Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Thread: AGESA 1.0.0.6 and later thread

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578

    AGESA 1.0.0.6 and later thread

    The new AGESA version from AMD has changed a lot for Ryzen systems that have implemented it. I am running UEFI rev. 2.34 on my X370 Taichi, and the new memory straps are . . . interesting indeed.

    I *almost* have DDR4-3600 stable as a daily driver. All I did was use the UEFI's XMP system to implement the DIMM's XMP settings (Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3733 CAS/CL17) and set the strap to DDR4-3600. Then I set vDIMM to 1.4v and SoC voltage to 1.175v. I also manually set CR to 2T but it doesn't seem to do anything . . . performance is the same with 1T and 2T, and all the monitoring software is still reading 1T so, I dunno. I didn't gain any stability from changing the setting either (that I can tell).

    I set ProcODT to 60 ohm.

    Right now it's stable using these settings (DDR4-3600 18-19-19-39; Ryzen automatically sets CAS/CL to 18 here) and I'm getting over 53 GB/s read and 69.5ns latency according to AIDA64.

    Sadly it isn't yet 100% stable since it crashes in certain workloads like y-cruncher and SuperPi Blend.

    Ultimately I'd like to get DDR4-3733 or higher, but at this rate, it looks unlikely, at least using this particular UEFI revision. Any hints on what else I should be tweaking to gain memory clock?

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    544
    I was able to get 3600C16 and 3600C14 stable even with much older bioses, but with bclk oc. With B-die ofcourse.
    The new AGESA and beta bioses somewhat improve overclocking of 2x and 4x dual-rank configurations, but so far I'm not really impressed.
    We still don't have full control.
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    178
    I agree even stability at higher ram speeds have been compromised
    HTPC : Ryzen, NH D-15, ASUS Crosshir VI Hero
    , 2x8 Team 3000, Asus GTX 980 Strix, Win10 Pro

    http://hwbot.org/user/johan45

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    bclk OC didn't work for me very well. It might have been something to do with my NVMe SSD. I have found some success with the new memory straps using 2.34 on my X370 Taichi thanks to the new subtimings, though there is one subtiming - TrdrdSc - that is the devil. It seems to do no good to increase it, while significantly reducing memory bandwidth. Increasing TrdrdSc from 1 to 5 reduced memory bandwidth to 1/2 of normal. Ugh.

    My mistake was trying to use the XMP subtimings from my RAM as a baseline for tuning. Instead what I did was use Ryzen Master to set the usual subtimings for DDR4-3200, and then I tweaked from there, raising timings/subtimings where necessary to gain stability. DDR4-3333 was actually stable at 14-14-14-28 with all the same subtimings that Ryzen Master had set for DDR4-3200, which was a nice discovery.

    DDR4-3466 required CAS/CL of 16. I haven't fully explored reducing the other timings at that strap, but I appear to have it mostly stable at 16-16-16-36.

    Now I am working on DDR4-3600.

  5. #5
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    I dunno. Taichi is an improvement...and almost competitive in 32m now....almost..not the most effecient but very close to the pack...much closer than msi.

    Im @ c12 3466...benched sandra full suite @ 3733 14-13-13

    No clue on the 24/7 stable stuff yet. Hammering benches out atm...
    Last edited by chew*; 05-29-2017 at 11:07 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  6. #6
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    I hope, after I will update new agesa and beta BIOS at Crosshair, can do later reflash witth 1001/1002 BIOS...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,678
    I read somewhere, I think guru3d?
    That this update brings with it some sub timings in the bios.
    Is that true?, if it is what timings are there?
    And does it make the 1st gen ryzen worth something you could recommend to a less extreme user ^^ ?

    What I mean is, does it get the latency down to something decent like in the mid 50's (ns) with ease.


    CPU: Intel Core i7-4930k [3332B054]
    CPU Heatsink: NZXT Kraken X60
    Mobo: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition (0507 BIOS)
    MEM: 4x 4gig G.Skill [F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD] (Dual Sidded Samsung of Some Sorts)
    PSU: Antec HCP-850 Platinum
    VGA: nVidia Grid VGX K2 (WIP with 2x 680 lightnings)
    Monitor: ASUS VG278HE & 3DVision2 Kit
    Drives: 2x WD Red 2TB Drives [WDBMMA0020HNC-NRSN] (RAID 0), Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 60GB SATA3 SSD, Pioneer BDR-2208 Blue Ray Burner
    Case: Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    OS's: Windows 2003 Enterprise x86 SP2-R2 VLM, Windows 7 Standard Embedded x86 SP1 EVL (128GB Patched), Windows 7 Standard Embedded x64 SP1 EVL
    Mouse: Using generic mouse for now...
    Arm:Samsung Galaxy S IV i9500 Octo-Core Quad Band 16gb Unlocked and 2x 64gig sd cards
    777

    Sig is slightly out of date, I'll update it later ^^


  8. #8
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Latency is just a number...you can get better real world performance yes.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  9. #9
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,324
    Ryzen is good now with current updates, I wish this was how it was released.

    Just watch AIDA64 bandwidth test
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    Im testing now beta and seems really a bit better
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Im testing now beta and seems really a bit better
    please can you post a link to the beta bios


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    please can you post a link to the beta bios
    Check elmor's post here on OCN...

    AMD FX-8350 | ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z | G.Skill F3-1866C8D-16GTX | MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming 3GB
    OCAU

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by cbjaust View Post
    Thanks


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Bios 9943 rocks!!! Finally running my ram @3066mhz. I will work on the timing tomorrow.
    Thanks alot cbjaust


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by NEOAethyr View Post
    I read somewhere, I think guru3d?
    That this update brings with it some sub timings in the bios.
    Is that true?, if it is what timings are there?
    And does it make the 1st gen ryzen worth something you could recommend to a less extreme user ^^ ?

    What I mean is, does it get the latency down to something decent like in the mid 50's (ns) with ease.
    There are more subtimings than I can reliably remember, but it's a lot of them. And I thought my old GD70 790FX BIOS was complex, sheesh. What a mess.

    The lowest I've gotten my latency so far is in the 65ns range while running DDR4-3600. Getting it closer to stable, just don't have a lot of free time. Interestingly enough, raising the primaries past 16 seems to increase instability. Odd.

    On my rig, raising memory clock seems to have the most beneficial effect on latency, which is interesting. Ryzen seems to like RAM clockspeed more than anything else.
    Last edited by drmrlordx; 06-02-2017 at 12:24 PM.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    X370 Taichi UEFI rev. 2.36 is out, and it is very interesting:

    https://forums.anandtech.com/threads...#post-38922533

    So far got DDR4-3466 14-14-14-28, trying for more later today.

  17. #17
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Read it. Ddr 3466 12-11-11 is 32m stable as is 14-13-13 3600 without flashing to latest. Just a matter of dialing in the right timings/voltages.

    Fwiw...my vddp is .900 my soc is 1.00..

    Im wary of bios's that magically improve speed...usually means they magically reduced performance to do so.

    Btw for amd trfc 132/192/312 @ 3466?

    That is like an intel spec for 3200.

    For 3600 intel spec its like 289/469/631

    Fyi flare x is 256/416/560 @ only 3200.....

    Maybe that is where some of your difficulty is coming from..
    Last edited by chew*; 06-04-2017 at 06:27 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    59
    I see this picture (Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 & G.Skill 3975.2MHZ) on Facebook , but dont' know for dram voltages.



    https://www.facebook.com/VGA.Social....type=3&theater

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Read it. Ddr 3466 12-11-11 is 32m stable as is 14-13-13 3600 without flashing to latest. Just a matter of dialing in the right timings/voltages.
    I would be interested in knowing what timings/voltages you used. I'm assuming you achieved that on your X370 Taichi?

    Btw for amd trfc 132/192/312 @ 3466?

    That is like an intel spec for 3200.

    For 3600 intel spec its like 289/469/631

    Fyi flare x is 256/416/560 @ only 3200.....

    Maybe that is where some of your difficulty is coming from..
    I was surprised by that as well, but increasing trfc numbers did not seem to help much. The XMP values for trfc from my Vengeance LPX 3733 DIMMs are in the 900 range. Using those doesn't seem to help with stability at higher clocks. Raising some timings seems to reduce stability, though I haven't yet linked high trfc to crashes/failed boots yet.

    I did notice stability decrease as I lowered tCWL and tRTP.

    Quote Originally Posted by ihog6hog View Post
    I see this picture (Gigabyte B350 Gaming 3 & G.Skill 3975.2MHZ) on Facebook , but dont' know for dram voltages.
    Wonder if he can stress test at that RAM speed? I would also like to see his Aida64 results for memory read and latency.

  20. #20
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Here you go...

    One is 3433 or 3466 @ C12 can not remember blank cpu-z not very helpfull to me lol.

    C14 is 3600.
    Last edited by chew*; 06-05-2017 at 06:30 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Such a tease . . . heh

    I'll try to work more on 3600 this weekend. 3466 is stable now (thankfully) though it can be dicey getting it there sometimes. Shotgunning still doesn't work 100% of the time.

    Plus there's a new UEFI version to play with.

    edit: 2.40 doesn't seem to have changed much. Now down to the nitty gritty.

    Current speed in testing is DDR4-3600. I am using the following timings (bear with me, can't effectively screenshot UEFI):

    Code:
    tCL 16
    tRCDRD 16
    tRCDWR 16
    tRP 16
    tRAS 34
    tRC 75
    tRRD_S 6
    tRRD_L 8
    tFAW 27
    tWTR_S 5
    tWTR_L 10
    tWR 18
    tMAW.MAC 1
    TrdrdScL 4
    TwrwrScL 4
    tRFC 900
    tRFC2 600
    tRFC4 300
    tCWL  14
    tRTP 10
    Trdwr 10
    Twrrd 3
    TwrwrSc 3
    TwrwrSd 8
    TwrwrDd 8
    TrdrdSc 1
    TrdrdSd 6
    TrdrdDd 6
    tCKE 8
    ProcODT Auto
    CR is 1T. 1.2v SoC, 1.4v vcore, 1.42v vDIMM, 1.05v VDDP

    Not stable. It'll run mostly, but it still bombs out in y-cruncher, and it also crashed during Skydiver physics. HCI Memtest picked up write errors about 4% of the way through.

    Also with these timings, I got better performance with my 3466 settings.
    Last edited by drmrlordx; 06-11-2017 at 11:39 AM.

  22. #22
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Yah the imcs are dicey and cost a hit if pushed to hard.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    The only thing I can think to do now is to decrease each timing/subtiming until I can cause a noboot situation. Then maybe I have something I need to increase in order to promote stability. Inreacing trfc/trfc2/trfc4 values does not seem to have helped much.

    Gonna take a break then get back to it later.

  24. #24
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    You can try setting twcl to 15/16...may gain you a bit of stability. Tras probably should run 36 with 16-16-16

    Trc 58 should be loose enough
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  25. #25
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    This bombed out around 6hrs...dropped one core...so its very very close. Working my way up for 3600 15-15-15-35 so subs are a bit slack atm. Using flare x trfc 1/2/3 currently.

    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •