Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2700X & Vega 64

  1. #1
    Ker-Pow !
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,557

    Thumbs up 2700X & Vega 64

    Hello Guys,

    Its been a long time since I posted on here, mainly because Ive been out of my computers for a while...other hobbies and family life have taken over. Im still in IT for work so keep my hand in, but on a more corp level. Anyhow I decided it was time to build a decent rig. The last fast system I built was an FX8350 that somehow my oldest son ended up taking off me and using whilst I put up with his X4 -860K.

    I decided on the following;
    Gigabyte Auros X370 gaming K5 board
    Ryzen 7 2700
    RX580 Nitro
    Samsung Evo960 500GB NVMe
    2 X HyperX HX426C16FR2K2/16 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) 2666 MHz DDR4 CL16.

    So all the bits arrived on Thursday last week, so I decided to build the rig straight into a case ( I know usually when i do this 100% it wont boot but I thought this time I would be ok). Bad idea, the system just wouldnt post past the VGA led on the board. So I stripped it back out of the case and went through the motions, each stick in a different slot, GPU in a different slot, different GPUs in different slots. Arrggg, still no post. Decided on it being a faulty motherboard so got amazon to send an advance replacement for Friday. Was really pleased with this...it arrives Friday, so get home from work and get it all swapped out....no POST. Bugger it must be the CPU. So back on the phone, Amazon agree to send out a replacement for Saturday. So I get started on the beers as its a Friday night and decide that the RX580 isnt enough of an upgrade from my R9-270. So ordered in a powercolour Vega64 and setup a return for the RX580. I did quickly try the RX480 and 580 together in my sons rig in crossfire, but in Forza Horizon 3 ( his main game) he didnt notice enough of a difference.

    So roll on Saturday and I notice the shipment info for the CPU is saying that it wont arrive until Tuesday..WTF. So got on the phone, cancelled that and ordered a 2700X that could be primed in same day.

    So that and the Vega arrive, I get it all built and again...and no POST. WTF, as you can imagine Im starting to get rather annoyed.

    I do a bit of research and it seems AMD are sending out Gen1 CPUs to allow flashing of the BIOS on the board to support Gen 2a. So I found the model and primed it in for Sunday. It arrived yesterday afternoon, posted first time and allowed me to flash, so I now have a working 2700X. Never come across this before when building systems.

    Now I just need to learn how to OC these beasts and try some gaming. Im got a basic Corsair WC setup, my son has my old custom built WC setup.

    I think the biggest disappointment though was the Samsung M2 drive. Im used to running on 2x240GB stripe 0 SSDs, they nip along nicely and you dont need to wait for much. I remember the transition from Spindle to solid state was a revelation, I was hoping that the change from SSD to M2 would be the same. Yes early benchmarks show it being rapid, but real world usage ( albeit early days only 2 hours or so on it) it doesnt seem much quicker.

    Well thats my little tale....any OCing tips for these would be appreciated :-)

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,086
    The X470 were the boards that natively support the 2000 series CPUs, the X300 series were 1000 series Ryzen. So yes, that is normal when putting those together
    It was hard for me to see the difference between M.2 and SATA in normal usage. My boot times have been increased, but otherwise, it feels the same. I went for the Vega 56 so I could put more towards RAM at the time. Ryzen likes Mem speeds.

    There isn't much to OCing as it is all multi increase and V's. 4.3ghz seems to be a peak on that 2000 series Ryzen and you need a good cooler. 4ghz might be average for no voltage increase, from there you may need to add. But don't hit it with crazy volts, just increment slowly. I run a Corsair H100i on my systems and it works well. The Memory Controller has been known to run 3400-3600mhz RAM and might be where you would see the most overall benefit, if you have RAM modules that can do it.


    Glad to see another Ryzen in the wild, good luck with the build!
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 1950x 4.1ghz
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 16GB
    AMD RX Vega 56

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    663
    So you have 2700X, to be frank, if you dont do things like rendering or video encoding, im not sure you should OC, it will boost with XFR higher than you can OC probably and power consumption will go through the roof.Maybe just try some bclk oc to push it a bit further.
    As for vega, either control voltage manually, or select power saver mode, its like -5% performance and -25% power, also OC HBM2 this will give you a nice boost that will regain the performance you lost on the power saver and then some, vega 64, so you could probably do 1000-1100 on it .mine V56 ref on v64 bios was doing 1050.
    Intel 5960X@4.2Ghz[Prime stable]@4.5 [XTU stable] 1.24v NB@3.6ghz Asrock X99 Extreme 3 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance@3200 16-17-17
    Sapphire nitro+ VEGA 56 Samsung SSD 850 256GB Crucial MX100 512GB HDD:WD10TB WD:8TB Seagate8TB

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Heilbronx, Germany
    Posts
    397
    Hi guys!
    8 years after building my last AMD rig (X6 Thuban) and after 5 years on a 3570K from the blue side, I felt it was time for another AMD build.
    I finally went for a 2700x, G.Skill Flare 3200 cl14, MSI B450-A Pro (only 90bucks, cheapest mobo I ever bought), Corsair TX-750M psu and an Asus Vega64 Strix.
    Windows gave me a hard time, when I first used an old version that was downloaded during the win7 to win10 upgrade for free period. Somehow this version made the system lock up after a few minutes, making me suspect an incompatibility between the ram the the mobo I was first using, an AsRock B450-A. After flashing the newset bios and then an RMA of the mobo and getting the MSI board with a reinstall of the bugged windows the lock ups still where there. So I changed the GPU from a Gigabyte Vega64 to the Asus one that I know use. Took me over a week till I finally went on the Microsoft Website and downloaded an up to date Windows version.
    Et voila, the system runs like a champ.
    Still learning how everything plays together since so much has changed coming from an Old School Thuban system. As the mainboard isn?t really high end and I?m on the stock funny colouerd glowing cooler, I?m hestitating feeding the cpu like I used to do on water.
    Over all it feels nice and right to be back on an AMD system.


    MSI 790FX-GD70 (BIOS 1.D4)//PhenomII 1090T
    2x 2GB G.Skill F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH//ASUS EAH5970
    OCZ Agility 120GB//2x Hitachi Deskstar (2x500GB) RAID0//ZALMAN ZM850-HP 850W

    DFI LanpartyUT RDX200 CF-DR (BIOS 12/23/05)//AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0616 XPMW 334x9 1.375Vx112%
    2x 1024 MB G.SKILL F1-4000BIU2-2GBHV PC4000//2x Sapphire HD2900PRO(modded bios 845/950) 512mb CrossFire
    2x WD Caviar RE2 WD4000YR (400 GB) RAID0//OCZ GameXStream 700W

    Motorola Milestone CyanogenMOD 6.1.0 RC0 Android2.2.1

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,086
    Nice build! Still feel like you get a lot more for your money with AMD.
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 1950x 4.1ghz
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 16GB
    AMD RX Vega 56

  6. #6
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,524
    Curious as to if you have tried to undervolt your Vega? Stay at stock or overclock, but undervolted is what cuts down on heat/power and throttling.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Corsair H70 (Boots into Windows @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Vertex 4 128GB, 4x3TB WD Red RAID10, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, CM690, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Sapphire 7870 @1100/1275, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x500GB Hitachi RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Heilbronx, Germany
    Posts
    397
    Quote Originally Posted by bluestang View Post
    Curious as to if you have tried to undervolt your Vega? Stay at stock or overclock, but undervolted is what cuts down on heat/power and throttling.
    Undervolting helps alot to get the card reaching her advertised clockspeed. -100mV on the gpu gets me to ~1530MHz, with the powerlimit set to +50%.
    I don?t get why manufacturers set the vgpu so high, that the card runs into thermal throttle before even reaching it?s highest clockspeed.
    The 1630MHz my Asus strix should do, won?t happen unless I switch to watercooling I guess.


    MSI 790FX-GD70 (BIOS 1.D4)//PhenomII 1090T
    2x 2GB G.Skill F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH//ASUS EAH5970
    OCZ Agility 120GB//2x Hitachi Deskstar (2x500GB) RAID0//ZALMAN ZM850-HP 850W

    DFI LanpartyUT RDX200 CF-DR (BIOS 12/23/05)//AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0616 XPMW 334x9 1.375Vx112%
    2x 1024 MB G.SKILL F1-4000BIU2-2GBHV PC4000//2x Sapphire HD2900PRO(modded bios 845/950) 512mb CrossFire
    2x WD Caviar RE2 WD4000YR (400 GB) RAID0//OCZ GameXStream 700W

    Motorola Milestone CyanogenMOD 6.1.0 RC0 Android2.2.1

  8. #8
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,524
    Got my SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX Vega 64 in and running undervolted quite nicely

    Currently testing it out on Einstein@Home with 2 concurrent tasks.

    1000mv Core, 1000mv HBM2 @ 1000 MHz, Power Limit 50%, Fans 1500 min / 1750 max. All set in Radeon Wattman.

    After ~19 hrs running E@H using HWiNFO64:

    GPU Thermal Diode -- 55C max, 53C avg
    GPU HBM Temp -- 68C max, 64.6C avg
    GPU Hot Spot -- 63C max, 59.5C avg
    GPU Core Voltage -- 1.000v max, .960v avg
    GPU Clock -- 1537 to 1608 MHz, 1542 MHz avg
    GPU Chip Power -- 194W max, 181W avg
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Corsair H70 (Boots into Windows @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Vertex 4 128GB, 4x3TB WD Red RAID10, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, CM690, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Sapphire 7870 @1100/1275, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x500GB Hitachi RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •