MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Windows 10 1703 - Asus S550CM latop not working

  1. #1
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368

    Windows 10 1703 - Asus S550CM latop not working

    Hi Xtreemesystems.

    Long time no see

    I have a frustrating challange with a pretty sleak Asus S550, touchscreen, fuld hd and I5-3317U.

    After windows updated to Windows 10 1703, the pc stays in boot loop mode for 1-8 min, before starting to load Windows. The time varies, but windows loads most of the time.

    Asus C550 Bootloop.jpg

    Asus declines any attempt to get support because it it is not on their support list -https://www.asus.com/event/2017/osupdate/
    I found an article saying to disable Secureboot and CSM.
    But I only had one in the lastest bios from asus.

    Tried to do a clean install on a SSD with 1703 - Same problem...
    Last edited by Nosfer@tu; 11-13-2017 at 08:06 AM.
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  2. #2
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,336
    Do you want to re install?

    Use RUFUS to make UEFI install of Windows from .iso if you have CSM disabled or it will have issues and will not work.

    Another thing I do when switched a drive to "CSM disabled" is when I install windows I do the first repair option, select DOS prompt, run DISKPART, LIST DRIVE, SELECT DRIVE X, and CLEAN.

    Leave secure boot alone.

    If you are installing from USB and you did not build UEFI, you will need CSM enabled.

    When you clean the drive it erases the partition table, removes all flags like RAID and GPT.
    Boot loops is odd behavior,
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  3. #3
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368


    I accually dont mind anything Reinstall would be fine - I will give it a go - It will go to my wife now.
    I just want that awesome machine working again

    Good, So I do
    -CSM Disable and leave secure boot enabled,
    -Recreate my Windows 10 1703 with RUFUS
    -I do the first repair option, select DOS prompt, run DISKPART, LIST DRIVE, SELECT DRIVE X, and CLEAN.

    PS - If you want some next gen antivirus or anything awesome it security - Hit me
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  4. #4
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,336
    In RUFUS, select the UEFI button when you make the USB.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  5. #5
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    In RUFUS, select the UEFI button when you make the USB.
    I will, Its not really a boot loop, it more the pre windows load circle Without the windows logo, and it will be stuck there for 1-5-7 min. Then load windows super fast.
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,678
    Do you think maybe it could be a bad file or filesystem?
    Have you ran a scan of it once it does boot?
    Checked the system logs in admin utils (?, I forget the name)


    CPU: Intel Core i7-4930k [3332B054]
    CPU Heatsink: NZXT Kraken X60
    Mobo: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition (0507 BIOS)
    MEM: 4x 4gig G.Skill [F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD] (Dual Sidded Samsung of Some Sorts)
    PSU: Antec HCP-850 Platinum
    VGA: nVidia Grid VGX K2 (WIP with 2x 680 lightnings)
    Monitor: ASUS VG278HE & 3DVision2 Kit
    Drives: 2x WD Red 2TB Drives [WDBMMA0020HNC-NRSN] (RAID 0), Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 60GB SATA3 SSD, Pioneer BDR-2208 Blue Ray Burner
    Case: Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    OS's: Windows 2003 Enterprise x86 SP2-R2 VLM, Windows 7 Standard Embedded x86 SP1 EVL (128GB Patched), Windows 7 Standard Embedded x64 SP1 EVL
    Mouse: Using generic mouse for now...
    Arm:Samsung Galaxy S IV i9500 Octo-Core Quad Band 16gb Unlocked and 2x 64gig sd cards
    777

    Sig is slightly out of date, I'll update it later ^^


  7. #7
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,773
    if you hold shift when turning on it should load up the windows trouble shooting and that will let you reinstall, roll back, refresh, or use command line so you can back up.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  8. #8
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Hi Gents.
    Just an update, it was apparently the windows 1703 that reneabled the M2 cache drive.
    This had caused problems before, but I had forgot.

    Removed it and the machine worked fine again
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •