MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cannot use turbo boost

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    567

    Cannot use turbo boost

    I have a dual X5670 system movieman helped me get together. Just a cruncher. Last month or so kept getting random shut downs. Super micro board logs indicated power and memory. Changed both. Was in a case that housed 6 disks using win7 pro. Decided to remove everything except 1 ssd drive and cd drive and installed ubuntu. I disabled everything in the bios and started enabling things one at a time to try find the issue. Ran fine with no hyperthreading and no turbo boost. Turned on hyper threading and ran a full day without issue. Turned on turbo boost and it died within an hour. Is it chip or motherboard? Its crunching fine right now with hyperthreading and no turbo boost. Crunching 21 out of 24 threads now. Appreciate any help.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    3,545
    I would try changing the motherboard battery.
    If that system came from Dave I would assume it has been around for awhile. I have had very strange things happen when batteries started acting up.

    Thanks to eagle101 - Big Eric, phase change monster for that tip which saved me a lot of headache one day.

    Its worth a shot anyway.

    Good luck !
    Last edited by Buckeye; 11-18-2019 at 04:27 PM.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    567
    Chips I got from MM, board i bought new. Did pull the battery. Still showed good but close to needing changing. X8DTI-F super micro. I'll change it to see what happens. Thanks

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,773
    Do you have the power saving settings on. You have to have speed step and c states enabled for turbo to work.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    268
    It dies means restart,BSOD? If turbo simply not kicking in, do as @zanzabar said. if it restart or give BSOD then might be hardware related or volts etc.
    Last edited by xpower; 12-26-2019 at 09:59 AM.
    [FSB<>BCLK]
    3930k@4.3Ghz 1.30v/4.5Ghz 1.35v full load 24/7 Lapped~gtx 1070Ti
    R4G Modded Bios 4901~Corsair 110GT+Ven-Pro 2.4Ghz 2x8Gb@2.4Ghz 1.65v C11~850Evo+970Evo 500gb~Win8.1X64~AX1200i

    SORRY FOR MY BAD ENGLISH

  6. #6
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    5,946
    My gut says motherboard, but just for fun can you test with another power supply?

  7. #7
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,336
    If you need RMA help poke at me, I have friends at SM
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    567
    Decided to re apply thermal past to see if that would help. Have scorch marks on both chips. Cleaned and re installed. Won’t even post now. Since this is real old technology, not going to waste any more time and money on it. I did buy a new psu plus replaced the battery on the motherboard. Still shuts off randomly. Starting to research a replacement. Thanks for all your replies.

    Last edited by bearcatrp; 01-03-2020 at 08:26 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •