Thread: GA-Z97X-UD7 TH - Board/Gfx does not seem to resume or cold boot anymore

Xtreme Member

Question GA-Z97X-UD7 TH - Board/Gfx does not seem to resume or cold boot anymore

Hi guys,

Been a long time since i posted here, but i was running into some issues with my system and was hoping you could help me out!
    I've been using this build for 2 years now and for about 6-8 months i've been running into the problem where the system no longer seems to boot and seems to get stuck in a boot-loop.
    I've contacted Gigabyte on this matter and they were pretty much clueless. They gave me a later BIOS version for the board (F7A) , but that never seemed to make a difference.

The problem is, that the machine does not seem to like it when i cold boot it, say every day (turn it off in the evening, then turn it on in the morning). It will show me the BIOS splash screen and after that it will cycle off/on the machine and get stuck in a boot-loop.
    What seems to work is when i take the power from the board completely and also take out the graphics card and wait for 30 seconds. Put everything back in, then the motherboard will boot up fine again.
    When it runs; I have no stability issues with the machine at all and it performs great. It's just that i'm scared to keep reproducing this finding out of fear it will stop booting altogether (so i just leave the machine running now ).
    When i try to use sleep mode i get similar complaints. PC powers on at resume, but there will be no picture and the screens will stay blank.

I guess all of this seems to point into the direction of the motherboard and its out of warranty too (just my luck).
    I've tried my luck on the Gigabyte forum where someone might have mentioned turning off fast boot since it might corrupt the BIOS or something. I tried this, no change in results unfortunately.
    Also, i've never OC'ed this system.