Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456
Results 126 to 137 of 137

Thread: After a long needed hibernation

  1. #126
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Above mem clock/timings failed prime. Not surprising. It was from ryzen dram calculator which never worked on taichi x370 nor x399.
    tested repeatedly same 16k iteration same exact cores.



    Works on giga and more than likely asus since I think thats the brand the author uses.

    Taichis always been odd man out and the natural response is to run looser but...you would be wrong. Hashing out manual profiles now for the board. Might be usefull to some endusers. Seems all the memory profiles that i built on x370/x399 port right over so that should save a crapload of time.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by chew*; 11-24-2019 at 09:40 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  2. #127
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Trend continues cross vendor and all the way down to slacked 3200 mem speeds. Now ive swapped memory to gskill royals. if same outcome I think the chip may be dieing/degrading.

    If that's the case that's a first for me in 10 years, yet to damage a chip testing on air/water especially in a case where I have hardly even oced it.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  3. #128
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Finalized settings on the giga Aorus master. Included a screenshot with voltages and timings. I also took out my 15-15-15-35 3600 gskill kit tossed in a set of gskill royal 16-16-16-36 3600 in used the same identical settings and its currently 15 hours in passing prime so it appears bdie is bdie regardless of bin if settings are tuned well. The only other setting you might want to play with is ODT but its working so I have left it alone.

    I should also point out that I ran some aida and noticed interesting results when comparing both sets of memory. Seems we still don't have some access to some hidden timings that can effect performance as everything else was identical. I'll post those results up later.

    Also should point out in the 24/7 stability department on r1 I found less is more when it pertains to vdimm and the trend continues on r3. I wonder if this is what pilsy was experiencing on his aorus as 1.45vdimm passed with fan on memory and failed without. 1.4v passed without a fan.



    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  4. #129
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Ported settings to gskill royal = pass.

    Also locked frequency and retested aida and the anomaly went away so must have been a fluke with fluctuating cpu speed or maybe origin was doing something in background.





    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  5. #130
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    probably overkill but I ran hci 2000% coverage as well.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  6. #131
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    I explored a few things today as far as PBO goes and people claiming it never hits peak rated PBO speeds without some modifications.

    So first up we tested AMD overdrive creator mode auto overclocking.

    For all testing affinity was set to core 8. c05 = core 8 so this is not an idle core but a loaded core.

    32m pi 4.6 exceeded.

    cinebench could not exceed 4.6





    After finding an app (32m pi) that could exceed 4.6 I tested without AMD overdrive and just my memory tune.



    Armed with this info and just simply knowing AMD all to well from my experience of working with them for years I ran one last test with defaults loaded and no memory/NB clock.

    Nailed it. Just as they most likely tested and in a lightly threaded app as they claimed. Highest boost recordable is achieved at completely stock and I saw higher than I was able to screenshot.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by chew*; 12-10-2019 at 11:33 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  7. #132
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Taichi settings. 1.4vddr leave vtt auto.

    Ran overkill stability tests as usual.

    testing gskill royal 3600 to make sure settings port from 1 set to another now, post that up when its done.





    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  8. #133
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    new driver out for AMD vgas.

    old driver


    new driver
    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  9. #134
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,105
    I had the exact same finding with the 3700x and 3900x on the turbo. Also used Super Pi to validate my findings.
    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 3700X
    Asus x470 Prime
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon 5700X
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD Radeon VII

  10. #135
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,105
    Also, nice run.

    Here is my 3900x - Radeon VII Stock run on new driver.

    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 3700X
    Asus x470 Prime
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon 5700X
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD Radeon VII

  11. #136
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Forgot to post these up for the royals. settings ported fine.

    I went to my shop and stole my other set of 3600 out to test 4 dimm matched sticks operation.

    Haven't decided which is the culprit yet but so far no luck running even remotely tuned on taichi.





    Attached Images Attached Images
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  12. #137
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,017
    Quote Originally Posted by charged3800z24 View Post
    Also, nice run.

    Here is my 3900x - Radeon VII Stock run on new driver.

    Were you in game mode or legacy mode or manual OC? @13xxx cpu score you would slaughter my 5700xt stock run.

    Speaking of which "game" legacy mode does not boost as high for whatever reason. Possibly 1004 agesa solved native default boost operation but has not addressed it in all modes of operation as of yet.
    Last edited by chew*; Today at 09:39 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •