheaper i probably would have kept it but no big loss.

    All of my old drives were WD Blacks plus 20 % off right now @ the Egg and good ratings according to passmark all should be good.

    Now the waiting.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •